LibGuides: Art in New Media: Art in New Media

General Resources

digitalsouls.com
Based in San Francisco, California, digitalsouls.com produces and promotes artists exploring the intersections of digital and traditional artforms since 1997. Our online new media art gallery is updated frequently and features an international selection of artists working in digital media.

Ars Electronica
The Ars Electronica Centre has hosted the annual Prix Ars Electronica Festival since 1979.

Artexte
Artexte engages in research, interpretation, and dissemination initiatives in order to broaden the influence and appreciation of contemporary visual arts.

ZKM Center for Art and Media
Probes new media in theory and practice and documents the newest discoveries in information technology.

Daniel Langlois Foundation
Founded in 1999,the foundation aims to further human knowledge by supporting artistic, scientific and technological research.

Emergent Systems offers a great overview of different types of new media art by New Media Professor Ken Rinaldo.

Leonardo Electronic Almanac

Mapping Video Art

Rhizome
Rhizome is an online community space for people who are interested in new media art and is one of the most pro‑active exponents of electronic arts. Rhizome's activities focus on: presenting artworks by new media artists, critics and curators; fostering critical dialog; and preserving new media art for the future.. Be sure to sign up for the excellent e‑mail newsletter.

Wired

Article Databases

ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window ABM provides wide-ranging coverage of information on all forms of modern and contemporary arts, dating from the late 19th century onward. It includes abstracts of English and other language material on artists, movements, and trends. It provides full abstracts of a variety of literary forms, dating from the late 1960s onward.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).

Online Magazines

Convergence: the journal of research into new media technologies
Convergence is a refereed academic journal, which addresses the creative, social, political and pedagogical issues raised by the advent of new media technologies.

Crossings: electronic journal of art and technology
Produced at the University of Dublin and covers art, technology & philosophy.

Leonardo Reviews Online
An excellent academic journal devoted to art & science issues.

Shift Japan
Japanese online journal on international graphic design and digital media artists.

Third Text Online
Is one of the leading international journals dedicated to the critical analysis of contemporary art in the global field.

In the Library Reading Room

Journals

DVDS

Reference Help

Liv Valmestad

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Architecture/Fine Arts Library, Room 204 John A. Russell Building.
Mailing: 84 Curry Place, University of Manitoba.

Subjects: Art History, Canadian Art, Contemporary Art, Fine Arts

Web Archives

Digital Art Web Archive - this is a special collection within Web Archive It.

Way Back Machine (Internet Archive)

e-flux Contemporary Art News

E-FLUX