The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
330 Elizabeth Dafoe LibraryWinnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2
(March 2008)
Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs (March 2008)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
CHILD & FAMILY SERVICES MATERIAL 1983-1985
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
330 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
Creator:
Tim Sale
Title:
Tim Sale fonds
Dates:
1983-1984
Quantity:
0.4 metres of textual records
Identification:
Mss 258 A2006-86
English
Tim Sale was born February 5, 1942 in Goderich, Ontario. He received a Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Theology Degrees from the University of Toronto. He is an ordained Anglican Minister. Following graduation he moved to Winnipeg, where he held positions at both the University of Winnipeg & Manitoba. He served as a school trustee for Ft. Garry from 1971-1977. He was CEO of Winnipeg's Social Planning Council from 1976-1985.
Despite being a Liberal he was hired as Assistant Deputy Minister of Education by the NDP government from 19878-1989. He lost that [position with the change of government. In 1991 he helped to found Choices a social activist group opposed to the Conservative Government. He ran for the NDP in a by-election in Crescentwood in 1992 losing by 400 votes.
He was elected in Crescentwood in 1995. In 1999 he became the Minister of Family Services & Housing in the first Doer Government. He was transferred to the new portfolio of Science Energy & Technology in 2002. In 2003 he was appointed Minister of Health. Sale did not seek re-election in 2007.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The fonds consists of a single series: Child & Family Services material
No restrictions on access
No restrictions on use.
Donated by Tim Sale in 2006
Detailed Description of the Collection
CHILD & FAMILY SERVICES MATERIAL [1983-1985]
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Children's Aid Society - newspaper clippings 1983-1984 |
| 2 | Child & Family Services Critical Path Plan- Social Planning Council of Winnipeg - reports 1984 | |
| 3 | Child Welfare implementation team - Volume 1 1983-1984 | |
| 4 | Child Welfare implementation team - Volume II 1983-1984 | |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Child Welfare implementation team - Volume III 1984 |
| 2 | Child Welfare implementation team - Volume IV 1984 | |
| 3 | Child & Family Services information system 1983-1985 | |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | Child & Family Services reorganization 1984 |
| 2 | Child & Family Services 1984-1985 |