LibGuides: University of Manitoba Students' Union fonds: UA 8, PC 52, MC 7 (A.96-49)

The University of Manitoba Students' Union is the governing student organization of the university and acts as the students' representative in improving students' academic and campus life experiences. UMSU was founded in 1919 in order to represent the students as a united group. UMSU's early activities centred upon organizing social events and producing publications such as the University of Manitoba Phone Book (1920-1985; 1991-1992). However, as Canadian society changed and the importance of the University grew in relation to that society, UMSU's position in the University grew accordingly. By the 1960s, UMSU had begun to lobby for the creation of a students' union building and in 1970 UMSU's efforts came to fruition with the creation of the University Centre building on the Fort Garry Campus, with UMSU as a part owner.

In 1975, UMSU became one of the few students' organizations in North America to gain autonomy from the University Administration when it was incorporated by Provincial Statute. UMSU subsequently passed its own constitution and by-laws governing its operations. The 1970s and 1980s would see UMSU expand its on-campus services to students through the creation of several student run businesses including a campus pub, a print shop, a restaurant and a billiards hall. Unfortunately, by 1995, most of the UMSU businesses proved unprofitable and were closed down to or licensed to outside proprietors to prevent further losses.

However, though branching out into economic endeavors, UMSU remained committed to providing effective non-profit services to students such as operating a peer-advisor counseling service, a food bank for needy students, a radio station and a free on-campus art gallery. UMSU also puts on events such as Orientation, where new students are welcomed to campus, an annual Celebration week, where various speakers and events are offered to students free of charge, and assorted other activities that enrich student life at the University of Manitoba.

As UMSU is funded by mandatory student organization fees (44$ in 2000), upon paying their fees, students become full members of UMSU as well as paying contributors to their own faculty's student council. The UMSU council, made up of elected representatives from each faculty, college and residence council, as well as the UMSU president and Vice-President, meets every two weeks during the school year (sporadically in the summer), to deal with major areas of concern within the Students' Union. Council also elects members to both standing and ad-hoc committees. Each sitting committee is then supposed to report to council once a month.

The UMSU Executive

UMSU's day-to-day activities are run by five executive members. Each executive receives a salary, and though may take classes, considers his/her position to be the equivalent of a full time job. For the time frame of this collection (1964-1995) the structure of the executive remained essentially the same.

The president is the elected leader of UMSU. Chief among the President's Responsibilities is to represent students in all matters affecting their interests both on and off campus.

The Vice-President assists the President in the day-to-day activities of UMSU. He or she serves as a liaison between students and administration in the event of academic or course difficulties. In addition to these responsibilities, the Vice-President also interacts with various student groups around campus and is the executive's representative on the University of Manitoba Senate.

The Director of Programming is appointed by council to coordinate all of UMSU's social events. These include concert series, films, political forums, lectures, socials, beer bashes, Orientation, Celebration and any other social event sponsored by UMSU. The Director of Programming is also responsible for allocating matching UMSU funds to councils or student group that mount their own social events.

The Director of Student Services was appointed by council to run many of the visible services offered by council. Book exchanges, off-campus typist listings, and telephone directories were the responsibilities of the director of student services. By 2002, the title of the position was changed to Director of Student Affairs.

The Director of Communications, also appointed, is essentially a public relations post. The D.O.C. ensures that the students know about all the decisions, programming, and services UMSU designs on their behalf. By 2002, the position's title had changed to Director of Public Relations.

Prior to1988, there was one more member of the executive, the Director of Administration. The D.O.A. was employed on a full time permanent basis, supervised all financial transactions, and provided a degree of continuity to an executive that faced yearly turnover. However, in 1988 the incumbent D.O.A. was terminated and the position ceased to exist. By 1995-1996, UMSU had recognized the need for a permanent administrator and created the position of Executive Director, who oversaw many of the same responsibilities of the former D.O.A.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Records

Fonds consists of correspondence, minutes, financial records, reports, proposals, statistics, constitutions, by-laws, publications, newspaper clippings, artifacts and other materials created in the course of UMSU day-to-day operations from the period 1964-1995. Most of the material dates from 1975-1995.

Return to Top

Organization of the Records

These records are organized into 34 Series

Council Minutes 1980-1985
Executive Meeting Minutes 1984-1994
Reports 1980-1995
Committees 1966; 1982-1994
Student Organizations 1966-1994
Student Associations 1979-1991
Executive Correspondence 1978-1995
Budgets 1968-1994
Financial Statements, 1990-1995
Legislation, Constitutions and By-Laws 1967-1993
Handbooks 1984-1994
Business Managers 1988-1990
Businesses1978-1994
Beverage Services Inc. 1987-1994
University Centre 1964-1994
University Centre Commission 1977-1992
Janet Ian Cameron Gallery 1970-1993
Max Bell Centre 1979-1988
Celebration 1984-1995
Orientation 1983-1995
Sustainable Campus Week 1993
Environmental Awareness Week 1994-1995
Campus Fest 1993-1995
Manitoban 1977-1991
Peer Advisors 1987-1993
Campus Radio !975-1992
Employment 1979-1993
Tax Issues 1970-1987
Insurance 1987-1988
Legal Counsel 1985-1995
Bursaries 1977-1992
Filing System and Archives [1977?]-[1993?]
Relationship with University Administration 1985-1987
Issues 1975-1993
Miscellaneous [198?]-1995

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Records

These records are organized into 34 series. Though UMSU had, at one point, a filing system, by the time the records had arrived at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, the filing system had been corrupted. However, all efforts were made to preserve the perceived original order of the records. Thus, records that were filed by subject by UMSU, for example, the Celebration series, have been kept as such, while other series reflect their creator, for example, Executive Correspondence, which would also contain correspondence relating to Celebration. Considerable amounts of materials extraneous to the collection have been discarded. These materials include duplicates, University records held elsewhere in the archives and not created by UMSU, and materials not created by UMSU and immaterial to the collection.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

As the records contain considerable personal information, written permission from UMSU is required to access the fonds

Return to Top

Custodial History

Records were donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in May 1996.

Return to Top

Other Finding Aids

UMSU Photograph can be found at PC52 UMSU Maps can be found at MC7

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Records

UMSU Council Minutes 1980-1995

Box	Folder
1	1	Council Motions 1980-1981
	2	Council Minutes 1980-1981
	3	Council Minutes 1981-1982
	4	UMSU Annual General Meeting Minutes 1986-1990
	5	Council Minutes February-June 1987
	6	Council Minutes October 1988
	7	Council Minutes May-June 1989
	8	Council Minutes September-October, 1989
	9	Council Minutes November-December, 1989
	10	Council Minutes January 1990
	11	Council Minutes February-June 1990

Box	Folder
2	1	Council Minutes April-July 1991
	2	Council Minutes August-December 1991
	3	Council Minutes January-April 1992
	4	Council Attendance Sheets (bound-not in folder) 1992-1993
	5	Council Minutes (bound-not in folder) May-November 1992

Box	Folder
3	1	Council Minutes (bound-not in folder) December 1992-February 1993
	2	Council Minutes (bound-not in folder) March-April 1993
	3	Council Minutes (bound-not in folder) May-September 1993

Box	Folder
4	1	Council Minutes (bound-not in folder) September 1993-January 1994
	2	Council Minutes (bound-not in folder) January-April 1994
	3	Council Attendance Sheets (bound-not in folder) 1993-1994
	4	Council Minutes May-July 1994
	5	Council Minutes August-September 1994
	6	Council Minutes October-December 1994
	7	Council Minutes January-April 1995

Return to Top

UMSU Executive Meeting Minutes 1984-1994

Box	Folder
4	8	Executive Meeting Minutes 1984-85

Box	Folder
5	1	Executive Meeting Minutes 1991-1992; 1994
	2	UMSU Council Listings 1994-1996

Return to Top

UMSU Reports 1980-1995

Box	Folder
5	3	Student Aid Survey 1980
	4	UMSU Vice-President's Annual Report 1980; 1987; 1988
	5	A Study Concerned with the financial status of first year University of Manitoba students in order to assess their ability to cope with increased tuition fees. By F. John Packer
	6	Director of Programming Final Report 1984
	7	An Emergency Student Loan Program at the University of Manitoba-A Proposal. By Tina Wellmouth, UMSU V.P. 1984
	8	Student Services Report or "What U. of M. students are missing." By Jonathon Penner. December, 1984
	9	Proposal on Funding January, 1985
	10	The Day of Concern, by Mark Rogers 1985
	11	Director of Student Services Final Report and Student Services Handbook, by Jonathon Penner 1985
	12	Tuition Fees and Government, by Carol Manson 1985
	13	UMSU Vice-President: A Proposal ca. 1985
	14	Report to the UMSU Executive Committee on the Programming, Services and Communications Conference 1985
	15	President's Report to UMSU 1987
	16	Programming White Paper August, 1989
	17	Presidential Position/ Policy Paper 1989
	18	Vice President's Report to UMSU Executive 1990
	19	Director of Student Services Policy Paper 1991-1992

Box	Folder
6	1	Manitoba Association of University Students Community Outreach Program 1991
	2	UMSU Policy Papers 1991-1992
	3	The New UMSU: A Blueprint for Fundamental Change, by Jeff Hurst 1992
	4	Final Draft of UMSU Roblin Commission Task Force November 1993
	5	Education Campaign Report 1993
	6	Target Education 1993
	7	UMSU Executive Report November 1993
	8	Executive Reports 1994-1995
	9	UMSU Report on Changes to the Canada Student Loans Act 1993
	10	Review and Evaluation of UMSU Financial Operations October 1988
	11	UMSU Report on GST [1989?]
	12	Executive Report on Canadian Federation of Students Annual Meeting November 1986
	13	Western Student Services Conference Report, [1980]

Return to Top

UMSU Committees 1966; 1982-1994

Finance and Personnel Committee 1983; 1988-1994

Box	Folder
6	14	Report to Council February 1983
	15	Reports to Council 1988-1989
	16	Director of Finance Report to Finance and Personnel Committee 1991
	17	Proposals to Finance and Personnel 1991

Box	Folder
7	1	Minutes 1991-1992
	2	Minutes, Book 1 (bound: not in folder) 1992-1993
	3	Minutes, Book 2 (bound: not in folders) 1992-1993
	4	Minutes 1993-1994
	5	Minutes February 17, 1995; July 18 1995

Elections Committee 1985-1994

Box	Folder
7	6	Nominations Form; Instructions to Deputy Returning Officer [ca. 1985]
	7	Correspondence; Deputy Returning Officer Guide 1987-1988
	8	Election Results 1988-1992
	9	Election 1989 Correspondence; Deputy Returning Officer Guide 1989
	10	Correspondence 1989
	11	Reports 1990

Box	Folder
8	1	Adjudicators Report-1993 UMSU Elections 1993
	2	Elections 1993, Rules and Procedures; Mock Trial 1993
	3	Minutes 1992-1994

Joint Planning Committee

Box	Folder
8	4	Assembly Spaces: A Study of Present and Future Uses 1966

Alcohol Awareness Committee

Box	Folder
8	5	Minutes, Policy and Reports 1991-1992

Policy Committee

Box	Folder
8	6	Proposal to Create; Minutes 1984; 1992-1994

Student Union Special Events Committee

Box	Folder
8	7	Minutes 1992-1994

By-laws Committee

Box	Folder
8	8	Minutes 1992-1994

Publications Committee

Box	Folder
8	9	Minutes 1992-1993

Senior Sticks Committee

Box	Folder
8	10	Constitution; Correspondence and Listings 1983-1990
	11	Minutes 1992-1994

Student Policy Committee

Box	Folder
8	12	Minutes 1992-1993

Student Group Promotion and Affairs

Box	Folder
8	13	Minutes 1992-1994

Communication Board

Box	Folder
8	14	Minutes 1993-1994

Accident Plan Board

Box	Folder
8	15	Minutes 1993-1994

Sigpac Committee

Box	Folder
8	16	Minutes 1993-1994

Food Co-op Advisory Board

Box	Folder
8	17	Minutes 1993-1994

UMSU Staff Meetings

Box	Folder
8	18	Minutes 1993-1994

Manitoban Publishing Board

Box	Folder
8	19	Minutes 1993-1994

Student Office Sub-Committee

Box	Folder
8	20	Minutes 1983-1984

Selection Committee

Box	Folder
8	21	Assorted Material 1988-1992

Appeals Committee

Box	Folder
9	1	Appeals 1991

Student Senate Committee

Box	Folder
9	2	Minutes and Constitution [1991?]

Return to Top

Student Organizations 1966-1994

Box	Folder
9	3	Student Organization Reference Guide (Includes Handbook, History, Date) 1992

International Students' Organization

Box	Folder
9	4	Constitutions 1964-1982
	5	President's Report 1966-1967 to 1968-1969; 1972-1973; 1975-76
	6	Reports 1963-1969
	7	Reports 1975-1977
	8	Reports 1985-1987
	9	(National Office) Survey of Canadian Universities 1970
	10	Fact Sheets and Reports on Differential Fees 1981-1982
	11	Assorted Correspondence 1982-1986
	12	Reports and Correspondence on Examination Security 1984
	13	Publications 1984
	14	International Students' Statistics, compiled by Student Affairs, International Centre 1987-1988

Box	Folder
10	1	Report on Other University International Centres
	2	Publicity Poster 1986
	3	Information Handbook for New International Students, by Student Affairs, International Centre 1984

African Students Organization " Africa into the 21st Century" conference, February 16-18 1994 1993-1994

Box	Folder
10	4	Conference Organization Committee
	5	Conference Funding
	6	Conference Logistics
	7	Conference Invitations
	8	Conference Speakers-Search Committee
	9	Guest Speaker Information
	10	Biographical Information on keynote speaker Mbye Chaim
	11	Biographical Information on Dr. Micere Mugo
	12	Speaker Bookings and Logistics
	13	Conference Press Releases
	14	Invitations to Canadian Dignitaries
	15	Programs and Materials
	16	Miscellaneous
	17	Receipts
	18	Conference Follow-Up Evaluations

Association of Filipino Students at the University of Manitoba

Box	Folder
10	19	Constitution January 1985

Physically Handicapped Concerns on Campus

Box	Folder
10	20	Reports and Correspondence 1978-1982

Malaysian-Singaporean Students' Association 1984-1987

Box	Folder
10	21	Correspondence and Reports concerning the Malaysia 1984-1987

Return to Top

Student Associations 1979-1991

Box	Folder
10	22	Student Association Applications for Matching UMSU funds 1992-1993

University College Students' Association (UCSA) 1979-1988

Box	Folder
10	23	University College Students' Association 1979

Box	Folder
11	1	UCSA Correspondence concerning missing financial statements 1982-1983
	2	Constitution 1988

Home Economics/ Human Ecology Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	3	Constitutions 1979; 1987; 1991

Arts Student Body Council

Box	Folder
11	4	Constitution 1980

Pharmacy Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	5	Constitution 1980

Faculty of Agriculture Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	6	Constitution 1981

St. Paul's College Student Association

Box	Folder
11	7	Constitution 1982

Faculty of Education Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	8	Constitution [ca. 1985]

Manitoba Dental Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	9	Constitution [ca. 1985]

Students' Architectural Society

Box	Folder
11	10	Constitution 1985

Engineering Society

Box	Folder
11	11	Constitution 1985

Nursing Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	12	Constitution [ca. 1985]

Graduate Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	13	Constitution 1986

St. John's College Student Association

Box	Folder
11	14	Constitution 1986

Music Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	15	Constitution 1987

Resident Students' Association Council

Box	Folder
11	16	Constitution 1987

Science Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	17	Constitution 1987

St. John's College Residence Association

Box	Folder
11	18	Constitution 1990

St. Andrews College Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	19	Constitution 1990

Medical Rehab Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	20	Constitution 1990

Manitoba Law Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	21	Constitution [ca. 1990]

Commerce Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	22	Constitution

University of Manitoba Pre-Med Students' Club

Box	Folder
11	23	Constitution 1991

Mature Students' Association

Box	Folder
11	24	Financial Report 1982-1983

Women's Centre 1984

Box	Folder
11	25	Correspondence and Reports

Political Science Students' Organization 1990-1993

Box	Folder
11	26	Conference Notes, Correspondence and Reports

Return to Top

UMSU Executive Correspondence 1978-1995

Box	Folder
11	27	General Correspondence 1978-1981
	28	General Correspondence 1982
	29	General Correspondence 1983
	30	General Correspondence 1984

Box	Folder
12	1	General Correspondence 1985
	2	General Correspondence 1986
	3	General Correspondence 1987
	4	General Correspondence 1988
	5	General Correspondence 1989
	6	General Correspondence 1990
	7	General Correspondence 1991-1992
	8	General Correspondence 1992-1994
	9	General Correspondence 1995

Correspondence: Director of Student Services 1983; 1990-1992

Box	Folder
12	10	Correspondence 1983
	11	Correspondence 1990-1992

U of M Ombudsman

Box	Folder
12	12	Correspondence 1983-1989

Vice-President Administration

Box	Folder
12	13	Correspondence 1988-1989

Department of Special Functions

Box	Folder
12	14	Correspondence 1988-1990

Correspondence: President 1990-1992

Box	Folder
13	1	Correspondence 1990
	2	Correspondence 1991
	3	Correspondence 1992

Correspondence: Vice-President 1990-1992

Box	Folder
13	4	Correspondence 1990-1991
	5	Correspondence 1991-1992; 1994

Director of Communication: Correspondence 1990-1992

Box	Folder
13	6	Correspondence 1990
	7	Correspondence 1991-1992

Director of Programming: Correspondence 1991-1992

Box	Folder
13	8	Correspondence 1991-1992

Board of Governors: Correspondence 1993

Box	Folder
13	9	Correspondence 1993

Box	Folder
13	10	UMSU Correspondence with Other Universities 1987-1993

Return to Top

Director of Programming 1993-1995

Box	Folder
13	11	Beer Bash and BBQ notes 1993
	12	D.O P. Assistants: Search and Evaluation 1993-1994

Box	Folder
14	1	Matching Funds Applications 1993-1994
	2	Relations with other On-Campus Programmers 1993-1994
	3	Orientation Notes 1994
	4	Architectural Conference: Program March, 1994
	5	Special Functions 1994-1995
	6	University Centre Space Confirmation 1994-1995
	7	Spring Break Tours 1994-1995
	8	Event Committee 1994-1995
	9	Matching Funds Applications 1994-1995
	10	Film Screenings 1994-1995
	11	Multicultural Week 1995
	12	Campus Bar Negotiations 1994
	13	Correspondence Concerning Corporate Funding of Movie Screenings 1993

Return to Top

UMSU Budgets 1968-1994

Box	Folder
14	14	Background Statistics for Budget [968?]
	15	Actual Budget 1984
	16	Budgets 1988-1989
	17	Student Services and Administration Budgets 1989-1990
	18	Annual Operating Budget 1989-1990

Box	Folder
15	1	Year-End Actual Budgets 1989-1990
	2	Annual Operating Budget 1989-1990
	3	Proposed Budget 1990-1991
	4	Budget 1990-1991
	5	Student Services Budget 1990-1991
	6	Annual Operating Budget 1991-1992
	7	Businesses Budget; Programmer's Proposed Budget 1991-1992
	8	Proposed Executive Budget 1991-1992
	9	Proposed Budgets 1992-1993
	10	Proposed Budget 1993-1994 (June)
	11	Proposed Budget 1993-1994 (August)
	12	Executive Budget 1993-1994

Box	Folder
16	1	Director of Programming: Budgets and Financial Statements 1993-1994
	2	Budgets 1994-1995
	3	General Ledger January-April 1994
	4	Budget Actuals April 30, 1994
	5	Budget Actuals September 30, 1994
	6	Budget Actuals October 31, 1994

Return to Top

UMSU Financial Statements (by Deloitte and Touche) 1990-1995

Box	Folder
16	7	Financial Statement (Draft), by Deloitte and Touche April 30, 1990
	8	Financial Statement, by Deloitte and Touche April 30, 1993
	9	Financial Statement, by Deloitte and Touche April 30, 1994
	10	Financial Statement, by Deloitte and Touche April 1990-April 1994
	11	Financial Statement, by Deloitte and Touche April 30, 1995

Return to Top

UMSU Legislation, Constitutions and By-Laws 1967-1993

Legislation 1975; 1987

Box	Folder
16	12	UMSU Act (Incorporation) 1975; 1987

Constitutions 1967-1970

Box	Folder
16	13	UMSU Constitution January 9, 1967 (Revised 1970)
	14	Revised Constitution August 1, 1968 (Last Revised August 1969)

By-Laws 1968-1993

Box	Folder
17	1	Revised By-Laws August 1, 1968 (Last Revised December 1969)
	2	Revised By-Laws February 1, 1970
	3	By-Laws March 13, 1975
	4	By-Laws March 23, 1977
	5	By-Laws March, 1987
	6	By-Laws [1991?]
	7	By-Laws March 20, 1991 (Revised 1992)
	8	By-Laws March 20, 1991 (Revised April 1993)
	9	By-Laws March 20, 1991 (Revised June 1993)
	10	By-Laws March 20, 1991 (November 1993)
	11	By-Laws Amendments 1987-1993
	12	UMSU Women's Section By-Laws 1994

Return to Top

Handbooks 1984-1994

Council Member's Handbooks 1984-1994

Box	Folder
17	13	Council Member's Handbook 1984
	14	Council Member's Handbook 1986
	15	Council Member's Handbook (with by-laws) 1988

Box	Folder
18	1	Council Member's Handbook (with by-laws) 1991
	2	Student Government Handbook [1992?]
	3	Staff Handbook July 1983
	4	Vice-President's Report and Handbook, 1989-1990 1990
	5	Student Group Handbook 1990
	6	Student Senate Handbook [1992?]
	7	Policy Handbook September, 1993
	8	Resource Manual for Activity Coordinators (Draft Copy) April 15, 1994
	9	ABC's of Programming-A Resource Manual for Activity Coordinators 1994

UMSU Businesses: Policy and Procedure Manual [1994?]

Box	Folder
18	10	Policy and Procedure Manual-General
	11	UMSU Club
	12	Answers; On-Campus Copying

Box	Folder
19	1	Media Department; Scholars
	2	Print Shop; Mrs. L.'s Emporium
	3	Archives; Perth's

Return to Top

UMSU Business Managers 1988-1990

Box	Folder
19	4	Minutes 1988-1990
	5	Correspondence 1988-89
	6	Business Forms 1989

Return to Top

UMSU Businesses 1978-1994

Print Shop

Box	Folder
19	7	Reports; Financial Data 1978; 1983; 1982-1988
	8	Agreements and Correspondence with International Typographical Union 1983-1988
	9	Correspondence 1983-1988
	10	Evaluation and Offer to Purchase 1987-1988
	11	Operating Policy and Marketing Plan 1988
	12	General Manager's Report November 1988
	13	Correspondence 1988-1989

Box	Folder
20	1	Publicity Folder [1990?]
	2	Reports 1989-1990
	3	Correspondence 1991-1992
	4	Marketing Report 1992-1993
	5	Invitation to Purchase 1994
	6	Inventory 1994

Dental Office

Box	Folder
20	7	Planning and Construction 1981-1983
	8	Legal Issues 1983
	9	Specifications for New Dental Office, by U of M Physical Plant 1983
	10	Office Lease and Correspondence 1986-1990

Answers Information Booth 1983-1990

Box	Folder
20	11	Planning and Construction 1983-1984
	12	Employment Information 1988-1990
	13	New Description of Functions 1989
	14	Budget Material 1989-1990

Scholars Restaurant 1986-1989

Box	Folder
20	15	Cafe Naming Survey 1986
	16	Construction Meeting Minutes 1986
	17	Blueprints and Agreements 1986

Box	Folder
21	1	Creation of a Cafe run by UMSU; Correspondence 1986
	2	Other Restaurants Consulted in Scholars Start-Up 1986
	3	U. of M. Food Services Department: Financial Operating Statement 1986
	4	Financial Data 1986-1987
	5	Menu Correspondence 1986-1989
	6	Start-Up: Notes and Correspondence 1987
	7	Actual Menu 1987
	8	Employment Manual [1987?]
	9	Scholar's Evaluation by outside consultant August 1987
	10	Insurance Policy 1989
	11	Correpsondence and Budget 1988-1989

Campus Copy Centre 1989-1994

Box	Folder
21	12	Proposal for New Copiers 1989
	13	Laser Printer Expansion Proposal 1993
	14	Market Research Project April 1994
	15	Report: Perceptions of Service Quality: Campus Copy Centre, April 4, 1994

UMZOO Club Inc. 1982-1989

Box	Folder
21	16	Assorted Materials 1982-1988
	17	Financial Statement March 1984
	18	Student Focus Group Report 1986
	19	Market Research Report February 1987-November 1988
	20	Budget Proposal 1989-1990
	21	Financial Statement April 1989

Return to Top

Beverage Services Inc. 1987-1994

Box	Folder
21	22	Assorted Materials 1987

Asset Purchase Agreement 1989

Box	Folder
21	23	Original April 27, 1989
	24	Draft 1989

Box	Folder
22	1	Purchase Agreement (Complete Legal File), Part A July 1989
	2	Purchase Agreement (Complete Legal File), Part B July 1989

Pub Lease 1989

Box	Folder
22	3	Draft April, 1989
	4	Draft March 27, 1989
	5	Draft April 5, 1989
	6	Draft (Amended by Administration) May 15, 1989
	7	Draft June 6, 1989
	8	Draft (Amended by Administration)
	9	Correspondence April-June 1989

Incorporation and Dissolution 1989-1993

Box	Folder
22	10	Assorted Documents 1989
	11	Dissolution 1993

Budgets

Box	Folder
22	12	B-52's Budget May 12, 1989
	13	B-52's Status Report December 6, 1989
	14	Beverage Services Budget Projections 1989-1990
	15	B-52's Budget and Sales Analysis 1989-1990
	16	Beverage Services Inc. Annual Reports and Statements, by Deloitte and Touche 1990-1992

Reports

Box	Folder
22	17	UMSU Report on acquiring UMZOO [1987?]
	18	B-52's Staff Guide [1988?]
	19	Formal Takeover Proposal of UMZOO 1988
	20	Proposal to BoG for Acquisition of Campus Pub 1988
	21	B-52's Budgets and Balance Sheets 1989-1993

Minutes

Box	Folder
22	22	Beverage Services Inc. Minutes 1989-1990

Box	Folder
23	1	Beverage Services Inc. Minutes 1990-1994

Correspondence

Box	Folder
23	2	Correspondence December 1988-May 1989
	3	Correspondence June 1989-December 1989
	4	Correspondence 1990
	5	Correspondence 1991
	6	Correspondence 1992-1993

Miscellaneous

Box	Folder
23	7	Contract between UMSU and UMSU Beverage Services Inc. November 1989
	8	B-52's General Manager's Contract January 1990
	9	Receipts 1991-1993
	10	UMSU Referendum on B-52's: Assorted Documents 1992
	11	B-52's Miscellaneous Documents 1992
	12	B-52's Closing Documents and Presentation 1993
	13	B-52's Menu [1993?]

Return to Top

University Centre 1964-1994

Operating Agreements

Box	Folder
23	14	Operating Agreements 1973
	15	Operating Agreements 1974
	16	Operating Agreement 1980
	17	Operating Agreement 1981
	18	Operating Agreement 1986
	19	Operating Agreement 1989
	20	MPR Operating Agreement 1992-1994

Chronological Compilation of Documents Relating to University Centre (Includes Correspondence, Agreements etc.) Compiled by UMSU researcher Alex Stephens 1991

Box	Folder
23	21	1969-1982
	22	1983-1984
	23	1985
	24	1986
	25	1987

Box	Folder
24	1	1988
	2	1989
	3	1990
	4	1991

University Centre Resources Manual 1991

Box	Folder
24	5	Part A
	6	Part B

Fifth Floor Renovations

Box	Folder
24	7	Correspondence and Agreements 1969-1977

Third Floor Renovations

Box	Folder
24	8	Agreement with Number 10 Architects 1978
	9	Agreement with Calnitsky, Heshka Associates, Interior Planners/ Designers May 1982
	10	Agreement with Calnitsky et al., (Draft) May 1982
	11	Agreement with Calnitsky et al., (Draft) July 1982
	12	Agreement with Calnitsky et al., (Draft) August 1982
	13	Architectural Proposals 1982
	14	Correspondence 1982-1985
	15	UMSU Loan Request to BoG 1986
	16	UMSU Compiled File on Third Floor Renovations, Part A !986

Box	Folder
25	1	UMSU Compiled File on Third Floor Renovations, Part B 1986
	2	Executive Committee Report [1986?]

University Centre Security

Box	Folder
25	3	Minutes and Schedules 1993-1994
	4	Night Manager's Report April-July 1993
	5	Night Manager's Report August-October 1993
	6	Night Manager's Report November-December 1993
	7	Night Manager's Report January-February 1993

Miscellaneous

Box	Folder
25	8	Feasibility Study on Space Allocation and Preliminary Proposal 1964
	9	Space Reservation Applications 1993
	10	Maps 1993

Return to Top

University Centre Commission 1977-1992

Box	Folder
25	11	Annual Reports 1979-1980; 1982-1983
	12	Financial Statements, Compiled by W.D. Love & Co. 1980; 1981
	13	Balance Sheets 1986-1987
	14	Staff Handbook [1980?]

Committees 1978-1990

Finance and Personnel Committee 1978-1987

Box	Folder
25	15	Minutes 1978
	16	Minutes 1979
	17	Minutes 1980
	18	Minutes 1981

Box	Folder
26	1	Minutes 1982-1983
	2	Minutes and Materials relating to Minutes April-July 1986
	3	Minutes and Materials relating to Minutes August-September 1986
	4	Minutes and Budget etc. October-November 1986
	5	Minutes and Budget etc. December 1986
	6	Minutes and Correspondence 1986-1987
	7	Minutes, Budgets and Correspondence January-February 1987
	8	Minutes, Budgets and Correspondence March-May 1987
	9	Minutes, Budgets and Correspondence May-June 1987
	10	Minutes, Budgets and Correspondence July 1987

Finance Committee

Box	Folder
26	11	Minutes 1980-1987

University Centre Commission Full Meetings

Box	Folder
26	12	Minutes 1980-1982
	13	Minutes 1986-1987

Personnel Committee

Box	Folder
26	14	Minutes 1980-1981

Policy and Services Committee

Box	Folder
26	15	Minutes 1980-1983

Space Allocation Committee

Box	Folder
26	16	Minutes 1980-1983
	17	Minutes 1986-1987

Selection Committee 1980-1986

Box	Folder
26	18	Minutes 1981
	19	Applicant Information and Correspondence 1983

Box	Folder
27	1	Applicant Information and Correspondence 1984
	2	Applicant Information and Correspondence 1986

Student Office Sub-Committee

Box	Folder
27	3	Assorted Documents 1984

University Centre Commission Correspondence

Box	Folder
27	4	Director's Correspondence 1980-1983
	5	Director's Correspondence 1988-1990
	6	Building Supervisor Correspondence 1988-1990

Return to Top

Janet Ian Cameron Gallery

Miscellaneous

Box	Folder
27	7	Janet Ian Cameron Biography and announcement of scholarship [1970?]
	8	Reports and Agreements 1977-1986
	9	Newspaper Clippings 1978-1985
	10	Notes on Gallery, by UMSU V.P. Carolyn Keeler 1993

Financial Documents

Box	Folder
27	11	Financial Documents 1977-1985
	12	Financial Statements, by W.D. Love & Co. 1978
	13	Budget Statements 1978
	14	Budget Outlines 1985-1986

Correspondence

Box	Folder
27	15	Correspondence over the hiring of a full time gallery manager 1975-1982
	16	Correspondence 1976-1977
	17	Correspondence 1978-1980
	18	Correspondence 1981
	19	Correspondence 1982-1983
	20	Correspondence 1984-1985
	21	Correspondence 1986
	22	Correspondence 1987
	23	Correspondence-Gallery Closing 1987
	24	Correspondence: Creation of an on-campus art gallery 1988

Resource Manual 1986

Box	Folder
27	25	Part A

Box	Folder
28	1	Part B

Return to Top

Max Bell Centre

Box	Folder
28	2	Motion to create through increased tuition fees 1979
	3	UMSU Correspondence 1979-1984
	4	Maps of Proposed Sites [1980?]
	5	Other Athletic Facilities-Cost survey [1980?]
	6	UMSU Lease Agreement [1982?]
	7	By-Laws [1982?]
	8	Management Advisory Committee Minutes 1982
	9	Max Bell Centre Capital Fund Drive August 1982
	10	Concert Proposals
	11	Materials relating to Rough Trade concert (May 26, 1983) 1983
	12	Proposal for Acoustical Improvement 1987
	13	Site Recommendation for proposed University Hall September 1988

Return to Top

Celebration 1984-1995

Celebration '84

Box	Folder
28	14	Correspondence 1983-1984

Celebration '85

Box	Folder
28	15	Correspondence; Financial Statement 1984-1985
	16	Great Trivia Challenge Question Book 1985

Celebration '86

Box	Folder
28	17	Speaker Correspondence 1985-1986
	18	Corporate Funding Inquiries
	19	Miscellaneous 1985-1986
	20	Final Report 1986

Celebration '87

Box	Folder
28	21	Speaker Correspondence 1986-1987
	22	Corporate Funding Requests
	23	News Releases and Newspaper Clippings 1987
	24	Director's Resource Manual 1987
	25	Speaker's Notes and Presentations

Celebration '88

Box	Folder
28	26	Speaker Correspondence 1987-1988
	27	Corporate Funding Inquiries 1987-1988

Box	Folder
29	1	Correspondence with Student Groups
	2	Director's Manual 1988

Celebration '89

Box	Folder
29	3	Assorted Correspondence and Press Releases 1988-1989

Celebration '90

Box	Folder
29	4	Correspondence; Draft Program

Celebration '91-'93

Box	Folder
29	5	Assorted Documents 1991-1993

Celebration '94

Box	Folder
29	6	Publicity Folder, Program, and Correspondence 1994

Celebration '95

Box	Folder
29	7	Sponsor Letter and listing of Potential Corporate Sponsors 1994
	8	Coordinator Position: Applications 1994
	9	Speaker Information 1994-1995
	10	Program and Proposed Budget 1995
	11	Shipping Invoices

Return to Top

Orientation 1983-1995

Orientation '83

Box	Folder
29	12	Correspondence and Report 1983

Orientation '84

Box	Folder
29	13	Correspondence; Inventory of First Week Events

Orientation '85

Box	Folder
29	14	Correspondence 1985

Orientation '86

Box	Folder
29	15	Correspondence and Reports 1986

Orientation '87

Box	Folder
29	16	Correspondence and Reports 1987

Orientation '95

Box	Folder
29	17	Correspondence 1995

Return to Top

Sustainable Campus Week 1993

Box	Folder
29	18	Final Report 1993

Return to Top

Environmental Awareness Week 1994-1995

Box	Folder
30	1	Fundraising
	2	Meetings and Minutes
	3	Committee Members and Coordinators 1994
	4	Speakers 1994-1995
	5	Promotions and Logo 1994
	6	Displays 1994
	7	Displays: Straw House 1994
	8	Schedule of Daily Events 1994
	9	Production: Notes and Reservation Forms 1994

Return to Top

Campus Fest 1993-1995

Box	Folder
30	10	Assorted Materials and Correspondence 1993-1995

Return to Top

Manitoban 1977-1991

Budgets

Box	Folder
30	11	Comparative Aspects; Budget 1971-1973; 1981-1982
	12	Budget Proposal 1988-1989
	13	Budget 1989-1990
	14	Budgets 1990-1991
	15	Budget Proposal Summer, 1993
	16	Annual Budget 1993-1995

Reports and Position 1973-1989

Box	Folder
30	17	Canadian University Press Investigation of Manitoban, 1973
	18	Position Paper on UMSU-labeled Newspaper Bins [1982?]
	19	Position Paper on Summer Editor 1982
	20	"Freedom with Responsibilities", a paper on Manitoban autonomy [1985?]
	21	Summer Publishing at the University of Manitoba 1989

Correspondence 1975-1987

Box	Folder
30	22	Correspondence 1975-1979
	23	Canadian University Press Correspondence 1975-1983
	24	Correspondence 1981-1982
	25	Correspondence 1983-1987
	26	Correspondence 1989-1991

Miscellaneous

Box	Folder
30	27	By-Laws Amendments 1980-1989
	28	Advertising Survey 1983-1984
	29	Resource Manual [1984?]
	30	Handbook [1985?]
	31	Student Petition on Manitoban Autonomy [1988?]
	32	Manitoban Publishing Board-Reports to Council 1989-1991

Box	Folder
31	1	Manitoban Job Descriptions [1991?]

Return to Top

UMSU Publications 1982-1995

Convocation

Box	Folder
31	2	Convocation Books 1982-1984
	3	Convocation Books 1987-1989
	4	Convocation Books 1992; 1993-1994; 1995
	5	Convocation Correspondence 1983-1989

Miscellaneous

Box	Folder
31	6	"UMSU is" Brochures [1984?-1986?]
	7	"Around Campus" leaflets 1984-1985
	8	Student Telephone Directory 1991-1992

Return to Top

Peer Advisors

Box	Folder
31	9	Resource Manual (includes reports, budgets, correspondence etc.), Part A 1987-1990
	10	Resource Manual, Part B 1987-1990
	11	Resource Manual, Part C 1987-1990
	12	Proposal on Changing the Composition of the Peer Advisors Steering Committee 1989
	13	Peer Advisors Handbook 1990-1991
	14	Peer Advisors Handbook 1991-1992
	15	Peer Advisors Handbook 1993-1994

Return to Top

Campus Radio 1975-1992

Contracts

Box	Folder
32	1	Contract Between CIBC and UMSU regarding Financing of CJUM 1975

CRTC Decisions 1975; 1989

Box	Folder
32	2	CRTC Decision on CJUM 1975
	3	CRTC Decision on other Winnipeg Radio Stations 1985

Reports

Box	Folder
32	4	University of Manitoba Radio Organization: Submission to UMSU 1985
	5	Executive Report on Campus Radio 1986
	6	Executive Report on Campus Radio, Appendixes 1986
	7	UMSU Solicited Reports from Existing Campus Radio Station, Part A 1988-1989
	8	UMSU Solicited Reports from Existing Campus Radio Station, Part B 1988-1989
	9	Campus Radio in Canada 1989
	10	UMSU Radio Researcher, Notes and Reports 1992
	11	UMSU Radio Study, Final Report 1993

Public Hearings

Box	Folder
32	12	UMSU Public Hearings on Campus Radio: Minutes and Correspondence January, 1986

Correspondence 1989; 1993

Box	Folder
32	13	Correspondence concerning Ownership of Radio Tower 1989
	14	Correspondence and Product Information from Promeathean Electronics 1992

Conference Notes 1992

Box	Folder
32	15	Notes and Materials from the National Campus and Community Radio Conference 1992

Return to Top

UMSU Employment 1979-1993

Box	Folder
33	1	Job Descriptions 1979-1988

Director of Administration 1979-1988

Box	Folder
33	2	D.O.A. Job Description 1979-1988
	3	Financial Documents relating to D.O.A. termination 1987
	4	D.O.A. Termination: Legal Correspondence and Documents 1987
	5	Finance and Personnel Committee Chronology of D.O.A. Termination 1988
	6	D.O.A. Termination: Finance and Personnel Committee Council Meetings and Reports 1988
	7	D.O.A. file on UMSU businesses 1988
	8	D.O.A. Termination: General Correspondence 1988
	9	D.O.A. Termination: Letters of Support for D.O.A. 1988
	10	D.O.A. Termination: Council Correspondence 1988
	11	D.O.A. termination: D.O.A. defence to council 1988
	12	D.O.A. Personal information and release agreement 1988

Staff Insurance Benefits

Box	Folder
33	13	Report on Group insurance Benefits for Employees 1989

Employment Appraisal Reports

Box	Folder
33	14	Receptionist 1993

Return to Top

Tax Issues 1970-1987

Box	Folder
33	15	Correspondence with Revenue Canada concerning Sales and Revenue Tax 1970-1976
	16	Report on UMSU Income Tax Service 1978-1979
	17	Amusement Tax: Correspondence and Waiver Forms 1980-1987

Return to Top

UMSU Insurance (Reed Stenhouse)

Box	Folder
34	1	Policies and Correspondence 1987-1988

Return to Top

Legal Counsel (Aikins, MacAulay, Thorvaldson) 1989-1995

Box	Folder
34	2	Correspondence 1989
	3	Correspondence 1990
	4	Correspondence 1992
	5	Correspondence 1995

Return to Top

Bursaries 1977-1992

Robert C. Armitage Award 1977-1988

Box	Folder
34	6	Correspondence to Award Recipients and List of Winners 1977-1988
	7	Selection Committee: Minutes and Correspondence 1977-1988

Student Council Memorial Bursary 1987-1993

Box	Folder
34	8	Applicants, Grades and Correspondence 1987-1988
	9	Applicants, Grades and Correspondence 1991-1992

Return to Top

Filing Systems and Archives [1977?]-[1990?]

Archives [1977?-1983]

Box	Folder
34	10	General Index [1977?]
	11	Archives Listing 1983

Central File System [1980? -1990?]

Box	Folder
34	12	Central File Index [1980?]
	13	Central Filing System 1982
	14	Alphabetical Central File System [1987?]
	15	Filing System [1990?]

Return to Top

UMSU relationship with University Administration 1985-1993

Box	Folder
34	16	Installation of Henry Duckworth as Chancellor: notes and biography 1985
	17	Student Discipline By-law, 1985-1986
	18	University Appeals Mechanism: Correspondence and Handbook (from University of Calgary) 1985-1992

Box	Folder
35	1	Copyright Committee: Correspondence and Report 1986
	2	Board of Governors Commission: Selection Process 1993

Return to Top

Issues 1975-1993

Tuition Fees

Reports 1975-1987

Box	Folder
35	3	Administration Reports on Tuition Fees 1975
	4	Non-UMSU reports on Student Financial Assistance 1979-1982
	5	UMSU Reports on Tuition Fees 1982-1983
	6	Reports from Other Universities on Tuition Fees 1982-1987

Student Surveys

Box	Folder
35	7	UMSU Student Aid Survey [1979?]

Fee Waivers 1979-1980

Box	Folder
35	8	Waiver of Student Organization Fees 1979-1980

Correspondence 1982-1991

Box	Folder
35	9	Correspondence between Administration and Outside Agencies 1982-1991
	10	UMSU correspondence and tuition fee data 1983-1991

Student Government Recognition on Transcripts

Box	Folder
35	11	Correspondence and Policy 1979-1982

Part Time Students 1981

Box	Folder
35	12	Proposal for a New Direction 1981

Transit 1982-1993

Box	Folder
35	13	Reports, Newsclippings and News Releases

Sexual Harassment

Box	Folder
35	14	Report: How to Advise 1987

High School Education

Box	Folder
35	15	High School Education: the Issues, conference attended by UMSU President Kevin Janzen-file includes notes, conference materials and draft speech 1988

Compulsory Athletic Fees 1987-1990

Box	Folder
35	16	Proposals 1987-1990
	17	UMSU Compiled Research on Athletic Fees (Original) 1990
	18	UMSU Compiled Research on Athletic Fees (Amended) 1990

Potential Canadian Students' Union [1992?]

Box	Folder
35	19	Business Consortium

Faculty Strike 1995

Box	Folder
36	1	UMSU Compiled Information

Return to Top

Miscellaneous [198?]-1995

Box	Folder
36	2	UMSU Student Services Survey [198?]
	3	Capital Sinking Fund Board Reports 1986-1988
	4	UMSU Car Pool Service-Street Index 1990
	5	Membership Certificate: Canadian Organization of Campus Activities 1990
	6	Election Posters: Correspondence and By-Laws 1989-1990
	7	Joseph Doupe Fund Financial Report 1992
	8	List of UMSU Past Presidents 1994
	9	Professional Course Evaluations 1994-1995
	10	Unidentified UMSU Election Ballot [n.d.]

Return to Top

Oversize

Artefacts [1975?]

Box	Folder
14	OS 1	Binder: UMSU's Oldest Constitution and By-Laws

UMSU Beverage Service Inc. [1987?]

Box	Folder
14	OS 2	Financial Projections for Years i, ii, and iii

Return to Top

Photograph Collection (PC 52) [198?]-1993

This series consists of 2 subseries:

1. Robert C. Armitage Award [198?]

Box	Folder
1	1	Armitage Awards Photographs 3 photographs

Sustainable Campus Week 1993

Box	Folder
1	2	Sustainable Campus Week Photographs 23 Photographs

Return to Top

Map Collection (MC 7) June 1983

Map Cabinet #2

University Centre Blueprints June 16-17, 1983

Control Centre, Room 303

Box	Folder
1	1	Existing and Proposed Plan and Elevations (two copies) June 16, 1983
	2	Millwork Elevations and Sections (two copies) June 16, 1983
	3	Existing and Proposed Plan and Elevations

Return to Top