Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Relevant Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
This multivolume encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, offering a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, theories, and much more. Key subjects covered include: world leaders (Mahatma Gandhi, Margaret Mead, Cesar Chavez, Martin Luther King, Jr., Lucretia Mott)
A topical listing of online publications by RAND, a nonprofit research organization.
Contains the full text of many of their publications in the following areas:The Arts, Child Policy, Civil Justice, Education, Energy and Environment, Health and Health Care, nternational Affairs, Latin America, Methodology.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.
Dictionary of Conflict Resolution
A useful dictionary of conflict resolution terminology and concepts. To begin searching click on the word Headings at the bottom of the column on the left of the first screen.
International Handbook of Peace and Reconciliation
A comprehensive introduction to peace and reconciliation.
Routledge Handbook of Peacebuilding
Offers a comprehensive overview of the uses and meanings of the term "peacebuilding", and presents cutting-edge debates on the paractices conducted in the name of peacebuilding.
Handbook of Peace and Conflict Studies
Selected essays edited by Charles Webel and Johan Galtung
Theses & Dissertations
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) is an interdisciplinary listing of PhD dissertations and Master's theses from around the world. Documents can be downloaded and (where available) the first dozen pages are available as a preview. Dissertations and theses published since 1980 includes an abstract written by the author.
MSpace is the University of Manitoba's institutional repository, dedicated to collecting, storing, and preserving digital versions of the intellectual output of University of Manitoba faculty, researchers,and students. It contains datasets, undergraduate and graduate theses, historical pamphlets, and other research publications.
Theses Canada indexes Canadian theses and dissertations held by Library and Archives Canada (Canada's national library), acquired from participating Canadian universities. Any thesis/dissertation not available full-text online can be ordered through interlibrary loan.