The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Inventory prepared by Ian Richards
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2006)
Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2006)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Biography of Adolf & Julia Stadelmeir
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
Personal correspondence to Julia Stadelmeir, 1940-1943
Governmental correspondence to Julia Stadelmeir, 1943-1988
Biography of Adolf & Julia Stadelmeir
Julia Stadelmeir (nee Rudawski) was born in Winnipeg on 17 April 1912 and died in Winnipeg on 12 May 2000. Adolf Leonard Stadelmeir was born on November 14, 1911. Julia and Adolf had a daughter, Louise, circa 1938. In September of 1939, Adolf enlisted in the Canadian Army and was assigned to the 12th Field Coy (company) of the Royal Canadian Engineers (RCE). He was posted to England in early 1940, was acting Company Quarter Master Sergeant (CQMS) by the fall of 1940, and later full CQMS with the No. 2 Tunneling Coy of the RCE. He served with this company at Gibraltar from March 1941 to December 1942. After returning to England Adolf disappeared under disputed circumstances. Julia Stadelmeir continued to attempt to locate Adolf until at least 1988. His whereabouts and fate are still unknown, although Julia Stadelmeir’s obituary indicated, perhaps speculatively, that he predeceased her. Further information regarding the activities of the No. 2 Tunneling Coy can be found in Stanley, Major George F. G. “Canadian Tunnellers [sic] at Gibraltar,” Canadian Geographical Journal 28 (June 1944) 244-257, and in the report of Stacey, C.P., Major, Historical Officer, Canadian Military Headquarters, at <www.forces.gc.ca/dhh/downloads/cmhq/cmhq080.pdf.>
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The fonds contains three series. The first is comprised of personal letters to Julia Stadelmeir from Adolf and Emmie, dating from 10 February 1940 to April 1943, as well as correspondence from various military, government officials and Members of Parliament to Julia Stadelmeir dating from 22 April 1943 to 29 February 1988 detailing her efforts to locate her husband. The second series contains newspaper articles detailing the activities of the No. 2 Tunneling Company of the Royal Canadian Engineers. The third contains various items relating to Adolf’s military service, and 18 envelopes without letters from Julia to Adolf marked “returned as undeliverable.”
This collection is arranged into three series:
There are no restrictions on this material.
There are no restrictions on this material.
Donated by Louise Mazur (nee Stadelmeir) on 14 February 2005
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 |
Adolf to Julia, 10 February 1940
Adolf to Julia, 21 February 1940 Adolf to Julia, 1 March 1940 Undated, Adolf to Julia, circa March 1940 Adolf to Julia, 12 April 1940, with an enclosure to Adolf’s mother, Louisa Adolf to Julia, One item dated 20 & 21 May 1940 Adolf to Julia, 27 May 1940 Adolf to Julia, 12 June 1940 Adolf to Julia, 5 July 1940 Adolf to Julia, 18 July 1940 Adolf to Julia, 29 July 1940 Undated, Adolf to Julia, circa August 1940 Adolf to Julia, 24 August 1940 Adolf to Julia, 7 September 1940 Adolf to Julia, 14 September 1940 Adolf to Julia, 15 September 1940 Adolf to Julia, 25 September 1940 Adolf to Julia, 24 October 1940 Undated, Adolf to Julia, written between 24 October 1940 and 3 November 1940 Adolf to Julia, 3 November 1940 Undated, Adolf to Julia, circa January 1940 Adolf to Julia, 13 February 1941 Adolf to Julia, 18 February 1941 DND to Julia, 2 July 1941 Adolf to Julia, 14 August 1941 DND to Julia, 6 September 1941 Adolf to Julia, 21 October 1941 Adolf to Julia, 13 November 1941 Adolf to Julia, 28 August 1942 Adolf to Julia, 12 September 1942 Adolf to Julia, 12 October 1942 Undated, Adolf to Julia, circa October 1942 Adolf to Julia, 23 October 1942 Emmie to Julia, enclosing item from Adolf to Emmie, 10 September 1942 Emmie to Julia, 14 November 1942 Adolf to Julia, 7 November 1942 Undated, circa April 1943 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 2 |
Department of National Defense, 22 April 1943 Dependents Allowance Board, DND, 18 August 1943 Telegram, Dependents Allowance Board, DND, 19 August 1943 C.E.White, commanding officer, No. 2 Tunnelling [sic] Coy, RCE, 23 August 1943 DND, 14 September 1943 Canadian Postal Corps, 16 September 1943 Dependents Allowance Board, DND, 26 October 1943 DND, 1 November 1943 DND, 29 December 1943 The Canadian Legion of the British Empire Service League (hereafter: The Canadian Legion), 11 August 1944 The Canadian Legion, 13 September 1944 The Canadian Legion, 11 October 1944 The Canadian Legion, 14 October 1944 DND, 10 May 1945 1 2 DND, 28 August 1946 Leeds City Police, Criminal Investigation Department, 23 September 1946 DND, 18 April 1947 Ralph Maybank, Member of Parliament (MP), 12 April 1951 Ralph Maybank. MP, 15 July 1951, handwritten J. A. Blanchette, Parliamentary Assistant to Minister of National Defense, 23 August 1951 Department of Veterans Affairs, 19 January 1953 News of the World news service, 27 March 1953 W. B. Nelson (formerly served with A.L. Stadelmeir), 24 March 1953 The Canadian Legion, 3 July 1953 Canadian Pension Commission, 4 August 1953 Canadian Pension Commission, 9 September 1953 Canadian Pension Commission, 21 October 1953 Canadian Pension Commission, 29 March 1954 Stanley Knowles, MP, Winnipeg North Centre, 2 October 1954, handwritten Stanley Knowles, MP, 7 February 1955 Stanley Knowles, MP, 19 April 1955 Stanley Knowles, MP, 7 September 1955, handwritten Stanley Knowles, MP, 13 February 1956 Stanley Knowles, MP, 22 February 1956 Stanley Knowles, MP, 27 February 1956 Stanley Knowles, MP, 27 December 1956, handwritten David Orlikow, MP, Winnipeg North, 26 May 1971 Stanley Knowles, MP, 31 May 1971 Stanley Knowles, MP, 3 June 1971 Copy of David Orlikow, MP to Jean-Edus Dube, Minister of Veterans Affairs, 3 June 1971 Copy of Jean-Edus Dube reply to David Orlikow, 21 June 1971 David Orlikow, MP, 25 June 1971 Government of Canada Pension Commission, 17 December 1981 Treasury Board, 17 February 1988 National Archives of Canada, 29 February 1988 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 2 |
8 February 1940 8 June 1940 Undated, circa 1943 Undated, circa 1943 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 3 |
Xerox of photograph, captioned on reverse: “Adolf and Julia Stadelmeir with baby Louise. Taken Christmas, 1939. Adolph [sic] left for overseas January, 1940” Xerox of photograph of Julia and Adolf used in newspaper article dated 8 February 1940. Poem entitled “From the ‘Twelfth’” by Sapper J. Ohrne Caricature by Sapper R. J. Cunningham RCE of “Sgt. A. L. Stadelmeir H 13046,” on yellow cardboard. Correspondence dated 2 September 1939 instructing A. L. Stadelmeir to report to Minto Armouries, Winnipeg, to join 12th Field Coy (Company) of RCE. Correspondence from King George V, dated 17 December 1939 to Sgt Adolf Stadelmeir, welcoming members of the first contingent of Canadian Forces to England. 18 envelopes without correspondence, marked undeliverable and cancelled between 16 February 1944 and 11 May 1944, addressed to: H 13046 CQMS A. L. Stadelmeir No. 2 Tunnelling [sic] Company Royal Canadian Engineers Canadian Army Overseas |