Skip to Main Content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

Spettigue, Douglas Odell (Frederick Philip Grove/Felix Paul Greve Research Material) *: MSS 57, PC 78 (A1985-37)

Douglas O. Spettigue

Inventory prepared by Gaby Divay
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1990)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2009)
Finding aid written in English.

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Douglas O. Spettigue
 
Title:
D. O. Spettigue (F.P. Grove) fonds
 
Dates:
1892-1985
 
Quantity:
2 m of textual records and other material
 
Identification:
MSS 57, PC 97
 
 
English

Biography of Douglas O. Spettigue

Douglas O. Spettigue, Professor of English at Queen's University, is well known for his literary research into the life and writings of Frederick Philip Grove. He is widely credited for the discovery of Grove's earlier German identity, Felix Paul Greve. Grove had already contributed nottably to the literature of his own country with poetry, at least two novels and voluminous translations and criticisms before he began a new life and writing career in Canada. Besides his work on Grove, Spettigue has written several short stories.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection contains the following research papers relating to Frederick Philip Grove: articles; a Grove bibliography project; a Grove biography project; books; correspondence; diaries; dissertation abstract; encyclopedia entries; lectures; radio debates; reviews; travel notes; 1892 passenger lists and materials by and about F.P. Greve. The collection does not contain any of Spettigue's own literary material.

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into five series, 37 subseries, and Photograph Collection (Pc 97)

  • I. MATERIALS BY D.O. SPETTIGUE
  • II. A. WORKS BY F.P. GROVE
  • II. B. MATERIAL ABOUT F.P. GROVE
  • III. A. WORKS BY F.P. GREVE
  • III. B. MATERIAL ABOUT F.P. GREVE

Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on access.

Restrictions on Use

No restrictions on use.

Related Materials

Mss 2, Pc 2, Mf 2 - Frederick Philip Grove fonds

Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Douglas Spettigue in 1985.

Detailed Description of the Collection

I. MATERIALS BY D.O. SPETTIGUE
ARTICLES
Box Folder  
1 1 Frederick Philip Grove in Manitoba. Mosaic, 3/3, p. [19]-33, 1970
  2 Frederick Philip Grove in Manitoba - New revision . Mosaic 10, 1972
  3

Frederick Philip Grove. Queen's Quarterly v.78, 4 , p. [614] - 615, 1971

(1 typed version; 1offprint)
  4

Geheimnisvoller Schriftsteller... Archivar, May 1972

(1 ms., 2 typed, 1 English version)
  5
The Search for Frederick Philip Grove, June 1972

(1 ms., 3 typed versions)
  6 The Grove Enigma Resolved. Queen's Quarterly v.79, 4, p. [1] - 2, 1972                       
  7-8
Felix Paul Greve redivivus. Seminar, 9, 2, p.[148] - 155, 1973
  • (Co-author, A. Riley)
  • (German versions: 1 ms., 2 typed, 1 printed)
  • (English versions: 2 ms., 3 typed)
  9 Frederick Philip Grove, 1879-1948. Canadian Anthology, 3.ed., 1974 
  10

Reflections on FPG. November 1977

(5 ms. p.)
  11-12
Fanny Essler and the Master, 1984 A Stranger to My Time, 1987
  • (1 ms. version, 18 p.)
  • (4 typed versions, 15, 14, 7, 17 p.)
BIBLIOGRAPHY
Box Folder  
1 13 Spettigue, D. O. [Bibliography of his works] 1971
  14 Spettigue, D. O. Frederick Philip Grove, Felix Paul Greve: a bibliography 1979/1980
  15
Spettigue, D. O. and P. Hjartarson. [Greve/Grove bibliography project] , 1980-

(ms. summary, chronology, index, notes; 17 p.)
  16
Spettigue, D. O. and P. Hjartarson. [Greve/Grove bibliography project] , 1983-1984

(Pt. A+B, 5 computer printed versions)
  17

Spettigue, D. O. and P. Hjartarson. [Greve/Grove bibliography project] , 1984?

(ms. additions to pt. A: Grove manuscripts in the University of Manitoba Archives; 53 entries)
  18
Spettigue, D. O. and P. Hjartarson. [Greve/Grove bibliography project] , 1984?

(Pt. C, computer produced; 16 p. 214 entries)
  19
Spettigue, D. O. and P. Hjartarson. [Greve/Grove bibliography project] , June 26, 1984

(Pt. A-D, A: 133 entries; B: 117 entries; C: 214 entries; D: 169 entries)
  20

Spettigue, D. O. and P. Hjartarson. [Greve/Grove bibliography project] , 1984

(As published in A Stranger to My Time, 1987)
BIOGRAPHY
Box Folder  
1 21

Spettigue/P. Hjartarson. A documentary biography of FPG, 1984                                         

(ii, 31 p.)
BOOKS
Box Folder  
1 22
122 D.O. Spettigue. Frederick Philip Grove - Workcopy 1968?                                          

(6 chapters, on yellow leaves, in various pagings)
  23
D.O. Spettigue. Frederick Philip Grove - Corrected copy

(6 chapters & notes, in various pagings)
  24
D.O. Spettigue. Frederick Philip Grove - Final draft

(Chapters 2-5 only, in various pagings)
Box Folder    
2 1

D.O. Spettigue. FPG: the European Years, 1972-1973

(Early manuscript versions and additions, 1972)
  2
D.O. Spettigue. FPG: the European Years, 1972-1973

(Early typed versions, 1972, p.1-26 on short p.: p.11-38 on long p.)
  3
D.O. Spettigue. FPG: the European Years, 1972-1973

(Typed version, 1972, p.11-62))
  4
D.O. Spettigue. FPG: the European Years, 1972-1973

(Rough final version - incomplete; 190 p.; 14p. of notes, 18 p. of bibliography; index, p.[268] -178)
  5
D.O. Spettigue. FPG: the European Years, 1972-1973

(Final ? version - 3 t. of c., pref. lacking; 289)
  6
D.O. Spettigue. FPG: the European Years, 1972-1973

(Draft of bibliography, early 1973, 15 ms. p.)
  7
D.O. Spettigue. FPG: the European Years, 1972-1973

(Greve's family tree on 2 folders)
  8
D.O. Spettigue. FPG: the European Years, 1972-1973

(Introduction - 5 ms. p., footnotes - 12 ms. p., index - 22 ms. p.)
  9
D.O. Spettigue. FPG: the European Years, 1972-1973

(Revisions - 7,2,3 ms., 2, 15 p.)
  10 Dear Djuna: the Autobiography of Baroness van Freytag
D.O. SPETTIGUE - CORRESPONDENCE, 1970-73
Box Folder       
3 1
Manuscript record of correspondence, 1970-1973

(38 p. in various sizes)
  2 Akademie fur Music, Vienna

(4 items)
  3
Alpers, A.

(8 items)
  4
Ambassade de France - Embassy of France, Ottawa

(1 item)
  5
Anansi Press - Lee, D.

(3 items)
  6
Anglin, M.

(1 item)
  7
Arassus, J. .

(4 items)
  8 Der Archivar (Journal) - Vollmer, G.

(2 items)
  9
Ariel (Journal) - Wing, G.,

(3 items)
  10
Athenaeum - Publishers,

(2 items)
  11
Bartsch, E.
  12
Bates, R.

(2 items)
  13
BBC, Bristol

(1 item)
  14
Bennett, J.

(2 items)
  15
Bethel College Historical Library, Kansas

(2 items)
  16
Bevan, T. D. V.

(5 items)
  17
Bibliographical Society of Canada - Peel, B.,

(5 items)
  18 Bibliotheque Nationale, Paris

(9 items)
  19
Black & Black - Law Firm

(8 items)
  20
Blodgett, E. D

(4 items)
  21
Boehringer, R.

(4 items)
  22
Boerner, M.

(1 item)
  23
Bondy, L.W.

(1 item)
  24
Booksellers, Canada - Ball, N.; Patrick, J.; Wolfe, W. P.,

(12 items)
  25
Booksellers, Europe - Blackwell's, Brockhaus, Der Bucherwurm, Erasmus, Pro Libro, Thurn, B., Wolfle, R.,

(26 items)
  26
Borsenblatt fur den deutschen Buchhandel - Journal

(2 items)
  27
Brandon Sun - Rowe, K.

(2 items)
  28
Bree, B.

(10 items)
  29
British Museum. Reading Room

(1 items)
  30
J.C.C. Bruns Verlag

(4 items)
  31

31 Cabot, J.

(1 item)
  32
Cambridge, J.

(7 items)
  33
Canada. Department of Manpower and Immigration

(4 items)
  34 Canada Council - Badour, M., Fortier, A.; Milligan, F. [1967-1968]

(22 items)
  35
Canada Council, [1967-1968]

(2 grant applications)
  36
Canada Council - Attems, M., Foster, A.; Kirby, S. P.; MacFarlane, M.W.; Pelletier, J.; Steele, H. [1970-1974]

(24 items)
  37

Canada Council, [1970-1973]

(4 grant applications)
  38
Canada Council - Jutras, L.; Lamont, N. [1979-1983]

(16 items)
  39
Canada Council, [1979-1981]

(3 grant applications)
  40
Canadian Literature (Journal) - Woodcock, G.

(2 items)
  41 Canadian Poetry - Journal - Bentley, D.

(2 items)
  42 Carscallen, J.

(9 items)
  43 CBC - Masters, C.; Schachter, H.,

(14 items)
  44
CHCH-TV, Hamilton - Edwards, M.

(2 items)
  45 Chicago Municipal Reference Library

(2 items)
  46
Clarke, Irwin & Co.

(2 items)
  47
Collin, W.E.

(2 items)
  48
Cook, G.M.

(2 items)
  49
Copp Clark Pub. Co. - Audley, P.; Geddes, G.; McKnight, L. M.,

(27 items)
  50 Croach, K.

(2 items)
  51 Cunard Line

(2 items)
  52 Cutt, J.

(3 items)
  53 Daniells, R.

(2 items)
  54
Daymond, D. M.

(2 items)
  55
Dent Publishers - David, J.; Lecker, R.; St. John, E.,

(5 items)
  56
Deutsche Bibliothek, Frankfurt

(1 item)
  57 Deutsche Bucherei, Leipzig

(2 items)
  58
Deutsches Archaeologisches Institut, Rom

(5 items)
  59 Deutsches Literaturarchiv, Marbach

(11 items)
  60
Dragland, S.

(3 items)
 
Box Folder  
4 1
E.C.W. Press

(14 items)
  2 2 Elliott, H.

(3 items)
  3 Elton Hotel, Waterbury, Conn.

(1 items)
  4 Embassy of the USSR

(2 items)
  5 Encyclopaedias

(3 items)
  6 Evangelische Kirche der Union, West-Berlin

(5 items)
  7 Faibish, R.

(2 items)
  8 Fairley, B.

(3 items)
  9 F.B.I. - Hoover, J.E.

(2 items)
  10 S. Fischer Verlag

(2 items)
  11 Frye, N.

(2 items)
  12 Garneau, P.

(15 items)
  13 Geheimes Staatsarchiv, Berlin-West - Berlin Archives - Schroeder, Dr.,

(6 items)
  14 Gibson, K.

(1 item)
  15
Gide, C.

(1 item)
  16
Globe and Mail - French, W.; O'Dacre, E.,

(3 items)
  17
Goethe- und Schiller-Archiv, Weimar - Beck, E.

(11 items)
  18 Greig, P.

(1 item)
  19 Grove, A. L., [1967-1968]

(22 items)
  20 Grove, A. L., [1969]

(18 items)
  21 Grove, A.L., [1970]

(17 items)
  22
Grove, A.L., [1971-1972]

(30 items)
  23
Grove, A. L., [1973-1980]

(20 items)
  24
Grove, A.L. - Related correspondence - Kjolstad, T.; Landsarkivet Lund; Pacey, D.,

(43 items)
  25 Grove, C.

(16 items)
  26
Grove, C. - Related correspondence - Pierce, L.

(5 items)
  27 Grove and Frey Families, New Orleans

(12 items)
  28 28 Grove Colloquium, Simcoe - Hurst, J.A.; Todd, G., [1977]

(7 items)
  29
Grove Family, Braunschweig - Grove, Carl; Grove, R.

(2 items)
  30 Grove Family, Louisville

(2 items)
  31 Grove Symposium, Ottawa, - Clever, G.; McIntosh, E.; Nause, J.; Tierney, F. M., [1973]

(20 items)
  32 Grove, J.R.

(1 item)
  32a
Gross, K.

(2 items)
  33 Gruhne, F., [1968-1969]

(15 items)
  34
Gruhne, F., [1970-1973]

(32 items)
  34a H.G. Wells Society
Box Folder  
5 1

Hamburg-Amerika Linie

(2 items)
  2

Handwriting Institute, London

(2 items)
  3

Helmer, C.

(8 items)
  4

Der Herold, Verein fur Heraldik

(6 items)
  5 Hind-Smith, J.

(6 items) 
  6 Hjartarson, P.

(30 items)
  7 Hubert, E. - Grayson, Kentucky; Kentucky Christian College; Carter County, Grayson,

(4 items) 
  8 Humanities Association - Wilson, D. A.,

(1 item)
  9 Humanities Association Review - Rogers, P.,

(6 items)
  10 India Office. London

(3 items)
  11 Insel-Verlag, Frankfurt - Laux, R.; Verlag Anton Kippenberg,

(4 items)
  12 Insel-Verlag, Leipzig - Kippenberg, A.

(3 items) 
  13 Institute of Germanic Studies, University of London - Riley, V.,

(7 items) 
  14 Ireland, G. W.

(2 items) 
  15 Johanneum - Gymnasium, Hamburg - Blume, W.

(3 items)
  16 Jones, D.

(1 item)  
  17 Axel Juncker Verlag - Edition Praeger - Maschler, K. L.; Paeschke, O,

(7 items)
  18 Keith, B.

(5 items)
  19 Keitner, W.

(2 items) 
  20 Kentucky Christian College, Grayson - Huber, E.

(3 items) 
  21 Kluge, F.F.

(2 items) 
  22 Knoll, H.

(2 items) 
  23 Kreisarchiv Herzogtum Lauenburg, Ratzeburg - Ratzerburg Archives - Hess, F.; Kaack, Dr.,

(13 items) 
  24 H. Kupper Verlag

(2 items) 
  25 Lamont, D.

(1 item)
  26 Landesarchiv Berlin/West - Berlin Archives - Kutzsch, Dr.

(6 items) 
  27

Landesarchiv Schleswig-Holstein, Schleswig

(3 items) 
  28

Landmann, G.P.

(4 items)
  29 Larbalestier, P.

(9 items) 
  30 Lenin Library of the USSR, Moscow

(2 items) 
  31 Lethbridge, H.

(3 items) 
  32 Literary Half-yearly - Dahlie, H.

(6 items) 
  33 Liverpool City Libraries

(2 items)
  34 Lougheed, W. C.

(2 items) 
  35 McClelland & Stewart - Baker, P.; Porter, A.; Ross, M.; Szigethy, A.,

(37 items) 
  36 McGraw-Hill Ryerson Press

(2 items) 
  37 MacKenzie, N.

(6 items) 
  38 Macmillan Pub. Co. of Canada - Gray, J.

(2 items) 
  39 McMullen, L.

(2 items) 
  40 McNab, D.

(2 items)
  41 MacPherson, H.

(3 items) 
  42 Mahanti, J.C.

(4 items) 
  43 Makow, H.

(2 items)
  44 Manitoba. Department of Education

(4 items) 
  45 Merchiston Castle School, Edinburgh

(1 item)
  46 Michael, E.

(4 items)
  47 Michalski, C.

(1 item)  
  48 Middlebro, T.

(1 item)  
  49 Miska, J.

(2 items) 
  50 Mosaic - Journal - Collins, R.G.; Hoople, R. P.; Saunders, D. B.,

(11 items) 
  51 Munchen. Standesamt - Greve, R. (b.1858)

(3 items)
  52 National Archives and Record Service, Washington, D. C.

(10 items) 
  53 Nesbitt, B.

(7 items)
  54 New Canadian Encyclopedia - Marsh, J.H.

(3 items) 
  55 New York Public Library

(2 items) 
  56 Niedersachisches Staatsarchiv, Wolfenbuttel

(2 items) 
  57 Nijland-Verwey, M.,

(3 items)
  58 North Dakota State University, Fargo

(2 items) 
  59 Nova Scotia. Public Archives

(2 items)
  60 Oberon Press - Harcourt, J.; Helwig, D.; Low, G.; Macklem, M., [1971-1973]

(51 items) 
  61 Oberon Press, [1974]

(26 items) 
  62 Oberon Press - Engineer, D., [1978-1984]

(37 items) 
  63 Oxford University Press - Toye, W.,

(19 items) 

 

Box Folder  
6 1
Pacey, D.

(13 items)
  2
Pache, W.

(1 item)
  3
Paul-Ernst-Gesellschaft - Ernst, P.; Kutzbach, K.A.; Steinmeyer, H.,

(6 items)
  4
Penny, Mr.

(1 item)
  5
Phelps, A. and related correspondence - Inch, R.B.; Stanley, G. F.G.,

(5 items)
  6
Philadelphia, Pa. - Grove City College

(3 items)
  7
Poland. Radomno & Eylau - Bagrationovsk - Deutsch Eylau - Ilawa

(2 items)
  8
Public Archives of Canada

(3 items)
  9
Queen's Gazette - Gartland, S.

(2 items)
  10 Queen's Quarterly - Fox, M.; Gundy, P.; McSweeney, K.

(24 items)
  11
Queen's University. Library. Archives - Gibson, R.M.; Morley, B.; Wilson, I. E.,

(21 items)
  12

Queen's University. Library. Reference - Ellworth, R.C.

(26 items)
  13

Queen's University. Research grants - Hogarth, J. E.; Riley, A. W.; Smith, M.; Stedmond, J.M.,

(13 items; 4 applications)
  14 Queen's University. Research. Accounting of grants - Lyle, J.J.; Smith, P.; Thomas, L.,

(17 items)
  15
Raudsepp, E.

(3 items)
  16
Reaburn, R.

(2 items)
  17
Redmond, C.

(3 items)
  18
Riley, A. W., [1967-1972]

(23 items)
  19
Riley, A. W., [1973-1985]

(46 items)
  20 Riley, A. W. - Related Correspondence - Batts, M.S.; Helmer, C.

(20 items)
  21
Royal Bank, Port Hope

(2 items)
  22
Royal Swedish Embassy, Ottawa - Arno, L.

(10 items)
  23
Sarkowski, H.

(13 items)
  24
Sauders, D. B.

(2 items)
  25
Schiller-Nationalmuseum, Marbach - Greve, L.

(6 items)
  26
Schosser, M.

(8 items)
  27
Schools, etc., Arkansas - Arkansas History Commission

(29 items)
  28 Schools, etc. - Kentucky

(36 items)
  29

Smith, A.

(1 item)
  30
Somerset House, London

(7 items)
  31
Spettigue, J.

(11 items)
  32
Spettigue Family

(6 items)
  33
Spicer, E.

(1 item)
  34
SSHRCC grant application, Foster, A. [1982-1983]

(3 items)
  35
SSHRCC grant application, Lautenschlager, J.

1983-1984
Box Folder  
7 1
Staatsarchiv des Kantons Bern - Bern, Switzerland

(2 items)
  2 Staatsarchiv Detmold

(3 items)
  3 Staatsarchiv Dresden

(2 items)
  4 Staatsarchiv Dusseldorf - Engelbert, Dr.

(2 items)
  5 Staatsarchiv Hamburg - Eckardt, Dr.; Eward, Dr.; Kausche, Dr., [1968-1970]                      

(21 items)
  6
Staatsarchiv Hamburg - Harms, E., [1971-1979]

(23 items)
  7 Staatsarchiv Schwerin

(2 items)
  8

Staatsbibliothek Berlin-West

(7 items)
  9

Staatsbibliothek Marburg

​(1 item)
  10

Stadt Salzgitter

(3 items)
  11 Stadt- und Universitats-Bibliothek Frankfurt - Vadtschild, Dr.,

(4 items)
  12 Stadtarchiv Berlin-Ost

(1 item)
  13 Stadtarchiv Bonn - Horoldt, Dr.

(8 items)
  14 Stadtarchiv Braunschweig

(3 items)
  15 Stadtarchiv Darmstadt

(3 items)
  16 Stadtarchiv Graz

(2 items)
  17 Stadtarchiv Hannover

(1 item)
  18 Stadtarchiv Heidelbert

(1 item)
  19 Stadtarchiv Luzern, Switzerland

(2 items)
  20 Stadtarchiv Zurich, Switzerland,

(2 items)
  21 Stanford University. Libraries

(2 items)
  22 Stanley, C. W.

(4 items)
  23 Stanley, G. F. G.

(3 items)
  24 Starkei, E.

(1 item)
  25 Stedmond, J. M.

(18 items)
  26 Stich, K.

(9 items)
  27 L. Stiehm Verlag

(1 item)
  28 Stobie, M.

(22 items)
  29 Stockdale, J.C.

(1 item)
  30 Stouck, D.

(1 item)
  31 Taxation

(7 items)
  32 Tecumseh Press - Gnarowski, M.

(7 items)
  33 Thomas, C.

(7 items)
  34 Thompson, L.

(1 item)
  35
Travel, [1970-1973]

(33 items)
  36 Turpin, D.

(1 item)
  37 Twayne Publishers

(1 item)
  38 Univeristat Munchen. Archiv

(2 items)
  39 Universitatsbibliothek Munchen

(3 items)
  40

University of British Columbia - Stephens, D., 

(4 items)
  41

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

(2 items)
  42 University of Kentucky, Lexington - Irvine, K.

(6 items)
  43
University of Manitoba. Library. Archives - Bennett, R.

(33 items)
  44 University of Manitoba. Library. Special Collections - Muchin, J.

(9 items)
  45 University of Manitoba. Registrar

(4 items)
  46 University of Missouri, Kansas City

(2 items)
  47 University of Toronto. Library

(3 items)
  48
Unruh, K.

(1 item)
  49 Verlag Volk und Welt - Gruner, J.

(2 items)
  50
Victoria College, Jersey

(2 items)
  51 Walshaw, A.

(5 items)
  52
Warkentin, G.
(2 items)
  53
Watts, R. L.

(2 items)
  54
Wegner, C.

(2 items)
  55
Wehrhahn, E.

(1 item)
  56 Weir, S. E.

(1 item)
  57
White, D.

(3 items)
  58 Winnett, S.

(1 item)
  59
Winnipeg Free Press - Saunders, T.,

(16 items)
  60
Winnipeg Public Library

(2 items)
  61 Winnipeg Tribune

(1 item)
  62 Wright, P.

(9 items)
  63 Wurttenbergische Landesbibliothek, Stuttgart- Hoffmann, W.

(3 items)
  64 Wynne-Edwards, S.

(4 items)
  65 Zentralstelle fur Genealogie, DDR

(2 items)
DIARIES
Box Folder  
8 1
Small black notebook, August 1, 1967 - April 12, 1969

Includes some correspondence, interviews, and diary entries. (30 p. are removed between December 11, 1968 and April 5, 1969)
  2 Spiral notepad - Mostly arrangements for a trip to West and East Germany, August 1970

(26 small p.)

Includes some correspondence, and a preliminary travel report to Queen's University Research Council, August 16-18, 20, 1970
  3
Small grey notebook, September - October, 1971

(Documents the identification of Grove/Greve, October 12 and 14, 1971. Includes correspondence and bibliographical notes concerning Greve.)
  4 "Research record", November 1, 1971 - October 2, 1972
DISSERTATION ABSTRACT
Box Folder  
8 5

"The English-Canadian Novel: Some Attitudes and Themes in Relation to Form" / Douglas Odell Spettigue, Ph.D., University of Toronto, 1966

(p. 644 A-645A of Dissertation Abstracts, [1967?])
SPETTIGUE - EDITORIAL INVOLVEMENT
Box Folder  
8 6
Introductions to Grove books: 
  • Consider Her Ways - 1 ms draft, (12 small p.) December 29, 1975
  • In Search of Myself - 1 ms. p., August 2, 1972
  • In Search of Myself - 3 typed versions (4,4,8,p.)
  • In Search of Myself - 2 sets of notes (2 ms. P.; 2 typed p.)
  • In Search of Myself - Galley-proof, September 18, 1973 (4 p. & 1 p. of notes)
  7
Introductions to Grove books:
  • Our Daily Bread - 1 ms version, June 9, 1974
  • Our Daily Bread - 4 typed versions: (84 p., June 1974; 9 p. June 1974; 11 p. July 1974; 11 p. "Final", July 12, 1974)
  8
Translations of Greve's novels: 
  • Maurermeister Ihles Haus - Photocopy of German original, Berlin: K. Schnabel, 1906. (247 p.)
  9
Translations of Greve's novels: 
  • Master Mason Ihle's House (c1976) - Stich's trial translation of Chapter I, 1 (August 1, 1973; 4 p., c.1-2)
  10
Translations of Greve's novels: 
  • Master Mason Ihle's House - Gubbins' translation of Chapter I, 1 (4 versions; 6 p.)
  11
Translations of Greve's novels: 
  • Master Mason Ihle's House Gubbins' translation of Chapter II, 1 (2 versions; 7, 8 p.; original German ed., p.192-199)
  12
Translations of Greve's novels: 
  • Master Mason Ihle's House Gubbins' translation: I-II, p.9-173; III, p. 174-322; 1 ms p. of corrections to p. 100-242
  13
Translations of Greve's novels: 
  • Master Mason Ihle's House III, p. 174-322; 1 ms p. of corrections to p. 100-242
  14
Translations of Greve's novels: 
  • Fanny Essler - Photocopy of German original, 2. Auflage, Stuttgart: A. Juncker, 1905 563 p. (p. 1-300)
  14a

Translations of Greve's novels: 

  • Fanny Essler - (p.301-563)
Box Folder  
9 1-3
Translations of Greve's novels: 
  • Fanny Essler - Photocopy of German original, 2. Auflage, Stuttgart: A. Juncker, 1905 563 p. (pt. 1-5)
  4

Translations of Greve's novels (English translations)

  • Fanny Essler - Spettigue's trial translation of prologue (1 ms version, October 7, 1972, 5 p.; 3 typed versions, 7, 12, 3 p.)
  5
Translations of Greve's novels (English translations) 
  • Fanny Essler 1 Stich's trial of prologue (iii, 19 p.)
  6
Translations of Greve's novels (English translations) 
  • Fanny Essler (English translation) Ottawa: Oberon, c1984. 2 v. - Title pages, introduction and ms corrections (6, 12, 13 p.)
  7
Translations of Greve's novels (English translations) 
  • Fanny Essler (English translation) - Helmer's translation. Corrected typescript, Prol.; pt.1-3, p.1-239
  8
Translations of Greve's novels (English translations) 
  • Fanny Essler (English translation) - Helmer's translation. Corrected typescript, Prol.; pt.4-5, p.240-478
  9
Translations of Greve's novels (English translations) 
  • Fanny Essler (English translation) - Helmer's translation. 1st proof copy - v.1, pt.1-2 (introduction; sections 1-10)

Box Folder  
10 1
Translations of Greve's novels (English translations) 
  • Fanny Essler (English translation) - Helmer's translation. 1st proof copy - v.1, pt.1-2 (introduction; sections 11-20)
  2

Translations of Greve's novels (English translations) 

  • Fanny Essler (English translation) - Helmer's translation. 1st proof copy - v.2, pt.3-5 (sections 1-10)
  3
Translations of Greve's novels (English translations) 
  • Fanny Essler (English translation) - Helmer's translation. 1st proof copy - v.2, pt.3-5 (sections 11-20)
ENCYCLOPAEDIA ENTRIES
 
Box Folder  
10 4
New Canadian Encyclopedia: - Entry for F.P. Grove, 1984

(3 versions; 2 ms p., 2. p., 2. p.)
  5
Oxford University Press, Canada:
  • Entry for F.P. Grove, 1981-1982 (5 versions, 4 p., 5 p., 6 p., 6 ms p., 6 p.)
  • Entry for Hugh MacLenna, Two Solitudes (2 versions, 2 p. each)
  • Entry for Hugh MacLennan, Barometer Rising (2 versions, 2 p. each)                                            
EVALUATIONS
Box Folder  
10 6
Evaluations:
  • Canada Council, for N. Bogaard, 1972 (1 long ms p.)
  • McGill University, Thesis report for E. Raudsepp, 1977 (5 ms. p.)
  • Queen's University. School of Graduate Studies, for W. Keitner, 1971 (1 ms p.)
  • SSHRCC, for J.C. Mahanti, 1980
  • SSHRCC, for M. Rubio [1982?] (3 ms. p.)
  • University of Toronto. School of Graduate Studies, for J. -L. Jacques (1 p.)                                  
SPETTIGUE - LECTURES
Box Folder  
10 7

Lectures: 

  • Lecture on Grove, [Queen's University?] Outline. October 30, 1972 (1 ms p.)
  • Lecture on Grove, York University. Outline. December 6, 1972 (1 ms p.)
  • Lecture on Grove, McArthur College, August 9, 1972 (11 p. & 3 ms p.)
  • Lecture on Grove, A Search for America. Outline. April 4, 1978 (1 ms p.)
  • Lecture on Bolvaag. Outline and Bibliography,. n.d. (3 p.)
  8

Lectures: 

  • Lecture on Grove's story "Snow", January 9, 1984 (2, 4, 6 ms p.; 4 p. of ms maps; photocopy of "Snow", p. 51-63)
  9

Lectures: 

  • Lecture "The Search for FPG", May 29, 1986, University of Manitoba Archives (17 p.); notice of the event; notice in UM Libraries Newsnotes, May 23, 1986, 5 p.; account in UM Bulletin, p.3
NOTES
Box Folder  
10 10
Creative writing

(7 ms p.; 7 small ms.p.; 2 ms notepad strips)
  11
Research notes on F.P. Grove 
  • Notes about passenger lists of the 1890s, November 1970 (8 short & 33 long p.)

see also DIARIES
  12
Research notes on F.P. Grove 
  • Various bibliographical notations and notes (20 ms p. & 9 phc in various sizes)

see also DIARIES
  13
Research notes on F.P. Grove
  • Late 1971 - May 1972 (20 short & 10 long ms p.; included tentative biographical table for Greve)\

see also DIARIES
  14
Research notes on F.P. Grove
  • October - November 1972 (May 10 long p. & 15 ms, items in various sizes)

see also DIARIES 
  15
Research notes on F.P. Grove
  • Transcripts of informative research correspondence, November 1971 - January 1972 (5 short & 4 long p.)

see also DIARIES; TRAVEL; CORRESPONDENCE: Landmann, Nijland-Verwey, Sarkowski, Staatsarchiv Hamburg  
RADIO DEBATES
Box Folder  
10 16
Radio Debates
  • CBC Winnipeg, June 29, 1973 (ms note)
  • CHCH-TV, December 1973 (program, 1 p.)                                                                                     
  • CBC, October 1976 (transcript, 6 p.)

(see also CORRESPONDENCE)
REVIEWS
Box Folder  
10 17
Reviews:
  • D. Pacey's edition of Grove criticism, and four other books, September 1970 (5 p.; p.1 lacking)
  • M. Stobie's Grove book, May 1973 (2 p.)
  • W. Walsh's Commonwealth Literature, May 1973 (3 ms p. & 3 typed p.)
TRAVEL
Box Folder  
10 18

Travel

  • Addresses (35 p. in various format)
  • Maps of Germany (3 items)
  19

Travel

  • Notes and itineraries: 1970 (3ms p.)
  • Notes and itineraries: 1971 (3 ms p.)
  • Notes and itineraries: 1972 (21 ms p., in various formats)                                                        
  • Notes and itineraries: 1973 (6 p., mostly ms)
  20
Travel
  • Reports: 1968 (2 versions, 9 p. each)
  • Reports: 1970 (2 p.)

II. A. WORKS BY F.P. GROVE
ARTICLES
Box Folder  
11 1

Articles:

  • "Democracy and Education." University of Toronto Quarterly, April 12, 1943, p. 389-402.
  • "In Search of Myself." University of Toronto Quarterly, January 10, 1940, p.60-67.
  • "Literary Criticism." in : Canadian Literature Today. Toronto: University Press, 1938, p. 44-49.
  • "Morality in the Forsyte Saga." University of Toronto Quarterly, 15, 1 (1945), p.54-64 (offprint)
  • "Peasant Poetry and Fiction from Hesion to Hemon." Transactions of the Royal Society of Canada, 38 (1944), p.89-98. (offprint)
  • "The Plight of Canadian Fiction? A Reply." University of Toronto Quarterly, 7, 4 (1938), p.451-467.
  • "Postrscript to A Search for America." Queen's Quarterly, 49, 3 (1942), p. [197-213]. (unpaged offprint)
  • "Thomas Hardy: a Critical Examination of a Typical Novel and His shorter Poems." University of Toronto Quarterly, 1,4 (1932), p. 490-507 (offprint)
  • "A Writer's Classification of Writers and Their Work." University of Toronto Quarterly, I (1932), p. 236-253 (off print)
AUTOBIOGRAPHY
Box Folder  
11 2
My Life: the Life of a Writer in Canada.

(89 ms leaves)

Chapter 1-7 of an early version of In Search of Myself (1947); Leaf 89 has outline and pagination of chapters 8-14
CORRESPONDENCE
Box Folder  
11 3
Graphic Publishers - Miller, H., October 30, 1926 - October 4, 1927

(23 items; p.3-18 of typescript, 1970)
  4 Grove, C., March 13 - November 4, 1928

(43 items, all by F.P. Grove)

Also in Grove Collection, Box 1, Fd. 6-7
  5

Invitations, 1928

(3 items)

Miss Lyon, 1945

(1 item)
  6 Macmillan Pub. Co. of Canada - Eayrs, W., Elliott, E., 1944-1946

(6 items)
  7 Mann, Thomas, 1939

(2 items & ms transl. by D. O. Spettigue)
  8 Phelps, A., 1927

(2 items)
  9 Ryerson Press - Pierce, L., 1925

(1 item)
  10 Smith, Dorothy, 1939-1941

(4 items)
  11
Stevenson, Lionel, 1926

(1 item by F.P. Grove, December 15, 1926, as printed in an 1977 article, p.55-56; also its 1978 reprint, p.21-22)
RELATED CORRESPONDENCE
Box Folder  
11 12
Deacon, W. A. to L. Pierce, 1959                                                                                                                    

(1 item)
  13 Scott, D.C. to L. Pierce, 1939

(2 items)

POETRY
Box Folder  
11 14
English Poems:
  • In Memoriam Phyllis May Grove (94 p.) Also in Grove Collection, Box 18, Fd. 11-14
  • Note: pp. [93-94]: "A Dream Vision" with ms annotations by C. and F. P. Grove is not in the Grove Collection.
  • Two indexes of these Poems, by D. O. Spettigue (3 ms p. each)
  • Sixty manuscript aphorisms about "The Life of saint Nishivara" (7 p.). also in Grove Collection, Box 18, Fd.9.
  15
German Poems:
  • Three manuscript poems, which are not in the Grove Collection; they were sent to D.O. Spettigue by A. L. Grove:
  • 1. "Apokalypse" (3 p.; copy 1-3)
  • 2. "Das Fieber..." (Untitled Sonnet, 1 p.; copy 1-2)
  • 3. "Kopfschmerz" (1 p.; copy 1-3)
  • Typescript and ms translations by D. O. Spettigue, June 20, 1968 (3 p., 5 p.)
  • Three German manuscript poems which stem fro the Grove Collection (2 p.; sent by Raudsepp, March 17, 1977)
  • 1. "Dies ist der Wald..."
  • 2. "Sag, hebt sich dein Herz" (Fragment)
  • 3. "Die Dunen fliegen auf..."
  • P. Greve's three published poems. These are also listed with the published collection under Greve's work (Box 14, Fd. 18) Wanderungen (Berlin, 1902)
  • 1. "Erster Sturm." Schaubuhne 3 (1907), p.154. - Note: This poem is almost identical to Grove's "Die Dunen fliegen auf..." in group above.
  • 2. "Die Hexe." Fleistatt 6 (1909) p. 519.
  • "Die Stadt am Strande." Schaubuhne 3 (1907), p.570
  • List of D. O. Spettigue of Grove/Greve's German poems, dated early 1972 and excluding above (1 ms p.)
SHORT STORIES
Box Folder  
11 16
Grove - Short Stories:
  • "The Desert" Queen's Quarterly 48 (1941) p. [216] - 232
  • "The Flat Prairie" Dalhousie Review 11 (1931), p. [214] - 216 (off print)                                           
  • "Glenholm Oils Limited: (11 p.; phc of typescript; 1926-1927?)
  • "In Search of Acirema" ([9] p.; phc of typescript)
  • "Lazybones" Queen's Quarterly 51 (1944), p. [162] - 173
  • "Riders" Canadian Forum 14 (1934) , p.177-180 

II. B. MATERIAL ABOUT F.P. GROVE
ARCHIVAL COLLECTIONS
Box Folder  
11 17
Archival Collections
  • University of Manitoba. Archives. Guide to Grove Collection, mailed April 25, 1968 (5, [6] p.)
  • University of Manitoba Libraries. Booknews, August 14, 1969: Announcement of the acquissitionof the manuscript Winkler School register "written by Grove while he was teaching school there." (1 p.)

BIBLIOGRAPHY
Box Folder  
11 18

Bibliography

  • Miska J. Frederick Philip Grove: a Bibliography of primary and secondary material. Ottawa, Microform Biblios, 1984 (32 p.)
  • Fee, M. and R. Cawker. Canadian fiction: an annotated bibliography (1977?) p. xi-xii, 52-54
  • Staatsbibliothek Berlin-West. 1 p. of Grove holdings
  • Lists compiled by D.O. Spettigue (4 items: 1,4,5,8, p.)
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Box Folder  
11 19
Biographical blurbs, etc.
  • Advertisement blurb of Settlers of the Marsh, [1925?] (2 p., incl. port)
  • Advertisement blurb to accompany review copies of A Search for America (1927). Contains a biographical paragraph.
  • Biographical sketch in Recent Prose, 1941, p.241
  • Newspaper clipping of 1984, recalling the Lorne Pierce Medal which was awarded to Grove for Fruits of the Earth in 1934.
    • Advertisement blurb of a book, Rapid City and District: Our Past and Future 1960?)
  20
Contacts with Contemporaries
  • Crouch, R. E. " Richard E. Crouch, man ahead of his time." london, Ontario: London Public Library and Art Museum, 1962. (30, [2] p.)
  • Graphic Publishers. "Notes on Correspondence between Graphic Publishers and Frederick Philip Grove, 1926-1929". Compiled by Lorne Pierce [1959?] 19 p. (The Edith and Lorne Pierce Collection of Canadian, Queen's University). Also in Grove - CORRESPONDENCE - Graphic Publishers.
  • Spicer, E. J. The Graphic Publishers Limited, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, 1924-1932. [M.L.S. thesis] University of Michigan, Department of Library Science, 1959 [42 leaves] (The Edith and Lorne Pierce Collection of Canadian, Queen's University).
  • Phc about Senator A.C. Hardy (2 p.)
  • Phc from Die Briefe Thomas Manns, v.2, 1980, p. 299, 319, listing Mann's two letters to Grove (2 p.)
Box Folder  
12 1
Research in Germany, 1968-1969
  • Confirmation of Friedrich Grove's emigration; he left with his mother Minna Grove aboard the "First Bismarck" from Hamburg to New York in August 1892 (sent by Staatsarchiv Hamburg to aA.L. Grove, September 14, 1965)
  • Microfiche of Friedrich Grove's emigration entry, Staatsarchiv Hamburg (sent by A. Walshaw, October 22, 1968
  • Obituary for Wilhelm Grove, December 10, 1889 & contemporary ms biographical account (2 p.; sent by F. Gruhne, March 1969). Also: transcript & ms translation. by D.O. Spettigue (3 p.)
  • Report by F. Gruhne on the Grove family in the Braunschweig area, July 28, 1968 (2 p.); includes ms family tree and ms translation (4 p.) Also in : D.O. Spettigue - CORRESPONDENCE - F. Gruhne.
  • Two typed copies of F. Gruhne's family tree of the Braunschweig Groves & 1 ms "Conjectural family tree" by D.O. Spettigue, which also features F.P. Grove in Canada.
  • "Furst Bismarck" passengers' list, Hamburg, July 20, 1892 (17 phc.; Minna Grove (age 49?) & Friedrich Grove (age 9?) appear on p. 1243)
  • "Furst Bismarck" passengers' list, New York, July 20, 1892 (1 fold. coversheet; 2 sheets) Minna and Friedrich Grove have the entry 425-426, and their ages are 49 and 7. For a copy of the complete passengers' list at the ship's arrival in New York, see Box 12a (16 and 24 rolled sheets) and MF.
  2
Research Results from North America
  • Note by E. Huber to D.O. Spettigue stating theat "F.P.Grove taught in GRauyson during the year 1911-1912" at the Kentucky Christian College. Also in CORRESPONDENCE - Huber - Spettigue
  • Two group photos of staff groups of the Kentucky Christian College (Grove not featured) - photocopies only (Originals in: Pc 77)
  • Three negatives of "possible houses where Grove lived" in Brandon (sent by K. Rowe, February 1, 1971)
  3
Research Result from Sweden
  • Report by T. Kjolstad, Landsarkivet Lund, March 31, 1970, about the Loddesborg estate, 9 p. (Originally sent to D. Pacey; sent to D. O. Spettigue by A.L. Grove)
CRITICISM ABOUT F.P. GROVE
Box Folder  
12 4

A. Contemporary, 1925-1950

  • Advertisement blurb of Settlers of the Marsh, [1925] (2 p., incl. port.)
  • Ayre, R. "Frederick Philip Grove" Canadian Forum, v.12, no.139 (1932), p. 255-261; p. 257-261 are excerpts from The Dirge, I-XV.
  • Brown, E.K. [Obituary for F.P. Grove] Winnipeg Free Press, July 28, 1948, [p.7]
  • McCourt, E.A. "Spokesman of a Race?" In his: The Canadian West in Fiction, 1949, p.55-70, 126.
  • Newspaper account on F.P. Grove's address "Nationhood" The Gazette, Montreal, January 29, 1929, [p.12]
  • Pacey, D. "Frederick Philip Grove" Manitoba Arts Review, v.3 (1943), p. 28-41.
  • Perry, A.A. "Who's Who in Canadian Literature: Frederick Philip Grove" Canadian Bookman, v.12, no.3 (1930), p. [51] - 53.
  • Pierce, L. "Frederick Philip Grove, 1871-1948". Proceedings of the Royal Society of Canada (1949), p.113-119. (Offprint; L.P. 's presentation copy to Catherine Grove, February 23, 1950)
  • Rhodenizer, V.B. "Some Recent Novelists" In his: A Handbook of Canadian Literature, 1930, p.108-110.
  • Skelton, Isabel. "Frederick Philip Grove" Dalhousie Review, v.19, no.2 (1939), p. [147]-163.
  • Stanley, C. "Frederick Philip Grove" [Review of D. Pacey's book Frederick Philip Grove] Dalhousie Review, 25 (1946), p. [433] - 441
  • Stanley, C. "The Passing of an Artist" [Obituary, August 1948] 2 p.
  • "World Famed as Novelist: F.P. Grove dies at Simcoe" . Newspaper obituary, August 1948.
  5
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • Bailey, N.I. "F.P.G. and the Empty House" Journal of Canadian Fiction, no.31-32 (1981), p. 177-193 (2 copies)
  6
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • Bishop, E. L. "Grove and Wilde" (Mimeographed citations on art, 5 p. & 1 graph; dated November 1984)
  7
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • Blodgett, E. D. "[Alias Grove: Variations in Disguise" In his: Configurations, 1982, p. 112-153. (p. [137-147], typed, as 38-54 incomplete; notes, p.1-6)
  8
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • Dewar, K. C. "Technology and the Pastoral Idea in Frederick Philip Grove" Journal of Canadian Studies, v. (1973), p. 19-27 [p.28 lacking]
  9
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • Eggleston, W. "Frederick Philip Grove" In Our Living Tradition: Seven Canadians, ed. by C.T. Bissell, 1957, p. 105-127.
  10
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • Healey, J.J. "Grove and the Matter of Germany" Phc of typescript, p. [1] - 23, 1 p. of notes
  11
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • Helmer, C. "Misfits in Canada: the European Heroine in the Fiction of Frederick Philip Grove" (phc of "graduating essay" [1977?] p. [1] - 28; 5 p.)
  12
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • Keith, W.J. "F.P. Grove's 'Difficult' Novel: The Master of the Mill" Ariel 4, no.2 (1973), p. 34-48.
  13
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • Larbalestier, P. "Frederick P. Grove and Frederick Rolfe: Fiction as autobiography in a Disordered Personality" (term paper, [1975?]; 23 p.
  14
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • MacDonald, R.D. "The Power of F.P.. Grove's Mosaic The Master of the Mill. 7 (1974), p. [89] - 100. (= 1 ms p. of D.O. Spettigue's notes)
  15
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • McMullin, S. "Evolution versus Revolution: Grove's Perception of History" Inscape 11, no.1 (1974), p. [77] - 88
  • McMullin, S. "Grove and the Promised Land" Canadian Literature no. 49 (1971), p.10-19.
  • McMullin, S. Introduction to In Search of Muself, McClelland & "Stewart, 1971, p. [ix] - xv.
  • Mahanti, J.C. SSHRCC application, 1980 (13, 7 p.)
  16
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
  • Mahanti, J.C. "Frederick Philip Grove: an International Novelist" International Fiction Review 1 (1974), p. 17-27. Co-author, D. Pacey.
  17
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve) 1950-
 
 
  • Makow, H. "Grove's 'The Canyon'." Canadian Literature no. 82 (1979), p. 141-148.
  • Makow, H. "Grove's Treatment of Sex: Platonic Love in The Yoke of Life " Dalhousie Reviews 50 (1978), p.528-540 (81 p. of the D.O. Spettigue's notes)
  • Makow, H. "Letters from Eden: Grove's Creative Rebirth" University of Toronto Quarterly 49 (1979), p.48-64.
  • Makow, H. Phc of p. 230, 379 of Ph.D. thesis Grove on Art, 1982. (also 1 p. of ms notes by D.O. Spettigue)
  18
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve)
  • Pacey, D. "Frederick Philip Grove: an International Novelist" International Fiction Review 1 (1974), p. 17-26. (See in Co-author J.C. Mahanti's file, Box 12, Fd. 16) Also Typescript fragment of this article (10 p.)
  • Pacey, D. "In Search for Grove in Sweden: a Progress Report" Journal of Canadian Fiction 1 (1972), p.69-73. Also: Typescript version, 18 p.
  • Pacey, D. "On Editing the Letters of Frederick Philip Grove" In: Editing Canadian Texts, (1975). (Typescript, 31 p.)
  19
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve)
  • Pache, W. "The Dilletante in exile: Grove at the Cntenary of His Birth" Canadian Literature, no.90 (1981), p. 187-191. (1 ms p. of D.O. Spettigue's notes)
  • Pache, W. "Der Fall Grove: Vorleben und Nachleben des Schriftstellers Felix Paul Greves" Deutschkandisches Jahrbuch 5 (1979), p. 121-136.
  • Pache, W. "Frederick Philip Grove's Loneliness: Comparative Perspectives" Annalen 4 (1983), p. 185-196.
  20
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve)
  • Pitt, A.J. Interferenzphanomene in der Sprache von Frederick Philip Grove. M.A. thesis. University of New Brunswick, 1977. (t.p. only)
  21
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve)
  • Raudsepp, E. Frederick Philip Grove and the Great Tradition. Ph.D. Thesis. McGill University, 1977. (p.300-385 only)
  22
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve)
  • Riley, A. "Concise English Summary of Fanny Essler, a novel by Felix Paul Greve" ("draft", 5 p.) Co-author, Maria Riley.
  • Riley, A. "Felix Paul Greve, Maurermeister Ihles Haus: Concise Summary and analysis" Februray 1973 (4 p.) Co-author, Maria Riley.
  • Riley, A. "The German Novels of Frederick Philip Greve" Inscape 11. (1974), p. [55] - 66.
  • Comparative Literature Riley, A. "Notes on Thomas Mann and English and American Literature"
  23
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve)
  • Saunders, T. "A Novelist as Poet: Frederick Philip Grove" Dalhousie Review 43 (1963), p. 235-241.
  24
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve)
  • Steele, J. [Review of] Editing Canadian Texts, 1975. p. [250] - 252.
  25 B. General - (includes criticism about Greve)
  • " Translating the Translatable: a Note on a Practical Problem with F.P. Greve's Wanderungen." Canadian Review of Comparative Literature 7 (1980), p. 206-212.
  26
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve)
  • Stobie, M. "Grove and the Ants" Dalhousie Review 58 Studies in the Novel, (1978), p. [418] - 433.
  • Stobie, M. "Frederick Philip Grove and the Canadianism movement" in: 1972. (ms reference only)
  27
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve)
  • Toye, W.E. "Frederick Philip Grove" In: oxford Anthology of Canadian Literature, 1973, p. [152] - 153.
  • Toye, w. E. "Grove, Frederick Philip (1879-1948)" Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, N.S.
  28
B. General - (includes criticism about Greve)
  • Wiebe, R. "A Novelist's Personal Notes on Frederick Philip Grove" University of Toronto Quarterly 47 (1978), p. 189-199.
Box Folder  
13 1
C. Reviews and Newspaper Clippings 1968-1971

Many of these reviews reflect the reception of D.O. Spettigue's two books on Grove (1969) and Grove/Greve (1973) and of the translations of Greve's Maurermeister Ihles Haus (1976) and Fanny Essler (1984) in the following papers and journals:

  • Books in Canada
  • Brandon Sun
  • Canadian Forum
  • Canadian Literature
  • The Citizen
  • Dalhousie Review
  • Edmonton Journal
  • English Studies in Canada
  • Essays on Canadian Writing
  • Germano-Slavica
  • Globe and Mail
  • Globe and Mail Magazine
  • Hamilton Spectator
  • Kingston News
  • London Free Press
  • Maclean's
  • Montreal Gazette
  • Quarry
  • Queen's Quarterly
  • Quill & Quire
  • Toronto Star
  • University of Toronto Quarterly
  • West Coast Review
  • Whig-Standard
  • Windsor Star
  • Winnipeg Free Press

Includes Reviews by

  • Anonymous, in Campus, Queen's University (May 1972, October 1972, August 1973, August 1974)
  • Arnason, D. (January 1974)
  • Arnold, A. (1974)
  • Barbour, D. (August 1970)
  • Bissell, C.T. (Summer 1977)
  • Cohen, M. (January 1974)
  • Darling, M. (Winter 1974)
  • Dudek, M. (November 1969, 2x)
  • Eggleston, W. (1968?, February 1970, May 1972, April 1973, December 1973)
  • Elliott, J. (December 1973)
  • Featherling, D. (March 1974)
  • French, W. (April 1973, November 1973, November 1977)
  • Fulford, R. (November 1973)
  • Garner, H. (July 1971)
  • Geddes, G. (1971?)
  • Gnarowski, M. (March? 1977)
  • Grady, W. (October? 1976)
  • Gutteridge, D. (1974)
  • Judd, D. (1973?)
  • Keith, W. (Summer 1970)
  • King, C. (December 1975)
  • Kuepper, K. J. (Spring 1978)
  • McDougall, R. (January 1976)
  • McLeod, G. D.
  • McMullen, L. (1974)
  • McMullin, S. (Summer 1970, Spring 1974 - 2x, November 1975, Summer 1978)
  • Makow, H. (September 1976)
  • Marsden, W. (January 1974)
  • Mathews, R. (April 1985)
  • Morley, P. (July 1971)
  • Moss, J. (November 1976)
  • Nesbitt, B. (October 1970)
  • Pacey, D. (January 1974)
  • Phelps, A. (November 1969)
  • Ricon, L. (Spring 1974)
  • Rowe, K. (October 1968 - 2x, December 1970, August 1972, & 7 anon.)
  • Rubio, M. (November 1976)
  • Scobie, S. (June 1974)
  • Spettigue, D. (January 1976)
  • Stevens, P. (December 1973)
  • Stich, K. P. (Spring 1977)
  • Van der Ploeg, D. (November 1976)
  • Waddington, Marcus (January 1974)
  • Waddington, Miriam (Summer 1978)
  • Whittingham, T. (March 1974)
  • Wilson, O.N. (February 1977)
  • Witten, M. (November 1976)
  • Woodcock, G. (May 1974, January 1976, August 1976)
  2

C. Reviews and Newspaper Clippings 1972-1973

(23 items)
  3 C. Reviews and Newspaper Clippings 1974-1976

(31 items)
  4 C. Reviews and Newspaper Clippings 1977-1985

(11 items)
DOCUMENTS
Box Folder  
13 5
Immigration, 1921
  • Application for Naturalization
  • Certificate of Naturalization
  6
Marriage, 1914
  • Marriage Certificate, Swift Current, August 2, 1914
  • Registration of Marriage, Swift Current, September 1, 1914
  7
Photographs and Autograph
  • F.P. Grove's portrait (3 copies from a nagative sent by Catherine Grove, November 1971) - Original in the Photograph Collection
  • F.P. Grove's signature, 1928 (1 copy)

(For Royal Society Nomination, 1939 - see F.P. Grove - Related Correspondence - D.C. Scott)

Education - see D.O. Spettigue - CORRESPONDENCE - Manitoba Department of Education; University of Manitoba. Registrar

III. A. WORKS BY F.P. GREVE
ARTICLES, ESSAYS, REVIEWS BY F.P. GREVE
Box Folder  
14 1 "Der Luftkrieg" Neue Revue und Morgen 3 (1909), p. 954-955 (2 p. & 2 ms p. of translated by D.O. Spettigue)
  2 "Nachgelassene Werke von Friedrich Nietzsche, (Bd. 11 & 12)" Beilage zur Allgemeinen Zeitung, (Munchen) no.235 (1901), p.6-7 (2 p. & 1 ms. p. of tr. by D. O. Spettigue)
  3 Oscar Wilde. Berlin: Gose & Tetzlaff, 1903

(Phc, P. [1] -[47])
  4
English translation by D.O. Spettigue, 1972
  • Typescript, 41, [3] p.
  • ms draft, December 1971 - January 1972, [61] p.
  • Introduction, January 24, 1972, 4 ms p.; January 1972, 5 typed 1
  5 "Oscar Wilde und das Drama" In: Oscar Wildes Werke in zwolf Banden. Berlin: Globus-Verlag, (1918), pt. 3, v. 7, p. 7-102

(49 p. & 1 ms p. of transl. by D.O. Spettigue)
  6 "Marginal Notes on Oscar Wilde" English translation by D.O. Spettigue of Randarabesken zu Oskar Wilde, Minden: J.C. C. Bruns, 1903, November - December 1972

[38] ms p.
  7 "Reise in Schweden" Neue Revue und Morgen 3 (1909), p. 760-766; "Travelin in Sweeden" by D.O. Spettigue, April 1972, 13 ms p.
CORRESPONDENCE
Box Folder  
14 8 Brummer, F. (1 typed item: March 6, 1907; includes autobiographical sketch (2 p.) for Brummer's Lexicon. (Also 2 typed & 2 ms p. of transl. by D. O. Spettigue)
  9 George, St. (5 ms items, all by Greve: May 9, May 29, June 19, November 19, December 8, 1902) Also 2 ms p. of transl. by D.O. Spettigue
  10 Gundolf, F. (2 ms items: June 19, September 23, 1902) 4 ms p. of transcripts & translation by D.O. Spettigue
  11
Insel Verlag (4 ms items: June 6 [2 c.], August 31, September 4, November 30, 1903)- Kippenberg, A.; von Poellnitz, R.
  • Dr. Schafgans, Rechtsanwalt. Vorlaufige Beschlagnahme, September 12, 1903
  • Pfandungs - und Uberweisungs eschluss for 10 000 Mark, September 28, 1903.
  • Konigliches Amtsgericht Bonn, October 7, 1903.
  12
Insel Verlag - Related Correspondence - R. von Poellnitz
  • Transcripts of Insel-correspondence, by D.O. Spettigue, August 2, 1902 - September 21, 1909 (31 short ms. p.; 28 long ms. p.)
  • Translations of Insel-correspondence et al by D.O. Spettigue (66 ms p. of various sizes & 51 typed p.)
  • Indexes to Greve's correspondence compiled by D.O. Spettigue (6 long ms p., 4 short ms p., 4 typed p.)
DRAMA
Box Folder  
14 15 Helena und Damon. Berlin: O.v.Holten; Munchen: [May 1902]. [viii], 39, [iv] p. (Photocopy) - Transl. by D.O. Spettigue, p. [1]-15 (9 ms p.)
FICTION
Box Folder  
14 15
Fanny Essler: ein Roman. Stuttgart: Axel Juncker, [1905] 563 p. Photocopy

see Spettigue - Editorial Involvement, Box 8, Fd. 14-15, & Box 9, Fd.1-3
  16
Maurermeister Ihles Haus: Roman. Berlin: Karl Schnabel, 1906. 247 p. Photocopy

see Spettigue - Editorial Involvement, Box 8, Fd. 8
POETRY
Box Folder  
14 17
Wanderungen. Berlin: O. v. Holten; Munchen: Kommissionsverlag J. Littauer, 1902.
  • Translation by d.O. Spettigue only, November 1972. 61 p. (42 ms p.)
  • Translation by D.O. Spettigue of: 'Tothe Masters," & p. 20-23 of Wanderungen (6 long ms p., November 1972)
  • [Self-review by F.P. Greve] Die Zukunft 39 (1902), p. 164-165. (1 phc. & 2ms p. of translation by D.O. Spettigue, 1972, 1980)
  18

Poetry

Note: These three poems can also be found with F.P. GROVE - POETRY, Box 11, Fd. 15

  • "Erster Sturm". Die Schaubuhne 3 (1907), p. 154 (1 phc; transcript, 1 ms p. & transl., 1 typed p. by D.O. Spettigue)
  • "Die Hexe" Freistatt 6 (1904), p. 519. (1 phc & translation by D.O. Spettigue, 1 ms p.)
  • "Die Stadt am Strande" Die Schaubuhne 3 (1907), p. 570. (1 phc.; transcript & translation by D.O. Spettigue, 1 ms p.)
TRANSLATIONS
Box Folder  
14 19
1001 Nacht. Die Erzahlungen aus den Tausendundein Nachten. Leipzig: Insel-Verlag, 1906/7-1908. 12 v.
  • Bd. 1, t.p. & t. of contents (2 p.)
  • Bd. 1, 2nd printing, t.p. & table of contents of Bd. 1-12; colophon (12 p.)
  • Bd. 2, t.p. & table of contents (3 p.)
  • Bd. 7, t.p. & table of contents (3 p.)
  • [Self-review by F.P. Greve] "Die Ubersetzungen von Tausend und Eine Nacht" Zeitschrift fur Bucherfreunde 11 (1907-1908) - Photocopy & 3 translations by D.O. Spettigue (4 ms p.; 2 typed p.)
  • "The Story of King Shahriar and of His Brother Shah Zaman". Translation by D.O. Spettigue of Bd., p.1 (1 ms p.)
  • "Geschichte des ersten Bettelmonches". Prisma 1 (1947), p. 5-7 (3 p. of phc)
  • Bibliographical references (5 p.)
  20
1001 Tag. Tausend und ein Tag: orientalishe Erzahlungen. Leipzig: Insel, 1909-1910. 4 v. [v.1-2 translated by F.P. Greve]
  • Bd. 1, table of contents (2 p.)
  • Bd. 1, table of contents of 1963 ed. in 2 v. (2 p.)
  • Bd. 4, table of contents (1 p.)
  • Bd. 4, table of contents, Bd. 1-4 (2 p.)
  • "Wie Sumurrud sich an dem Kadi rachte, der ihr Haus beleidigt hatte" [Entnommen der Sammlung 1001 Tage] Neue Revue und Morgen 3 (1909), p. 697-703 (7 p.)
  • Bibliographical references in Insel-Almanach 1970 (1969) (2 p.)
  • Bibliographical references (2 ms p.)
  21

Balzac. Die menschliche Komo Neue deutsche Ausgabe der Romane und Erzahlungen auf Dunndruckpapier. Leipzig: Insel-Verlag, [1925], 10 v. Advertisement only (2 p.)

 
  • Phc of Oberst Chabert, p. [78-80]
  • Transcript by D.O. Spettigue (1 ms p.)
  • "Geschichte des ersten Bettelmonches" Prisma 1 (1947), p. 5-7 (3 p. of phc)
  • Bibliographical references (5 p.)
  • "Chronological table of the works composing La comedie humaine" (4 p.)
  22

Browning. "Kleon" Freistatt 6 (1904), p. 556-559

  • Browning, R. & E. Barrett-Barrett. Briefe. Berlin: S. Fisher, 1905. Vorbemerking des Herausgebers, [F.P. Greve], p.5-7 (phc & 1 ms p. of translation by d.O. Spettigue)
  23 Dickens, C. David Cooperfield. Bibliographical reference from Sarkowski's Der Insel-Verlag, no.381. (1 p.)
  24 Flaubert. Briefe uber seine Werke. Minden i. W.: J.C.C. Bruns, [1904]. Vorbemerkung, [F.P. Greve], p. [v.] - vi. (2 p. & 1 ms p. of translation by D.O. Spettigue)
  25 Flaubert. Die Versuchung des heiligen Antonius. Minden i. W.: J.C.C. Bruns, [1907]. (phc of t.p. only)
  26
Gide. Der Immoralist. Minden i. W.: J.C.C. Bruns, [1905]. (phc of t.p. only)
  • [Self-review by F.P. Greve], Die Zukunft 52 (1905), p. 305-306. (phc & 3 ms p. of translations by D.O. Spettigue)
  • Bibliographical references (2 p.)
  27
Junius. Die Briefe des Junius. Leipzig: Insel-Verlag, 1909. Vorbemerking der Ubersetzers, [F.P. Greve]. (1 ms p. of translation only D.O. Spettigue)

includes Biographical references (1 p.)
  28
Murger, JH. Die Boheme. Szenen aus dem Pariser Kunstlerleben. Leipzig: Insel-Verlag, [1909]. Translation of preface by D.O. Spettigue only (3 ms p.)

includes Biographical reference of 3rd ed.
 
 
Box Folder  
15 1 Peter, W. Marius der Epikureer. Leipzig: Insel Verlag, 1908. 2 v. (Biographical reference only)
  2
Swift, J. Prosaschriften. Berlin: Oesterheld & Co.; E. Reiss; 1909-1910. 4 v.
  • Two versions of introduction translated by D.O. Spettigue (2 ms p.)
  • Bibliographical references from D.H. Teerink's bibliography, 1937 (2 ms p.)
  • Bibliographical references from Swift, Satiren, Insel-Verlag, 1965 (2 p.)
  3
Wells, H.G. Ausblicke auf die Folgen des technischen und wissenschaftlichen Fortschritts fur Leben und Denken des Menschen.Minden i. W.: J.C.C. Bruns, [1905].
  • Vorbemerkung only, p. ix-xi (3 p., & ms. translation by D.O. Spettigue on verso)
  • [Self-review by F.P. Greve], Die Zukunft 14 (1905), p. 483 (phc & ms p. of translation by D.O. Spettigue)
  3
​Wells, H.G. Dr. Moreaus Insel. [Minden i.W.: J.C. C. Bruns, n.d.] (table of contents [p.223] only; 1 p.)
  • [Self-review by F.P. Greve], Die Zukust 13 (1905), p. 266-267. (phc & 2 ms p. of translation by D.O. Spettigue)
  • Biographical references (4 p.)
  4
Translations:
  • Whistler, J.M. "Ten o'clock" Neue deutsche Rundschau 14 (1903), p. 315-325 (8 p.)
  • Wilde, O. Das Bildnis Dorian Graus. Minden i. W.: J.C.C. Bruns [1902] (t.p. & pref. only; 4 p., incl. ms translated by d.O. Spettigue)
  • Wilde, O. "Ein Kapitel aus Dorian Grays Bildnis" (translator not identified). Neue deutsche Rundschau 14 (1903), p. 204-217 (7 p.) - [Self-review by F.P. Greve], Die Zukuft 11 (1903), p. 208 (1 p., 1ms p., 1 typed p. & of translation by D.O. Spettigue)
  5
Translations:
  • Wilde, O. Fingerzeige [Minden i W.: J.C.C. Bruns, 1903] Preface only (2 p. & 1 ms p. of translation by D.O. Spettigue)
  • Wilde, O. Finderzeige. 1905 ed., "Anmerkung" only (1 p.) - [Self-review by F.P. Greve] Die Zukunft 10 (1902), p.466-467 (1 p. & 2 ms p., 1 typed p. of translation by d.O. Spettigue)
  • Wilde, O. Die Erzahlungen und Marchen. 4. Aufl., 31. bis 40. Tausend. Leipzig: Insel-Verlag, 1914. (t.p. & p. 7 only)
  • Wilde, O. Das Granatapfelhaus. Leipzig: Insel-Verlag, 1904 (t.p. & p.3 only)
  • Wilde, O. [Die Shinx. Minden: J.C.C. Bruns, 1906.] (2 p., incl. "Vorbemerkung") - Biographical references (6 ms p. & 7 p. of phc)

III. B. MATERIAL ABOUT F.P. GREVE
BIBLIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Box Folder  
15 6
Bibliographies of F.P. Greve's Works and Translations:
  • from various catalogues (18 p.)
  • manuscript references, mostly 1971-1972 (15 p.)
  • four desiderata lists, 1979-1983 (17 p.)
  • W. Hoffer, Vancouver, Sales list
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Box Folder  
15 7

Entries for F.P. Greve in the following lexica:

  • Brummer, Franz. Lexicon der deutschen Dichter und Prosaisten. 6. Aufl. Leipzig: P. Reclam, [1910?] Bd. 2, p. 439 (2 p. & 2 ms p. of transcripts)
  • Kosch, W. Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon. 2. Aufl. Bern: Francke, 1949. Bd.1, p.729 (1 p.)
  • Kurschners Literatur-Kalender 1910 (1 p.)
  • Kurschners Literatur-Kalender 1911. F.P. Greve listed in the obituary section, "Die Toten des letzten Jahres" (1 p. & 1 ms p. of transl.)
  • Nekrolog zu Kurschners Literatur-Kalender, 1901-1935. Berlin: Leipzig: W. de Gruyter, 1936. Entry under F.P. Greve's pseudonym, F.C. Gerden. (2 p.)
CONTEMPORARY CRITICISM
Box Folder  
15 8

Behmer, Marcus. [Letter to Ernst Hardt, February 19, 1907] In: Briefe an Ernst Hardt. Marbach, 1975, p. 51-54. (6 p.; 1 ms p. transl.)

Contains a paragraph on Fanny Essler and a reference to "Else Ti", presumably Else Greve (on p. 53).
  9
[Bie, Oskar]. "Die Aesthetik der Luge". Neue Deutsche Rundschau 14 (1903), p. 670-672. (4 p.)

Review of F.P. Greve's translation of Oscar Wilde's Intentions as Fingerzeige.
  10 [Bierbaum, Otto Julius]. "Wanderungen von Felix Paul Greve". Insel 3 (1901/2), p. 195-196. (2 p. & 1 p. transl. by D.O. Spettigue)
  11 Bockel, Fritz. "Maurermeister Ihles Haus. Roman von Felix Paul Greve". Das litterarische Echo 10 (1907-1908), p.210. (1 p. & 1 ms p., 2 typed p. transl. by D.O. Spettigue)
  11

Ettlinger, Josef. "Der Fall Hofmannswaldau" Das Litterarische Echo 10 (1907-1908), col. 19-23. (2 p.)

Review of three editions f Hofmannswaldan's poetry, one of which is edited by F.P. Greve: Auserlesene Gedichte des Herrn Hofman von Hofmannswaldan. Insel-Verlag, 41 p.
  12 George, Stefan. Correspondence with F. Gundolf (June 17 & September 3, 1902), addressing F.P. Greve's poetry. (2 ms p. of transcript & 1 typed p. of excerpts in D.O. Spettigue's translation); Verway, A.; Wolfskehl, K.
  13 Gide, Andre. "Conversation avec un Allemand" In his: Oeuvres Completes. Paris: NRF, [1932-1939], 15 v., v.9, p. 133-143. (11 p. & 4 ms p. translated by D.O. Spettigue)
  13 Gide, Andre. The Journals of Andre Gide. New York, A. Knopf, 1947. v.1, p. 136, 150, 156, 206,395 (2 ms p. of notes only by D.O. Spettigue)
  14 [Groth, M.] "Fanny Essler. Roman von Felix P. Greve". Der Kunstwart 19 (1905-1906), p. 549-550. (2 p. & 3 ms p. of transl. by D.O. Spettigue)
  15
Paret, R. "Tausendundein Tag. Orientalische Erzahlungen, ausgewahlt und eingeleitet von Paul Ernst, ubertragen von Felix Paul Greve und p. Hausmann". Orientalische Literaturzeitung 4 (1927), p. 286-287.

A review of the 2 v. edition (1925) of the original 4 v. edition, Insel, 1909-1910.
DOCUMENTS
Box Folder  
15 16 1. Baptismal Entry for F.P. Greve. Born: February 14, 1879, Radomno, Deutsch-Eylau), May, 18, 1879. (1 p. & 1 typed p. translated by D.O. Spettigue)
  17
Education, Hamburg
  • 2. Entry in the St. Pauli school register for 1886-1895. (1 p. & 1 typed p. of transcript)
  • 3. Entry in the school register of the Realgymnasium des Johanneums, 1896. (1 p. & 1 typed p. of transcript)
  • 4. Entry in the list of graduates of the Gelehrtenschule des Johanneums, 1898. (1 p. & 1 typed p. of transcript)
  • 5. Two letters discussing the conditions of Greve's transfer from the Realgymnasium to the Gelehrtenschule of the Johanneum, March 25-26, 1897. (2, 4 p.; of the first also a manuscript transcript and translation by D.O. Spettigue, 1 p. each)
  • 6. Schulerkarte, Gelehrtenschule des Johanneums zu Hamburg, February 21, 1898 (4 p.)
  • 7. Zeugnis der Reife, Gelehrtenschule des Johanneums zu Hamburg, February, 21, 1898 (4 p.)
  19
Education, Bonn University
  • 8. Anmeldebuch, Koniglich Preussische Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universitat zu Bonn, Sommer 1898-Winter 1901 (9 p. & 6 ms p. of translation by D.O. Spettigue)
  • 9. Abgangs-Zeugnis, October 20, 1901. (2 p.)
  20
Genealogy
  • 10. Parents' registration of domicile in Hamburg, May 12, 1881-1885, 1888 (1 phc & 1 typed p. of transcript, December 1, 1971)
  • 11. F.P. Greve's father, C.E. Greve, born October 5, 1847, Niendoft: birth certificate, Blucher, July 22, 1890 (2 p.)
  • 12. F.P. Greve's mother (J.J.A. Reichentrog, born October 15, 1855, Carlshohe: birth certificate, Gross Trebbow, August 9, 1890 (1 phc)
  • 13. Certificate of Schwerin nationality for C.E. Greve, July 28, 1890 (1 p.)
  • 14. Employment certificate by C.E. Greve's firm, the Transport-Actien-Gesellschaft, July 31, 1890 (1 p.)
  • 15. Application for Hamburg nationality, October 28, 1890 (2 p.) - Lists parents' wedding, November 14, 1876, in CramonLists the birth of F.P. Greve's sister, August 25, 1877, in Lists F.P. Greve's birth, February 14, 1879, in RadomnoLists first Hamburg domicile, May 1881.Lists last domicile as Schwerin (2 phc)
  • Translations of items 10-14 above by D.O. Spettigue (6 ms p.):
  20
Genealogy
  • 16. Mother's death certificate: J.J. A. B. Greve, born Reichentrog, (d. May 6, 1898), May 10, 1898 (1 p. & 1 p. of typed transcript)
  • 17. Statement by A. Jacobsen concerning the estate of the deceased, June 7, 1898 (1 p. & 1 p. of typed transcript)
  • 18. Statement by C.E. Greve concerning the estate of the deceased, June 13, 1898 (1 p. & 1 p. of typed transcript)
  • 19. Note about the sealed apartment of the deceased, June 4, 1898 (1 p. & 1 p. of typed transcript)
  21
Genealogy
  • 20. Ancestors: Three reports by Pastor Hess, Ratzeburg, June 14, 1972: Elvers family, in Niendorf & Blucher (2 p.)Greve family, in Niendorf (4 p.)Reichentrog family, in Cramon (2 p.)
  • 21. Excerpts from Blucher church sources, 1785-1850 99 typed p.)
  • 22. Excerpts about Niendorf, Blucher, Drieberg from geographical sources (5 p.)
  • English translation of 20-22 above by D.O. Spettigue (18 ms. p.)
  • 23. Parents' siblings: Report by Pastor Hess, Ratzeburg, about F.P. Greve's parents, April 5-6, 1973 (2 p. & 2 ms p. of translation by D.O. Spettigue)
  22
Genealogy
  • 24. Three family trees of F.P. Greve's relatives, sketched by D.O. Spettigue (1 ms p; 1 large sheet, folded twice)
  23
Documents
  • 25. F.P. Greve's passport application, Hamburg, June 26, 1898 (1 p. & 1 p. typed transcript - not by F.P. Greve)
  24
Documents
  • 26. Clipping from Frankfurter Zeitung 37, Nr. 152 (3. Juni 1903), p.2 (1 p. & 1 ms p. transl. by d.O. Spettigue)
  • 27. Clipping from General-Anzeiger fur Bonn und Umgebung Nr. 47 61 (May 30, 1903), p.7 (1 p. & 3 ms p. of transl. by D.O. Spettigue)
  25
Documents
  • "Index of documents" by D.O. Spettigue, September 24, 1972 (4 ms p.)
  • "Documents" by D.O. Spettigue, March 26, 1972 (4 p., typed)
INFORMATION ABOUT F.P. GREVE AND HIS CONTEMPORARIES
Box Folder  
15 26 Beckmann, M. Biographical sketch on the occasion of an exhibition at Queen's University in 1978. (1 p.)
  27 Blei, F. Biographical entries from Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon (1968) and Neue deutsche Bibliographie (v.2, 1952)
  28
J.C.C. Bruns Verlag.
  • "Aus dem Verlagskatalog vom February 1, 1906": 2 typed p. list of F.P. Greve's publications.
  • "Verlagskatalog, Herbst 1925: (8 p.) - Contains information and review excerpts about Greve's meredith, Flaubert, Wilde and Gide translations.
  • "Aus einem Verlagsprospect "Die Bucher aus dem J.C.C. Bruns-Verlag, Minden in Westfalen, Winter 1928" (7 p.) - Contains information about Greve's Meredith, Wilde, Wells, Flaubert, and Gide translations; about Max Bruns; and a list of the series Meisterwerke der Weltliteratur, Bd. 1-20.
  • "Aus einer kleinen Broschure 'Die Entwicklung von J.C.C. Bruns' Verlag, [1928?]" (1 p.) - Account of Greve's translation of Wilde's Dorian Gray and several of Meredith's novels.
  • Sarkowski, H. "J. C.C. Bruns in Minden: Hinweis auf einen fast vergessenen Verlag" Imprimatur N.F. 6 (1969), p. 121-131 (17 p. & 10 typed p. of transl. by D.O. Spettigue)
  29

Ernst, Else.

  • Biographical entries from Autorenlexikon Schone Literatur der Gegenwart and Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon (1 p. & 1 ms p. of transl. by D.O. Spettigue)
  • Death certificate (June 7, 1946) "Stabeurkunde" obtained from Graz, December 5, 1973.
  • Newspaper clipping (incomplete) of E. Ernst's story "Das rosenrote Band" (1 p. & 1 ms p. of trans. by d.O. Spettigue)
  • Bibliographical references from Sarkowski's Der Insel-Verlag, no. 812 and 1729
  30 Ernst, P.
  31
George, S.
  • Biographical entry from Encyclopaedia Britannica, v.10, p. 192-193 (1 ms p.)
  • Biographical entries from Bibliographie der Personalbibliographien and Chambers Encyclopedia
  • Notes from U.K. Goldsmith's Stefan George: a Study of His Early Work (7 ms leaves)
  • Biographical references (4 p.)
  32
Gide, A. "A propos des Deracines" (8 p.)

includes Biographical notes and bibliographical references (3 ms p.)
  33 [Hamsun, K.]. "Selective bibliography" (2 typed p.)
  34
[Insel-Verlag].
  • "Ubersetzungen von Felix Paul Greve im Insel-Verlag" (1 typed p.)
  • "Insel Taschenbucher; alphabetisches Verzeichnis". (3 p.)
  • Notes by D.O. Spettigue about the Insel-Verlag. 2 ms p.
  35
Batts, M.S. "A publisher's 'device'; the Insel's ship" Amphora 24 (1976), p. 2-4. (In original publication)
  • Michael, F. "Verschollene der fruhen Insel". Borsenblatt fur den deutschen Buchhandel 28, Nr. 17 (1972), p. A78-A82. (In original publication, & 2 copies)
  • Michael, F. "Verschollene der fruhen Insel" In his Der Leser als Entdecker: Betrachtungen, Aufsabe und Erinnerungen eines Verlegers. Sigmaringen: J. Thorbecke, 1983, p.236-241 (5 p.)
  • Michael, F. "Buried Years of the Early Insel". Translation by D.O. Spettigue. (10 ms p., March 15, 1972; 2 typed versions, 5 p. each)
  36 Sarkowski, H. Der Insel-Verlag: eine Bibliographie, 1899-1969. Frankfurt am Main: Insel-Verlag, [1970]. (26 p. reflecing in part also F.P. Greve's translations)
  37 Poppenberg, F. Bibliographical references. (2 ms p.)
  38 Schmitz, O. Biographical entries. (3 p.)
  39
Wilde, O. Bibliographical information about the poem "Vita nuova" (1 ms p.)
  • Publisher's advertisement of H.M. Hyde's The trials of Oscar Wilde, 1974 reprint. (4 p.)
  40 Else von Freytag - correspondence
  41 Else von Freytag - autobiography
  42 Else von Freytag - documents
  43 Else von Freytag - poems published 1918-1929
Box Folder  
16 1 Elsa Draft, June 1986
  2 Elsa - Holograph photocopy and notes
  3 Photocopies of F.P. Greve's correspondence - Andre Gide (55 items), 1903-1907

Pc 97 - Photograph Collection
Box Folder  
1 1

Frederick Philip Grove

(3 copies)
  2 Two group photos of staff groups of the Kentucky Christian College (Grove not featured)
  3 3 Slides - 37 frame