Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Myroslav Shkandrij: MSS 356 (A.02-61)

Finding Aid


Myroslav Shkandrij:

An Inventory of His Papers, at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Vladimira Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1970-1987)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (October 2003)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - Mss 356, (A.02-61) converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Myroslav Shkandrij

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Diyaloh

Ukrainian Canadian University Students Union (SUSK)

Committee in Defense of Soviet Political Prisoners (CDSPP)

Meta: a Left Wing Discussion Journal

Articles

Miscellaneous

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2N2

Creator:
Myroslav Shkandrij

Title:
Myroslav Shkandrij fonds

Dates:
1970-1987

Quantity:
.24 of textual records
MSS 356 (A.02-61)

Language
English.

Return to Top

Biography of Myroslav Shkandrij

Dr. Myroslav Shkandrij is the professor and Head of the Department of German and Slavic Studies, University of Manitoba. He was born on March 17, 1950 in Leeds, England. Dr. Shkandrij studied at the Cambridge (1972) and Toronto University, where he received his MA (1973) and his PhD (1980). He taught at the Universities of Calgary and Ottawa.

Dr. Shkandrij is the author, translator and editor of many publications dealing with Ukrainian Literary History and Art. During 1977-1987, he was on the editorial board of Diyaloh, a journal of young generation of Ukrainians in the West - Ukrainian Canadian University Students. The journal was published three times per year. Ukrainian Student Group smuggled issues of their publication to Ukraine during the Cold War. During those years, Dr. Shkandrij also served on the Committee in Defence of Soviet Political Prisoners and many other Ukrainian institutions and organization in Canada (CUIS, KUK).

Dr. Shkandrij lives in Winnipeg with his wife and two daughters.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds contains issues of the underground student journal Diyaloh ; correspondence; minutes of meetings; files and notes pertaining to the journals Diyaloh and Meta. It contains info about Leonid Plyushch visit to Canada in 1976 and Grigorenko meeting in Toronto in May 1978.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into six series

  • 1. Diyaloh, 1976-1987
  • 2. Ukrainian Canadian University Students Union, 1970-1974
  • 3. Committee in Defence of Soviet Political Prisoners
  • 4. Meta: a Left Wing Discussion Journal
  • 5. Articles
  • 6. Miscellaneous

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on Access

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

Initials were removed from the Minutes of Meetings, at the request of the participants

Return to Top

Custodial History

The fonds was donated by Dr. Shkandrij to the Archives & Special Collections, University of Manitoba in 2002

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

Diyaloh

Box Folder  
1 1A Statement of Principles and Purposes of Diyaloh 1976
  1B Report on "Diyaloh" work, 1974-1976
  2 Issues no.1-4 1977-1980
  3 Issues no. 5/6 - 11 1981-1987
  4 Publications

An Interview with Leonid Plyushch. Toronto: Diyaloh, 1976

Rozmova z Leonidom Pliushem. Toronto: Diyaloh, 1976

Kostiuk, H. Okaianni roky: vid Luk'ianivs'koi tiurmy do Vorkuts'koi trahedii. Toronto: Diyaloh, 1978.

  5A Diyaloh correspondence 1975-76
  5B "The Family" Correspondence, Reports, 1975-1977
  6 Diyaloh correspondence 1977
  7 Diyaloh correspondence 1978-79
  8 Addresses
  9 Addresses in Poland
  10A Minutes of Meetings, 1978

Discussion on Defense Work:

In defense of the Rights of Soviet Workers

In defense of Human Rights of Soviet Political Prisoners

  10B Minutes of the Meetings, Reports "The Family", 1975-1977
  11 Minutes of Meetings, 1978

Discussion on defense Work in Europe

  12 Minutes of Meetings, 1980-1984
  13 Responses in Europe, 1982

Return to Top


Ukrainian Canadian University Students Union (SUSK)
 

Box Folder  
1 14 1970-1974

Discussion papers, congresses

Constitution of the Ukrainian Canadian University Students' Union as amended by the 12th Congress, Thunder Bay, 1971.

Return to Top

Committee in Defense of Soviet Political Prisoners (CDSPP)

Box Folder  
2 1A Committee in Defense of Soviet Political Prisoners, 1973-1974
  1B Report on Leonid and Tetyana Plyushch's visit to Canada, April 4-10, 1976
  2 1976-77

Petition draft in defense of Soviet Workers

Notes on defense Work - Suggestions for Future Activity

The Grigorenko Meeting

Report in defense Soviet Political Prisoners: Helsinki Group

  3 1980

Petition in defense of Chornovil

Repressions against Ukrainian Helsinki Group

Report by Svitlana Kyrychenko

Campaign for the release of Danylo Shumuk

  4 Klymchuk Affair, 1977-78
  5 In Memoriam: Janusz Radziejowski, 1925-2002 by John-Paul Himka

Return to Top

Meta: a Left Wing Discussion Journal

Box Folder  
2 6 Volume 1, 1975-1977

Interview with Plyushch in v.1, no.2, 1976

  7 Volume 2, 1978-79
  8 Meta Seminars, 1975-1977

Return to Top

Articles

Box Folder  
2 9 UPA (Ukrains'ka povstans'ka armiia) - Independent Ukraine

Translation of Cpt. O. Hornovey's article On the Bolshevik Ideological Front (Preliminary draft)

  10 Discussions of the National Question

L'Ukraine ou les avatars du droit des peuples by M.I. Holoubenko

Notes on the National Question in the Ukraine by Klein

On Adopting the Slogan of "an Independent Workers and Peasants Soviet Ukraine" - the case for caution

For the defense of Political Prisoners in the "Eastern Block"

The International Tasks of the Ukrainian Revolution

Tendencies among the Masses in the Ukraine

  11 Tactical Orientation of the FI's East European Work by Klein
  12 Debate on Nationalism between Germain and Horowitz: a contribution to the discussion in the Socialist League by A. Levi, March, 1974

Beginning of a Revision of Marxism by E. Germain

Comrade Germain's Errors on the National Question by G. Horowitz

Return to Top

Miscellaneous

Box Folder  
2 13 Education for Socialists issued by the National Education Department , Socialist Workers' Party, 1970-78
  14 Inprecor: International Press Correspondence, 1977
  15 Intourist: scheme of automobile tours (Soviet Union)
  16 Photographs

(8 photographs)

USKT VIII Ohliad - Sopot 83

Ivan Iaremyi

Return to Top