Nurse Practitioner Toolkit: Practice Guidelines

NICE guidelines are developed in the United Kingdom and cover a wide variety of topics including:
- Conditions and Diseases
- Public Health
- Treatments
- Procedures and Devices

The WHO provides a number of global guidelines on various health topics

Not particularly focused on nursing, however SIGN guidelines are well known for being developed from a systematic review of scientific evidence

Practice guidelines produced in alignment with Alberta's Primary Health Care Strategy

BC Guidelines are clinical practice guidelines and protocols that provide recommendations to B.C. practitioners on delivering high quality, appropriate care to patients with specific clinical conditions or diseases

Guidelines and position statement library. Can filter documents by year, type, or topic

Clinical practice guidelines for prevention and management of diabetes

From the Public Health Agency of Canada

Guidelines for diagnosis & assessment and prevention & treatment. Also includes helpful resources and tools

From the Public Health Agency of Canada. Provides the most up-to-date information about vaccinations in Canada

Canadian Paediatric Society position statements and practice points have clinical guidance and policy recommendations for paediatricians, family physicians, nurses, government officials and others. They also include links to other relevant documents and resources, including information for parents

Provided by the Canadian Thoracic Society

The Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care (CTFPHC) appraises guidelines produced by other organizations as a complement to the production of CTFPHC clinical practice guidelines. The focus of the critical appraisal is on the quality of the methods used, with a commentary section that outlines some points for primary care practitioners to consider should they choose to implement the recommendations

Read the CUA statements and check box to gain access to guidelines

This site includes cancer management guidelines & clinical regimen reference orders.

See the Nurse Practitioner section.

The Clinical Practice Guidelines have been prepared by Health Canada's First Nations and Inuit Health Branch (FNIHB) for use by community health nurses employed by Health Canada providing primary care in isolated, semi-isolated, and remote First Nations communities

Nurses working in Indigenous communities can request access to this online collection of practice guidelines.

Website contains links to the 2010 Clinical Guidelines for Diagnosis and Management of Osteoporosis in Canada as well as other resources such as the FRAX

From the College of Registered Nurses of Nova Scotia

There are currently 50 published guidelines as well as a toolkit and educator's resource to support implementation

Evidence-based health supervision guide for primary healthcare practitioners of children in the first five years of life

You need to be signed into your library account to access Full-Text. To access Full-Text, click Full-Text HTML or PDF link and scroll to bottom of new page. Select Institutional Access Visit ScienceDirect and follow the links to get the Full-Text article.

Rainbow Health Ontario's website provides guidelines on planning for and managing patients who wish to start hormone therapy. Additional resources are also available on the site.