Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Manitoba Rural Leadership Training Committee fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 133 (A.93-19))

Manitoba Rural Leadership Training Committee fonds

An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Carole Barnabé
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(September 1998)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (October 2002)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 133 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Manitoba Rural Leadership Training Committee (M.R.L. T. C.)
 
Title:
Manitoba Rural Leadership Training Committee fonds
 
Dates:
1969-1987
 
Quantity:
33 cm of textual records
 
Identification:
MSS 133
 
Language
English.

Return to Top


Administrative History of the Manitoba Rural Leadership Training Committee

The Manitoba Rural Leadership Training Committee (M.R.L.T.C.) was formed in 1958 by a small group who recognized the acute need in rural Manitoba for programs of adult education, particularly in the area of specialized leadership training. Its purpose is to give its participants information, leadership training, and thus confidence to become involved in decision making processes at all levels. The M.R.L.T.C. is non-partisan and does not develop or endorse policies. The initiating group met under the Chairmanship of the late Dr. J.R.C. Evans (president of Brandon College), and included Dr. E.J. Tyler, W. McGregor, F.W. Hamilton and R.E. Forbes. This group held its first meeting in June 1958. The M.R.L.T.C. included the following groups: Brandon College, Manitoba Farmers' Union, Manitoba Federation of Agriculture, Manitoba Department of Agriculture, Manitoba Pool Elevators, Manitoba Women's Institute, the University of Manitoba and United Grain Growers. Programmes over the years have ranged from two-day seminars in local communities to week-long programmes conducted at central locations and organizations throughout the province. The M.R.L.T.C. is still in operation today.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Records

The fonds consists of correspondence, minutes and financial accounts which have been arranged chronologically.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Records

These records are organized chronologically.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on access to this material.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Users must abide by relevant copyright legislation.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Donated to the Archives by the M.R.L.T.C. in 1993 (A.93-17).

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Records

Manitoba Rural Leadership Training Committee fonds 1969-1987
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Correspondence and Minutes, 1969-1972
  2 Correspondence and Minutes,1973

(1 of 2)

  3 Correspondence and Minutes,1973

(2 of 2)

  4 Correspondence and Minutes, 1974
  5 Correspondence and Minutes, 1975
  6 Correspondence and Minutes, 1976
  7 Correspondence and Minutes, 1977
 
Box Folder  
2 1 Correspondence and Minutes, 1978
  2 Correspondence and Minutes, 1979
  3 Seminar Program and Lectures, 1979
  4 Young Couples Farming, 1980
  5 Correspondence and General Information, 1980-1981
  6 Minutes, 1980-1983

 

Box Folder  
3 1 Correspondence and General Information, 1982-1983
  2 Correspondence and General Information, 1984
  3 Minutes, 1984
  4 Receipt and Expenditure Accounting, 1975-1987

Return to Top