Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Peter St. John fonds: Home

Peter St. John

Peter St. John:

An Inventory of his papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
334 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
(2014)

Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs (2014)
Finding aid written in English.



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
330 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
 
Creator:
Peter St. John
 
Title:
Peter St. John fonds
 
Dates: 1893-2013
 
Quantity:
5.1 m of textual & other records including 4 videocassettes, 1 CD & 20 slides
 
Identification:
Mss 409 A.13-99
 
 
English

Return to Top


Biography of Peter St. John

Oliver Peter St. John was born February 27, 1938 in Victoria, British Columbia. He attended University of Lausanne in 1955 studying French language & literature. In 1960 he graduated from the University of British Columbia with sa B.A. in Political Studies. In 1958 he was recognized as International Student of the Year. St. John received an M.A. in International Relations from the London School of Economics in 1963. This was followed by a PHD in International Relations from the University of London. He was a lecture at the University College, London from 1963-1964. He joined the faculty of the University of Manitoba in 1964 as a lecturer in Political Studies. After two year he was named Assistant Professor. From 1966-72 he was an assistant professor. He obtained the rank of Associate Professor in 1972 & full Professor in the year of his retirement in 1998. The following year he was named Senior Scholar. He was awarded an SSHRC grant in 1982, a University of Manitoba Outreach Grant in 1996 & the Olive Beatrice Stanton Award for Teaching Excellence in 1997.

Return to Top


St. John is the other of several books & articles. They include: Fireproof House to Third Option: Studies in the Theory and Practise of Canadian Foreign Policy, University of Manitoba 1977 (editor & contributor). MacKenzie King to Philosopher King: Canadian Foreign Policy in the Modern Age, University of Manitoba, 1984 (editor & contributor). Air Piracy, Airport Security And International Terrorism: Winning the War against Hijackers, Quoram Books, New York, 1991. He is the President, of the Agassiz Institute for the Study of Conflict. He was the Director of Counter-Terror Study Centre in Winnipeg 1985-1993. He is a regular quarterly lecturer at the U.S, Air Force Special Operations School, Revolutionary Warfare Course in Hurlburt Field in Florida. In 1998 he became the ninth Earl of Orkney. For a more indepth biographical sketch consult Box 1 Folder 1 of the finding aid.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds have been separated into 11 series. They include: biographical information, articles & lectures, referering books & articles, correspondence, conferences, course outlines, CSIS material, SIRC material, Commission for Public Complaints against the RCMP, research material & videocassettes, a CD & slides.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on access

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

No restrictions on use

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds were donated by Dr. Peter St. John in 2013.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION [ 1999-2009 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
1 1 Biographical information including C.V. 1999-2009

Return to Top


ARTICLES & LECTURES 1960-2007
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
1 2 The Leadership of the FLN - St. John's B.A. thesis at UBC 1960
  3 Independent Algeria from Ben Bella to Boumedienne - article in the World Today 1968
  4 The International Pressures in the Algerian War 1954-1962 - manuscript draft ca.1970
  5 Problems of Legitmacy & Nation-Building in Algeria - article draft ca.1970
  6 Canada's Entry into the Allied Intelligence Community - article draft ca.1980
  7 Winnipeg Free Press article about St. John 1982
  8 Notes for Lebanon Lecture - United World College's Victoria 1984
  9 Canada's Accession to the Allied Intelligence Community - article 1984
  10 Various St. John articles 1986-1999
  11 Hi-jacking book outline ca.1986
  12 Kwame Nkrumah - research notes ca.1970
  13 St. John's editorials in the Winnipeg Free Press 1968
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
1A 1 The International Pressures in the Algerian War 1954-1962 - St. John PHD University of London 1972
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
2 1 St. John's notes for lecture at U. of Victoria 1987
  2 Book reviews of St. John's book on Air Piracy 1988
  3 The Internationalists - Canadian Diplomats 1943-1957 - Ideas C.B.C. radio 1988-1989
  4 Reviews of St. John's book on Air Piracy 1990
  5 Book reviews by St. John 1994
  6 General Khanh Vietnam research notes 1994
  7 Transcript General Nguyen Khanh in conversation with Geoff & St. John Hurlbert Field, Florida 1994
  8 Insurgency, Legitimacy & Intervention in Algeria 1954-1995 paper presented at the Low Intensity Conflict Centre Hampton, Va. 1995
  9 Algeria: A Case Study of Insurgency in the New World Order - St. John article in Small Wars & Insurgencies Vol.7 No.2 1996
  10 Locating Algeria on the Insurgency Spectrum - paper draft 1996
  11 Various drafts of Algeria: A Case Study of Insurgency in the New World Order 1992-1996
  12 The Politics of Aviation Terrorism - article draft ca.1998
  13 Government Responses to International Terrorism: Hijacking 1968-1998 - article draft 1998
  14 St. John book reviews 2007
ST. JOHN REFEREEING BOOKS & ARTICLES 1997-2009
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
2 14C St. John referees article for Journal of Conflict Studies 1997
  15C St. John manuscript reader for Oxford University Press 2009

Return to Top


CORRESPONDENCE 1962-2011
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
3 1 North Africa correspondence while working on PHD 1962-1968
  2 Espionage correspondence 1977
  2A Intelligence, Espionage & Terrorism correspondence 1977-1990
  3 Counter-Terror Study Centre - correspondence & newsclippings 1984-1987
  4 United States & Canadian Armed Forces correspondence 1985-1995
  5 Correspondence 1989-2008
  6 Islamic community correspondence 1990
  7 Saul Cherniak correspondence & speech 1991-2003
  8 Dr. Chrristopher Andrew correspondence 1991
  9 Departmental correspondence 1992-1994
  10 Correspondence 1992-1993
  11 Correspondence 1996-2011
  12 CSIS correspondence 2002
  13 Intrepid Society correspondence 2005
  14 Cord Hart correspondence 2006
  15 Correspondence 2007-2010
  16 St. John Christmas Letter 2009
  17 Correspondence 2007

Return to Top


CONFERENCES 1963-2009
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
4 1 L'Éducation de Masse À Cuba - Conference Algiers 1963
  2 CTSC conferences 1986-1990
  3 Right-Wing Terrorism conference notes 1987
  4 Right-Wing Terrorism - Counter Terrorism Study Center - includes St. John's paper 1987
  5 Political Studies Dept.Conferences & Seminars 1987-1988
  6 Conference plans 1987-1989
  7 3rd Annual Political Studies student conference 1987
  8 CASIS annual meetings with the Learned Socities - Windsor includes St. John's paper Terrorist Threats to Canada 1988
  9 The New Face of National Security Conference McGill University 1989
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
5 1 3rd Annual Conference of the Counter Terror Study Centre 1990
  2 3rd Annual Conference of the Counter Terror Study Centre 1990
  3 Conference correspondence 1990
  4 Islamic Terrorism conference correspondence 1990
  5 Agassiz Institute correspondence 1995-1997
  6 Remarks by Richard B. Fadden, Director, CSIS to the CASIS annual International Conference 2009
  7 Canadian Professor for Peace in the Middle East Annual National Conference 1992

Return to Top


COURSE OUTLINES 1968-2008
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
6 1 Outlines for essays on the Evolution of Terrorism 1968-1992
  2 Later Cold War Espionage - course material 1970-1996
  3 Moles & Defectors - course material 1979-1986
  4 CSIS - course material [1980-1985]
  5 Peace Movement as a Propoganda Tool - course notes 1981-1982
  6 Intelligence & Espionage Index 1981-1987
  7 RCMP & CSIS - course material 1981-1999
  8 Middle East Politics - course outlines 1982-1990
  9 Ethical Issues in Intelligence - course material 1980-1985
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
7 1 Falkland Island War - course material 1982-1985
  2 Deception Moles Defectors - Active Measures - course material 1983-1993
  3 Moles Defectors & Double Agents - course material 1983-1988
  4 Intelligence, Espionage & Terrorism - course outline ca.1984
  5 Book reviews as course material 1984-2002
  6 Intelligence, Espionage & Terrorism 1984-1985
  7 Cold War Espionage - course material 1985-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
8 1 History of Intelligence, Espionage & Terrorism 1987
  2 Intelligence, Espionage & terrorism - course outline 1987
  3 Course descriptions 1987-1988
  4 Terrorism talks, lectures & Senate testimony 1986
  5 Spying - course material 1987
  6 Introductory lecture to understanding Terorism 1987
  7 Intelligence & Foreign Policy - course material ca.1987
  8 International Terrorism - course handouts 1988-2004
  9 Hijacking - handouts 1989-2000
  10 Course Outlines 1989-1990
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
9 1 Middle East - course outlines, notes & research material 1989
  2 Course outlines 1989-1991
  3 Middle East - Conference papers 1990
  4 CFB terrorists group lecture notes 1991
  5 Course notes 1992-2000
  6 Spies & Lies - course outline 1992-1993
  7 Intelligence, Espionage & Terrorism - course outline 1992
  8 Introduction to International Relations - course material 1993-1994
  9 Sabotage - course outlines 1993
  10 Intelligence, Espionage & Counter-Espionage - course material 1994
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
10 1 Espionage - course material 1993
  2 Revolutionary Warfare - reading list 1993
  3 Counterinsurgency Warfare bibliography 1993
  4 Intelligence, Espionage & Terrorism - course outline ca.1994
  5 Bibliography of Intelligence & Espionage - O.P. St. John & F.M. Carroll 1994
  6 Arayan Nations - handouts 1996
  7 Revolutionary Warfare Course - Exercise Northern Lights ca.1996
  8 Revolutionary Warfare Course - U.S. Special Operations School 1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
11 1 U.S. Army War College Strategic Studies Institute 1996-2001
  2 United States Air Force Special Operations School 1997-1998
  3 Intelligence, Espionage & Terrorism - course outlines 1997-2002
  4 Revolutionary Warfare Course - Practical Exercise 98A 1997
  5 Algeria - course outline & research material 1997-1999
  6 US Air Force - Revolutionary Warfare Course - validator survey 1998
  7 Insurgency & Couter-Insurgency - Canadian Forces College lecture 2000
  8 United States Air Force Special Operations School 2000
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
12 1 Lecture on hijacking - notes 2001
  2 St. John's exams 1998-2002
  3 Terrorism - essay topics 2002-2003
  4 Terrorism course description 2003-2007
  5 Intelligence, Insurgency & Terrorism - course handouts ca.2006
  6 Teachings on Terrorism 2006
  7 Suggested terrorism essay topics 2008

Return to Top


CSIS MATERIAL 1987-2011
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
13 1 People & Process in Transition - report to the solicitor general by CSIS 1987
  2 In Flux but not in Crisis - review of the CSIS Sct report 1990
  3 On Course National Security for the 1990's - review of the CSIS Act 1991
  4 Annual report 1991-1992
  5 Annual reports 2002-2006
  6 Annual reports 2006-2011
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
14 1 A History of Examination Unit 1941-1945 1945
  2 Mosaic - security edition bulletin 1984-1988
  3 CSIS Bill 9 House of Commons 1984
  4 RCMP Gazette - biker issue 1987
  5 CSIS - Official Languages & Staff Relations report 1987
  6 Intelligence research material ca.1990
  7 Official Secrets - Richard Cleroux CSIS controvery 1991
  8 World Trade Center bombing 1993
  9 CSIS newsletter 1996-2000
  10 Mar-Pac's Indo-Pacific - Intelligence briefs 2007
  11 CSIS & the Canadian Peace Movement documents 2010

Return to Top

 

 

SECURITY INTELLIGENCE REVIEW COMMITTEE (SIRC) 1984-2003
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
15 1 Annual reports 1984-1991
  2 Annual reports 1991-1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
16 1 Operational audit 1997-1999
  2 Operational audit 2000-2003
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
17 1 Annual reports 2004-2012

Return to Top


COMMISSION FOR PUBLIC COMPLAINTS AGAINST RCMP 1998-2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
17 2 Reports 1998-2005

Return to Top


RESEARCH MATERIAL 1893-2013
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
18 1 Britain Irish Relation - The Globe newspaper 1893
  2 Christopher Andrew KGB/British Intelligence 1923-1938
  3 Spy networks 1937-1972
  4 Honolulu Star - Bulletin 1st extra Pearl Harbour 1941
  5 Letters from India documenting perilous flight from Burma 1943
  6 Early Cold War espionage 1945-1957
  7 Fighters for Freedom - published Free Algeria 1954
  8 Draft of article on Algeria ca.1968
  9 Terrorism statistics 1968-1988
  10 Intelligence Successes & Failures World War II 1968
  11 Platoon leader's personal response notebook - relating to Vietnam War ca.1970
  12 Terror in the United States 1970-1988
  13 Narcotics & Terrorism 1972-1988
  14 The Concept of Revolutionary Terrorism - Martha Crenshaw Hutchison in the Journal of Conflict Resolution 1972
  15 Israel War & Terrorism - notes 1973-1982
  16 The Problem of Political Authority in the New States - article draft 1973
  17 Diplomats & Terrorism 1973-1985
  18 Media Terrorism 1974-1987
  19 IRA articles 1974-1976
  20 Hijacking & Airport Security 1975-1986
  21 Living with Terrorism - Richard Clutterback 1975
  22 Carlos the Jackel articles 1975-1994
  23 The Power of Terrorism - I M H Smart - International Journal 1975
  24 Terrorists 1976-1993
  25 Speech by President Mohamed Anwar El Sadat on the 6th anniversary of the latle leader leader Gamal Abdel Nasser 1976
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
19 1 FBI, CIA &KGB 1976-1992
  2 Hijacks, crashes & air safety- articles 1977-1989
  3 RCMP - Canadian security 1977-1983
  4 Terrorism & the Media 1977-1985
  5 Rand's Research on Terrorism Brian Michael Jenkins Terrorism: An International Journal 1977
  6 CIA & espionage agencies 1977-1979
  7 Terrorism 1978-2008
  8 CIA 1978-1998
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
20 1 Terrorism & the Media 1978-1986
  2 Anti-Terrorist Legislative in the Federal Republic of Germany Dr. Miklos Radvanyi - Library of Congress Law Library 1979
  3 Ethics & Intelligence 1979-1996
  4 Report of the Ad Hoc Committee on International Terrorism 1979
  5 Canada & International Terrorism 1979-1992
  6 Communications & satellite intelligence 1980-1998
  7 The New Barbarism - Robert Collison article in Saturday Night 1980
  8 Insurgency 1980
  9 International Terrorism in 1979 - National Foreign Assessment Center Report 1980
  10 Soviet Techniques - disinformation 1980
  11 Espionage notes [1980s]
  12 Middle East [1980s]
  13 KGB 1981-1985
  14 Terrorism 1981-2006
  15 CIA 1981-1995
  16 Nuclear terrorism 1982-1995
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
21 1 Women & terrorism 1981-1991
  2 Hijack lecture ca.1981
  3 Hijacking material 1981-2003
  4 Soviet terror & assasinations 1981-1993
  5 Italy: The Carabinieri Fight Back - Dobson & Payne in Counterattack 1981
  6 Bibliography on terrorism 1981-1996
  7 Terrorism hi-jacking - Geoffrey Balkind 1981-2001
  8 Airpiracy graphs 1981-1986
  9 Victims of espionage 1982
  10 Armenian terrorism 1982-1986
  11 The Journalists War against Israel - Edward Alexander - Encounter 1982
  12 Behind the Lines in Lebanon - Jerusalem Post 1982
  13 Beginnings of a manuscript based on St. John's Middle East trip 1982
  14 Why Canada Should Recognize the PLO - Professor Michael Mandel 1983
  15 Sabotage of aircraft notes 1983-1988
  16 Palestine an Occupied Land - Looking Back at 83 - League of Arab States publication 1983
  17 Intelligence Successes & Failures 1983
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
21A 1 Korean Airlines Flight 007 1983-1984
  2 Personality, Psychosomatic ystems & Student Pilots - Gail Roen Pearson PHD Fielding Institute 1983
  3 CSIS 1984-2013
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
22 1 Intelligence Successes & Failure Cold War 1984-2005
  2 Patterns of Global Terrorism - United States Dept. of State 1984-1990
  3 Security Guidelines for Aircrew - Transport Canada 1984
  4 Espionage technology 1984-1987
  4A Psychology of terrorists 1984-1995
  5 The Farmer & Aircraft Noise - Dave Erickson - Center for Aerospace Study UND 1984
  6 Anatomy of Government Airline - Roger Gabel - Center for Aerospace Studies UND 1984
  7 Air Liability for Baggage Losses under Deregulation - Robert McLean - Center for Aerospace Studies UND 1984
  8 Terrorism & media 1984
  9 The Tenerite Experience - Gary W. Horst - Center for Aerospace Sciences UND 1984
  10 Report of the Secretary of State's Advisory Panel on Overseas Security 1985
  11 Pilots & Pirates ca.1985
  12 Individual spies/ networks 1984-1987
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
23 1 Hijacking statistics 1985
  2 Israel Defense Forces Journal 1985-1986
  3 Squamish Five 1985-1986
  4 Palestinian terrorism ca.1985
  5 Canadian Intelligence 1985-1994
  6 Hijacking articles 1986-1996
  7 RCMP Security Service 1986-1991
  8 Maps of areas of potential insurgencies ca.1986
  9 Intelligence, Espionage & Terrorism 1986
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
24 1 World history timeline 1945-1986
  2 FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin - terrorism issue 1987
  3 Antiterrorism Measures: The Adequacy of Foreign Airport Security - Committee on Foreign Affairs U.S. House of Representatives1986
  4 Directions - Canada's International Relations 1986
  5 Terrorists Attacks on US Businesses Abroad - U.S. Department of State 1986
  6 London Controlling System ca.1986
  7 Airport Security 1986-1996
  8 Lethal terrorist actions against Americans -1973-1985 Bureau of Diplomatic Security ca.1986
  9 Terrorism theory ca.1986
  10 Reflections on Terorism - Walter Lacquer - Foreign Affairs 1986
  11 Canada, Terrorism includes October Crisis of 1970 1986-1996
  12 Charles J. Dunlap Jr. articles 1986-2012
  13 Testimony to Foreign Affairs Committee on Terrorism 1986
  14 Senate Terrorism Committee 1986-1987
  15 Terrorism research mainly hijacking 1986-2007
  16 Hijacking 1986-2002
  17 Catching Terrorists - Stephen Kindel - Science Digest 1986
  18 Special Joint Committee on Canada's International Relations - public hearings Winnipeg 1986
  19 Criminal Acts Against Civil Aviation - US Department of Transportation 1986
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
25 1 Espionage magazine 1987
  2 International politics, espoionage & intelligence 1987-1997
  3 Terrorist group profiles - U.S. government publication 1988
  4 Narco-terrorism & anti choice 1984-1988
  5 Airline research material 1988-1990
  6 Psychology of Terror 1988-1999
  7 Abu Nidal terrorist ca.1988
  8 Behind the Terror - Ehud Ya'ari - Time magazine 1987
  9 Consortium for the Study of Intelligence - Boudoin College Maine 1988
  10 Fidel Castro interview - re: Seoul Olympics 1988
  11 Iran-Contra affair ca.1988
  12 List of recent aircraft accident reports issued by Air Accidents Investigation Branch 1989-1990
  13 Dr. Tom Marks articles 1989-1993
  14 The Travel & Leisure Study - A Survey of Traveling Americans - Louis Harris Associates Inc. 1989
  15 Airport security 1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
26 1 Contemporary International Terrorism & Its Impact on Canada - Anthony Kellet - National Defence 1988
  2 Terrorism statistics ca.1988
  3 Symbolic or Real? The Impact the Canadian Security Review Committee 1984-1988 - Peter Gill 1988
  4 National Intelligence Study Center 1988
  5 The Preparation of Undergraduate Essays: A Brief Guide - F. Frazer UPEI 1988
  6 Airline Security 1988-1989
  7 Intelligence research 1989-2002
  8 CSIS Security Offenses Act 1989
  9 The Growing Threat of Terrorism - Marvin J. Cetron - in the Futurist 1989
  10 Annals of Intelligence - New Yorker Magazine 1989
  11 Canadian Airpory Security 1989-2004
  12 Hijacking 1990-2008
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
27 1 Hijacking articles 1990-2001
  2 Summary of the Thacker Committee Report - amending the CSIS Act 1990
  3 Iran articles 1990-2006
  4 Airport security 1990-2004
  5 Democratic Responses to International Terrorism -Centre for Conflict Studies - David A. Charters - University of New Brunswick 1990
  6 Criminal Acts Against Civil Aviation - US Department of Transportation 1990-1991
  7 Osama Bin Laden 1990-2006
  8 Reinventing the Round Wheel: Insurgency, Counterinsurgency & Peacekeeping Post Cold War ca.1990
  9 Herbert Norman spy affair - Payton Lyon research ca.1990
  10 Patterns of Global Terrorism - United States Department of State 1991-1995
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
28 1 Death in Tunis - T.D. Allman - in Vanity Fair 1991
  2 French Responses to International Terrorism - Alain Marsaud 1991
  3 IRA 1991-1997
  4 World Regional Terrorism 1991-1999
  5 Intelligence agencies 1991
  6 Algeria Insurrection 2 scrapbook 1991-1995
  7 Algeria Insurrection 2 srapbook 1995-1997
  8 Algeria Insurrection 2 scrapbook 1997
  9 Criminal Acts against Civil Aviation - US Department of Transportation 1992
  10 Islamic Fundamentalists 1992-2002
  11 Evolution of International Terrorism notes ca.1992
  12 The Terror Network 1993-1996
  13 Nature of Intelligence ca.1993
  14 Hijacking 1993-1999
  15 Essay topics & biblios 1993-1994
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
29 1 Vision of the Middle East - Israel's Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Dr. Yossi Beilin 1993
  2 Minister of International Trade - press releases 1993
  3 Counter Intelligence 1992-1993
  4 Apprehended Insurrection? RCMP Intelligence & the October Crisis (1970) - Reg Whittaker -in Canadian Association for Security & Intelligence Studies 1993
  5 Topics in recent World History - Dr. J. Mendyk - course outline 1993
  6 World Trade Center 1993-1998
  7 Radical Islam 1993-2010
  8 Threat summary unclassified 1993
  9 The Road to Oklahoma City - Alex Heard in the New Republic 1993
  10 Winnipeg Police - 1993 statistical report 1993
  11 National separatists 1993
  12 Criminal Acts against Civil Aviation - US Department of Transportation 1993
  13 Political Islam - Beyond the Green Menace 1993
  14 Closing the File on Flight 007 - Murray Sale in the New Yorker 1993
  15 Industrial espionage 1993-1994
  16 Sri Lanka The Dynamics of Terror - Dr. Tom Marks in Counterterrorism & Security 1994
  17 Nuclear Terror for Sale - Bruce Nelan in Time Magazine 1994
  18 Khalistan Sikhs 1994-1995
  19 Open Information newsletter 1994
  20 Background: Rwanda 1994
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
30 1 The Valley of Peace - Shimon Peres Irsrael's Minister of Foreign Affairs 1994
  2 Exercise Sultan - Canadian Armed Forces 1994
  3 Fifth -Column Crisis - Larry Hannant in the Beaver 1994
  4 CSIS commentary newsletter 1994
  5 Economic Espionage 1994-1996
  6 Canada 21 - Canada & Common Security in the 21st Century - Center for International Studies - U. of T. 1994
  7 Oka research 1994
  8 Criminal Acts against Civil Aviation - Office of Civil Aviation Security 1994-1996
  9 Islamic Fundamentalists & Terrorism 1994-2002
  10 Latin American Terrorism 1994-2003
  11 St. John paper Insurgency, Legitimacy & Intervention in Algeria 1954-1995 - USAF Special Operations School 1995
  12 The Canadian Institute for Conflict Studies - Institute Brief - Chemical & Biological Terrorism... 1995
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
31 1 African Operational Experiences in Peacekeeping: The Case of Ethopia in Rwanda - Major Rick Orth - paper presented at African Studies Association 1995
  2 Joint Doctrine for Military Operations other than War - Joint Chiefs of Staff 1995
  3 Algeria notes & articles 1995-1998
  4C Weapons of Mass Destruction 1995-1998
  5 Notes on Quebec Separation 1995
  6 World Trade Center 1995
  7 The Terror Master - Avishai Margalit in New York Review 1995
  8 Terrorism: Motivation & Causes - in CSIS newsletter Commentary 1995
  9 The Unabomber Manifesto 1995
  10 Algeria ca.1995
  11 CSIS Commentary newsletter 1995
  12 Assorted research material 1995-2000
  13 Unabomber Manifesto 1995
  14 Canada Security reports ca.1995
  15 Insurgency & Counter - Insurgency in Rhodesia - J.R.T. Wood 1995
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
32 1 Aviation Magazines 1996-2002
  2 Women in Afghanistan - Sally Armstrong visit 1996-1997
  3 Right-Wing US. Terror 1996
  4 Counter-Terrorism & US Policies 1996-2005
  5 The Troubles Return to Northern Ireland - Dr. Tom Marks in Counter Terrorism & Security 1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
33 1 Naval Postgraduate School Monterey, California - Who are the Soliers of the Revolution - Gay M. Hanson 1996
  2 Jungle Battles - Combat & Survival Magazine 1996
  3 Ethnic Fears & Global Engagement: The International Spread & Management of Ethnic Conflict - Institute of Global Conflict - David Ahake & Donald Rothchild 1996
  4 Patterns of Global Terrorism - United States Department of State 1996-2002
  5 Terrorism 9/11 & earlier 1996-2006
  6 Notes for Terrorism lecture ca.1997
  7 Peruvian hostage taking 1997
  8 CIA in Guatemala articles ca.1997
  9 Critical Foundations Protecting America's Infrastructure - report 1997
  10 The U.S. & Terrorism ca.1997
  11 Cults the Next Way - Robert Hoshlowsky in Homemakers 1998
  12 CASIS Intelligence Newsletter #33 Fall 1998
  13 Klein Acts to Halt Oil[patch Terrorism - Don Martin in the Calgary Herald 1998
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
34 1 Prototypes & Evolution of Terrorist groups ca.1998
  2 Responding to Terrorism - David Tucker in Washington Quarterly 1998
  3 The World Turned Upside Down - Anatol Lieven in 34 Armed Forces Journal 1998
  4 The Trouble Triangle: Populism, Islam & Civil Society in the Arab World - Saud Eddin Ibrahim in International Political Science Review 1998
  5 CSIS public report 1998
  6 Skyjacking 1998-1999
  7 Terrorist attack statistics 1998
  8 Crescent International - Newsmagazine of the Islamic Movement 1998
  9 St. John article draft - Government Responses to International Terrorism: Hijacking 1968-1998 1998
  10 Airport security 1998-2002
  11 Economic & Information Security - Hacker Groups 1998
  12 St. John article draft - Government's & Hijacking: Remedying the Past as Future Policy 1998
  13 Airport security thought provoking ideas ca.1998
  14 Airport security 1998-2004
  15 CASIS Intelligence newsletter 1999
  16 Strategic Capability Planning for the Canadian Forces 1999-2000
  17 Is Europe Soft on Terrorism? -Bruce Hoffman in Foreign Policy 1999
  18 Proceedings of the Intelligence Review Agencies - Ottawa Conference 1999
  19 Military Police Complaints Commission - annual reports 2000
  20 Global Terrorism - A course produced by the United Nations Institute for Training & Research - Paul Medhart PHD 2000
  21 National Security Investigations POWPM 2001-2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
35 1 CSIS Commentary newsletter 2000
  2 Motives for entering Afghanistan - St. John list ca.2001
  3 Proposed Protocol Concept for CSIS Information Exchanges.......... - Steve Sherriff 2001
  4 Ottawa Citizen by-lines 2001-2002
  5 The Future of Terror - Newsweek 2000
  6 St. John's notes on Terrorism ca.2001
  7 St. John's presentation to the Standing Committee oo Transportation - House of Commons Ottawa 2001
  8 Terrorism Survival Guide magazine 2001
  9 Maclean's Special Report after the Terror 2001
  10 Hijacking airport security international terrorism - includes St. John notes ca.2001
  11 Chronicle of aviation terrorism from 1948 to the present 2001
  12 Post 9/11 articles on airport security 2002
  13 Tamil Tigers articles 2002
  14 Anthrax attacks - letter chronology 2002
  15 The USA Patriot Act: One Year Later Part 1 - C. William Michaels & Jennifer van Bergen in Throughout Issues 2002
  16 Profile of Foreign Terrorist Operatives in the United States - Brian Fairchild Higgins Foundation 2002
  17 Perspective: Why it will Love Homeland Security - Jay Whitehead Cbnet 2002
  18 Terrorists Too: Exposing Animal -Rights Terrorism - Wesley Smith in National Review 2002
  19 The Mystery Behind the Hoax - Pepe Escobar in Asia Times 2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
36 1 The Futility of Homeland Defense - David Carr in Atlantic Monthly 2002
  2 Terrorism articles 2002-2010
  3 Mohamed Al-Asuguf interview 2002
  4 Jihad notes ca.2002
  5 Changing Laws for Changing Times : The Expansion of Police Powers in the Wake of 9/11 - conference Winnipeg 2002
  6 Airport security 2002-2005
  7 RCMP -examples of national interest & other sensitive information 2002
  8 Technology & intel 2002
  9 RCMP - Bill C36 2002
  10 Terrorism 2002-2010
  11 Special topics on terrorism - course material 2003-2004
  12 Nav Canada - annual report 2003
  13 The True Clash of Civilization - Ronald Inglehart & Pippa Norris in Foreign Policy 2003
  14 Patriot Games - Derek M. Jennings in Independent Weekly 2003
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
37 1 Patriot Act 2 - American Civil Liberties Union 2003
  2 Selective Intelligence - Seymour M. Hersh in the Beaver 2003
  3 Commission for Public Complaints against the RCMP 2003-2004
  4 The Myth of Security at Canada's airports 2003
  5 Aviation security 2003-2004
  6 Intelligence, Espionage & Insurgency 2003-2005
  7 Terrorism newsclippings 2003
  8 USA Patriot Act & Beyond - Homefront Confidential 2003
  9 Wars, Foreign & Domestic - Susan Herman in Jurist Legal Intelligence 2003
  10 US & Iraq 2003-2004
  11 9/11 US reactions 2004-2006
  12 Terrorism newsclippings 2004
  13 The Neglected Home Front - Stephen Flynn in Foreign Affairs 2004
  14 Airport security from the ticket purchase - St. John notes 2004
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
38 1 Spies, Lies & Weapons: What Went Wrong - Kenneth Pollock in Atlantic Monthly 2004
  2 Report de la Vérificatrice générale du Canada 2004
  3 St. John's Airport Security lecture at St. Andrews University 2004
  4 Book reviews 2005-2007
  5 Kidnapping article 2005
  6 9/11 Bush & Terror 2005
  7 Terrorism Open Source Intelligence report 2005
  8 Espionage 2005
  9 Keynote speech International Symposium on Review & Oversight - Hon. Paule Gauthier, chair CSIS review committee - Ottawa 2005 
  10 CSIS Commentary newsletter 2005
  11 Terrorism newsclippings 2005
  12 Norman Ornstein "Inside the Beltway" on Congress, Bush & the Agenda 2006
  13 Civil Aviation Security Outline of Inquiry topics & schedule 2006
  14 St. John article draft on Air India Inquiry 2006
  15 CSIS Commentary newsletter - China & the Internet 2006
  16 RCMP Financial Intelligence Branch - Terrorist funding 2007
  17 Middle East 2007-2010
  18 Center for Middle East Public Policy - Building Moderate Muslim Networks - Angel Rabasa et al.. 2007
  19 Canadian Security Guide Book 2007 Border Crosings 2007
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
39 1 Managing Turmoil - The Need to Upgrade Foreign Aid & Military Strenght to Deal with Massive Change - interim report Standing Senate Committee on National Defense 2006
  2 Canadian Air Transport Security Authority - Board of Directors 2006
  3 Canadian Security guide book 2007
  4 Canadian Security guide book border crossings 2007
  5 Canadian Security guide book seaports 2007
  6 Regional & Country watch list No.80 2007
  7 The Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada - Advisory Board meeting 2007
  8 CSIS Commentary newsletter 2007
  9 International terrorism 2007
  10 Research material 2006-2007
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
40 1 Air India Enquiry 2007
  2 Airport crime 2008-2009
  3 Emergency Preparedness in Canada 2008
  4 Four Generals & an Admiral - the view from the top 2008
  5 Air security 2008-2010
  6 World terrorist spots 2008
  7 Air India bombing ca. 2009
  8 Closing the Loop on National Security through Law Enforcement - John Tait Memorial Lecture - William J.S. Elliott 2009
  9 Kamran Bokhari Stratfor 2010
  10 Air India Flight 182 A Canadian Tragedy - Commission of Inquiry into the Investigation 2010
  11 Libya 2011-2012
  12 Ten Years Later - Richard A. Clarke - Atlantic Monthly 2011

Return to Top


VIDEOCASSETTES, CD'S & SLIDES 1978-2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                             
41 1 2 1 hour videocassettes Terrorism World at Bay broacast on WNPI Television station 1978
  2 National Air Intelligence Center Unclassified OCI PSYOP/ Force Multiplier 12 minutes ca.1980
  3 Cry Havoc & Let Loose the Dogs of War St. John class International Relations Project Pandora's Box: Conflict Studies 1945-1989 participants Debra Liwiski, Sandra Unik & Amana Whitely 1995
  4 20 slides from Air Defense Operation Center ca.1990
  5 D. Divsion Commanding Officer Assistant Commissioner Gerry Braun - Aboriginal & Diversity Law Enforcement Conference CD 2003 

Return to Top