Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Colleen Helgason Nelson fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 151, PC 158, TC 103 (A.02-31, A.03-61, A.06-43))

Colleen Helgason Nelson Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2002)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (January 2003)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 151, PC 158, TC 103 A.03-61 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg MB R3T 2M8
 
Creator:
Colleen Helgason Nelson
 
Title:
Colleen Helgason Nelson fonds
 
Dates:
1955-1996
 
Quantity:
2.12 m of textual records and other materials
 
 
[Includes 257 photographs; 2 collages; 17 negatives (5cm.x 5cm.); color separations; 11 reel to reel audio cassettes.]
 
 
MSS 151, PC 158, TC 103
 
Language
English.

Return to Top


Biography of Colleen Helgason Nelson

Colleen Helgason Nelson was born on September 30, 1932 in Bismarck, North Dakota. She entered the University of Minnesota in 1950, graduating summa with a B.A. in Music (piano) in 1955. The previous year she married Carl Robert Nelson an architect, the couple would have seven children together. After spending a year in Rome, where her husband studied as a Fulbright Scholar, Nelson entered graduate school at the University of Illinois in 1957. She graduated in 1961 with an Masters of Science, her thesis was titled: “Six Sparrows of the Northern Great Plains: Descriptive Ecology.” While a graduate student she produced an -exhibit for the James Ford Bell Museum of Natural History in Minneapolis. In 1962 she began research on downy waterfowl at the Delta Waterfowl Research Station, at Delta, Manitoba. The following year she continued her research at the Round Lake Waterfowl Station, in Minnesota. The following year she immigrated to Canada, where her husband took a position with the University of Manitoba. In 1967 she started doing museum and library on downy waterfowl at the Museum of Man and Nature and at a studio-laboratory at home. In the next twenty years she mounted over a dozen exhibitions and wrote several articles on waterfowl. In 1977 she was named a research associate at the Manitoba Museum of Man & Nature. In 1981 she was named a research associate of National Museum of National Sciences in Ottawa. In 1993 the results of her thirty years of research where published in Downy Waterfowl of North America , Deerfield, Illinois: Delta Station Press.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds is divided into four series, the first of which is biographical information. The second series contains copies of Nelson’s articles. By far the largest series is research material utilized in Nelson’s. It contains sketches & research notes on hundreds of different kinds of waterfowl. The final series contains Nelson’s research cards complete with negatives of the various species.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 4 series

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on access to this material.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Users must abide by relevant copyright legislation.

Return to Top


Index Terms

Names:

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds was donated by Colleen Helgason Nelson to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in the summer of 2002, 2003, and 2006.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Biographical Information, 1955-1986
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Curriculum vitae & University degrees, 1955-1986

 

Return to Top


Articles, 1971-1996
 
Box Folder  
1 2
“A Summary of Thoughts on the Snow Goose Complex,” 1971

(unpublished)

  3 “Ducks in the Dining Room.” Manitoba Nature Spring , 1978
  4 The Importance of Colour Evaluation in Biographical Work. Presented at Delta Marsh Conference, 1980
  4a “A Lamp-booth for Laboratory Use,” The Wilson Bulletin, 1982
  5 Copies of Drawings used in Manitoba Natural Heritage Exhibit, 1983
  6 “Identification of Greater ScaupAythya marila, and Lesser Scaup A.affinis, Ducklings, The Canadian Field-Naturalist, 1996

 

Return to Top


Research Material, 1962-1992
 
 
Box Folder  
1 7 Greater Scaup – Aythya marila, notes & drawings, 1962-1971
  8 Surf Scoter – notes & drawings, 1962
  9 Redhead – Aythya americana, notes & drawings, 1962-1965
  10 Early research notes for Downy Waterfowl of North America , 1962-1981
  11 Blue-winged teal – notes & drawings, 1962-1982
  12 Observations & rough notes, 1962
  13 Snow Goose (Blue Goose), drawing & notes, 1963
  14 Ruddy Duck, 1963-1966
  15 Ring-necked Duck – Aythya collaris, notes & drawings, 1963-1964
  16 Emperor Goose – notes & drawings, 1963-1965
  17 Whistling Swans – notes & drawings, 1963-1987
  18 Harlequin – notes, drawings & feathers, 1963
  19 Giant Canada Goose – notes & drawings, 1963-1968
  20 Mexican Duck – notes & drawing, 1963

 

Box Folder  
2 1 Barrow’s Goldeneye – notes & drawings, 1963-1976
  2 Black Duck – notes, transparency & drawings, 1963-1988
  3 Wood Duck – notes & drawings, 1964-1981
  4 Trumpeter Swan – notes & drawings, 1964-1986
  5 Common Eider – notes & drawings, 1964
  6 Spectacled Eider – notes & drawings, 1964
  7 Hooded Merganser – notes & drawings, 1964-1965
  8 White-winged Scoter – notes & drawings, 1964-1967
  9 Common Goldeneye – notes & drawings, 1964-1968
  10 Oldsquaw – notes & drawings, 1964-1967
  11 King Eider – notes & drawings, 1965
  12 Laysan Teal – notes & drawings, 1965-1985
  13 Stellar’s Eider – notes & drawings [ca. 1965]
  14 Athyini – notes & drawings, 1965-1981
  15 Barnacle Goose – drawings [ca. 1965]
  16 Greater Snow Goose – notes & drawings, 1965-1969
  17 Fulvous Tree Duck – notes & drawings, 1965
  18 Ross’s Goose – notes & drawings [ca. 1965]
  19 White-faced Whistling Duck – notes & drawings, 1965
  20 Canvasback – notes & drawings, 1965

 
 
Box Folder  
3 1 Bufflehead – notes & drawings, 1966-1967
  2 Pintail – notes, drawings & transparencies, 1966-1967
  3 Gadwell – notes & drawings, 1966
  4 Duck Shipping Crate – 22 egg size – drawings & bills, 1966-1967
  5 Aleutian Canada Goose – notes & drawing, 1966
  6 Florida Duck – notes & drawings, 1966-1982
  7 Mallard – notes & drawings, 1966-1982
  8 Muscovy Duck – notes & drawings, 1966
  9 Common Eider – notes & drawings, 1966-1967
  10 Little George Island Scaup, notes, 1966-1972
  11 Black-bellied Tree Duck – notes & drawings, 1966
  12 Taverner’s Canada Goose – drawings [ca. 1967]
  13 White Swan – notes & drawings, 1967-1970
  14 West Indian Tree Duck – notes & drawings [ca. 1967]
  15 Pink-footed Goose – drawings [ca. 1967]
  16 Pacific Black Brant – notes & drawings, 1965
  17 Canada Goose – notes & drawings, 1966
  18 Dusky Canada Goose – notes & drawings, 1966
  19 Dusky Canada Goose – notes & drawings, 1966
  20 Richardson’s Goose – notes & drawings, 1966
  21 Common Merganser – notes & drawings, 1967
  22 Common Eider – notes & drawings, [ca.1967]
  23 Lesser Scaup – notes & drawings, 1967
  24 Tufted Duck – drawings, [ca. 1967]
  25 Common Scoter – notes & drawings, [ca. 1967]
  26 Atlantic Brant – notes & drawings, 1969
  27 Canada Goose – B.C. Moffitti – notes & drawings, 1969
  28 Branita Canadeisis – Vancouver Island – notes & drawings, 1970

 

Box Folder  
4 1 Original Source of Specimens List, 1969
  2 Shoveller – notes & drawings, 1969-1977
  3 General behaviour and calls, 1969
  4 American Wigeon – notes & drawings, 1969
  5 Reference sheets, 1969
  6 Early list of acknowledgements [ca. 1970]
  7 Cackling Canada Goose – drawings & notes, 1970-1971
  8 Common Eider – sm. Borealis – notes & drawings, 1970
  9 Lesser Canada Goose – notes, 1970
  10 Canada Goose – general information, [ca. 1970]
  11 Notes on Aythya species, [ca. 1970]
  12 Downy Anatidas – A Key to Downy Waterfowl for use In the Field & Laboratory, Volume 1[ca. 1970]
  13 Downy Anatidas – Volume 2 [ca. 1970]

 

Box Folder  
5 1 Notes on Geese, 1972
  2 Early partial versions of The Downy Waterfowl of North America, [ca. 1972]
  3 Canada Geese research notes, [ca. 1972-1979]
  4 Notes & drawing on Scaups for a research paper, 1972-1978
  5 Colour Scheme of “Family Anatidae” & Goldeneye, 1973
  6 Munsch Soil Charts, 1973-1978
  7 Notes on Mallard Group, 1975-1976

Box Folder  
6 1 Original pencil drawings of bills & fact for all Waterfowl species, 1976
  2 Notes on Teals, 1976-1980
  3 Key to Genera numbers, 1977
  4 Research on Diving Ducks, 1977
  5 Notes on colour, 1977-1978
Box Folder  
7 1 Appendix III List & Gazetteer of materials examined, 1978-1982
  2 Masked Ducks – notes & drawings, 1978
  3 White-Fronted Goose – research & drawings, [ca. 1979]
  4 Data Book information gathered on various duck Species, 1980
  5 Colours proposed for expanded double-page; Colour chart plate, 1980
  6 Technical appendices for Downy Waterfowl of North America , 1980
  7 Evaluations for Table 2 colour synonymy: Plate XII, 1980
  8 Things to look for when examining Whistling Ducks, notes, 1980
  9 Red-Breasted Merganser – drawings, 1981
  10 Green-winged Teal – drawings, [ca. 1981]
  11 Early edited version of Downy Waterfowl of North America , [ca. 1981]
  12 Hawaiian Duck – notes & drawing, 1982
  13 Black-billed Whistling Duck – notes & drawings, 1982
  14 Nene Goose – research & notes, 1982

 

 

Box Folder  
8 1 White-cheeked Pintail, notes & drawings, 1981
  2 Outline Drawings, [ca. 1984]
  3 Anserini I – notes, 1986
  4 Early draft of Downy Waterfowl of North America , 1986
  5 Keys to drawings & colour codes, 1987
  6 Sample text of manuscript, 1987
  7 Author’s background, index, species list for Downy Waterfowl of North America , [ca. 1987]
  8 Research notes & articles used by Nelson, 1958-1986

 

Box Folder  
9 1 Colour & size of Goldeneye & Scaup, 1983
  2 Delta Marsh colour forms for Goldeneye & Scaup, 1983
  3 Whistling Ducks – notes, 1984
  4 Dendogygnini – notes, [ca. 1984]
  5 Cygnini – notes, [ca. 1984]
  6 Branta Canadensis – notes, [ca. 1984]
  7 Cairini – notes, [ca. 1984]
  8 Anatini – notes, [ca. 1984]
  9 Mergini – notes, [ca. 1984]
  10 Oxyurini – notes, [ca. 1984]
  11 Conclusion – notes, [ca.1984]
  12 Anatini II – notes, [ca. 1984]
  13 Aythyini – notes, [ca. 1984]
  14 Somateriini – notes, [ca. 1984]
  15 Anserini II – notes, [ca. 1984]
  16 Appendix A [ca. 1984]
  17 Appendices B-D [ca. 1984]
  18 Colour chart, figure & plate captions, [ca. 1984]
  19 Bibliography, 1984

 

Box Folder  
10 1 Mock up of Appendix C, 1984
  2 Manuscript draft pages 1-279, 1984
  3 Manuscript draft pages, 280-511, 1984
  4 Manuscript revisions, 1984
Box Folder  
11 1 Acknowledgements, Introduction & I.D. Keys, 1986-1989
  2 Dendrocygnini, cygnini, anserini & cairini, 1986-1989
  3 Anatini I & II, Aythyini, Somateriini & Mergini I & II, 1986-1989
  4 Oxyurini, concluding remarks, references & appendices, 1986-1989
  5 Plate captions, colour chart & caption, figure numbers & footnotes, 1986-1989
  6 Index revision, 1986

 

Box Folder  
12 1 How to use identification keys, 1987-1989
  2 Draft of Downy Waterfowl of North America , 1989
  3 Introduction & acknowledgements, 1992
  4 Manuscript revisions for draft, 1992

 

Return to Top


Oversize Material, [ca. 1986]-1992
 
Box Folder  
13 1 Species measurements, [ca. 1986]
  2 Galleys of Downy Waterfowl of North America , Pages 1-52, 1992
     
14-15   Data and colour code cards

Nelson's index :

Green dots – live birds

Blue dots – small photographs & negatives

Orange dots – measurements for appendix C drawings

Purple dots – copies of prepared specimen cards

Brown dots – bibliographical entries

Return to Top


Photograph Collection (PC 158), [ca. 1965]-1992
 
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Ruddy Duck, [ca. 1965]
  2 Common Merganser, [ca. 1965]
  3 Common Goldeneye, [ca. 1965]
  4 Barrow’s Goldeneye, [ca. 1965]
  5 Bufflehead, [ca. 1965]
  6 White-winged Scoter, [ca. 1965]
  7 Old Squaw, [ca. 1965]
  8 Lesser Scaup, [ca. 1965]
  9 Ring-necked Duck, [ca. 1965]
  10 Redhead, [ca. 1965]
  11 Laysan Island Teal, 1992
  12 Spectacled Eider, 1965-1987
  13 King Eider, 1965-1973
  14 Common Eider, 1966
  15 Vermont Wood Duck, [ca. 1965]
  16 Black Duck, [ca. 1965]
  17 Green-winged Teal, [ca. 1965]
  18 Gadwell, [ca. 1965]
  19 American Widgeon, 1962-1965
  20 Cackling Canada Goose, [ca. 1965]
  21 Aleutian Canada Goose, [ca. 1965]
  22 Whistling Swans, 1970
  23 Fulvous Tree Duck, [ca. 1970]
  24 Mute Swan, 1970
  25 Trumpeter Swan, 1970
  26 Black-bellied Tree Duck, 1964
  27 Richardson’s Goose, [ca. 1965]
  28 Canada Goose, [ca. 1965]
  29 Pacific Black Brant, 1964
  30 Ross’ Goose, [ca. 1965]
  31 Emperor Goose, [ca. 1970]
  32 Greater Snow Goose, [ca. 1965]
  33 Lesser Snow Goose, [ca. 1965]
  34 White-fronted Goose, [ca. 1965]
  35
Pink-footed Goose, [ca. 1965]

2 collages

  36 Proposed cover page, 1992
  37
Colour Separations used in Downy Waterfowl of North America , 1992
Negatives of a Teal

12 2.25 x 2.25 cm

 

Return to Top


Tape Collection (TC 103), [1967-1971]
 
  • Consists of 11 reel to reel tapes with duck calls identified on boxes [1967-1971]

Return to Top


A.03-61 includes 37.5 cm textual records; 1 sketch and four negatives 1991-1994
Research Material for The Downy Waterfowl of North America 1972-1994
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Edited version The Downy Waterfowl of North America 1991
  2 Edited version The Downy Waterfowl of North America includes computer discs and corrections to caption plates. 1991
     
2 1 Final version complete with cover 1994
  2 Appendices A-C 1994
  3
Research material & measurements for Greater & Lesser Scaup 1972-1983

The fonds is divided into one series. That includes research for her book.

 

Photo Collection P.C. 158 1991-1994

 

Box Folder  
1 1 Sketch of cover page of book 1994
  2-3 Negatives of author appear on book dust jacket 1994
  4-5 Group shot of ducklings for plates 1994

Return to Top


A.06-43
 
Box Folder  
1 1 High School diploma, 1950
  2 Classroom notes - Zoology, 1953
  3 Notes - Birds collected under CWS permits, 1964, 1970-86
  4 Program notes (Binder) - Weights and Measurements, Information for Big Data Bank,1960's

(data taken by Colleen Helgason Nelson, Janet Kear, Glen Smart)


Return to Top