Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Lionel Moore fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 96, PC 92 (A.93-25))

Lionel Moore Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Jeff Long
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1994)

Finding aid encoded by Crista Bradley (June 2003)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 96, PC 92 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnpeg MB R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Lionel Moore
 
Title:
Lionel Moore fonds
 
Dates:
1951-1979
 
Quantity:
24 cm of textual records; 31 photographs
 
Language
English.

Return to Top


Biography of Lionel Moore

Agricultural broadcaster and reporter since 1944, Moore joined CBC Radio in 1950, retiring from this distinguished career in 1979. He worked closely with the Faculty of Agriculture at the University of Manitoba and holds an honourary membership to the National Council of the Agricultural Institute of Canada.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

This collection is comprised of three series. The first series, "Reports," contains scripts of reports Lionel Moore completed for the CBC as agricultural correspondent. The files are arranged chronologically and those with no specific date are filed last. The second series, "Scrapbooks," is made up of scrapbooks containing mostly clippings. The third series, "Photographs," is a photographic collection which has been separated and is now held as PC 92.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into three series

  • Reports: 1951-1979
  • Scrapbooks: [19-]
  • Photographs: [19-]

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no access restrictions on this collection.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Users must abide by copyright laws.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The Lionel Moore collection was given to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections on March 18, 1993. The donor, Grant Taylor, was one of Mr. Moore's colleagues.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Reports (MSS 96): 1951-1979
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Flying Rancher with news clippings & notes, 1951
  2 Canadian Chronicle, "News Round-up," 1951
  3 "Stock Shippers Want New Deal," 1951
  4 Canadian Chronicle, "Foot and Mouth Disease Outbreak," 1952
  5 Foot & Mouth Disease Report - CBC Farm Broadcast, 1952
  6 CBC radio programmes, 1952 & [19-]
  7 Canadian Chronicle, "Report", 1952
  8 Crop Report - Summerfallow, 1953
  9 Annual Report - Farm & Fisheries Broadcast Dept. CBC, 1955-1956
  10 "The Prairie Gardener" Correspondence, News Release, article & draft, 1956
  11 Cowhide Trophy Entry - Lac Du Bonnet Turkey Farm, 1959
  12 Script - A Unique Cattle Sale, 1959
  13 Annual report - CBC Farm Broadcast Dept., 1959-1960
  14 Script for Country Calendar, January 1960
  15 Information Letter re: Blood Indian Reserve, 1960
  16 "This Business of Farming", 1961-1963, 1966-1968
  17 Canada's Indian Farmers by Lionel Moore, 1962
  18 Show agenda and Tour Agenda, 1962
  19 Prairie Survey, re: "Country Calendar," 1964
  20 Prairie Region Report: Farm & Fisheries Supervisors meetings, 1964
  21 Mediterranean Fruit Fly Control Project in Latin America, 1967
  22 CBC Farm News Bulletin - Country Calendar, 1969
  23 Honourary Member - Agriculture Institute of Canada, 1973
  24 96 Report from Rome, 1975
  25 Report to CUSO & B'DOS Agriculture Society, 1975
  26 Reports from Asia, 1975-1976
  27 News Reports, 1976
  28 News clippings, re: Lionel Moore retirement, 1976
  29 Speech to Carmen Business Group, 25th anniversary Dinner, 1979
  30 St. John's report, July 1979, p. 27, 1979
  31 Polish Government reps and Canadian Wheat Board reps - Report on Grain Sales, [19-]
  32 Script - Cattle Drive, [19-]
  33 Excerpt from "Memoirs by Lionel Moore," [19-]
  34 Script "Miracles Saves 39," [19-]

Return to Top


Scrapbooks (MSS 96):[19-]
 
Box Folder  
1 35 Prairie Farm Broadcast, Scrapbook, [19-]
     
2 1 Prairie Farm Broadcast, Scrapbook, [19-]
  2 Unnamed scrapbook, [19-]

Return to Top


Photographs (PC 92): [19-]
 
Box Folder  
1 1
Lionel Moore with other CBC personnel, [19-]

4 photos: 2-8 x 10; 2-11 x 14

One photograph includes chalk drawing entitled "Spain" on obverse of backing

  2 Bert Harp(?) - The Prairie Gardener, [19-]
  3
Unidentified CBC personnel,[19-]

4 photos

2 photographs with James Bannerman (?)

  4
1950 Flood 1950

10 - 11 x 14 with titles (on back) "Flash Flood at Winkler," "Flood Plans," "Floodway Speed up," "Gemini Hook-up," "Lorraine West," "Metro News" with Lionel Moore, "Prof. Donald Gordon," "Rosenort," "Three More Arrested"

  5
1950 Flood 1950

11 x 14 at Emerson

  6 People Farming[19-]

2 photographs

  7
People With Livestock[19-]

3 Photos

One photograph includes Lionel Moore

  8 Livestock [19-]

2 photographs

  9 Machinery,[19-]

1 photograph

  10 Blood Indian Reserve - sign, [19-]
  11 Photo and Pen and Ink drawing by Alexander Olson (numbered 149/200) of Upper Fort Garry with the steamer "International" plying the Red River in foreground [19-]
  12 Lionel Moore - This business of farming transparency [19-]

 

Return to Top