Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

William T. Metzger fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 261 (A.07-18))

William T. Metzger Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba

Inventory prepared by V. Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, 
Winnipeg, MB
(2008)

Finding aid encoded by V. Zvonik (2008)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, MB
 
Creator:
William T. Menzger
 
Title:
William T. Menzger fonds
 
Dates:
1970-1989
 
Quantity:
31 cm of textual records
 
Identification:
Mss 261 (A.07-18)
 
 
English

Return to Top


Biography of William T. Metzger

William T. Metzger is a pastor, spiritualist, and editor of "Spiritual Press" in Peterborough, Ontario. He worked in medical doctors' offices and in hospitals as a spiritual healer. William Metzger has collected material sent to him by William B. Payne (1915-1977), a writer, artist-cartoonist, and channeler, who under hypnosis through "automatic writing, drawing" communicated with spiritual world. This material was first published in the "Spiritual Press" (1975-76) and "Journal of Automatic Writing" (1974). William Payne died in 1977, and after his death, William T. Metzger published material in the book called "Winds of Doctrine: Pictures & News from Spirit" (1989) and dedicated this book to William B. Payne. The material was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 2007.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

This fonds consists of William T. Metzger's correspondence with William B. Payne; William Payne's drawings (organized into files by numbers), and writings (descriptive, automatic).

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on access.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

No restrictions on use.

Return to Top


Custodial History

This fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba by William T. Metzger in 2007.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Book: Winds of Doctrine: Pictures & News from Spirit by William B. Payne/ ed. by William T. Metzger,[ 1989 ]

(Communication from the spiritual forces - Automatic drawings and automatic writings)

Box Folder  
1 1 Book order forms - advertisements, 1989

Return to Top


Correspondence, 1975-1977
 
Box Folder  
1 2
Bill Metzger's Correpondence with Bill Payne, December 1975 - October 1977

(includes one CD e-mails, 2005)

( includes the Spiritual Press newspaper, 1975: no.14, 16-18; 1976: no.18)

 

Return to Top


Photographs
 
Box Folder  
1 3
  • 1.Photographs of Bill Payne and Bill Metzger
  • 2. Photographs of spirit drawings
  • 3. Wine Sipper, Spanish - Reincarnation
  4
Spirits - descriptions of drawings ( #420-460)

(includes correspondence - November 1975 to January 1976)

Return to Top


Spirits - drawings, writings, correspondence,[ 1970-1976 ]
 
Box Folder  
2 1
Josephine - Angel of light
  • 3. Josephine, Ankontana
  • 4. Bill Payne's drawings (#411, 420-423, 427, 437), messages, and correspondence to Bill Metzger about Josephine's drawings, 1975
  • 5. Jesus the Christ
  • Spirit of Wisdom
  • Josephine in studio in the Astral
  • Josephine Mamaka
  • William Medean: Prophet of Fire
  2 Spirits - drawings #428-490, 1972-76
  3 Spirits - drawings #443-506, 1973-1975
  4
Writing, correspondence - drawing #520, 1974-76
  • 1. Introduction by Bill Payne, explaining how he started
  • 1. Grace Salvation and Reincarnation and Karma
  • 1. Jesus and his Love
  5
Spirits - drawings #410-522, writings 1972-76
  • Josephine Kumpiti
  • Gertrude Stoval
  • Low Plain Spirit
  • Inter-Racial Marriages
  • Wilbur Petersen
  6
Writings, drawings (#462 - #495) 1974-76
  • 7. Josephine, portrait, learning in spirit
  • 7. Josephine, plans for spirit work
  • 7. Bill Payne, speaking about his experience of hypnosis
  • 9. Josephine, the dancer
  • 11. Charles Gibson
  • 12. Josephine Bertha sue
  • 13. Josephine Bauacka
  • 14. Guardian angel
  • 14. Devil spirit
  • 15. Josephine Bishop
  • 16. Josephine Gertrude Stoval
  • 17. Charles Beason
  • 18. Josephine Kumpiti
  7
Spirits -Writings - Correspondence, 1972-1976
  • Josephine: Marietti
  • Spirit that rejects reincarnation (#519)
  • Josephine: Matilda (#418-419)
  • Help in the name of God (#429)
  • Josephine Misc
  • Josephine Roda
  • Marietti Catherine
  8
Spirits -Writings - Correspondence, 1970-76
  • Marietti (#504-511)
  • Josephine Solie (#528- 534)
  • Solie sequel to life reading (#535-537)
  9
Writings - Correspondence, 1972-76
  • Youngepa (#493)
  • This is the name of God - Matilda (#541-543)
  • Marietti James (#544)
  • Josephine Padra Fontana
  • Josephine Mildred
  • Maude Pearson (#491)

 

Box Folder  
3 1 Spirits -File: #2001-9, 1972-1976
Oversize
  2 File: #2010-19, 1974-75
  3 File: #2019-29, 1974-75
  4 File: #2030-37, 1975-76
  5 File: #2040-48, 1975-76
  6 File: #2050-59, 1975-76
  7 File: #2060-69, 1972-76
  8 File: #2070-79, 1972-75
  9 File: #2080-89, 1972-75
  10 File: #2090,2093,2095,2099, 1972-75
  11 File: #2100,2105,2106, 1976
  12 File: #2118, 2119, 1971
  13 File: #2120, 2123, 1976
  14 File: #2139, 1975
  15 File: #2141, 2143-2149, 1975-76
  16 File: #2150-2159, 1977
  17 File: #2167, 1975
  18 File: #3000-30014, 1972-76
  19 File: #9002-9004,9010, 1975-76
 

20

Mics. writings, 1971-76

 

Box Folder  
4 1
Spirits -Writings - Drawings

Oversize drawings # 402-600

 

Return to Top