Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Myroslav Shkandrij: MSS 356, PC 311 (A.11-92)

Myroslav Shkandrij


Myroslav Shkandrij:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba

Inventory prepared by V. Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2012)

Finding aid encoded by V. Zvonik (2012)
Finding aid written in English. 

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Myroslav Shkandrij

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions on Access

Custodial History

Other Finding Aids

Detailed Description of the Collection

Biographical Information

Mykhailo Boichuk - Unpublished Manuscript and Research Material, 1990-2008

David Burliuk - Research Material, Manuscript, 1960-2008

Phenomenon of the Ukrainian Avant-Garde Exhibit, 2000-2004

Roman Kowal (Koval) - Article and Reserch Material, 1960-2008

Ukrainian Avant-Garde Art 1920's-1930's, 1926-2001

Correspondence - General, A.-Z

Research Notes, Clippings - General, A-Z, 1960-2008

Added Material, 2012-2013 - Rare Manuscripts and Publications

Pc 311 (A.11-92) - Research Material - Slides,

Research Material - Photographs 1960-2005

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Creator:
Myroslav Shkandrij

Title:
Myroslav Shkandrij fonds
Dates:
1961-2008

Quantity:
1.25 m of textual records, 1100 slides; 147 photographs, 19 negatives

Identification:
Mss 356, Pc 311, A.11-92

English, Ukrainian

Return to Top

Biography of Myroslav Shkandrij

Dr. Myroslav Shkandrij is a professor of the Department of German and Slavic Studies, University of Manitoba. He was born on March 17, 1950, in Leeds, England. Dr. Shkandrij studied at Cambridge (1972) and the University of Toronto, where he received an M.A. (1973) and a Ph.D. (1980). He taught at the Universities of Calgary and Ottawa. Dr. Shkandrij is the author, translator, and editor of many publications dealing with Ukrainian Literary History and Art. Between 1977 and 1987, he was on the editorial board of Diyaloh, a journal of the young generation of Ukrainians in the West, the Ukrainian Canadian University Students. The journal was published three times per year. The Ukrainian Student Group smuggled issues of their publication to Ukraine during the Cold War. During those years, Dr. Shkandrij served on the Committee in Defense of Soviet Political Prisoners and many other Ukrainian institutions and organizations in Canada (CUIS, KUK).

In 2001, Dr. Shkandrij organized the first North America exhibition devoted to the Ukrainian Avant-Garde art, “Phenomenon of the Ukrainian Avant-Garde”. It covered period of the 1910’s through 1930’s. As a curator for the Winnipeg Art Gallery and in cooperation with the National Art Museum of Ukraine, he introduced to Winnipeg the Ukrainian Avant-Garde art hidden during the Stalinist years. Artists as David Burliuk, Mykhailo Boichuk, Kazimir Maleich, Alexander Archipenko and others represented modern trends in art such as Cubism, Futurism or Constructivism. Dr. Shkandrij researched a life and art of David Burliuk and organized another exhibit for the Winnipeg Art Gallery in 2008 - “Futurism and After: David Burliuk, 1882-1967”.

Dr. Shkandrij is the author of many publication such as “Literary Discussion in Soviet Ukraine, 1925-1928” (1980), “Modernist, Marxists and National Discussion of the 1920s” (1992); Russia and Ukraine (2001). His latest book “Jews in Ukrainian Literature” (2009) contributed to a public dialogue on Jewish-Ukrainian relations. Dr. Shkandrij is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies, the Canadian Association of Slavists. In 2010, he received the Faculty of Arts Professor of the Year award.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds consists of his correspondence and general research material; material pertaining to the Ukrainian Avant-Garde art (David Burliuk, Mykhailo Boichuk ); an article and a research material re: Winnipeg Ukrainian artist Roman Kowal; Shkandrij's unpublished manuscript “Monumentalists: Mykhailo Boichuk”, and Photograph Collection (photographs and slides of the Ukrainian Avant-Garde art, publications, architecture, and Roman Kowal's art).

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into nine series and photograph collection (PC 311)

1. Biographical Information
2. Mykhailo Boichuk - Unpublished Manuscript
3. David Burliuk - Research Material, Manuscript
4. Phenomenon of the Ukrainian Avant-Garde Exhibit
5. Roman Kowal (Koval) - Article, Research Material
6. Ukrainian Avant-Garde Art 1920's-1930's - Research Material
7. Correspondence - General, A-Z
8. Research Notes, Clippings - General, A-Z
9. Added Material, 2012-2013 - Rare Manuscripts and Publications
Pc 311 - Photograph Collection

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

No restriction on access.

Return to Top

Custodial History

The fonds was donated to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Dr. Shkandrij in 2002 and 2011.

Return to Top

Other Finding Aids

A.02-61

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

Biographical Information

Box Folder  
1 1 Myroslav Shkandrij - Elected a Fellow of the Ukrainian Academy of Arts and Sciences in Canada, May 1, 1995

Return to Top


Mykhailo Boichuk - Unpublished Manuscript and Research Material, [ 1990-2008 ]

 

Box Folder  
1 2 Mykhailo Boichuk and His School of Monumental Art by L. Kovalska and N. Prystalenko/ translated and edited by M. Shkandrij, 2001
  3-4 Monumentalists: Mykailo Boichuk and Hist School of Art - manuscript
  5 Manuscript - text by L. Kovalska and N. Prystalenko

(material used in M. Shkandrij's book)

  6 M. Shkandrij's translation of M. Boichuk's Monumental Art (1920)
  7 M. Boichuk's letters and other research material annotated by M. Shkandrij
  8-10 M. Boichuk - Research material
  11 Correspondence re: Boichuk - Kovals'ka, Lydiia and Prystalenko, Nellie, 1992-1996
  12 Annotated Research Material

Return to Top


David Burliuk - Research Material, Manuscript, [ 1960-2008 ]
 

Box Folder  
2 1 Burliuk's Biographies by Mary Clare Burliuk Holt and Nicholas Burliuk
  2 Biographies - Clippings
  3 Futurism and After: David Burliuk,1882-1967

(includes M.Shkandrij's handwritten notes)

  4 Research Material - Burliuk Suracuse Archives
  5 Research Material - Futuristidcheskaia Revoliutsiia, 1917-1921 by Krusanov, 2003
  6 Research Material - Burliuk - Identities

(includes handwritten notes)

  7 Transparencies - Burliuk's Art

(10 transparencies)

  8 Newspaper clippings about Burliuk, 2000-2003
  9-10 Research Material - Publications about Burliuk
Box Folder  
3 1-2 Research Material - Articles about Burliuk, 1991-2005

(includes handwritten notes)

  3 Research Material - David Burliuk: a Study in Color and Rhyme by M.S. Kalet, 1982
  4 Research Material - David Burliuk and his Art - Color and Rhyme, 1961-1962
  5 Correspondence - Mary Burliuk Holt, 2002-2005
  6 Correspondence - Olexandr Kapitonenko, 2003-2005
  7 Correspondence - Ihor Holubizky, 2004-2005
  8 Correspondence - Sandra Udell, 2008
  9 Correspondence - Winnipeg Art Gallery, 2007-2008

Return to Top


Phenomenon of the Ukrainian Avant-Garde Exhibit, 2000-2004

Box Folder  
3 10 Winnipeg Art Gallery - Contracts, Lists of Artwork, 2000-2001

(Guest Curator - Myroslav Shkandrij)

  11 Correspondence - Winnipeg Art Gallery, 2000-2004

Return to Top

Roman Kowal (Koval) - Article and Reserch Material, [ 1960-2008 ]
 

Box Folder  
4 1 Mykhailo Boichuk - Research and Notes, Articles, 1992-2001

(includes 2 computer disks)

  3 Yelyzaveta Piskorska - Research Material
  4 Tymotei Borduliak - Research Material
  5 Oleksandr Bohomazov - Research Material
  6-9 Ukrainian Avant-Garde 1920's-1930's - Research Material, 1926-1998

(photocopies)

Return to Top


Correspondence - General, A.-Z
 

Box Folder  
5 1 Correspondence - General, 1990-2005
  2 Aheieva, Vira, 1990-1995
  3 Art Gallery of Hamilton, 2001
  4 Bohachevsky-Chomiak (JBR), 1997
  5 BorovskaHalyna1996Brioukhovetsky, V.,[ 1990 ]
  6 Canadian Foundation for Ukrainian Studies, 198-1999
  7 Chojnowski, A., 1994
  8 Coordination of East European Work, 1978
  9 Correspondence - H
  • Holt, Mary (Burliuk), 2003, 2010
  • Hrushchenko, Tania
  • Himka, John-Paul, 1982, 1988-1989
  • Horsky, V., 1993
  10 Correspondence - I
  • Ilnytskyi, Mykola, 1992-1997
  • Ivanchuk, R., 1993
  11 Jarmus, Stephan, 2003
  12 Jaworsky, Ivan, 1988
  13 Kapitonenko (Capitonenko), O., 2005
  14 Khrestomatiia Ukrains'koi Literatury - Slavutych, Yar, Kolesnyk,etc., 1998-2000
  15 Correspondence - Kl
  • Klid, Bohdan, 1993-1995
  • Klippenstein, Lawrence, 1996
  16 Koscharsky, Galyna, 1991-1996
  17 Krawchenko, Bohdan, 1977-1990
Box Folder  
6 1 Kostiuk, B., 1976-1987
  2 Kobluk, Vasyl' (Bill), 2008
  3 Leont'ieva, O.F.- Articles, 1996-2002
  4 Lewytskyi,V., 1977
  5 Liber George, 1990-1997
  6 Luckyj, George, 1983-1995
  7 Maidanska, Sophia, 1993
  8-9 McGill-Queen's University Press, 1997-2001
  10 Mosaic - Minutes of Editorial Board, 1993-2000
  11 Manitoba Parents for Ukrainian Education, 2001
  12 Neborak, Viktor, 1995
  13 Oleshko, Svitlana, 1994

(includes 7 photographs)

  14 Correspondence - O
  • Onyshevych, L, 1994
  • Ostash, I., 1993
  15 Correspondence - Pa
  • Palij, L., 1999
  • Palka, Oleksandra, 1997
  16 Philosophical and Sociological Thought - Yurii Pryliuk, 1989
  17 Correspondence - P
  • Pokalchuk, Y.
  • Prystalenko, N., 1998
  • Prystupa, P., 1997
  18 Plyushch, Leonid (Committee in Defense of Soviet Political Prisoners), 1976
  19 Riabchuk Mykola, 1993-1996
  20 Rozumnyj, Jaroslav, 1996
  21 Rozumnyj, J. - Festschrifi, 1995-1999
  22 Rudzik, O., 2007
  23 Correspondence - S
  • Sachenko, Mykhailo
  • Shameka, Oleksander, 1971
  • Shtohryn, Dmytro, 1999-2002
Box Folder  
7 1 Senkus, R., 1978-1991
  2 Sergeev, Iurii, 1991-1992
  3 Soroka, Mykola, 1995
  4 Sutton, Jonathan, 1994-1997
  5 Swyripa, F.Trach, I.,[ 1997 ]
  6 UCC Diversity Committee, 2002-2003
  7 Ukrainian Community Development Committee, - Minutes, 1984
  8 Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Federation - Minutes, 2001-2002
  9 Udartseva, L., 1980
  10 University of Victoria, 2004
  11 University of Waterloo, 1999
  12 Uzwyshyn, Ray (Correspondence re: Boichuk translations)
  13 Vitvitsky, Bohdan, 2003
  14 Vitvitsky, Bohdan, 2003
  15 Yarema, Stepan, 1995, 2005
  16 Zayachuk, Yulia, 2008
  17 Zilynskyj, B., 1995
  18 Correspondence - Seleshko to Danyliuk, 1973-1976

Return to Top

Research Notes, Clippings - General, A-Z,[ 1960-2008 ]

Box Folder  
7 19 Bahryanyi, Ivan
  20 Bazhan, Mykola
  21 Budorowycz, Bohdan
  22 Bureviia (Burovii), Kostia
  23 Buzko, D.I.
  24 Bychinsky, S.
Box Folder  
8 1 Dibrova, Volodymyr
  2 Domontovych, V.
  3 Dovzhenko and Symbolic Autobiography by George Liber
  4 Drach, Ivan
  5 Drai-Khmara, M.
  6 Dziuba, Ivan
  7 Fylypovych, P.
  8 Grove, F.P.
  9 Hadzins'kyi, V. -"Na bezkrovnomu fronti"
  10 Holoborodko, V.
  11 Ivanychuk, R.
  12 Jarmus, Stephan 2003
  13 Karmans'ky, P. - "Malp'iache zerkalo"
  14 Bezpalko, Osyp - Research material from Ukrainian Archives
  15 Karmans'ky - Research material (correspondence)
Box Folder  
9 1 Karmans'ky - Research notes, material
  2 Kostenko, Lina
  3 Kowal (Koval) Roman - Interview, Research notes, Exhibits, Art

(includes "The Art of Roman Kowal" by Myroslav Shkandrij)

  4 Kohut, Zenon - Articles
  5 Lepky, Bohdan
  6 Liaturynska, Oksana
  7 Maksymovych, M. (Pogodin debate)
  8 Oles, Oleksander
  9 Osadchy, M.
  10 Oushakine, S. - Articles
  11 Pchilka, O.
  12 Pliushch, Leonid - Reserch notes
  13 Pokalchuk, Yurii - Articles
Box Folder  
10 1 Polishchuk, V.
  2 Roudenko-Desnjak, Alexandre
  3 Riabchuk (Ryabchuk), Mykola - Articles
  4 Rylsky, T.
  5 Sosiura, Volodymyr
  6 Shkurupii, G.
  7 Stus, Dmytro
  8 Swain, Adam - Research Material
  9 Swyripa, Frances - Articles
  10 World War II - Edmonton Journal Newspaper clippings, November - December, 1938
  11 World War II - Toronto Daily Star Newspaper clippings - March - December, 1938
  12 World War II - Toronto Daily Star Newspaper Clippings - January - June, 1939
  13 World War II - Toronto Daily Star Newspaper Clippings - July - December, 1939
  14 Yekelchyk, Serhy - Articles
  15 Zerov, Mykola

Return to Top


Added Material, 2012-2013 - Rare Manuscripts and Publications
 

Box Folder  
11 1 "Trahediia rodyny Solodubiv" by Kost' Kubanets' - Manuscript
  2 "Ukrainian Bilingual Education in Western Canada" by John Sokolowski, 1990
  3 Report of the Conference: Multiculturalism for Canada. University of Alberta, August 28-29, 1970
  4 Brief Submitted to the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism. Ukrainian Canadian Committee Edmonton Branch, April 1958, July 1964
  5 Survey on Use of Ukrainian Language among Ukrainian Orthodox Priests - Manuscript, 1960

Back to Top


      Pc 311 (A.11-92) - Research Material - Slides,

Photographed by H. Pona

Box Folder  
1 1 Rizdviana sviatochna kartochka (19)

(137 slides)

  2 Zalyvakha, Panas

(87 slides)

  3 Drukovane slovo Ukrainy v iliustratsiiakh (29) - #1-120

(120 slides)

  4 Drukovane slovo Ukrainy v iliustratsiiakh (29) - #121-139;2/1-102

(120 slides)

(lacks #122)

  5 Drukovane slovo Ukrainy v iliustratsiiakh (29) - #2/122-140; 3/1-77

(115 slides)

  6 Taras Shevchenko - Mystets', Maliar - part 1

(110 slides)

  7 Taras Shevchenko - Mystets', Maliar - part 2

(102 slides)

Box Folder  
2 1 Ukrainian Avant-Garde Art

(27 slides)

  2

Martyrolohiia Ukrains'koi Pravoslavnoi Tserkvy

(48)

(129 slides)

  3

Kraievydy ustanovy i pamiatnyky Ukrainy v iliustratsiiakh

(45)

(98 slides)

Back to Top