Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Birk Sproxton fonds: MSS 334, PC 315, TC 162, EL 32 (A.11-13)

Birk Sproxton:

Birk Sproxton: : Archives & Special Collections : Libraries : University of Manitoba

An Inventory of his papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Birk Sproxton
 
Title:
Birk Sproxton fonds.
 
Dates:
1965-2008
 
Quantity:
The fonds consists of 9.8m of textual & other material including 28 audiocassettes, 1 videocassette, 5 CDs & 188 computer discs.
 
Identification:
MSS 334, PC 315, TC 162, EL 32 (A.11-13) 
 
English

Return to Top


Biography of Birk Sproxton

Birk Sproxton was born in 1943 in Flin Flon, Manitoba. He was educated at United College, now the University of Winnipeg, and at the University of Manitoba where he earned both a Master of Arts degree and a Ph.D in Modern Literature. He taught high school in Boissevain, Manitoba and also taught at the University of Regina, the University of Winnipeg, the University of Manitoba, and at Red Deer College. Sproxton edited a number of volumes, including, Great Stories from the Prairies; Trace: Prairie Writers on Writing; and Sounds Assembling: The Poetry of Bertram Brooker . Sproxton also authored a number of monographs including The Red Headed Woman with the Black Black Heart , which won an Honorable Mention for Best Historical Fiction in 2000 from the Manitoba Historical Society. Sproxton was directly involved in founding The Sphinx: A Magazine of Literature and Society in Regina. He served on the editing staff of the journal from its inception in 1974 until the early 1980's. Sproxton passed away on March 14, 2007.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sproxtons fonds contain 13 series. They include: Biographical information, Masters & PHD material, books written & edited by Sproxton, published articles, manuscript drafts & publicity material, writing journals & day planners, Red Deer College & academic correspondence, writing correspondence, writing notes, teaching notes, photograph collection (PC 315), tape collection (TC 162) & electronic records, (EL 32).

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on access.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

No restriction on use

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds were donated by Mark Sproxton in 2011.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION [1974-2008]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
1 1 CVs & biographical information 1974-2008                   

Return to Top


MASTERS & PHD MATERIAL 1968-1984
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
1 2 Sproxton's masters thesis 1968                                     
  3 PHD drafts 1971-1978
  4 PHD drafts 1974-1975
  5 PHD drafts 1980-1983
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
2 1 PHD thesis - chapter 1 1980                     
  2 PHD thesis - chapter 2
  3 PHD thesis - Chapter 3 1980                                        
  4 PHD thesis - Chapter 4 1980
  5 PHD thesis - Chapter 5 1980
Box     Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
3 1 PHD thesis - conclusion & bibliography 1982
  2 PHD thesis - introduction & chapter 1&2 ca.1982
  3 PHD thesis - chapter 3-5 , conclusion & bibliography ca.1980
  4 PHD thesis - chapters 2, 4&5 ca.1982
  5 Full thesis draft 1983
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
4 1 PHD thesis - introduction & edits ca.1983                  

Return to Top


BOOKS WRITTEN & EDITED BY SPROXTON 1980-2006
Box Folder  
5 1 1. Sounds Assembling The Poetry of Bertram Brooker, 1980, 2.Headframe, 1985, 3. Trace 1986, 4. The Hockey Fan Came Riding, 1990, 5. The Red-Headed Woman with the Black Black Heart, 1997, 6. Prairie Fire Winnipeg in Fiction, 1999, 7. Great Stories from the Prairies, 2001, 8.Focus a Story of People Passion & Performance 2002, 9. Phantom Lake, 2005, 10. Headframe 2, 2006, 11.Winnipeg Connection, 2006

Return to Top


PUBLISHED ARTICLES 1991-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                      
6 1 Articles 1991-1993                                                                                                                                   
  2 Articles 1993-1995
  3 Articles 1995-1997
  4 Articles 1998-2006

Return to Top


MANUSCRIPT DRAFTS & PUBLICITY MATERIAL 1973-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                          
7 1 Bertram Brooker 1973-1989
  2 Bertram Brooker 1973-1988
  3 Bertram Brooker 1974-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
8 1 Head Frame 1978-1988
  2 Head Frame 1978-1988
  3 Head Frame 1978-1988
  4 Head Frame 1978-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
9 1 Head Frame 1982
  2 Head Frame 1982-1983
  3 Head Frame 1983-1985
  4 Head Frame 1985
  5 Head Frame 1985-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
9A 1 Head Frame 1978-1988
  2 Head Frame 1978-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
10 1 Trace 1983-1985
  2 Trace 1983-1988
  3 Trace correspondence from writers 1985
  4 Trace correspondence from writers 1985
  5 Trace correspondence from writers 1985-1986
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
11 1 Trace writers correspondence 1986
  2 Trace publishers & writers correspondence 1986-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
12 1 Red-Headed Woman 1983-1987
  2 Red-Headed Woman 1985-1992
  3 Red-Headed Woman 1988-1991
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
13 1 Red-Headed Woman drafts 1985-1992
  2 Red-Headed Women 1985-1992
  3 Red-Headed Woman 1985-1992
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
14 1 Red-Headed Woman 1991-1992
  2 Red-Headed Woman 1992
  3 Red-Headed Woman 1992
 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
15 1 Red-Headed Woman 1992
  2 Red-Headed Woman 1993
  3 Red-Headed Woman 1993
 
 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
16 1 Red-Headed Woman 1993
  2 Red-Headed Woman 1994
  3 Red-Headed Woman 1994
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
17 1 Red-Headed Woman 1995
  2 Red-Headed Woman 1995
  3 Red-Headed Woman 1995
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
18 1 Red-Headed Woman 1996
  2 Red-Headed Woman 1996
  3 Red-Headed Woman 1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
19 1 Red-Headed Woman 1996
  2 Red-Headed Woman 1996
  3 Red-Headed Women 1996
  4 Red-Headed Women publicity & notes 1997-2001
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
20 1 The Hockey Fan Came Running notes & drafts 1987-1997
  2 The Hockey Fan Came Running drafts 1987-1997
  3 The Hockey Fan Came Running draft 1987-1997
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
21 1 The Hockey Fan Came Running draft 1989
  2 The Hockey Fan came Running 1990
  3 The Hockey Fan came Running 1990-1997
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
22 1 Great Stories drafts 1992-2005
  2 Great Stories drafts 1992-2005
  3 Great Stories contributors correspondence 1992-2000
  4 Great Stories contributors correspondence 2000
  5 Great Stories correspondence 2001
  6 Great Stories - publisher's payment & permission requests 2001-2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
23 1 Winnipeg in Fiction - Prairie Fire Special Edition articles & correspondence 1992-1997
  2 Winnipeg in Fiction - Prairie Fire Special Edition correspondence 1996-1998
  3 Winnipeg in Fiction - Prairie Fire Special Edition 1998
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
24 1 Winnipeg in Fiction correspondence 1998
  2 Winnipeg in Fiction correspondence 1998
  3 Winnipeg Fiction correspondence 1998
  4 Winnipeg in Fiction correspondence 1998
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
25 1 Phantom Lake research material 1995-1999
  2 Phantom Lake drafts & research material 1995-1999
  3 Phantom Lake research material 1995-1999
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
26 1 Phantom Lake drafts 1997
  2 Phantom Lake drafts 1997
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
27 1 Phantom Lake drafts 1998-1999
  2 Phantom Lake drafts 1999
  3 Phantom Lake 1999
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
28 1 Phantom Lake drafts 2000
  2 Phantom Lake drafts 2000
  3 Phantom Lake drafts 2000
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
29 1 Phantom Lake 2000-2001 
  2 Phantom Lake 2001-2002 
  3 Phantom Lake 2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
30 1 Phantom Lake 2002-2003
  2 Phantom Lake 2003
  3 Phantom Lake 2003
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
31 1 Phantom Lake 2004
  2 Phantom Lake 2004
  3 Phantom Lake 2004
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
32 1 Phantom Lake 2004
  2 Phantom Lake - draft & contract with U. of Alberta Press 2005 
  3 Phantom Lake 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
33 1 Phantom Lake 2005
  2 Phantom Lake 2005
  3 Phantom Lake 2005-2007
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
34 1 Head Frame 2 drafts 1997-2003
  2 Head Frame 2 drafts 2003-2004
  3 Head Frame 2 drafts 2004 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
35 1 Head Frame 2 - drafts 2004-2005
  2 Head Frame 2 - drafts 2005-2006
  3 Head Frame 2 - drafts 2006-2007
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
36 1 Winnipeg Connection 2001-2008
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
37 1 Winnipeg Connection 2001-2008
  2 Winnipeg Connection correspondence 2001-2003 
  3 Winnipeg Connection correspondence 2003-2004 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
38 1 Winnipeg Connection correspondence 2004
  2 Winnipeg Connection correspondence 2004
  3 Winnipeg Connection correspondence 2004
  4 Winnipeg Connection - correspondence & reviews 2005-2008 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
39 1 Book publicity material 1986-1989
  2 Book publicity material 1990-1996
  3 Book publicity material 1997-2000
  4 Book publicity material 1998-2007
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
40 1 Sproxton's published writing 1983-2006
  2 Sproxton writing drafts & notes 1998-2001
  3 Sproxton writing notes & drafts 2002-2006 

 

Return to Top


Writing Journals & Day Planners 1979-2007
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
40A 1 Writing journals & day planners 1979-1981 
  2 Writing journals 1980-1990 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
41 1 Writing journals 1981
  2 Writing journals 1981-1993
  3 Writing journals 1982-1986
  4 Writing journals 1983-1993
  5 Day planner 1984
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
42 1 Day planner 1984-1988
  2 Writing journals 1985-1986
  3 Writing journals 1987-1988
  4 Writing journals 1987-1991
  5 Day planner 1989
  6 Writing journals 1989-1994
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
43 1 Writing journals 1993-2000
  2 Writing journals 1994-1996
  3 Writing journals 1996-1997
  4 Day planner 1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
44 1 Writing journals 1996-1998
  2 Writing journals 1998-2001
  3 Writing journals 1998-1999
  4 Writing journals 2000-2001

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
45 1 Writing journals 2001-2002
  2 Writing journals 2002-2003
  3 Writing journal 2003
  4 Writing journals 2003-2004
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
46 1 Writing journals 2004-2005
  2 Writing journal 2006
  3 Day planners 2005-2007 
  4 Writing journals 2006-2007

Return to Top


RED DEER COLLEGE & ACADEMIC CORRESPONDENCE 1970-2007
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
47 1 Red Deer College writing & publishing 1977-1987
  2 Publicity material 1978-1986
  3 Red Deer College writing & publishing 1988-1989
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
48 1 Red Deer College writing & publishing 1989-1995
  2 Red Deer College - writing & publishing 1995-2007
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
49 1 Academic correspondence 1970-1975
  2 Academic correspondence 1975-1977
  3 Academic correspondence 1977-1979
  4 Academic correspondence 1979-1982
  5 Academic correspondence 1982-1984
  6 Academic correspondence 1984
  7 Academic correspondence 1985
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
50 1 Academic correspondence 1986
  2 Academic correspondence 1986-1987
  3 Academic correspondence 1987-1988
  4 Academic correspondence 1988
  5 Academic correspondence 1989
  6 Academic correspondence 1991
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
51 1 Academic correspondence 1992
  2 Academic correspondence 1993
  3 Academic correspondence 1993-1994
  4 Academic correspondence 1994-1995
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
52 1 Academic correspondence 1995
  2 Academic correspondence 1995-1997
  3 Academic correspondence 1997-1998
  4 Academic correspondence 1998-2000
  5 Academic correspondence 2001-2003
  6 Academic correspondence 2003-2007

Return to Top


WRITING CORRESPONDENCE 1966-2007 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
53 1 Correspondence 1966-1974
  2 Correspondence 1973-1981
  3 Correspondence 1975-1981
  4 Correspondence 1981-1993
  5 Correspondence 1981-1986
  6 Correspondence 1983-1985
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
54 1 Correspondence 1985-1987
  2 Correspondence 1986-1987
  3 Correspondence 1987-1988
  4 Correspondence 1987-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
55 1 Correspondence 1988-1991
  2 Correspondence 1988-1998
  3 Correspondence 1990-1992
  4 Correspondence 1991
  5 Correspondence 1992-1993
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
56 1 Correspondence 1993-1994
  2 Correspondence 1994-1995
  3 Correspondece 1995-1996
  4 Correspondence 1996-1997
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
57 1 Correspondence 1998-2003
  2 Correspondence 1998-1999
  3 Correspondence 1999
  4 Correspondence 1999-2000
  5 Correspondence 2000-2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
58 1 Correspondence 2002-2003
  2 Correspondence 2003
  3 Correspondence 2004-2005
  4 Correspondence 2003-2005
  5 Correspondence 2003-2007

Return to Top


WRITING NOTES 1965-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
59 1 Writing notes 1965-1974
  2 Writing notes 1965-2006
  3 Writing notes 1965-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
60 1 Writing notes 1979-1987
  2 Writing notes 1988-1993
  3 Writing notes 1993-1996
  4 Writing notes 1996
  5 Writing notes 1996-1998

Return to Top


TEACHING NOTES 1966-2007
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
61 1 Teaching notes 1966-2006
  2 Teaching notes 1966-2006
  3 Teaching notes 1966-2001
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
62 1 Teaching notes 1965-1971
  2 Teaching notes - writing essay 1966-1974
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
63 1 Teaching notes - writing notes 1966-2006
  2 Teaching notes - writing notes 1966-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
64 1 Teaching notes 1966-2006
  2 Teaching notes 1966-2006
  3 Teaching notes 1966-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
65 1 Teaching notes 1966-2006
  2 Teaching notes 1966-2006
  3 Teaching notes 1966-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
66 1 Teaching notes 1971-1973
  2 Teaching notes 1974-1975
  3 Teaching notes 1975-1978
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
67 1 Teaching notes - writing essay 1976-1991
  2 Teaching notes 1978-1979
  3 Teaching notes 1980-1981
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
68 1 Teaching notes 1982-1983
  2 Teaching note 1984
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
69 1 Teaching notes 1985-1986
  2 Teaching notes 1986-1987
  3 Teaching notes 1987
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
70 1 Teaching notes 1988-1989
  2 Teaching notes 1989-1990
  3 Teaching notes 1990-1991
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
71 1 Teaching notes 1991
  2 Teaching notes 1991-1993
  3 Teaching notes - writing essay 1992-1993
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
72 1 Teaching notes 1993-1994
  2 Teaching notes 1994-1995
  3 Teaching notes 1995-1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                   
73 1 Teaching notes - writing essay 1994-1998
  2 Teaching notes 1996
  3 Teacher notes 1997-1998
Box Folder  
74 1 Teacher notes 1998-2000
  2 Teacher notes - writing essay 1998-2006
  3 Teaching notes 2000-2001
Box Folder  
75 1 Teaching notes 2001-2002
  2 Teaching notes 2002-2003
  3 Teaching notes 2002-2003
Box Folder  
764 1 Teaching notes 2003-2004
  2 Teaching notes 2005
  3 Teaching notes 2005
  4 Teaching notes 2005-2006
  5 Teaching notes 2006-2007

Return to Top


PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION (PC 315) 1985
 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                          
1 1 Head Frame on VHS 1985

Return to Top


TAPE COLLECTION 1980-1993
 
Box Folder  
1 1 1-3.Brooker slide 3 audiocassettes ca.1980, 4..Sproxton on C.B.C. The Open Pit talking about the Alberta Anthology, 1983 5-6. Flin Flon Oral History Project 2 audiocassettes with Bill Curran, 1984 7-8 FFOH Project 2 audiocassettes with William C. Ross 1984, 9. Robert Kroetsch at Canadian Writer's Symposium ca.1985, 10.. The Line bp Nichol & Fred Waugh at Red Deer College in 1987, 11. Ray Smith interview CBC Peter Gzowski show 1986, 12. Units of Composition 1988, 13. Genre Busting 1988, 14-17. Ian Adam 4 audiocassettes 1993, 18-21.Anita Van Herk 4 audiocassettes 1993 22-23. Doug Barbour 2 audiocassettes, 1993 24. Vivian McMillan play 2008, 25. Folk music, 26. Interview artist against the institution, 27. Folk music, 28. Westergard 1986 1980-2008

Return to Top


ELECTRONIC RECORDS (EL 32) 1991-2007
Box Folder  
1 1 1. 75 discs of Sproxton's writing in 3m boxes, 2. 36 disc of various writing, 3. 30 discs in nylon packs, 4. 5 Prairie Fire discs 1998-1999, 5. 34 writing discs mainly Phantom Lake 1998-2005, 6. 8 Head Frame discs 2001, 7. Red Deer College back up CD, 2004, 8.New computer files on CD, 2007 & 3CDS of Winnipeg Writers Conference Thin Air, 2006

Return to Top