Skip to Main Content

The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

Primary Source Collections: Electronic Collections

Primary Source Collections

Back to Primary Sources Home

Digital Primary Sources
University of Manitoba Libraries offers access to a broad range of primary source collections from digital archives in North America and around the world. Databases on this page are arranged by geography and time period.

Canadian History	Medieval & Early Modern Europe
Indigenous North America	Modern Europe & 20th Century
United States	World History

(Image Credit.)


The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a centralized collection of scholarly research materials and primary sources. Its outstanding collections include more than 4.5 million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.	The Internet Archive offers permanent access to historical collections that exist in digital format. It contains millions of texts, audio, moving images, software, and archived web pages.	Hathi Trust Digital Library is a digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and partner institution initiatives.

Canadian History

Recommended Databases

Frontier Life : borderlands, settlement & colonial encounters This link opens in a new window
Héritage This link opens in a new window
Manitobia This link opens in a new window
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window

See also:

Indigenous North America

Recommended Databases

American Indian Histories and Cultures This link opens in a new window
Early Encounters in North America : Peoples, Cultures and the Environment This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window

See also:

Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new window

United States History

Recommended Databases

Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Center for Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window

See Also:

Medieval & Early Modern Europe

Recommended Databases

Bayeux Tapestry Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
English Historical Documents This link opens in a new window
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Perdita Manuscripts This link opens in a new window

See also:

European History Primary Resources

Modern Europe & 20th Century

Recommended Databases

Bibliotheque des lettres (Bibliopolis) This link opens in a new window
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
English Historical Documents This link opens in a new window
London Low Life This link opens in a new window
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth-century Scholarship Online (NINES) This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window

See also:

Gallica: bibliotheque numerique de la Bibliotheque nationale de France This link opens in a new window

World History

Recommended Databases

China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980 This link opens in a new window
Frontier Life : borderlands, settlement & colonial encounters This link opens in a new window
Historic Documents (via Sage Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
History of International Law This link opens in a new window
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 This link opens in a new window
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window
Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
United Nations Law Collection This link opens in a new window
United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
World Constitutions Illustrated This link opens in a new window
World Treaty Library This link opens in a new window
World Trials Library This link opens in a new window

See also: