Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Lantern Slides: Lantern Slides Finding Aid (PC 164 (A.03-62))

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Lantern Slides Finding Aid

An Inventory of Its Lantern Slide Collection at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Rita Mogyorosi
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2003)

Finding aid encoded by Rita Mogyorosi (July 2003)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - A.03-62, PC 164 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, 
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
 
Title:
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Lantern Slide Collection
 
Dates:
[190-?]-[195-?]
 
Quantity:
1,478 lantern slides. -- 44 cm of an accompanying card catalogue.
 
Identification:
A.03-62, PC 164
 
Language
English.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Records

The lantern slides are arranged in several groupings of numbered and unnumbered slides covering various Engineering topics including Civil, Electrical, Military, Structural, and others. There are also a few miscellaneous slides. The nature of the groupings suggests that the slides had been used as part of lectures, and there are many local and international engineering projects and examples featured throughout. A major part of the collection (slides numbered 1 through 2139, with a number of slides missing throughout) corresponds with the accompanying card catalogue. This collection also includes a lantern slide projector.

Return to Top


Organization of the Records

These records are organized into three series.

  • Photograph Collection (PC 164), [190-?]-[195-?]
  • Lantern Slides (3¼" x 3¼" format)
  • Lantern Slides (3¼" x 4" format)
  • Card Catalogue for slides numbered 1 - 2139

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on this material.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Users must abide by relevant copyright legislation.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Lantern Slide Collection was found in a dumpster discarded by the Faculty of Engineering in the late 1980s. It was retrieved at this time by a Technician working for the Faculty.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Records

Lantern Slides (3¼" x 3¼" format): [190-?]-[195-?]
 
Box  
1
Slide #1 - 163,

120 slides

Sixteen slides are missing from this range. In addition, slide #121 - 148 are in 3¼" x 4" format and are housed in Box 11.

2
Slide #164 - 283,

120 slides

3
Slide #284 - 424,

120 slides

Twenty-two slides are missing from this range.

4
Slide #425 - 617,

120 slides

Sixty-one slides are missing from this range. In addition, slide #536 - 547 are in 3¼" x 4" format and are housed in Box 11.

5
Slide #618 - 856,

120 slides

Twenty-one slides are missing from this range. In addition, slide #753 - 850 are in 3¼" x 4" format and are housed in Box 11.

6
Slide #857 - 991,

120 slides

Fifteen slides are missing from this range.

7
Slide #992 - 1214,

120 slides

Five slides are missing from this range. In addition, slide #1001 - 1018 and #1108 - 1118 are in 3¼" x 4" format and are housed in Box 11. Slide #1119 - 1186 and #1189 are in 3¼" x 4" format and are housed in Box 12.

8
Slide #1215 - 1340,

120 slides

Fives slides are missing from this range.

9
Slide #1341 - 2139; Electrical and Civil Engineering,

120 slides

9
Electrical - electricity lecture, etc.,

11

Slides are numbered 1, 5 - 7, 12, 15a, 17, 18, 19a, 27a, and 29.

Civil - transportation routes, etc.,

2

Slides are unnumbered.

Civil - sewage treatment,

16

Slides are numbered 39 - 54.

Civil - sewage treatment cont'd,

6

Slides are numbered 57 - 62.

Civil - sewage treatment,

7

Slides are unnumbered.

Civil - cement, gravels, sands,

14

Slides are unnumbered.

Seven hundred and thirty-five slides are missing from the slide #1341 - 2139 range.

10
Civil, Electrical, Military, Structural, Other Engineering, and Miscellaneous,

95

10
Civil - cement, gravels, sands, cont'd,

21

Slides are unnumbered.

Electrical - electricity, hydro, circuitry,

8

Slides are unnumbered.

Electrical - Winnipeg Electric Railway substations - plans, powerhouses, stations, etc.,

12

Slides are unnumbered.

Electrical - photoelectric cells, Bell transmitting system,

6

Slides are unnumbered.

Electrical - hydro, waterways, rainfall statistics for Winnipeg and Manitoba,

15

Slides are unnumbered.

Military - WWI - maps, trench design, aerial views, etc.,

10

Slides are unnumbered.

Military - WWI - maps, trench design, aerial views, etc., cont'd,

5

Slides are numbered 1, 6, 17, 19 and 20.

Structural - foundations, arches, columns, etc.,

6

Slides are unnumbered.

Other - air systems - plans, graphs,

11

Slides are unnumbered.

Miscellaneous - "All Hail the Engineers" poem,

1

Slide is unnumbered.

Return to Top


Lantern Slides (3¼" x 4" format): [190-?]-[195-?]
 
Box  
11
Slide #121 - 1118,

120 slides

Thirty-six slides are missing from this range.

12
Slide #1119 - 1189; Electrical and Civil Engineering,

110 slides

12
Electrical - various lighting systems,

15

Slides are numbered 1 - 15.

Electrical - lighting design for a bank, library, church,

9

Slides are numbered 1 - 9.

Electrical - lighting system for "Lowry's for Children,"

12

Slides are numbered 1 - 12.

Civil - transportation routes - bridges, road construction, ship canals,

6

Slides are unnumbered.

One slide is missing from the slide #1119 - 1189 range.

13
Civil, Electrical, Military, Structural, Other Engineering, and Miscellaneous,

73 slides

13
Civil - transportation routes - bridges, road construction, ship canals, cont'd ,

11

Slides are unnumbered.

Civil - masonry, cement,

5

Slides are numbered 11a, 14a - 14c, and 15.

Electrical - electricity, hydro, circuitry,

1

Slide is unnumbered.

Military - WWI - maps, trench design, aerial views, etc.,

19

Slides are unnumbered.

Structural - foundations, arches, etc.,

2

Slides are numbered 21a and 21b.

Other - engines, tractors,

12

Slides are unnumbered.

Other - air systems - plans, graphs,

18

Slides are numbered 11 - 14 and 16 - 28. One slide is unnumbered.

Miscellaneous - early scale, "1919 Wpg Strike"[?], corroded grid of a positive plate, German New Year's cards [?] (one black and white, the other hand-tinted),

5

One slide is numbered 11c, while the rest are unnumbered.

 

Return to Top


Card catalogue for slides numbered 1 - 2139: [190-?]-[195-?]

Divided into numerical headings followed by alphabetised topical headings. The numbers noted on each card behind the topical headings correspond with the cards behind the numerical headings and vice versa.

 

Box  
14
1-100
101-200
201-300
301-400
401-
601-711
712-750
751-769
801-851
866-998

End of range was formerly "936," but this has been crossed out and replaced with "998."

1001-1100
1101-1200
1201-1300
1301-1400
2001-2142
Bridges
14
Bridges
C.N.R. Bridges
Missouri River Bridge
Concrete Tests, Alkali etc.
Foundations & Retaining Walls etc.
14
Caissons
Diagrams
Foundations
Piers
Piles
Pumps
Retaining walls
Grain Elevators
Miscel.
Railway Engineering
14
Hudson Bay set
Locomotives
Maps & Profiles
Rolling Stock
Snow Sheds
Spirals
Stations
Switches
Track
Train Ferries
Tunnels
Wrecking
Roads
Water Power Development
14
Canadian Water Power Sites, Misc.
Meters
Pumps & Water Wheels
Valves, Turbines, Runners, Bearings
Spray Lakes
St. Lawrence Waterway
Winnipeg River
Water Supply
14
Dams
G.W.W.D. Aqueduct Construction
Reservoirs

 

Return to Top