Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Leonard H. Shebeski Fonds: MSS 58, PC 77 (A.88-30)

Finding Aid

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Bruce N. Pennington
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(April 1990)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (May 2003)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

July 26, 2005 - MSS 58, PC 77 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Leonard H. Shebeski

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Arrangement of the Papers

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Index Terms

Related Papers

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

General Education, 1946-1947

Academic Career, 1947-1969

Research Projects, 1954-1979

Provincial Interests, 1979-1982

National Interests, 1960-1987

International Interests, 1975-1988

Papers and Publications, 1948-1981

Photograph Collection (PC 77)

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2
Creator:
Leonard H. Shebeski

Title:
Leonard H. Shebeski fonds
Dates:
1946-1988
Quantity:
0.65 m of textual records. -- 30 photographs.
Identification:
MSS 58, PC 77
Language
English.

 

Return to Top

 

Biography of Leonard H. Shebeski

Chronology of Events

1914 -- Born, Aubigny, Manitoba

1941 -- B.A., University of Manitoba

1941-45 -- Observer and Pilot in the Royal Canadian Air Force

1946 -- M.Sc., University of Manitoba

1947 -- Assistant Professor, University of Saskatchewan

1953 -- Professor, Department Head, University of Manitoba

1954 -- Initiates Research on Triticale Project

1965 -- Dean, Faculty of Agriculture, University of Manitoba

1967 -- Received Centennial Medal

1972 -- Received Honorary Doctorate from University of Warsaw

1974 -- Received Honorary Doctorate of Science from Queen's University

1976 -- Received Honorary LL.D. from University of Saskatchewan

1977 -- Invested Order of Canada (Officer)

1979 -- Retired from University of Manitoba

1981 -- Appointed as Dean Emeritus University of Manitoba

Biographical Sketch

Leonard Hylary Shebeski was born in Aubigny, Manitoba, August 5th, 1914. Shebeski, the son of Polish emigrants, grew up in the rural environment of the Canadian prairies. His family farm life was both a positive and permanent influence. In his early twenties, Shebeski entered into the University of Manitoba where he received his Bachelor of Science Agriculture (1941) and Master of Science (1946) degrees. Shebeski was an outstanding student who excelled in his studies. He received numerous scholarships and awards, including the prestigious Lieutenant Governor's Gold Medal in Agriculture.

Shebeski's academic career was disturbed, as were so many others of his era, by the Second World War. Shebeski enrolled in the Royal Canadian Air Force in March 1941 and in his typical manner excelled in training, first as an Observer and later as a Pilot. He was Mentioned in Despatches in 1944. Shebeski was discharged (Honorable) in October, 1945.

Shebeski immediately returned to his academic work, studying for his Doctorate at the University of Minnesota in 1946-47. His reputation as a skilled scholar preceded him and he was sought out by the University of Saskatchewan for its Department of Field Husbandry. In 1947, Shebeski accepted the University of Saskatchewan's offer of an Assistant Professorship. Within the year he was promoted to Associate Professor.

Shebeski's long and distinguished association with the University of Manitoba began in 1953, when he left the University of Saskatchewan to take up full Professorship and to become Head of the Plant Sciences Department. In 1965, Shebeski became the Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture, a position he held until his retirement in 1979. During his tenure, Dean Shebeski personally guided the development and direction of the faculty which resulted in a growth rate of unprecedented proportions.

Dean Shebeski has received honorary degrees from the University of Warsaw (Russian is his second language), Queen's University and the University of Saskatchewan. Dr. Shebeski was brought out of retirement to take the seat as Dean Emeritus at the University of Manitoba. In addition to these academic honours, Dr. Shebeski was invested into the Order of Canada (Officer) in 1977.

Dr. Shebeski is a renowned leader in the Canadian agricultural development field as witnessed by his participation in agencies such as the National Research Council; the Canadian Agricultural Research Council; and the Association of the Scientific, Engineering and Technological Community of Canada. However, Dr. Shebeski's sights were not restricted to only Canadian issues. He actively sought out and participated in numerous international committees and agencies. Notable amongst these was his work on the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture; the World Bank Rural Development Committee; and the Commonwealth Advisory Group on Food Production and Rural Development.

Dr. Shebeski's research activities have been of international consequence. His research efforts have been greatest in the area of wheat breeding. His initial work was undertaken at the University of Saskatchewan where he focused on barley, oat and rye improvement techniques. One year following his move to the University of Manitoba he initiated what became his single most significant contribution to agriculture -- the triticale breeding program. Under Dean Shebeski and others, notably Doctors Jenkins, Welsh and Larter, the triticale program flourished and received international acclaim as the 'superseed' of the future.

Dr. Shebeski married his wife Laura on May 26th, 1945. They have four children: Janice, Elaine, Peggy and Kathy. Dr. and Mrs. Shebeski reside in Victoria, British Columbia.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

The papers contained within this collection cover, in part, the years from 1946 to 1988. Included are such items as minutes of various committees, correspondence, research proposals, annual reports, and research reports.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 8 series.

General Education, 1946-1947
Academic Career, 1947-1969
Research Projects, 1954-1979
Provincial Interests, 1979-1982
National Interests, 1960-1987
International Interests, 1975-1988
Papers and Publications 1948-1981
Photograph Collection (PC 77)

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

The organization of the collection follows, as closely as possible, the original order of Dean Shebeski's personal filing system. On the rare occasion when complete disarray was encountered, the chronological method of arrangement was utilized. On occasion Dean Shebeski employed an alphabetical system of filing and this also has been maintained when required. The portion of this collection entitled Papers and Publications, follows the exact filing system of Dean Shebeski.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on access to this collection.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

Users must abide by relevant copyright legislation.

Return to Top

Index Terms

Names:

Organizations:

Subjects:

Places:

Document Types:

Titles:

Return to Top

Related Papers

Shebeski's work as dean of the University of Manitoba's Faculty of Agriculture is documented in UA 21, the Faculty of Agriculture fonds.

Return to Top

Custodial History

Donated by Professor Shebeski in 1988.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

General Education, 1946-1947

Box Folder  
1 1

University of Minnesota - Department of Agronomy and Plant Genetics, 1946-1947

Correspondence relating to Ph D. work at said institute, future employment inquiries. Covers period Aug 1946 - Apr 1947.

Return to Top


Academic Career, 1947-1969
                            University of Saskatchewan

Box Folder  
1 2 Department of Field Husbandry - Associate Professor, 1947-1953

Correspondence as Professor covering period May 1947 - May 1953. Includes numerous congratulatory letters on promotion to Professorship at University of Manitoba.

  3 Radio Lectures 1949-1956

12 lectures from the University of Saskatchewan (Jun 1949- Oct 1951), One from the University of Manitoba (Jan 1956), subject matter Agriculture.

    University of Manitoba 1960-1979
Box Folder  
1 5 USSR - Agricultural Exchange Visits - General Correspondence, 1960-1970
  6 USSR - Agricultural Exchange Visits - 6 General Speeches/Reports, 1960-1970
  7 USSR - Agricultural Exchange Visit - June 6-July 31, 1960

Itineraries, typed drafts of diaries.

  8 USSR - Agricultural Exchange Visit - June 6 - July 31, 1960

Hand written notes on foolscap.

  9 Poland - Correspondence, 1962-1979

Regarding numerous visits to Poland over period 1962-1979. Speeches made in Poland and in Canada to Polish-Canadian audiences.

    Dean of Agriculture - Congratulatory Correspondence
Box Folder
1 10 Austenson - Funt
  11 Gibbings - Morton
  12 Olson - Woodward

On promotion to Dean of Agriculture. Filed alphabetically;

    Dean of Agriculture - Correspondence, 1965-1979
Box Folder  
2 1 1965-1973
  2 1974-1975
  3 Jan - Jun, 1976
  4 Jul - Dec, 1976
  5 1977-1979
Box Folder  
2 6 Dean of Agriculture - Messages, speeches and Convocation addresses.
  7 University Grants Commission 1969-1972
    Annual reports 1969-1970, agenda and minutes for meetings between Oct 1969 - Jan 1972.

Return to Top

Research Projects, 1954-1979
                             Fall/Winter Rye Project, 1954-1972
 

Box Folder  
2 8 Correspondence

Federal Department of Agriculture 1954-72, University of Minnesota, Saskatchewan Research Council.

  9

Reports and Bulletins, 1961-1972
 

Triticale Project, 1958-1979

Research Oriented Correspondence

Box Folder  
3 4 Draft Review - "Triticale: A Promising Additions to the World's Cereal Grains. Includes hand penned corrections.
  5 Grant Request
    "Request for a Grant in support of International Triticale Development & Improvement," submitted to the International Development Research Center by the Plant Science Department of the University of Manitoba, undated."
  6 'Efforts to inform the public'
  7 General Inquires - Correspondence
  8 NRC Operating Grant
  9 Newspaper Clippings
  10 Magazine Articles
  11 Academic Reports, reviews and developments
    Winter Wheat Cooperative Tests
Box Folder  
4 2 Correspondence, 1959-1964
  3 Federal Department of Agriculture, Federal Research Station Lethbridge Alta.
  4 Hybrid Wheat Project
Box Folder  
4 2 Correspondence
  3 General Papers/Reports, 1961-1969
  4 Media - Newsclippings
    Wheat Breeding Project
Box Folder  
4 5 Correspondence, Nov. 1966 - Mar. 1967
  6 Returned Questionnaires
    Questionnaires returned to Shebeski from international sources, includes hand penned notes.

Return to Top

Provincial Interests, 1979-1982

Box Folder  
4 7 Manitoba Agricultural Museum - Correspondence Jun 1979 - Mar 1982
  8 Manitoba Agricultural Museum - General Info/Publishing project
  9 Manitoba Agricultural Museum - Financial Statements, 1980-1981
  10 Manitoba Agricultural Museum - Board of Directors - Minutes and Notes

Return to Top


National Interests, 1960-1987
                             National Research Council (NRC)
 

Box Folder  
5 1 Associate Committee on Radiation Biology (ACRB) - Correspondence
    Correspondence covering the period Apr 61 - Jun 65 involving agencies such as NRC, NDHQ, Atomic Energy Canada, and Canadian Universities.
  2 ACRB - Radiation Biology - Correspondence - Dr H.B. Newcombe. Apr 1961 - Mar 1965.
    Newcombe was Secretary of the ACRB, and Head of the Biology & Health Physics Division Atomic Energy Canada.
    ACRB - Minutes
Box Folder  
5 3 Jan 1961-Jul 1961
  4 Aug 1961-Oct 1962
Box Folder  
5 4 Canadian Council of Resource Ministers (CCRM) - Correspondence, 1964
    Letters and inter-governmental memo's covering period Jan - Apr 1964.
  5 CCRM - General Information
    Newsletters, briefing papers, Agricultural Rehabilitation and Development Act (ARDA).
  6 Special Prairie Regional Committee (SPRC) - Correspondence - Chairman Shebeski, Oct 1961 - Mar 1965
Box Folder  
6 1 SPRC - Minutes
    Science Council Committee of Agricultural Research in Canada (SCC of ARC) - Correspondence, 1967-1970
Box Folder  
6 2 Sep 1967 - Jul 1969
  3 Aug 1969 - Jan 1970
Box Folder  
6 4 SCC of ARC - Minutes
    SCC of ARC - Related Presentations/Papers
Box Folder  
6 5 Volume I
  6 Volume II
Box Folder  
6 7 SCC of ARC - Submitted Reports
    Mid - and Final-reports.
Box Folder  
7 1 SCC of ARC - Draft copy of "The Challenge Facing Agriculture" The 1970 SCC of ARC final report.
  2 SCC of ARC - 2nd Draft - "The Challenge Facing Agriculture," incomplete, missing first three chapters.
  3 SCC of ARC - Questionnaires
    Replies from Canadian Universities (BC, Man, Guelph, Laval, Alberta ect...) to SCC of ARC questionnaire of agricultural research.
  4 SCC on Resources Overview
    A Seminar on the contribution of the Resource Industries and Resource Dependent Industries to the National Economy. Correspondence between Nov. 1970 - Jan. 1971, briefing papers, and seminar guidebook.
    Resources for Tomorrow Conference (RFTC)
Box Folder  
7 5 RFTC - General Correspondence, 1960-1985
    Covering the period May 60 - Aug 85, involving Provincial and Federal Government agencies, Canadian Universities, and Private Businesses.
  6 RFTC - Conference Material
    Including participation lists, background briefs, conference organization, and press releases.
  7 RFTC - Presented Speeches and Papers
    15 speeches and papers presented at the RFTC; including Prime Minister Diefenbaker, Rene Levesque, and other prominent politicians and academics.
  8 RFTC - Background Papers
    Six papers circulated in preparation for the RFTC. Of particular technical and scientific interest.
  9 RFTC - General Academic Papers
    Papers and handouts, co-located with the RFTC files, that relate in general to agricultural, scientific, and technical aspects of the subject.
    A national conference which examined the role of renewable resources in Canada's natural resources development.
    Royal Society of Canada
Box Folder  
8 1 Correspondence 1974-1978
  2 Minutes, Notices, Bulletins
    Canadian Seed Trade Association
Box Folder  
8 3 CSTA sponsored Chinese Visit, 1985
    Correspondence including contract to set up visit, timetable, impressions and final report of visit.
    SCITEC
Box Folder  
8 4 The Association of the Scientific, Engineering & 4 Technological Community of Canada.
    Executive Committee Minutes, Roster, General Bulletins, and Routine Correspondence.
    Canadian Agricultural Research Council
Box Folder  
8 5 Make or Buy Committee
    Canadian Agricultural Research Council, an ad hoc committee to review and report on experience of Canadian universities conducting Government sponsored agricultural research.

Return to Top


International Interests, 1975-1988
                            Commonwealth Advisory Group on Food Production and Rural Development (CAG FPRD)

 

Box Folder  
8 6 Agendas - member list including advisory group, notes and letters relating to meetings. Dec. 1977
  7 Opening remarks, notes and letters, and press releases, May 1978
  8 Minutes - includes Draft minutes, notes and speech, Dec 1977
  9 General Correspondence - Chairman, Sep - Nov 1977
    With agencies such as Department of External Affairs, Commonwealth Secretary General, and individual members of the advisory group.
  10 General Correspondence - Chairman, Nov 1977 - Feb 1978.
    As above, also includes the 1978 CAG FPRD Report.
    Canadian Executive Service Overseas
Box Folder  
9 1 Consultation Visit to Brazil, Mar - Dec 1976
    General Correspondence, contract, and trip diary.
  2 Post Brazil Visit Report, 1975
    Canadian International Development Agency
Box Folder  
9 3 India Dryland Agricultural Project, Aug - Nov 1979
  4 Zambia-Canada Rainfed Wheat Project, May 1980 - Sep 1981
  5 Sri Lanka-Canada Dry Zone Project, Nov 1981 - Feb 1982.
  6 Bangladesh Rice Research Institute (BRRI), Oct 1984 - Jan 1985
  7 BRRI - Wheat Program
    No copy of final report, Jan - Mar 1985