Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Betty Nordrum fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 309, PC 258, EL 17 (A.99-34))

Betty Nordrum Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Jeanette Mockford
University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections
330 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, MB., R3T 2N2
(October 14, 2009 and February 16, 2010)

Finding aid encoded by Jeanette Mockford (October 14, 2009 and February 16, 2010)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections
330 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, MB. R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Betty Nordrum
 
Title:
Betty Nordrum fonds
 
Dates:
1962-1998
 
Quantity:
1.0 m of textual records, 45 photographs, 5 videotapes, 2 floppy disks
 
Identification:
A. 99-34, MSS 309, PC 258, EL 17
 
 
English

Return to Top


Biography of Betty Nordrum

Betty Nordrum graduated from Glenlawn Collegiate in 1964 and went on to train as a registered nurse from 1968-1976. She attained the position of nursing supervisor and worked in that capacity from 1976-1987. Two years later, Betty left the nursing profession to work first as a Researcher and then a Policy Analyst for the Manitoba Women’s Advisory Council (1990 - present) As well, she held a number of positions with the Junior League Organization at the local, national and international level. Both her career and volunteer commitments involved a great deal of committee work and liaison. Primarily, Betty’s responsibilities consisted of various chair positions and conference developer. Through this work, Betty became something of a self-professed specialist in women’s issues.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection consists of textual records in the form of published documents, correspondence and working papers reflective of Nordrum’s involvement with women’s organizations and activities. In her capacity as policy analyst and Junior League member, Nordrum participated in a variety of organizations dedicated to addressing issues of gender equality, empowerment and access. The type of groups and the issues on her agenda were conditioned by events, such as the Meech Lake Accord hearings and the murder of fourteen women in Montreal. Most notably, she was involved in the creation of an organization whose purpose was assisting women enter the political arena. Overall, the fonds provides some useful insight into the concerns of women in the 1980s and 90s and their collective attempts to address inequities.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on access.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on use.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Acquired from Betty Nordrum when she left her position with the Manitoba Women’s Advisory Council.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

Biographical Information[ 1962-1989 ]
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Biographical Information and a University Essay 1962-1989
  1A High School Memorabilia 1963-1964

Return to Top


Child and Woman's Advocate Conference and Association Publications and Notes 1986-1998
 
Box Folder  
1 2 Child Abuse Forum: Conference Planning and Research 1986-1988
  3 Widening the Circle Conference: Agenda Notes 1992
  4 United Nations International Women's Conference: Agenda and Travel Information 1995
  5 Northwest International Women's Conference: Proceedings and Notes 1994-1995
  6 International Association for Volunteer Effort '98: Conference and Agenda Notes 1998
  7 Planned Parenthood: Published Posters 1992-1994
  8 Teen Issues and Family Law: Government and Private Publications 1982-1990
  9 Media Watch: Publications 1990-1994
  10 Vanier Institute: Publications 1994
  11 Women's Legal Education and Action Fund: Policies and Publications 1981-1994

Return to Top


Damsels in Distress Conference 1991-1995
 
Box Folder  
2 1 Damsels in Distress Conference: Steering Committee Minutes 1993
  2 Damsels in Distress Conference: Goals and Objectives Records 1992-1993
  3 Damsels in Distress Conference: Advertising and Registration Forms 1991-1992
  4 Damsels in Distress Conference: Funding Records 1991-1993
  5 Damsels in Distress: Travel Records 1992-1993
  6 Damsels in Distress Conference: Proceedings Records 1992-1993
  7 Damsels in Distress Conference: Report and Evaluation 1992-1994
     
3 1 Damsels in Distress Conference: Incoming and Outgoing Correspondence 1987-1991
  2 Damsels in Distress Conference: Incoming and Outgoing Correspondence 1992
  3 Damsels in Distress Conference: Incoming and Outgoing Correspondence 1993-1995

Return to Top


The Federation of Junior Leagues of Canada 1977-1997
 
Box Folder  
3 4 The Federation of Junior Leagues of Canada: History and Reference Material 1985-1992
  5 The Federation of Junior Leagues of Canada: Meeting Agendas, Memorandums, and Funding 1984-1997
  6 The Federation of Junior Leagues of Canada: Statements and Briefs 1988-1992
  7 The Federation of Junior Leagues of Canada: Incoming and Outgoing Correspondence 1977-1997
  8 The Federation of Junior Leagues of Canada: Meeting Minutes 1986-1993
     
4 1 The Federation of Junior Leagues of Canada: Publications 1984-1997

Return to Top


The Charter of Rights Coalition 1981-1994
 
Box Folder  
4 2 The Charter of Rights Coalition: Government and Non-government Publications 1981-1994
  3 The Charter of Rights Coalition (Manitoba): Incoming and Outgoing Correspondence 1985-1992
  4 The Charter of Rights Coalition (Manitoba): Organizational Policy Statements 1985-1990

Return to Top


Manitoba Women's Advisory Council 1985-1993
 
Box Folder  
4 5 Manitoba Women's Advisory Council: Non-government Publications 1985-1993
  6 Manitoba Women's Advisory Council: Government Publications 1986-1993
  7 Manitoba Women's Advisory Council: Correspondence and Policies 1987-1992
  8 Manitoba Women's Advisory Council: Two Floppy Disks (EL 17) [199-]

Return to Top


The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women 1982-1995
 
Box Folder  
5 1 The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women: Publications on Child Care and Women 1982-1994
  2 The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women: Council Publications 1988-1995
  3 The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women: Outgoing Correspondence and Communiques 1988

Return to Top


Winning Women Conference 1985-1995
 
Box Folder  
6 1 Winning Women Conference: Agenda and Reference Records [199-]
  2 Winning Women Conference: Agenda, Pamphlet, and Evaluation Form 1987
  3 Winning Women Conference: Press Releases 1988-1989
  4 Winning Women Conference: Reports and Funding Records 1991
  5 Winning Women Conference: Objectives, Reference, and Funding Records 1992
  6 Winning Women Conference: Incoming and Outgoing Correspondence 1985-1993
  7 Winning Women Conference: Speeches, Agenda, and Evaluation 1992
  8 Winning Women Conference: Objectives and Agendas 1994-1995
     
7 1 Winning Women Conference: Planning Records A-D 1989
  2 Winning Women Conference: Planning Records E-L 1989
  3 Winning Women Conference: Planning Records M-Z 1989
  4 Winning Women Conference: Planning Records 1989
  5-6 Winning Women Conference: Planning Records May 1989
  7 Manitoba Coalition on Political Skills: Winning Women Steering Committee Minutes 1985-1986

Return to Top


Women and Politics Conference 1986-1990
 
Box Folder  
8 1 Women and Politics: Conference Notes and Agendas 1986-1989
  2 Women and Politics: Publications 1989-1990

Return to Top


Ad Hoc Committee of Women on the Constitution 1987-1990
 
Box Folder  
8 3 Ad Hoc Committee of Women on the Constitution: Meech Lake Accord Correspondence 1987-1989
  4 Ad Hoc Committee of Women on the Constitution: Objectives and Background Information 1988-1990
  5 Ad Hoc Committee of Women on the Constitution: Newspaper Clippings 1987-1989

Return to Top


Newspaper Clippings 1984-1995
 
Box Folder  
8 6 Newspaper Clippings: Feminism 1986-1995
  7 Newspaper Clippings: Community Development 1986-1995
  8 Newspaper Clippings: Junior League 1986-1992
  9 Newspaper Clippings: Women and Politics 1984-1994

Return to Top


Video Cassette Tapes 1986-1989
 
Box Folder  
9 1 VHS Video Cassette Tape: Winning Women, Part One of Two 1986
  1 VHS Video Cassette Tape: Winning Women, Part Two of Two 1986
  1 VHS Video Cassette Tape: Winning Women: Think Globally, Act Locally, 1:27:12 May 26, 1989
  1 UMatic Video Cassette Tape: Winning Women, Part One of Two, 53:10 May 26, 1989
  1 UMatic Video Cassette Tape: Winning Women, Part Two of Two, 33:57 May 26, 1989

 

Return to Top


Photographs [196-]-1992
 
Box Folder  
9 1 High School Photographs [196-]
  2 Damsels in Distress Conference: Photographs 1992

 

Return to Top