Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bets for Research in Peace and Conflict Studies
Peace Research Abstracts
Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to peace and conflict resolution research. Topics include nonviolence, war, international affairs and peace psychology. Updated weekly.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Abstracts cover journal articles and citations, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.
PAIS International, from Public Affairs Information Service, is an index to literature on political, economic, and social issues of current interest. The database covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. Emphasis is on issues that are, or might become, the subject of legislation. Coverage dates back to 1915.
JSTOR Security Studies
JSTOR Security Studies is a collection of academic and policy literature on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues from a global perspective. The collection spans a range of disciplines and covers topics such as cybersecurity, foreign policy, human security, international law, military studies, peace & conflict studies, and terrorism & political violence.
Handbook of Peace and Conflict Studies by
Publication Date: 2007
This major new Handbook provides a cutting-edge and transdisciplinary overview of the main issues, debates, state-of-the-art methods, and key concepts in peace and conflict studies today. The fields of peace and conflict studies have grown exponentially since being initiated by Professor Johan Galtung half a century ago. They have forged a transdisciplinary and professional identity distinct from security studies, political science, and international relations. The volume is divided into four sections: understanding and transforming conflict creating peace supporting peace peace across the disciplines. Each section features new essays by distinguished international scholars and professionals working in peace studies and conflict resolution and transformation. Drawing from a wide range of theoretical, methodological, and political positions, the editors and contributors offer topical and enduring approaches to peace and conflict studies. The Handbook of Peace and Conflict Studies will be essential reading for students of peace studies, conflict studies and conflict resolution. It will also be of interest and use to practitioners in conflict resolution and NGOs, as well as policy makers and diplomats.
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace by
Publication Date: 2010
"Finding peaceful solutions to the world's increasingly complex problems will be a huge task, which must also be based upon knowledge, experience and research. I hope that this important new Encyclopedia will reach a global lay audience as well as policy makers and academic experts andencourage many thousands of readers to study further and work harder for the peace on which our whole future depends." -From the Foreword by His Holiness the Dalai LamaThis innovative, multivolume encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, offering a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events,organizations, theories, and much more. Each entry is signed by a leading scholar in the field, contains a bibliography for further reading, and is cross-referenced with other useful points of interest within the encyclopedia. In addition to A-to-Z entries, the Encyclopedia also includes a peacechronology, key documents and appendices.Key subjects covered include: world leaders (Mahatma Gandhi, Margaret Mead, Cesar Chavez, Martin Luther King, Jr., Lucretia Mott); major events (Cuban Missile Crisis, Dayton Accords, Good Friday Agreement, Lebanon Hostage Crisis); organizations (Greenpeace, League of Nations, United Nations, Savethe Children, International Committee of the Red Cross); theories (Civil Disobedience, Conscientious Objection, Feminism and Peace, Power and Nonviolence Theory, Eco-Pacifism, Gay Rights); and current events (Chemical and Biological Weapons, Human Rights, War Crimes, Terrorism).