Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Don Scharff fonds: MSS 129 (A.95-54)

Don Scharff:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Carole Barnabé
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg MB
(October 1998)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (October 2002)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 129 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Don Scharff
 
Title:
Don Scharff fonds
 
Dates:
1926-1994
 
Quantity:
24 cm of textual records
 
Identification:
MSS 129
 
Language
Language:
English.

Return to Top


Biography of Don Scharff

Don Scharff was born on November 21, 1931 in the RM of Glenwood to Eric Carl Scharff, a local farmer, and Dorothy Emily Scharff. Don Scharff married Anna Mable Galbraith on March 26, 1956 and together had three children: Catherine Dawn, Wendy Anne, and Dorothy Lynne. He owned and operated the family farm, which had been in existence since 1891, from 1949 to 1994. Scharff was also the Director and President of the Hartney Fair Board, the Pool Elevator local director and delegate, and a member of the Hartney Elks.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds consists of Canadian Wheat Board permits, grain elevator shares, and livestock registration forms.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 1 series.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on this material.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Users must abide by relevant copyright information.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Donated to the Archives by Francis Anderson in 1995 (A.95-45).

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Box Folder  
1 1 Deduction Certificate form the Manitoba Co-Operative Wheat Producers Ltd. 1926-1928  
  2 Certificate of Indebtedness from Co-Operative Elevator Association Ltd. 1928-1929  
  3 Misc. share certificates 1935-1953  
  4 Canadian National Live Stock records 1939-1953  
  5 Canadian National Live Stock records 1955-1969  
  6 Private Herd Record 1941-1958  
  7 The Seeds Act and Regulations 1937  
  8 Manitoba Polled Shorthord Breeders Eleventh Annual Show and Sale 1969  
  9 Canadian Wheat Board Permits 1950-1960  
  10 Canadian Wheat Board Permits 1960-1970  
Box Folder  
1 1 Canadian Wheat Board Permits 1970-1978  
  2 Canadian Wheat Board Permits 1978-1983  
  3 Canadian Wheat Board Permits 1983-1988 
  4 Canadian Wheat Board Permits 1988-1994  

Return to Top