The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Call Number: Mss 136, Pc 143, Tc 90 (A.91-10, A.92-12, A.01-08)
Title: Fredelle Maynard fonds.
Dates: 1915-1992.
Extent: 2.31 m of textual records and other material.
Biographical sketch: Fredelle Maynard (nee Bruser) was born in Foam Lake, Saskatchewan on July 9, 1922. She was raised in rural Manitoba and Saskatchewan until the age of nine when her family settled in Winnipeg, Manitoba. In 1943, Maynard earned a B.A. in English from the University of Manitoba. She received an M.A. in English from the University of Toronto in 1944, and a Ph.D. in English Literature from Radcliffe College (Harvard University) in 1947. She married Max Maynard in 1948 and they had two daughters, Rona and Joyce. Maynard taught in both the public school system and in secondary schools in New Hampshire. Maynard began publishing magazine articles in the 1950s that dealt with issues such as health, children, education, marriage, and family. She became a noted expert on child care and was well-received as a public speaker. Maynard left her husband after the publication of her first book, Raisins and Almonds, and they subsequently divorced. Maynard also published Guiding Your Child to a More Creative Life during this time. In the mid-1970s, Maynard moved to Toronto, Ontario, where she continued to publish both magazine articles and books. In 1985, she published The Child Care Crisis and, in 1988, her final book, The Tree of Life, was published. Maynard was also a popular host of two television shows on parenting. Maynard was diagnosed with brain cancer in 1989. She married her longtime companion, Sydney Bacon, that spring and died on October 3, 1989.
Custodial history: The records remained with the creator until her death in 1989. From 1989 to 1991, the records were in the custody of Fredelle Maynard's daughter, Rona Maynard. In 1991, Rona Maynard donated the fonds to University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections. A subsequent donation took place in 1992 (A.92-12). Rona Maynard donated a further accession in 2001 (A.01-08).
Scope and content: The fonds contains working copies of published essays, articles, stories, poems, manuscripts and personal and family correspondence. There are two copies of Purple and Gold (1937-1938), news clippings, travel diaries, a scrapbook of her articles, a video tape collection of Parents and Children, and miscellaneous audio tapes. The 2001 accession consists of personal information, professional and personal correspondence, a published magazine article, unpublished material, a speech, miscellaneous material relating to Fredelle Maynard, and material relating to other family members of Fredelle Maynard. The accession also contains an extensive photograph collection comprising of 138 negatives, 17 slides, and 2826 photographs. In addition, the fonds includes 13 video cassettes nd 22 audio cassettes.
Accruals: No further accruals are expected.
Finding aid: Printed finding aids are available in the Archives reading room and an on-line finding aid is available at the link below: