Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Suzanne Muir fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 196, PC 184 (A.97-60))

Suzanne Muir Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of her papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Dafoe LibraryWinnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2
(April 2005)

Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs (April 2005)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Dafoe Library Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Susanne Muir
 
Title:
Susanne Muir fonds
 
Dates:
1920-1990
 
Quantity:
25 cm. of textual records and 11 photographs

Return to Top


Biography of Susanne Muir

Suzanne Muir was born in Glascow, Scotland on June 26, 1891. She was the eldest daughter and the second of five children of Matthew McLeod Muir and Sarah Muir (nee Frayer). Susanne and her widowed mother emigrated to Canada in 1921 or 1922. A sister Emma Kathryn emigrated at a later date. Sarah Muir died in Winnipeg in January 1930. She and her sister sold the family home on Lindsay St. in 1932 and moved into Fairmont Apartments at 52 Edmonton. The sister both worked as legal secretaries. She and Kathryn had become active in the Spiritualist Church following the death of their mother. In 1937 they met the Reverend William Robertson Wood a United Church minister. For ten years Rev. Wood and his wife sat weekly at the Muir sisters apartment in a rescue circle. The purpose of a rescue circle was to release earth bound spirits to leave the mortal realm. Suzanne was a bi-monthly lecturer at the Winnipeg Spiritualist Church/ Winnipeg Psychic Society from 1962-1990. In 1997 Ms. Muir died at the age of 105.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds is divided into three series. A single article about Muir, her sister and Reverand Wood comprises the biographical series. The second series contains lectures that Muir gave at the Spiritualist Church that congregated at the International Odd Fellows Hall. The third series is comprised of newspaper clippings and published articles that Muir used for research purposes.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restriction on access

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

No restriction on use

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds was donated by Susanne's nephew Matthew Muir of Glascow Scotland in 1997. The material had been stored at the farm of his sister-in-law Kathleen Forrester in Emerson, Manitoba. The initial donation consisted of 240 books that have been destributed throughout the library. Any duplicates were given to the Survival Research Institute.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION[ ca. 1981 ]
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Helen Burgess lecture on Muir & the Reverand William Wood ca. 1981

 

Return to Top


MUIR LECTURES 1962-1989
 
Box Folder  
1 2 Lectures on Thanksgiving & Remembrance Day 1962-1987
  3 Easter lectures 1965-1986
  4 Lectures 1966-1969
  5 Lectures 1970-1974
  6 Lectures 1975-1979
  7 Lectures 1980-1989

Return to Top


RESEARCH MATERIAL 1931-1981
 
Box Folder  
1 8 Research material used in lectures 1953-1980
  9 "Psychic Research The Winnipeg Group, Western Home Monthly 1931
  10 W.R. Wood correspondence Re: Review of T.G. Hamilton's Intention & Survival 1943
  11 "Out of Old Books" Helen Sawyer Hogg ca.1952
  12 House of Commons Debate on the Practising of Witchcraft 1954
  13 Urantian Research 1972-1975
  14 Essex Healers' Association 1981

Return to Top


MUIR LECTURES 1967-1984
 
Box Folder  
2 1 Lectures on healing 1967-1968
  2 Auric colours ca. 1970
  3 Lecture on the after life 1971-1976
  4 Lectures on mediumship 1971
  5 Poetry invocations 1971-1984

Return to Top


RESEARCH MATERIAL 1920-1990
 
Box Folder  
2 6 "The Story of William E. Hart" in Communication 1920
  7 Articles on Demon Powers from Hibbert Journal ca.1930
  8 Spiritual healing information ca.1950
  9 Muir's research material for lectures 1970-1980
  10 Two articles by Rev. Wood in the New Outlook 1933
  11 Lectures by the Reverand W.R. Wood [1930s]
  12 Pamphlet: "The Mary M. Teleplasm" T.G. Hamilton 1929
  13 "Research Shows many Functions for Teleplasm" T.G. Hamilton in Winnipeg Free Press, 1933
  14 Pamphlet: "Phrenology" ca.1930
  15 The International Psychic Gazette 1931-1932
  16 The Two Worlds 1932-1959
  17 Light: A Journal of Spiritualism, Psychical, Occult and Mystical Research 1934-1943
  18 The Greater World 1938
  19 New York Spiritual Leader 1941-1942
  20 The Psychic Observer 1943-1952
  21 The Psychic Observer 1964
  22 Newspaper & magazine articles of interest 1937-1972
  23 Program46th Annual Session Lady Brady Spiritualist Camp Association Brady Lake, Ohio, 1937
  24 Institute of Noetic Sciences Research Bulletin ca. 1979
  25 The Alliance Review 1986
  26 Allan Kardec newsletter 1987
  27 Breden Lodge Spiritualism first home for elderly workers Weston-super-Mare, Somerset, 1990

Return to Top


PHOTOGRAPHS PC 184 [1930s]
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Nos.1-9 Images copied from T.G. Hamilton's book Intention & Survival & other Hamilton seances, No.10 Elm Park seance spirit fingerprints, No.11 a photo of spirit fingerprints[1930s]

 

Return to Top