LibGuides: College of Rehabilitation Sciences: AHS 7000

Tools for Searching

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database of bibliographic records for all types of materials catalogued in libraries around the world, and includes the holdings of most academic libraries in North America. Catalogued materials include books, journals, electronic resources, manuscripts, and audio-visual materials, in hundreds of languages.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources

Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Please Note: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index is now available for search in Web of Science. It will continue to be available to University of Manitoba Libraries.

Full-text Coverage: restricted to University of Manitoba dissertations and theses, 1929-2014. For 2015 onward, see Mspace

Dissertations and theses published since 1980 includes an abstract written by the author.

NTIS
Central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
AHRQ
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
World Health Organization
Providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
Publishers List - Grey Literature Database
From the New York Academy of Medicine, includes government and private sector
Gray Source Index

Clinical Trial Registries

*Information and links on this page came from NIH Systematic Review Library Guide ,

Cochrane Collaboration - international organization, produces and disseminates systematic reviews of health care interventions
PROSPERO - international prospective register of systematic reviews
Joanna Briggs Institute
Open Science Framework - a free, open platform to support your research and enable collaboration
Research Registry

Operators

Four operators are available to combine terms

OR gathers together lists of terms, use to build a concept - .e.g. New Zealand OR Australia
AND finds where terms occur together, used to focus a search - e.g. bicycle AND helmets
NOT removes terms, use with caution - e.g. spiders NOT insects
ADJx locates terms with are within X words of each other in either direction in a sentence or paragraph - e.g. cold AJD3 therapy

Truncation and Wildcards

Truncation or wildcards symbols find variations in spellings

Use * or $ at the end of a word, or part of a word to retrieve unlimited suffix variations - e.g. comput* for computer, computers, computing, etc. Add a number to restrict to a certain number of characters - e.g. comput$5
Use a # inside or at the end of a word to replace exactly one character - e.g. wom#n
Use ? inside or at the end of a word to replace zero or one character - e.g. robot? or flavo?r

The following databases are good sources for finding published systematic reviews:

Documenting your search strategies is an essential component of your systematic review and is required for your final manuscript.

Search strategies must provide enough detail to reproduce the search.

Aspects of your search to report include the following:

Exact search strategies
Databases searched
Database interfaces used
Date searches were run
Database dates
Order records were imported into reference managing software (RMS)
Initial number of results retrieved from searches
Number of results retrieved by databases after de-duping
Total number of references
Any keywords or numbers used to identify references in RMS (e.g. "Medline Search" for records retrieved through Medline search)
Name of search, if saved in database platforms/accounts (e.g. MyNCBI)

Documenting your search strategies is an essential component of your systematic review and is required for your final manuscript.

Search strategies must provide enough detail to reproduce the search.

Aspects of your search to report include the following:

Exact search strategies, including which terms in which search engines
Every website searched, which pages were browsed on that website, and which search terms were used
Date searches were conducted
Resources identified from grey literature searching should be accurately tagged in the reference managing software being used
Type of resource retrieved from search (e.g. report, journal article, presentation, book, etc.)
Number of resources identified from each website/source
Number of resources identified from grey literature searching