Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Jack Burnett Murta fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 10, PC 20, TC 46)

Jack Burnett Murta fonds

An Inventory of his papers at the The University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by A.E. Millward
The University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1988)

Finding aid encoded by Allan Neyedly (March 2002)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 10, PC 20, TC 46 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Jack Burnett Murta
 
Title:
Jack Burnett Murta fonds
 
Dates:
1970-1985
 
Quantity:
9.5 m of textual records (72 boxes)
 
Identification:
MSS 10, PC 20, TC 46
 
Language
English.

Return to Top


Biography of Jack Burnett Murta

Jack Burnett Murta was born 13 May 1943 in Carman, Manitoba, the son of John James Murta and Jean (Burnett) Murta. He received his elementary and high school education in Graysville, a hamlet near the family farm, and graduated from the Diploma course in Agriculture at the University of Manitoba in 1964. He married (1) Ida Judith Scott, 23 October 1965 (divorced 1977), by whom he had two children, Scott Burnett and Tracy Judith; (2) Lynda E. (Morris) Grayson-Bell, 27 May 1977, by whom he has three children, Meaghan, Shevaughn and Liam.

Murta was first elected to the House of Commons, as a Progressive Conservative, for Lisgar riding on 16 November 1970, in a by-election following the death of the previous incumbent, George Muir. He was re-elected in the general elections of 1972, 1974, 1979, 1980, and 1984.

Before the formation of the Conservative government in 1979, Murta served as opposition critic for agriculture, then transportation, air transportation, and international trade. Under Prime Minister Joe Clark he became parliamentary secretary to the President of the Treasury Board and chaired the Emergency Grain Movement Task Force. During this period he became active in the Canada-United States Interparliamentary Group especially in its Committee on wheat. Back in opposition, Murta was named in 1981 to the Sub-Committee on Latin America and the Caribbean, and in 1982 to the Board of Directors of the Parliamentary Centre for Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade. Under Prime Minister Brian Mulroney he was sworn in as a Privy Councillor with his appointment as Minister of State for Multiculturalism (September 1984-August 1985). Subsequently he served as Minister of State (Tourism) (August 1985-June 1986).

 

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The collection covers the political career of J.B. Murta from his first election to the House of Commons in 1970. One major focus of interest is the material relating to the Canadian grain industry, with its associated transportation problems. A second focus of interest is the correspondence with constituents and others on a range of issues. There is some information on Party organization and politics, including the leadership conventions of 1976 and 1983.

Not included here are the personal diaries of Mr. Murta which he has retained in his own possession for the foreseeable future.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 15 series

  • Political Career 1970-1985
  • Lisgar Constituency Files, 1975-1985
  • Agriculture, 1970-1984
  • Transportation, 1972-1982
  • External Affairs, 1970-1985
  • Multiculturalism, 1979-1985
  • Tourism, 1985-1986
  • Party and Parliamentary Files, 1971-1984
  • Topical Files 1871-1985
  • Speeches by Others
  • Correspondence Files
  • Subject Correspondence Files, 1974-1986
  • Constituency Office - Records and Correspondence, 1979-1986
  • J.B. Murta Photograph Collection (PC 20), 1979-1985
  • Tape Collection (TC 46), [1982?]

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on access to the collection. Copyright regulations must be observed, especially with respect to correspondence and other unpublished materials.

Return to Top


 

Detailed Description of the Collection

Political Career 1970-1985
Box Folder  
1 1 Miscellaneous biographical material
  2 Requests for autographs, souvenirs, etc.
  3 Election to Parliament, 1970
  4 Nomination speech, 1972
  5 Election, 1974
  6 Transportation critic, 1977-1978
  7 Election, 1979
  8 Parliamentary secretary, Treasury Board, 1979
  9 Election, 1980
  10 Election, 1984
  11 Multiculturalism Minister, 1984
  12 Personal finances
  13 Gifts received
  14 Personal health
  15 Journal subscriptions
  16 Purchases
  17 Real estate
  18 Religious interests
  19 Travel, vacations, etc.
  20 John Murta
  21 Judith Murta
  22 Lynda Murta
Box Folder  
2 1 Murta's Lisgar office
Murta's Ottawa office
Box Folder  
2 2 Equipment, furnishings, etc
  3 Location
  4 Postal service
  5 Printing, photos, etc
  6 Staff
  7 Telephones
  8 Miscellaneous memos
  9 Miscellaneous engagement memos
  10 Invitations, 1976-1980
  11 Invitations, 1975-1977
  12 Invitations, 1978
  13 Invitations, 1979
  14 Invitations, 1980
  15 Speaking engagements
  16 Murta's nominations for awards, appointments, etc.
Newsclippings
Box Folder  
3 1 Newsclippings about Murta
  2 Scrapbook of clippings
Box Folder  
4 1 Scrapbook of clippings
Miscellaneous correspondence, etc.:
Organizations
Box Folder  
5 1 3M Canada
  2 Alliance of Canadian Travel Associations
  3 Apparel Manufacturers Institute of Quebec
  4 Automotive Parts Manufacturers' Association of Canada
  5 B
  6 Calgary Chamber of Commerce; Canada-Israel Committee
  7 Canada West Foundation
  8 Canadian A-L
  9 Canadian M
  10 Canadian P-W
  11 Ch-Com 11
  12 Con - Co-op
  13 Cr
  14 D
  15 E
  16 F
  17 I
  18 Manitoba
  19 N
  20 O
  21 R
  22 S
  23 T
  24 W
Politicians
Box Folder  
6 1 A
  2 B
  3 C
  4 Joe Clark
  5 Joe Clark- Newsclippings
  6 D
  7 E
  8 G
  9 H
  10 I
  11 J
  12 K
  13 L
  14 M
  15 Brian Mulroney - leadership campaign
  16 Brian Mulroney - 1983-1984
  17 Brian Mulroney - 1984 Lisgar Tour
  18 Brian Mulroney - newsclippings
  19 N
  20 O
  21 P
  22 R
  23 S
  24 T
  25 W
  26 Miscellaneous House of Commons questions
Non-Constituents
Box Folder  
7 1 A
  2 B
  3 C
  4 D
  5 F
  6 G
  7 H
  8 I
  9 J
  10 K
  11 L
  12 M
  13 O
  14 P
  15 R
  16 S
  17 T
  18 V
  19 W
  20 X-Z
Speeches: House of Commons
Box Folder  
8 1 Maiden speech 1970 December 8
  2 1971 January-May
  3 1971 June-November
  4 1971 December
  5 1972 Speech
  6 1973 Speech
  7 1975 February 4
  8 1975 February 27
  9 1975 March 7
  10 1975 October
  11 1976 April
  12 1976 May
  13 1976 October 14
  14 1976 November 9
  15 1977 July 6
  16 1978 March 7
  17 1978 April 25
  18 1978 November 13
  19 1979 February 22
  20 Undated 1970's?
  21 1984/85?
  22 1985 March 21
  23 Speeches on Bill C-176 (marketing legislation)
  24 Speeches on Bill C-8 (working conditions)
Speeches: 1970-1979
Box Folder  
9 1 1970
  2 1971
  3 1972
  4 1973
  5 1974
  6 1975
  7 1976 June, October
  8 1976 November
  9 1977 February
  10 1977 March
  11 1977 April
  12 1977 May, June
  13 1977 October
  14 1977 November
  15 1978 January, February
  16 1978 March
  17 1978 April
  18 1978 May
  19 1978 June
  20 1978 September
  21 1979 March
  22 1979 October
  23 Undated 1970's
  24 Speech to UM Agriculture graduation class
  25 Speech at Camrose Lutheran Seminar
  26 Undated 1970's
  27 Speech on CEMA
  28 Miscellaneous speech notes
Speeches: 1980-1985
Box Folder  
10 1 1980 July
  2 1981 June
  3 1983/84
  4 1984 June
  5 1984/85
  6 List: October 1984-July 1985
  7 1984 October
  8 1984-November
  9 1985 January 18
  10 1985 January 22-23
  11 1985 February 10-12
  12 1985 February 12 (Lynn Murta)
  13 1985 February 14
  14 1985 February 22
  15 1985 February 23
  16 1985 March 1
  17 1985 March 16
  18 1985 March 23
  19 1985 March 26
  20 1985 March 29
  21 1985 April 13
  22 1985 April 18
  23 1985 April 22
  24 1985 April 23
  25 1985 April 24
  26 1985 April 26
  27 1985 April 28
Speeches: 1985 (May-September)
Box Folder  
11 1 1985 May 1
  2 1985 May 3
  3 1985 May 10
  4 1985 May 14
  5 1985 May 25
  6 1985 June 3
  7 1985 June 5
  8 1985 June 7
  9 1985 June 10
  10 1985 June 14
  11 1985 June 28-29
  12 1985 July 1-3
  13 1985 July 5
  14 1985 July 12-26
  15 1985 August 1-4
  16 1985 August 6
  17 1985 August 15
  18 1985 August 16
  19 1985 Tourism Speech "core speech"
  20 1985 September 17
  21 1985 September 18-19
  22 1985 September 25
  23 1985 September 26
  24 1985 September 27
  25 1985 September 30
Speeches: 1985 (October)-1986 (April)
Box Folder  
12 1 1985 October 7-9
  2 1985 October 30
  3 1985 November 11
  4 1985 November 13
  5 1985 November 18
  6 1985 November 20
  7 1985 November 28
  8 1985 December 11
  9 1985 December 12
  10 1986 January 16
  11 1986 January 28
  12 1986 February 17
  13 1986 February 18
  14 1986 February 21
  15 1986 February 27
  16 1986 March 11
  17 1986 March 16
  18 1986 March 21
  19 1986 March 22
  20 1986 April 2-3
  21 1986 April 7
Speeches: 1986 (April-June)
Box Folder  
13 1 1986 April 23
  2 1986 April 26
  3 1986 April 28
  4 1986 May 6
  5 1986 May 7
  6 1986 May 8
  7 1986 May 16
  8 1986 May 23
  9 1986 May 28
  10 1986 May 29
  11 1986 May 30 (Powell River)
  12 1986 May 30 (Victoria)
  13 1986 June 5
  14 1986 June 10
  15 1986 June 16
  16 1986 June 18
  17 1986 June 23
  18 1986 June 25
Murta Report
Box Folder  
14 1 Murta report, 1975
  2 Murta report, 1976-77
  3 Murta report, 1978-1986
  4 Keeping in touch, 1980-1984
  5 [Constituency letter, 1976?]
Press Releases:
Box Folder  
15 1 1971-1972,
  2 1973-1975
  3 1976-1977
  4 1978-1979
  5 1980-1986
  6 Mailing Lists

Return to Top


 

Lisgar Constituency Files, 1975-1985
General, 1975-1983
Box Folder   
16 1 Lisgar Riding
  2 Lisgar Progressive Conservative Associations
General Correspondence,
Box Folder    
16 3 1975-1976
  4 1977
  5 1978
  6 1979
  7 1980-1983
  8 Awards
  9 Citizenship
  10 Flags
  11 Manitoba Agricultural Hall of Fame
  12 New Horizons program
  13 Pembina Valley Development Corporation
  14 Post Offices
Work Programs:
Box Folder   
17 1 Local Initiative Program, 1976
  2 Canada Works, 1977-1978
  3 Canada Works, 1978-1979
  4 Community Development Projects, 1980-1981
Box Folder   
17 5 1980-1981 Correspondence, etc.
  6 1981
  7 Young Canada Works, 1978
  8 1979
  9 1979 Correspondence, etc.
  10-11 Summer Youth Employment, 1980
Box Folder   
17 12 1980 Correspondence, etc.
  13 Summer Student Employment, 1981
  14-15 1982
  16 1982 Correspondence, etc.
Municipalities A-M
Box Folder   
18 1 Altona
  2 Baldur; Bruxelles
  3 Carman, 1975-1979
Box Folder   
18 4 1980-1984
  5 Cartier
  6 Cartwright; Clearwater
  7 Crystal City
  8 Cypress River
  9 Darlingford; Domain
  10 Dufferin
  11 Elgin; Elie
  12 Elm Creek
  13 Glenboro
  14 Gretna
  15 Holland
  16 Killarney
  17 La Riviere
  18 La Salle; Lowe Farm
  19 Manitou; Mariapolis
  20 Miami
  21 Montcalm
Box Folder    
19 1 Morden, 1975-1979
  2 1980-1982
  3 1983-1984
  4 Morris
  5 Ninette; Notre Dame de Lourdes
  6 Oakville
  7 Pilot Mound
  8 Plum Coulee
  9 Rathwell; Reinland; Ritchot
  10 Roland
  11 Roseisle
  12 Rosenfeld; Rosenort
  13 Sanford
  14 Snowflake
  15 Somerset; Souris
  16 South Cypress; Sperling
  17 St. Claude
  18 St. Jean Baptiste; St. Joseph
  19 St. Leon; St. Norbert
  20 Ste. Agathe; Strathcona
  21 Swan Lake
  22 Thornhill
  23 Treherne
  24 Winkler, 1975-1976
  25 Winkler, 1977-1985
Constituents, A-B:
Box Folder    
20 1 A-Ac
  2 Ad-Am
  3 An
  4 Ap-Az
  5 Ba
  6 Be
  7 Bh-Bo
  8 Br-Buh
  9 Buhler, J
  10 Bul-Bur
Constituents, C-D
Box Folder    
21 1 C-Cam
  2 Campbell
  3 Campbell, W. J.
  4 Car-Cas
  5 Ch
  6 Cl
  7 Co
  8 Cr-Cu
  9 Da
  10 De-Del
  11 Dem-Dez
  12 Di-Do
  13 Dr
  14 Du-Dunb
  15 Duncan
  16 Dunn-Duv
  17 Dy
Constituents, E-Ham
Box Folder    
22 1 E-Eng
  2 Enns
  3 Ens-Ez
  4 Fa-Fh
  5 Fi-Fo
  6 Friesen, A-G
  7 Friesen, H-T
  8 Fr-Fz
  9 G-Gi
  10 Ginter, K.R.
  11 Go-Gra
  12 Gre-Gu
  13 Ha-Ham
Constituents, Han-K
Box Folder    
23 1 Han
  2 Har-Hay
  3 He-Hi
  4 Hildebrand
  5 Hildebrand, E.
  6 Ho-Hz
  7 I
  8 Ja-Je
  9 Joh
  10 Jones, J. L.
  11 Jon-Ju
  12 K-Kl
  13 Kn-Ko
  14 Kr-Kro
  15 Kru-Ky
Constituents, L-McL
Box Folder    
24 1 La-Lam
  2 Lan
  3 Lansky, E.
  4 Lap-Lay
  5 Le-Lo
  6 Lu-Lz
  7 Ma-Man
  8 Mar-Maz
  9 McA-McJ
  10 McK
  11 Mcl
Constituents, Me-P
Box Folder    
25 1 Me
  2 Mi
  3 Mo-Mop
  4 Mor
  5 Mos-Moz
  6 Mu-Mz
  7 N
  8 O
  9 Pa
  10 Pe-Pen
  11 Per-Pet
  12 Ph-Po
  13 Popplestone, J.T.
  13 Pr-Pu
Constituents, R-S
Box Folder    
26 1 Ra
  2 Re
  3 Rh-Ri
  4 Ro-Ru
  5 Sa-San
  6 Sar-Saw
  7 Sawatsky, B.
  8 Sc
  9 Se
  10 Sh
  11 Si-Smir
  12 Smit Sn
  13 So-Steph
  14 Stev-Stew
  15 Sto-Stu
  16 Su-Sz
Constituents, T-Z
Box Folder    
27 1 Ta-Te
  2 Th
  3 Ti-To
  4 Tr-Tz
  5 U
  6 Va
  7 Ve
  8 Vi-Vz
  9 Wa-Wh
  10 Wi-We
  11 Wig-Wiz
  12 X-Z
  13 Unidentified
Mandate Returns
Box Folder    
28 1 Mandate 31
  2 Mandate 33
  3 Mandate 34
  4 Mandate 36-37
  5 Mandate 39
  6 Mandate 40-46
  7 Mandate 47
  8 Mandate 48
  9 Mandate 52-54
  10 Mandate 55-57
  11 Mandate 58-60
  12 Mandate 78-79
Agriculture: 1971-1986
Box Folder    
29 1 1971
  2 1972
  3 1973 January-June
  4 1973 July-December
  5 1974
  6 1975
  7 1976
  8 1977
  9 1978
  10 1979 January-June
  11 1979 July-December
  12 1980-1984
  13 1985
  14 1986

Return to Top


 

Agriculture, 1970-1984,
CEMA
Box Folder    
30 1 Agricultural Chemicals
  2 Agricultural Research
  3 Canadian Egg Marketing Agency, 1973-1974 (October)
  4 Canadian Egg Marketing Agency, 1974 - 1977 (November)
  5 Statistics
  6 Documents #46-67
  7 Documents #68-84
Grain Handling and Transportation, 1970-1977
Box Folder    
31 1 1970
  2 1971
  3 1972
  4 1973
  5 1974
  6 1975, January-June
  7 1975, July-December
  8 1975/76 Hall Commission briefs
  9 1976
  10 1977
Grain Handling and Transportation, 1978-1979 (June)
Box Folder    
32 1 1978 January-May
  2 1978, June
  3 1978, July-October
  4 1978 November-December
  5 1979 January
  6 1979, February
  7 1979 March
  8 1979 April-May
  9 1979 June
Grain Handling and Transportation, 1979 (July)
Box Folder    
33 1 Mss notebook, 1979, June-September
  2 Undated memos, 1979, July-December
  3 Undated memos re. Grain Co-ordinator, 1979, July-December
  4 Undated mss. memos, 1979, July-December
  5 Miscellaneous Legislation
  6 Miscellaneous statistics
  7 Names and Addresses
  8 July-December newsclippings
  9 July-December expense accounts
  10 July 1-22
  11 July 23-30
  12 July 30
  13 July 31
Grain Handling and Transportation, 1979 (August-September)
Box Folder    
34 1 August 1-2
  2 August 3
  3 August 4-10
  4 August 11-16
  5 August 17-20
  6 August 21-22
  7 August 23
  8 August 24-31
  9 September 1-6
  10 September 7-15
  11 September 16-23
  12 September 24-30
Grain Handling and Transportation, 1979 (October-December)
Box Folder    
35 1 October 1-9
  2 October 10-17
  3 October 18-23
  4 October 24-26
  5 October 30
  6 October 30-31
  7 November 1-15
  8 November 16-30
  9 December
Grain Handling and Transportation, 1980-1983 (August)
Box Folder    
36 1 1980
  2 1980 USSR embargo
  3 1981
  4 1982
  5 1983 January-February
  6 1983 March-April
  7 1983 May
  8 1983 May-June
  9 1983 July 1-25
  10 1983 July 26
  11 1983 July 27-28
  12 1983 August 2-3
  13 1983 August 5
  14 1983 August 6-31
Grain Handling and Transportation, 1983 (September) - 1984
Box Folder    
37 1 1983 September
  2 1983 September: Bill C-155
  3 1983 October-December
  4 1984
  5 Undated items
  6 Undated House of Commons questions
  7-8 Newsclippings
Canada-United States Interparliamentary Group Committee on Wheat
Box Folder    
38 1 1979-1980 (July)
  2 1980 July-December
  3 1981 January-October
  4 1981 (October)-1983
Documents (by title)
Box Folder    
38 5 A-C
  6 E-G
  7 I-M
  8 P
  9 S-W
  10 Miscellaneous documents

Return to Top


Transportation, 1972-1982
Parliamentary and Party Papers
Box Folder   
39 1 House of Commons Standing Committee on Transport and Communications
  2 P.C. Caucus Transportation Committee
  3 P.C. Youth Shadow Cabinet Transportation Committee
Policy Statements
Box Folder   
39 4 1972-1974
  5 1975 January-March
  6 1975 June-December
  7 1977-1980
House of Commons Questions,
Box Folder   
39 8 1974
  9 1975 January
  10 1975 February
  11 1975 March
  12 1975 April
  13 1975 May
  14 1975 (June)- 1977
Agencies, Topics
Box Folder   
40 1 Canada Dept. of Transport
  2 Canadian Surface Transportation Administration
  3 Canadian Transport Commission
  4 Transportation Development Agency
  5 Western Transportation Advisory Council
  6 Atlantic Provinces
  7 Prairie Provinces
  8 Inter-urban Transportation
  9 Highways
  10 Trucking
  11 Rural Transportation
  12-13 Urban Transportation
  14 Newsclippings
Transportation: Air,
Box Folder   
41 1 Documents, etc., 1975
  2 1977
  3 1978
  4 Aerospace Industry
  5 Airline Employees
  6 Airports
  7 Airports: Brandon
  8 Delta, B.C.
  9 Dorval
  10 Frobisher Bay
  11 Pickering, Ontario
  12 Toronto
  13 Victoria, B.C.
  14 Whitecourt, Alberta
  15 Winnipeg
  16 Airports: car rentals, 1975-1976
  17 1978
  18 1979
Box Folder   
42 1 Bilingualism, 1975-1976 (February)
  2 1976 (March)
  3 1976 (April) -1979
  4 Charter airlines
  5 Fares
  6 Fees, 1973-1975
  7 1976
  8 1977-1979
  9 Commonwealth Air Transport Council
  10 International Air Transport Association
  11 Manitoba Aviation Council
  12 Regional carriers
  13 Air safety
  14 Search and rescue
  15 Newsclippings
Box Folder   
43 1 Air Canada, 1973-1975
  2 1975
  3 1976-1980
  4 Newsclippings
  5 CP Air
  6 Nordair, 1978
  7 1978-1979
  8 Newsclippings
  9 Ontario World Air
  10 Pacific Western, 1979
  11 1980 January-September
  12 1980 (October)-1982
  13 Perimeter
  14 Transair
  15 Wardair
Transportation: Rail
Box Folder   
44 1 Documents
  2 CNR 1974-1977
  3 1977 (December)-1978 (March)
  4 1978 April-May
  5 1978-1980
  6 CPR
  7 VIA
  8 Freight rates
  9 Legislation
  10 Locomotives
  11 Maps
Box Folder   
45 1 Rail line abandonment, 1975-1977
  2 1978 (dated)
  3 1978 (undated)
  4 1979 January
  5 1979 February-December
  6 1980-1984
  7 Passenger service, 1974-1975
  8 1976 January-February
  9 March
  10 April-May
  11 June-December
  12 1977-1979
Transportation: Water
Box Folder   
46 1 Documents, 1975 January-March
  2 April-May
  3 June-December
  4 1976
  5 1978-1979
  6 Great Lakes
  7 Merchant marine
  8 Ports
Ports:
Box Folder   
46 9 Churchill
  10 Halifax
  11 Prince Rupert
  12 St. John
  13 Thunder Bay
  14 Vancouver
  15 St. Lawrence Seaway, 1974-1975 (March)
Box Folder   
46 16 1975 April-October
  17 1976
  18 1977-1979
  19 Newsclippings

Return to Top


 

 

External Affairs, 1970-1985
Parliamentary Sub Committee on Latin America and the Caribbean, 1981-1982 (February)
Box Folder   
47 1 1970 Senate report
  2 1981 January-June
  3 July
  4 September 16
  5 September 17
  6 September 18-30
  7 October
  8 November
  9 December
  10 1982 January
  11 February
Parliamentary Sub-Committee on Latin America and the Caribbrean, 1982 (March)-1983
Box Folder   
48 1 1982 March
  2 April
  3 May
  4 June 3
  5 June 15-30
  6 July
  7 August
  8 September
  9 6th report
  10 1982 October
  11 November 2
  12 November 3-30
  13 December
  14 1983
Parliamentary Sub-Committee on Latin America and the Caribbean: regions and countries
Box Folder   
49 1 Latin America
  2 Central America
  3 Costa Rica
  4-5 El Salvador
  6 Guatemala
  7 Honduras
  8-9 Nicaragua
  10 Caribbean
  11 Barbados
  12 Cuba
  13 Grenada
  14 Haiti
  15 Trinidad
  16 Argentina
  17-19 Brazil
  20 Chile
  21 Ecuador
  22 Guyana
  23 Peru
Inter-Parliamentary Associations
Box Folder   
50 1 Parliamentary Relations Secretariat
  2 Canada-Europe
  3 Canada-Italy; Canada-Latin America; Canada-NATO
  4 Canada-United States, 1976-1979
  5 1980 January-June
  6 1980 July-December
  7 1983
  8 Canadian Parliamentarians for World Order
  9 Canadian Parliamentary Helsinki Group
  10 Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
  11 Inter-Parliamentary Union
  12 Parliamentary Centre for Foreign Affairs, 1981
Box Folder   
50 13 1982
  14 1983
  15 United Nations
  16 U.N. Association in Canada
  17 World Federalists
  18 Youth Parliament

Return to Top


Multiculturalism, 1979-1985
Multiculturalism: office memos
Box Folder   
51 1 Multiculturalism Directorate
  2 Multiculturalism programs
  3 Calendar, 1984 September-October
  4 1984 November-December
  5 1985 January-March
  6 1985 April-August
  7 Staff memos, 1984 October-December
  8 1985 January
  9 February
  10 March 1-14
  11 March 15-31
  12 April
  13 Job Appointments
Multiculturalism: invitations, statistics, etc.
 
Box Folder   
52 1 House of Commons questions, 1984-1985
  2 Invitation, 1983
  3 1984 November-December
  4 1985 January-February
  5 1985 March-April
  6 1985 May-August
  7 Ontario events, 1981-1983
  8 Statistics, 1981
  9 Statistics, 1984
  10 Names and addresses (undated)
  11 Names and addresses, 1981
Box Folder   
52 12 1982
  13 1983
Multiculturalism: correspondence, 1979-1984 (March)
Box Folder   
53 1 1979-1982
1983
Box Folder   
53 2 January-March
  3 April-May
  4 June-August
  5 September
  6 October
  7 November
  8 December
1984
Box Folder   
53 9 January
  10 I. Ben-Tahir file
  11 1984 February
  12

March 12

Multiculturalism: correspondence, 1984 (April)-1985

Box Folder   
54 1 April 1-15
  2 April 16-30
  3 May 1-16
  4 May 17-31
  5 June 1-15
  6 June 16-30
  7 July
  8 August
  9 September-December
1985
Box Folder   
54 10 January-March
  11 April-May
  12 June
  13 July
  14 August-December
Multiculturalism: documents
Box Folder   
55 1 Publications lists
  2 Progressive Conservative Policies (undated)
  3 Documents, 1971-1980
Box Folder   
55 4 1981
  5 1982
  6 1983
  7 1983 April
  8 1983 May
  9 1983 June-September
  10 1983 October
  11 1983 November-December
  12 1984 January
  13 1984 March
  14 1984 April-May
  15 1984 June 2
  16 1984 June 3-30
  17 1984 July-December
  18 1985
Multiculturalism: ethnic files, etc.
Box Folder   
56 1 Chinese
  2 Estonians
  3 Greeks
  4 Japanese
  5 Jews
  6 Sikhs
  7 Ukrainians
  8 Decima Research reports
  9 Personnel resumes
  10 Second draft, final report, Special Committee on Visible Minorities
Multiculturalism: Hansard, newsclippings, etc.
Box Folder   
57 1 Hansard, 1971
  2 Hansard, 1976-1977
  3 Hansard, 1977-1979
  4 Hansard, 1980-1983
  5 Press Releases, 1982-1984
Box Folder   
57 6 1985
  7 Newsclippings, 1979-1982
Box Folder   
57 8 1983 January-June
  9 1983 July-August
  10 1983 September
  11 1983 October-December
  12 1984 January-June
  13 =1984 July-December
  14 1985
  15 Miscellaneous items
Multiculturalism: Grants
Box Folder   
58 1 Multicultural centres
Grants, 1980-1981:
Box Folder   
58 2 Groups
  3 Projects
  4 British Columbia
  5 Alberta
  6 Saskatchewan
  7 Manitoba
  8-10 Ontario
  11 Quebec
  12 Atlantic Provinces
  13 Ethnic media
  14 Television estimates
Grants, 1982-1983:
Box Folder   
58 15 Yukon, NWT
  16 British Columbia
  17 Alberta
  18 Saskatchewan
  19 Manitoba
  20 Ontario
  21 Quebec
  22 Atlantic provinces

Return to Top


Tourism, 1985-1986
1985
Box Folder  
59 1 August-September
  2  August 30-September 4
  3 September 17
  4 September 25
  5-8 October 7-9
  9 October 14-25
  10 October 30
  11 November-December
1986
Box Folder  
60 1 January 15-17
  2 January 16
  3 January-February
  4 February-March
  5 March-April
  6 April 4-7
  7 April 27-28
  8 May 1-16
  9 May 17-31
  10 June 1-18
  11 June 19-30

Return to Top


Party and Parliamentary Files, 1971-1984
Progressive Conservative Party
Box Folder  
61 1 Leadership convention, 1976
  2 Leadership convention, 1976
  3 Leadership convention, 1983
  4 Mont Ste-Marie caucus, 1983
  5 Policy statements, 1983/84?
  6 Financial controls, 1983
  7 Election campaign, 1984
Progressive Conservative Party
Box Folder  
62 1 Briefing notes for ministerial staff, 1984
  2 Notes documentaires a l'intention du personnel des ministres, 1984
  3 Parliamentary caucus
  4 Caucus committees
  5 Manitoba MPs
  6 Progressive Conservative Party of Canada
  7 Progressive Conservative Youth Federation
  8 Manitoba Progressive Conservative Association
  9 Manitoba delegates (undated)
  10 Manitoba delegates, 1982?
  11 Newsclippings
Parliamentary Bills, 1971-1980
 
 
Box Folder  
63 1  C-176
  2 C-176 Hearings
  3  C-176 submissions
  4 C-176 miscellany
  5 1971 C-180, C-259
  6 1975 C-2
  7 C-41, C-62, C-221
  8 S-3
  9 1977 C-8
  10 C-8 correspondence, etc
  11 C-11; C-31; C-37; C-56; C-57; C-425
  12 1978 C-14, C-21
  13 C-28; C-47; C-53
  14 C-56
  15 C-230
  16 1979 C-15
  17 C-28; C-29; C-37; C-202; C-217; C-255
  18 1980 C-6
  19 C-12; C-16; C-32
Parliamentary Bills, 1981-1984
Box Folder  
64 1 1981, C-61
Box Folder  
64 2 C-85
  3 1982 C-10
Box Folder  
64 4 C-85; C-96
  5 C-97
  6 C-130; C-133
  7 C-143
  8 1983 C-155 clause by clause
Box Folder  
64 9 C-155 amendments
  10 C-15
Government departments and agencies
Box Folder  
65 1 Departments E-N
  2 Dept. of Regional Economic Expansion
  3 Departments S-T
  4 Dept. of Veterans Affairs
  5 Treasury Board
  6 Canada Council, 1978
Box Folder  
65 7 1978 March
  8 1978 March-April
  9 1978 April-July
  10 1978 June-August
  11 Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
  12 Canadian International Development Agency
  13 Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation
  14 Geological Survey of Canada

Return to Top


Topical Files 1871-1985
Topical Files: A-B
Box Folder  
66 1 Abortion, 1975-1976
Box Folder  
66 2 1977-1982
  3 Bilingualism
  4 Bilingualism: Manitoba, 1977-1983
Box Folder  
66 5 1983 September
  6 1983 September-October
  7 1984 January
  8 1984 February
  9 1984 March
  10 1984 April
  11 1984 May
  12 1984 May-July
  13 Newsclippings
  14 Budget 1976-1978
Box Folder  
66 15 1978 newsclippings
  16 1981
Topical Files: B-E
Box Folder  
67 1 Budget, 1982 January
Box Folder  
67 2 1982 February-June
  3 1982 July-December
  4 1983
  5 Capital punishment
  6 Churchill River diversion
  7 Constitution
  8 Crown Corporations
  9 Disarmament
  10 Drug abuse
  11 Economy, 1971
Box Folder  
67 12 1972-1981
  13 Newsclippings
  14 Atlantic provinces
  15 Manitoba
Topical Files: E-G
Box Folder  
68 1 Education
  2 Employment
  3 Environment: the Arctic
  4 Environment: Manitoba: Water
  5 Garrison Diversion
  6 Garrison Diversion chronology
  7 GATT, 1975-1976
Box Folder  
68 8 1977
  9 1978
  10 Miscellany
  11 Gun Control, 1974-1975
Box Folder  
68 12 1975 April
  13 1976
  14 1977-1981
Topical files: H-N
Box Folder  
69 1 Handicapped
  2 Human rights: 1975-1977
Box Folder  
69 3 1979-1985
  4 M. Nashpitz file
  5 Hydro-electric power: Manitoba
  6 Immigration
  7 Libraries, depository
  8 MPs' salaries
  9 Metric system
  10 Mobile homes
  11 Native affairs
Topical files: N-P
Box Folder  
70 1 Native affairs: Thunderbird Lodge
  2 Nuclear energy
  3 Pembina River basin
  4 Pensions
  5 Petroleum
  6 Population, 1977-1980
Box Folder  
70 7 1981-1982
  8 newsclippings
  9 Pornography, obscenity
  10 Postal service
  11 Prostitution
Topical files: R-W; countries
Box Folder  
71 1 Recreation, sports, etc.
  2 Research and Development
  3 Riding Mountain National Park
  4 Rock Lake Dam
  5 Senate reform
  6 Separatism: Quebec
  7 Separatism: Western Canada
  8 Tariffs, taxes, etc., 1975-1977
Box Folder  
71 9 1978
  10 1979-1986
  11 Television
  12 Women's issues
  13 European countries
  14 Middle East countries
  15 Asian countries: Japan
Box Folder  
71 16 Korea
  17 Taiwan
  18 Other Asian, African countries

Return to Top


Speeches by Others
Box Folder  
72 1 H. Breau
  2 A.S. Cartwright
  3 K. Collins
  4 P.M. Cornell
  5 J. C. Crosbie
  6 T. d'Aquin
  7 W.G. Davis
  8 J. Fleming
  9 H. Hart
  10 I.L. Head
  11 M. Henderson
  12 D.J. Johnston
  13 R. Layton
  14 S. Lyon
  15 E.C Manning
  16 B. McCaffrey
  17 W.E. McLaughlin
  18 R.C. Milne
  19 B. Mulroney
  20 J. Naisbit
  21 E. P. Neufeld
  22 L. Perinbam
  23 B. Rae
  24 B. Ransom
  25 R. Ray
  26 W. Steinkrauss
  27 H. Wiebe
  28 M. Wilson
  29 R. D. Wolfe

Return to Top


Correspondence Files
Box Folder  
73 1 Aarhus-Aune
  2 Abbott, Jim
  3 Abortion, General
  4 Ahle, Anthony
  5 Anderson, Greg
  6 Argue, Hazen
  7 Argyle, R.M. of
  8 Axworthy, Lloyd
  9 Baigrie-Bjornson
  10 Blaikie-Bulter
  11 Baron, Don
  12 Bartel, Jake
  13 Beaudry, Daryl
  14 Beaudry, Lillian
  15 Bégin, Monique
Box Folder  
74 1 Bennett, Donald
  2 Bennett, Howard
  3 Bennett, Richard
  4 Bergen, J.
  5 Bergen Family "Immigration"
  6 Bergmen, Edwin and Helen
  7 Boggs, Brian
  8 Bole, Elswood
  9 Bonkowski, W.
  10 Burns Brothers Farm
  11 Brake, Wilfrid
  12 Briggs, Roger
  13 Brown, Mona
  14 Burkitt, Russell
  15 Burnett, Margaret
  16 Bussieres, Pierre
  17 Caillier-Claasen
  18 Clapson-Curtis
  19 Caccia, Charles
  20 Campbell, John
  21 Campbell, Margaret
  22 Cannon, James
Box Folder  
75 1 Carman FCC Office
  2 Pat Carney
  3 A.C Carriere (Elie).
  4 Cartwright, Village of
  5 Manitoba Cattle Producers Association
  6 Edward Chabot
  7 Rt. Hon. Joe Clark
  8 Peter Clark (Can. Apparel Manufactures Inst.)
  9 George Clements
  10 Dorothy E. Collins
  11 Cpl. D.F.J. Colter
  12 Corbett, Dr. R.P.
  13 Cordell, Alfred (3M Canada)
  14 Cosgrove, Paul
  15 Crystal City, Village of
  16 Customs (U.S. Customs work)
  17 Cypress River, Citizens of (postal concerns)
  18 Dacquay-Deymze
  19 Dick-Dyck
Box Folder  
76 1 Daly, Dr. Bruce
  2 Darlingford Post Office
  3 Davis, Robert
  4 Delaquis, Bruno
  5 Devine, Grant
  6 Dick, Jake
  7 Dickinson, Rev. L.W.
  8 Diemert, Robert (includes photos)
  9 Douglas, Caryn
  10 Downey, James
  11 Ducharme, Gerry
  12 Dueck, Raymond
  13 Duncan, Della
  14 Dupuis, Rene
  15 Eby-Enns
  16 Eccles, Harold
  17 Edwards, T.R. (R.M. of Montcalm Personal Care Home)
  18 Egyptian Grain Silos Project
  19 Elm Creek Senior Citizens Housing
  20 Enns, Abe
  21 Ens, Frank
  22 Fehr-Fraser
  23 Friesen-Funk
  24 Fallis, Coin
  25 Ferriss, Alan
  26 Fielman, Otto
  27 Fletcher, Doug (Mayor of Carman)
  28 Forrester, J.W.
  29 Forster, Pam
Box Folder  
77 1 Fox, Francis
  2 Fraser, Bertha
  3 Friesen, Benno
  4 Friesen, D.K.
  5 Friesen, Dr. J.A.
  6 Friesen, Max
  7 Froebe, Grant
  8 Froese, Abe J.
  9 Funk, Alan
  10 Funk, Diedrich
  11 Galbraith-Gunson
  12 Gaultier, Rene
  13 Gaultier, Auguste
  14 Giesbrecht, Norman
  15 Giesbrecht, Peter
  16 Glenboro, Village of
  17 Glenboro Agricultural Society
  18 Goudy, Ken
  19 Grainger, Mary
  20 Greenvale Autohaus (Morden)
  21 Gretna, Village of
  22 Gretna CP Rail Subdivision
  23 Grey, Municipality of
  24 Gross, Zack
  25 Grower, Kenneth W.
  26 Hacault-Hiebert
Box Folder  
78 1 Hildebrand-Hoeppner
  2 Hoes-Hyde
  3 Halliday, Dr. Bruce
  4 Hard Agencies, Ltd.
  5 Hare, Dr. J.B.
  5a Hildebrand, Elmer (Golden West Broadcasting)
  6 Isaac-Jonk
  7 Janzen, Albert
  8 Janzen, Marge
  9 Jervis, Charles, H.
  10 Johnson, Steini
  11 Johnston, Mr. and Mrs. Stu
  12 Kaminga-Klassen
  13 Kletche-Kuryk
  14 Katz, Eugene and Maria
  15 Kennedy, Alan (Manitoba Corn Growers Association)
  16 King, Leslie-Elizabeth
  17 Kitakufe, Dr. John
  18 Klassen Trucking (R.G. Downey)
  19 Klassen, C.D.

 

Box Folder  
79 1 Knezevich, Tony
  2 Krc, Pavel
  3 Krueger, Henry
  4 LaBossiere-Leadbeater
  5 Leatherdale-Loeppky
  6 Loewen-Lynes
  7 Lamb, H.A.
  8 Lansky, Eric (Mayor of Carman)
  9 Latham, J.G.
  10 Latter, Walter
  11 Lauze, Fernand
  12 LeBlanc, Romeo
  13 LeNeal, Joe
  14 Lenton, Bill
  15 Lenton, Brian
  16 Loewen, David
  17 Loewen, Ray (West Park Motors, Altona)
  18 Long, Beryl
  19 Louise, R.M. of (Crystal City)
  20 Lowe Farm, Citizens of (postal petition)
  21 Lumb, Margaret (Cartwright Personal Care Home)
  22 Lyle, Bruce
  23 McBeath-McLeod
Box Folder  
80 1 McMillan-Martens
  2 Martin-Millay
  3 Miller-Mykola
  4 Macdonald, Municipality of
  5 MacEachen, Alan
  6 McGill, Barrie
  7 McKnight, Ross
  8 McLean, Robert
  9 McRuer, Enid
  10 Madill, Douglas
  11 Manitoba language correspondence
  12 Manson, Larry
  13 Mariapolis Post Office
  14 Martens, W.E.
  15 L.E. Matchett Trucking
  16 Merenchuk, John
  17 Montcalm, R.M. of
  18 Morden, Town of
  19 Morden Research Station
  20 Moris, R.M. of
  21 Morris, Town of
  22 Motheral, Violet
  23 Neal-Novikov
Box Folder  
81 1 Nebitt, Doug
  2 Neuman, Randolph
  3 Newman Hall Agencies Ltd.
  4 Newman, Berkeley
  5 Nickel, Edwin (Gloria Nickel Case)
  6 Nordman, Anna
  7 Norrie, William
  8 Nostedt, Sheldon
  9 Notre Dame du Lourdes, Village of
  10 O'Brien-Ouimet
  11 Oleson, Charlotte
  12 Oliver, John
  13 Paetlov-Penner
  14 Perfect-Purvis
  15 Paulson, S.E.
  16 Pawrik, Jack
  17 Pembina Threshermans Museum
  18 Pembina Valley Dev. Corp.
  19 Pembina Valley Lakes Dev.
  20 Penner, Bernie
  21 Penner, Jack
  22 Penner, Mr. and Mrs. Jake
  23 Penner, Jacob
Box Folder  
82 1 Peters, Joan Y.
  2 Popplestone, J.T.
  3 Quality Communications
  4 Rajbar-Rheault
  5 Ricard-Ruiter
  6 Reid, Mrs. Helen
  7 Reimer, Peter L.
  8 Rempel, Ed.
  9 Rieber, Jesse
  10 Rigaux, Larry
  11 Ritchot, R.M. of
  12 Roberts, David
  13 Roberts, John
  14 Roblin, R.M. of
  15 Rocan, Dennis
  16 RockLake Oil Seeds Dev.
Box Folder  
83 1 Rogalsky, Herman
  2 Roland, R.M. of
  3 Roland Senior Citizen Housing
  4 Rompkey, William
  5 Royal Canadian Legion
  6 Sabourin-Simpson
  7 Single-Sorensen
  8 Souque-Sylvester
  9 Sabourin, Ben (Sheller Globe)
  10 Sabourin, Yves
  11 Sawatzky, Jake
  12 Schroeder, Wm.
  13 Siemens, W.J. (Can. Sugar Beet Producers Assn.)
  14 Somerset, Village of
  15 Southland Honda (Winkler)
  16 South Norfolk, R.M. of
  17 Steinke, Elsie (Brunkild Pool Elevator Assn.)
  18 Steiman, Gary (Gemini Fashions)
  19 St. Hilaire, Agnes (Restricted)
Box Folder  
84 1 Stewart, Dr. and Mrs. D.B.
  2 Strong, Rev. Whitman
  3 Strathcona, R.M. of
  4 Swain, Bob
  5 Sykes, Basil
  6 Tack-Thompson
  7 Thorleifson-Turner
  8 Thiessen, Helen
  9 Thompson, R.M. of
  10 Townshend, Roger
  11 Uhrich-Unruh
  12 Van Assen-Vuignier
  13 Valcourt, Mr. and Mrs. Lawrent
  14 Van Damme, Ed and Carol
  15 Vervynck, George
  16 Victoria, R.M. of
  17 Wah-shee - Whitfield
  18 Wiebe-Wright
Box Folder  
85 1 Wallis, Roy A.
  2 Warasaba, Barry
  3 Way, Louise
  4 Whelan, Eugene
  5 Wiebe, Art
  6 Wiebe, Bernie
  7 Wiebe, Elvina
  8 Wiebe, Ernest Henry
  9 Wiebe, John (Winkler)
  10 Wilson, Bob
  11 Wilson, Gustine
  12 Winkler Daycare Centre
  13 Winkler Resource Committee (Elmer Bartel)
  14 Yake-Zachary
  15 Zacharias, Jake

Return to Top


Subject Correspondence Files, 1974-1986
A.General:
Box Folder  
86 1 Agriculture, 1986-88
  2 CF-18 Maintenance Contract, 1986-87
  3 Canada Health Act-Briefing Paper and Correspondence, 1982-83
  4 Canada Health Act, 1984-85
  5 Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
  6 Constitution, 1982
  7 Consumer and Corporate Affairs, 1981-88
  8 Copyright Legislation, 1987-88
  9 Copyright Act and Cultural Initiatives Project, [ 1986-88 ]
  10 Finance, 1985-88
  11 Free Trade - Corresp, and Parliamentary Report
  12 Gun Control Legislation
  13 Immigration Bills C-55 and C-84
  14 "The Kid Who Couldn't Miss" - 1987 Petition
Box Folder  
87 1 Metric Conversion, 1981-83
  2 National Health and Welfare, 1982-88
  3 Nurses, 1986
  4 Private Schools (Income Tax Deductions), 1982
  5 Public Works, 1982-85
  6 Tax Reform, 1988
B. Social Issues - Correspondence and Petitions
Box Folder  
87 7 Abortion, 1984-85
  8 Abortion, 1988
  9 Abortion - Petitions from lisgar, 1988
  10 Capital Punishment - "No" letters, 1987
  11 Capital Punishment - "Yes" letters
  12 Capital Punishment - Letters against Murta's Position
Box Folder  
88 1 Capital Punishment - Letters for Position
  2 House of Commons Speech on Capital Punishment [ - April 28, 1987 ]
  3 Pornography, 1987-88
C. Language Issue
Box Folder  
88 4 Promotion of Official Languages in Manitoba -Government Memos
  5 Manitoba Languages Act - corresp., 1985-87
  6 Manitoba Language Issus (Meech lake) - memos, 1985
  7 Official Languages Legislation, 1988
D. Constituency Issues
Box Folder  
88 8 Altona Airport, 1984-87
  9 Econ. Consulting Ltd. Bankruptcy, 1982-85
  10 Hydra Power Industries Ltd., 1980
  11 Morden Research Station, 1984-86
  12 Post Office - Correspondence, 1981-88
  13 Post Office closings
  14 Post Office at Cypress River, 1986
  15 Post Office at St. Alphonse, 1986
  16 Post Office at Winkler - Sale, 1979-81
  17 Rock lake Flax Crusher, 1985
  18 Seniors Housing, 1981-85
  19 Telephone Deregulation, 1984-85
  20 Tiger Hills Arts Assn. Inc., 1983-88
  21 Winkler Airport, 1987-88
E. Flood Control
Box Folder  
89 1 General Correspondence, 1980-81
  2 Assiniboine Dam Project - Correspondence and clippings, 1982
  3 Red River Valley Ring Dykes, 1982-83
  4 Carman (Boyne) Flood Diversion - General correspondence, 1979-83
  5 Carman Flood Diversion - Briefs, reports, and correspondence, 1980-83
  6 Carman Diversion Project - Briefs presented in June 1983
  7 Carman Diversion Project - Correspondence and notes (Nov. 1984 - Jan. 1986)
  8 Carman Diversion Project - Correspondence (Jan. 1986 - April 1986)
  9 Carman Diversion Project (April 1986 - May 1988)
F. Garrison Diversion Project
Box Folder  
89 10 Speeches, research material, 1974-75
  11 Press Releases and correspondence, 1976-80
  12 Correspondence, [ 1978 ]
Box Folder  
90 1 Correspondence, 1976-81
  2 Research notes, letter drafts and press kits
  3 Speeches, correspondence, notes, 1980-81
  4 Correspondence, 1982
  5 General material, 1982
  6 Washington delegation, 1982
  7 Washington delegation, May 1983

Return to Top


Constituency Office - Records and Correspondence, 1979-1986
Box Folder  
90 8 Lisgar Planning and Priorities Committee, 1983-85
  9 Lisgar P.C. Association Meetings, 1985
  10 Correspondence and case file, 1979-80
  11 Revenue Canada case file, 1981-85
  12 Employment correspondence, 1984
  13 Lisgar Case Work forms, 1984
Box Folder  
91 1 Agendas, memos, misc. corresp., 1984-95
  2 Riding concerns, 1985
  3 Constituency Office (weekly reports), 1981-82
  4 Robert Turner's Constituency Report, 1985
  5 Constituency Office Logs, Jan. 1981-Feb. 1982
  6 Constituency Office Logs, Feb. 1982-Jan. 1983
Box Folder  
92 1 Constituency Office Log, Sept. 1983-Mar. 1984
  2 Constituency Office Log, Jan. 1983 - Sept. 1984
  3 Constituency Office Log, Sept-Oct 1984/April 1985-April 1986
  4 Desk Daytimer, 1984
  5 Office Date Book, Sept. 1985 - Oct. 1986
  6 Office Date Book, Nov. 1986 - May 1987

Return to Top


The J.B. Murta Photograph Collection (PC 20), 1979-1985
Box Folder  
1 1
Item 1: J.B. Murta presenting trophy to Grants Lake Junior Rifle Club, 1982 (May?)
  1 Items 2, 3: J.B.M. at Filipino reception, Toronto, 1985
Ceremony honouring the publication of two volumes in the Generations series:
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Items 4, 5: J.B.M
  1 Items 6, 7: J.B.M., Manoly Lupul, Edgar Wickberg
  1 Item 8: J.B.M., M. Lupul, E. Wickberg, Jean Burnett
J.B.M. at unidentified reception:
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Item 9: J.B.M., Bill McCauley (?)
  1 Item 10: J.B.M., Bill McCauley (?), unidentified man,
  1 Item 11: J.B.M., Lynda Murta, unidentified persons,

J.B.M. at press conference (?), Toronto:

Box Folder  
1 1 Item 12: J.B.M., unidentified man
  1 Item 13: J.B.M., unidentified persons
  1 Item 14: J.B.M., reporters and photographers
  1 Item 15:  J.B.M., Lynda Murta, and women of the Guyana booth, Ottawa, (see also #74-76), 1985 (?)
  1 Item 16: J.B.M., unidentified man
  1 Item 17: J.B.M., Lynda Murta, two unidentified couples
  1  
J.B.M. at installation of Elizabeth Willcock as Citizenship Court judge, Winnipeg:
Box Folder  
1 1 Item 18: J.B.M., E. Willcock, 3 unidentified men
  1 Item 19: J.B.M., E. Willcock, 2 unidentified men
  1 Item 20: J.B.M.
J.B.M. with members of Montreal Chinese community, February 1985:
Box Folder  
1 1 Item 21: J.B.M.
  1 Item 22: J.B.M., Ruth Koo Lam
  1 Item 23: J.B.M., Mr. Wong (Toronto), Mr. Yee (Ottawa)
  1 Item 24: J.B.M., R.K. Lam, Directors of Montreal Chinese Community Centre
  1 Item 25: Photocopy of filmstrips of J.B.M. at unidentified reception, 1985
  2 Items 26, 27: J.B.M. and F.P. Fulci (Italian Ambassador)
J.B.M. in Toronto:
Box Folder  
1 2 Item 28: J.B.M., unidentified persons
  2 Item 29: Premier Frank Miller, Susan Fish

Item 29

J.B.M. at Centre Buffet Antique, Montreal:
Box Folder  
1 2 Item 30: J.B.M.
  2 Item 31: J.B.M., 2 unidentified men
  2 Items 32, 33: J.B.M., unidentified couple
  2 Item 34: J.B.M., unidentified persons
J.B.M. at Mosaic office:
Box Folder  
1 3 Item 35: J.B.M., Lynda Murta, unidentified woman
  3 Item 36: J.B.M., Lynda Murta, unidentified persons
  3 Item 37: J.B.M., Mosaic office staff
  3 Item 38: J.B.M. (?), Lynda Murta
  3 Item 39: J.B.M., unidentified couple, 1984
J.B.M. at Winnipeg press conference, December 1984:
Box Folder  
1 3 Items 40-42: J.B.M., Maureen Hemphill
  3 Item 43: J.B.M., M. Hemphill, Joy Cohnstaedt, unidentified woman
J.B.M. with members of Toronto Estonian Community, December (?) 1984:
Box Folder  
1 3 Item 44: J.B.M., H. Oja, L. Leifat, N. Hubel, O. Trass, V. Hubel, V. Andre
  3 Item 45: L. Leivat, H. Oja, M. Ward, V. Hubel, N. Hubel, O. Trass
J.B.M. with Quebec Sephardic Jewish delegation, December 1984:
Box Folder  
1 3 Items 46, 47: J.B.M., Chief Rabbi of Israel, unidentified man
  3 Item 48: J.B.M., Chief Rabbis of Quebec, Israel and Natania, unidentified man
  3 Item 49: J.B.M., the delegation
  3 Items 50, 51: J.B.M.
  3 Items 51, 52: J.B.M. (Passport photo, December 1984)
  4 Item 54: J.B.M., Lynda Murta, Ray McAllister (?), 3 unidentified persons, Vancouver, 1985 ?
  4 Item 55: J.B.M., Lynda Murta, Ray McAllister (?), 2 unidentified persons, Vancouver, 1985 ?
J.B.M. at S.U.C.C.E.S.S. fund-raising dinner, Vancouver, January 1985:
Box Folder  
1 4 Items 56, 57: J.B.M.
  4 Items 58,59: J.B.M., Lynda Murta
  4 Item 60: J.B.M., J. Chabot, K.C. Li
  4 Items 61, 62: J.B.M., I. Waddell, Mr. & Mrs. A. Lai
  4 Item 63: 4 unidentified persons
  4 Items 64-69: J.B.M., Pope John Paul II, G. Mitges, Rome, April 1985
  5 Items 70-72: J.B.M., unidentified persons, Alberobello (Italy), 1985
  5 Item 73: J.B.M., Irene Chu (Toronto Citizenship Court), April 1985
  5 Items 74-76: J.B.M., Lynda Murta, unidentified persons at Belgian booth, Ottawa, 1985
Ecumenical church service, German-Canadian Congress, Ottawa, May 1985:
Box Folder  
1 5 Item 77: J.B.M. addressing the congregation
  5 Item 78J.B.M. among congregants
J.B.M. at O.A.S.I.S., May 1985:
Box Folder  
1 5 Item 79: J.B.M., unidentified persons
  5 Item 80: J.B.M., Sheila Munnalal
  5 Items 81, 82: J.B.M. addressing group
  5 Item 83: J.B.M. presents cheque to Charles Paris
  5 Items 84-85: J.B.M., unidentified persons
  5 Item 86: Paul Sander, 2 unidentified men
J.B.M. at Mon Sheong Home, Toronto, 1985:
Box Folder  
1 5 Item 87: J.B.M., Dr. Liu (?)
  5 Items 88, 89: J.B.M., Dr. Liu (?), unidentified persons
J.B.M. at Harbourfront, Toronto, August 1985:
Box Folder  
1 5 Item 90: J.B.M., Parks Canada Mascot
  5 Item 91: J.B.M., 3 dancers
  5 Item 92: J.B.M., unidentified persons
National Tourism Tomorrow Conference, October 1985:
Box Folder  
1 6 Item 93: J.B.M.
  6 Item 94: G. Lank
  6 Item 95: J. Eakins, H. Barrett
  6 Items 96, 97: J.B.M., J.A. Adair, G. Lank, O. Leger, J. Klein
  6 Item 98: J. Eakins, F. Hudson, H. Barrett, M. Leger, C. Richmond
  6 Items 99, 100: J.B.M. and other delegates
  6 Items 101-110: J.B.M., unidentified persons at multicultural reception, 1985
  6 Item 111: J.B.M., 2 unidentified men, Penticton, November 1985
  7 Items 112-117: Prince Edward Island? June 1986?
J.B.M. at J.N.H. Du testimonial dinner, February 1986:
Box Folder  
1 7 Items 118-120: J.B.M., Lynda Murta, unidentified persons
  7 Item 121: J.N.H. Du ?
  7 Item 122: Peter and Anne Dyck, Morden, 1979
Assiniboine Mushroom Inc., 1982:
Box Folder  
1 7 Item 123: the plant
  7 Item 124: 3 unidentified persons
  7 Item 125: Tabor Home carnival (Lisgar riding)

Campaign Photos - 1984:

Box Folder  
1 8  Items 126-127: Portraits
  8 Item 128: Family Photo
  8 Item 129: J.B.M. with three participants of Forum for Young Canadians, March 30, 1983 (with accompanying letter)
  8 Items 130-141: Carman Flood, Spring 1979
 

Return to Top


Tape Collection (TC 46) [1882?]
Morden centennial: 1882-1982

Theme song and playlet advertising the centennnial celebration of the town of Morden, Manitoba, 1882-1982.

Return to Top