Inventory prepared by Andrea Martin
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2010)
Finding aid encoded by Andrea Martin (2010)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
Research and Writings regarding Bertram Brooker, 1916-1975
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Birk Sproxton was born in 1943 in Flin Flon, Manitoba. He was educated at United College, now the University of Winnipeg, and at the University of Manitoba where he earned both a Master of Arts degree and a Ph.D in Modern Literature. He taught high school in Boissevain, Manitoba and also taught at the University of Regina, the University of Winnipeg, the University of Manitoba, and at Red Deer College. Sproxton edited a number of volumes, including, Great Stories from the Prairies; Trace: Prairie Writers on Writing; and Sounds Assembling: The Poetry of Bertram Brooker . Sproxton also authored a number of monographs including The Red Headed Woman with the Black Black Heart , which won an Honorable Mention for Best Historical Fiction in 2000 from the Manitoba Historical Society. Sproxton was directly involved in founding The Sphinx: A Magazine of Literature and Society in Regina. He served on the editing staff of the journal from its inception in 1974 until the early 1980's. Sproxton passed away on March 14, 2007.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The first accession (A.05-79) consists of two series: Research and Writings regarding Bertram Brooker, and Research Materials and Notes. The second accession (A.10-07) consists of correspondence regarding The Sphinx magazine and sixteen issues of The Sphinx .
This collection is arranged into two series, and a 2010 accession (A.10-07).
- 1. Research and Writings regarding Bertram Brooker
- 2. Research Materials and Notes
- A.10-07
There are no restrictions on this material
Bertram Brooker fonds: Mss 16, PC 16, TC 76 (A.80-53, A.88-52, A.03-119).
The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 2005 (A.05-79) and 2010 (A.10-07) by Mark Sproxton.
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Newspaper clippings, correspondence, drafts, 1916-1930, 1948 |
| 2 | Correspondence re: The Robber, 1950-1953 | |
| 3 | Correspondence re: The Robber, 1949-1950 | |
| 4 | Bernard Book - First Copy |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Yearbook of the arts in Canada, 1928-1929 |
| 2 | Essays and Drafts, 1929-1930 | |
| 3 | Man from Beyond, [ca.1944] | |
| 4 | Diary, Mementoes, Personal, 1920-1936; predominant 1920-1923 | |
| 5 | Drafts, 1938, 1952 | |
| 6 | B. B Humour | |
| 7 | Marketing, 1922-1927; 1929-1930 | |
| 8 | Untitled poem in 13 parts, "Consider" etc., | |
| 9 | Drafts and Correspondence | |
| 10 | Drafts and Correspondence, 1929-1945 | |
| 11 | Personal, 1925, 1927 | |
| 12 | Western Expressions | |
| 13 | Biography | |
| 14 | Bibliography, 1927-1975 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 15 | Hart House 1926; Canadian Literature in English |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | Notes and copied sections of Playwrights of the New American Theatre |
| 2 | Notes and copied sections from Psychoanalysis and the Drama | |
| 3 | Notes and copies from The Provincetown: A Story of the Theatre | |
| 4 | Notes and copy of piece by Sproxton | |
| 5 | Notes and copy of "Point of View in Modern Drama" | |
| 6 | Review of Criticism - notes and drafts, [197-?] | |
| 7 | Notes | |
| 8 | Notes and copies from Myth and Modern American Drama | |
| 9 | Notes and unidentified research materials |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Correspondence: re: starting, planning, and organizing The Sphinx, 1971-1974 |
| 2 | Correspondence: re: Issues 1 & 2, 1974 | |
| 3 | Correspondence: re: Issue #3 & 4, 1974-1975 | |
| 4 | Correspondence: re: subscriptions and membership, 1974-1975 | |
| 5 | Correspondence: Random Letters, 1974, 1999; predominant 1974 | |
| 6 | Correspondence: re: Issue #5, 1975-1976 | |
| 7 | Correspondence: re: funding, costs and reviews, 1976-1977 | |
| 8 | Correspondence: re: Issue #6 & 7, 1976 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Correspondence: re: Issue #7, 1977 |
| 2 | Correspondence: re: Issue #8-12, 1977-1980 | |
| 3 | Correspondence: re: Issues #13-17, 1981-1983 | |
| 4 | The Sphinx , No.1, Winter 1974 | |
| 5 | The Sphinx , No.2, Summer 1974 | |
| 6 | The Sphinx , No. 3, Winter 1975 | |
| 7 | The Sphinx , No. 4, Summer 1975 | |
| 8 | The Sphinx , Vol. 2, No. 1, Winter 1976 | |
| 9 | The Sphinx , No. 6, Vol. 2, No. 2, Summer 1976 | |
| 10 | The Sphinx , No. 7, Vol. 2, No. 3, Winter 1977 | |
| 11 | The Sphinx , No. 8, Vol. 2, No. 4, Summer 1977 | |
| 12 | The Sphinx , No. 9, Vol. 3, No. 1, 1979 | |
| 13 | The Sphinx , No. 10, Vol. 3, No. 2, 1979 | |
| 14 | The Sphinx , No. 11, Vol. 3, No. 3, 1980 | |
| 15 | The Sphinx , No. 12, Vol. 3, No. 4, 1981 | |
| 16 | The Sphinx , No. 13, Vol. 4, No. 1, 1981 | |
| 17 | The Sphinx , No. 14, Vol. 4, No. 2, 1982 | |
| 18 | The Sphinx , No. 15, Vol. 5, No. 3, 1984 | |
| 19 | The Sphinx , No. 16, Vol. 4, No. 4, 1985 |