The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Call Number: Ua 28, Pc 49 (A.84-36, A.86-05, A.86-42, A.86-57, A.88-17, A.89-36, A.90-39, A.90-45, A.90-53, A.92-02, A.93-49, A.05-113)
Title: Faculty of Human Ecology fonds.
Dates: 1903-1987.
Extent: 9.2 m of textual records and other material.
Administrative history: The present Faculty of Human Ecology traces its beginnings to a diploma in Household Science in 1910 at the Manitoba Agricultural College. The Diploma program became a degree in Home Economics in 1915. Three years later, Mary Kelso was named first Director of Home Economics. In 1924, the Manitoba Agricultural College became the Faculty of Agriculture and Home Economics at the University of Manitoba. In 1943, the Division of Home Economics became the School of Home Economics, but remained within the Faculty of Agriculture. In 1950, the School of Home Economics moved back into its original building following renovations, ending 26 years of residence in temporary buildings. The Departments of Food and Nutrition and Clothing and Textiles were created in 1967.
The School of Home Economics was not granted official faculty status until 1970, ending a 60-year tie with the Faculty of Agriculture. In the following year, a Department of Family Studies was created with Dr. Lola Jackson as Head. The Faculty changed its name in 1981 to Human Ecology, reflecting the diversification of curricula. The next year saw the creation of a Bachelor degree in Human Ecology and, in 1983, a Ph.D. in Food and Nutritional Sciences was offered in conjunction with the Faculty of Agriculture.
Custodial history: The fonds was donated to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by the Faculty of Human Ecology in several accessions between 1984 and 1993. The 2005 accession (A.05-113) was purchased by the Archives from a stock footage company in 2005.
Scope and content: The fonds contains budget reports, Department of Clothing and Textiles testing service contracts, committee reports, Faculty Council minutes, course offerings, student lists, and news clippings. The bulk of the collection covers the period 1960 to 1985. The 2005 accession consists of 1 Beta SP cassette featuring stock footage taken in 1945 on black and white film, approximately 1 minute and 17 seconds long, of the University of Manitoba, Faculty of Home Economics. Students of the Home Economics program can be seen attending lectures, walking about the campus, and engaging in vacuuming, making beds, food preparation, washing and entertaining babies, and eating.
In total, the photograph collection consists of 870 photographs, 846 slides, and 1 Beta SP cassette.
Restrictions: Confidential material is restricted.
Finding aid: A printed finding aid for PC 49 is available in the Archives reading room and a finding aid for UA 28 is available in the Archives' InMagic database.
Related Material: RBR RA 441 E94 2013 DVD
A National Film Board documentary titled "Eyewitness no. 47" filmed in 1952. The documentary contains a 4-minute segment featuring the University of Manitoba's Home Economics degree program.
Digitized Material