The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Inventory prepared by Brenna McGregor
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Mantioba
(July 2010)
Finding aid encoded by Brenna McGregor (July 2010)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
Reviews and Publicity 1985-2001, predominant 1990s
Plays/Musicals and Songs [1987] – 2003
Film Scripts and Notes [198-] -1989
Unpublished Materials 1980-2000
Research Materials 1978- [200-]
Business Related Materials 1981-2003
Recorded Music and Interviews (T.C. 151) 1981-2002; predominant 1990s
Photographs and Other Graphic Materials (P.C. 293) [197-]-1997
Sheldon Oberman, known as Obie to friends and family, was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba in 1949. Oberman grew up as an only child in the immigrant North End, where he lived with his parents above their clothing store on Main Street. After graduating from St. Johns High School, Oberman took a job as a dish washer and cook on the Canadian Pacific Railway Transcontinental. During the early seventies, Oberman continued to travel through Canada, as well as to Europe and the Middle East before returning to Winnipeg. In 1972, Oberman received his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Winnipeg and a Certificate of Education from the University of Manitoba in 1974. Between degrees, Oberman married his first wife, Lee Ann Bloc, with whom he had two children, Adam and Mira. By 1975, Oberman was working as an English and Drama teacher at Joseph Wolinsky Collegiate, where he continued to work for the next 30 years. In 1985, Oberman met Lisa Dveris, the woman who was to become his second wife, life partner, and mother to his third child, Jesse. During his early married and working life, Oberman experimented with writing, attending a creative writing program taught by author W.O. Mitchell at the Banff School of Art. Throughout his life, Sheldon drew creative inspiration from interacting with children, as well as reminiscing on his childhood in the North End. Besides touring North America as a professional storyteller as well as writing countless short stories, poems, and articles, Oberman wrote lyrics for children’s entertainer Fred Penner. Five of the albums released by Penner that featured Oberman’s songs received Juno nominations. Especially well-known for his writing of children’s books, Oberman published 12 in his lifetime, including The Always Prayer Shawl, an award winning story about the inevitability of change and the importance of tradition. Oberman received many awards and honours for his writing, including a short-listing in 2000 for the Governor General’s Award for The Shaman’s Nephew, which went on to win the Norma Fleck Award. In the last years of his life, Oberman wrote and published The Island of the Minotaur (2003), a collection of myths about Crete. Oberman’s final project, a collection of Jewish folktales, has been published posthumously. Besides writing, Oberman acted and directed in films and plays throughout his lifetime. In the 1980s, Oberman produced the films Vind Hammen (House of the Wind) and The Amazing Creation of Al Simmons. These two films are distributed by the Winnipeg Film Group. A highly diverse individual, Oberman also received a certificate in hypnosis training and created art installations from objects found at local garage sales. Oberman’s creative spirit knew no bounds. On March 26, 2004, Oberman died of cancer.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The fonds consists of 16 series. They include personal/biographical materials, reviews and publicity, published materials, plays/musicals and songs, film scripts and notes, unpublished materials, correspondence, research materials, business related materials, miscellaneous, teaching materials, games, photographs and other graphic materials, films, audio tapes and floppy disks. The photographs and other graphic materials collection consists of 22 colour photographs, sixteen negatives, 141 colour slides, 7 miscellaneous graphic materials, 24 oversized cell illustrations and seven video cassettes. The film collection contains tiny trims from the film “Vind Hammen,” and 156 rolls of film. The Recorded Music and Interviews collection consists of 2 compact disks and nine audio cassettes. The electronic collection consists of 17 floppy disks.
There are no restrictions on this material.
The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections by Lisa Dveris on December 3rd, 2008.
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Biographical information, 1986-2004 |
| 2 | Degrees, certificates, awards and honours, 1972-2002 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 3 | Newspaper and Magazine Articles 1985-2003, predominant 1990s |
| 4 | Flyers and Posters 1990-2002, predominant 1990s | |
| 5 | A Mirror of People 1985-1986 | |
| 6 | Julie Gerond and the Polka Dot Pony 1988 | |
| 7 | Lion in the Lake 1988-1989 | |
| 8 | TV Sal and the Game Show from Outer Space 1993-1994 | |
| 9 | This Business with Elijah 1993-1994 | |
| 10 | The Always Prayer Shawl 1994-1998 | |
| 11 | The White Stone in the Castle Wall 1995-1996 | |
| 12 | By the Hannukah Light 1997-1998; 2001 | |
| 13 | The Shaman’s Nephew 1999-2000 | |
| 14 | The Wisdom Bird 2000-2001 | |
| 15 | The Always Prayer Shawl Play 1995 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Mrs. Slawic and My Lady of the Beanpoles [199-?] |
| 2 | Angel [199-?] | |
| 3 | This Business with Elijah, draft [199-] | |
| 4 | This Business with Elijah, Spin Master [1993] | |
| 5 | This Business with Elijah, for Community Arts [1993] | |
| 6 | New Boy 1995 | |
| 7 | The White Stone in the Castle Wall [1995] | |
| 8 | The Shaman’s Nephew, proposal and storyboard [199-?] | |
| 9 | The Shaman’s Nephew, draft [199-] | |
| 10 | The Shaman’s Nephew, permission form [199-] | |
| 11 | The Shaman’s Nephew, story of Kiviuq handwritten [199-] | |
| 12 | The Wisdom Bird, handwritten translation of King Solomon Story 1998 | |
| 14 | The Wisdom Bird, draft with handwritten changes 2000 | |
| 15 | The Wisdom Bird 2000 | |
| 16 | Island of the Minotaur, typewritten draft [2002] | |
| 17 | Island of the Minotaur, typewritten draft 2002-2003 | |
| 18 | Island of the Minotaur, draft with suggested changes by Tradewind [200-] | |
| 19 | Island of the Minotaur, typewritten draft [200-] | |
| 20 | Island of the Minotaur, downloaded and printed illustrations 2002 | |
| 21 | Island of the Minotaur, printed version [2003] | |
| 22 | Book Covers 1984-1997 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | Slice of Life column 1996-2002 |
| 2 | Articles and Stories [199-?], 1996 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 3 | Professor Quaker, The Rainbow Maker, typewritten script [1987] |
| 4 | Professor Quaker, bound script [1987] | |
| 5 | Professor Quaker, musical score 1987 | |
| 6 | Otto the Hippo, handwritten notes [198-?] | |
| 7 | Otto the Hippo, typewritten draft [198-?] | |
| 8 | Otto the Hippo, typewritten draft with cover page [198-?] | |
| 9 | TV Sal, draft with handwritten notes [2003] | |
| 10 | TV Sal, script [2003] | |
| 11 | Songs 1980-1996 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 12 | Ghost Town Script [198-] |
| 13 | The Amazing Creation of Al Simmons [1985] | |
| 14 | Vind Hammen (House of the Wind) [1987-1989] |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 15 | Sometimes Grownups, illustrations and handwritten notes [1980] |
| 16 | Sometimes Grownups, typewritten draft [1980] | |
| 17 | Free Fall 1980-1982 | |
| 18 | Free Fall Continued 1980-1982 | |
| 19 | Laurence of Arabia 1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 1 | Train Story 1982 |
| 2 | The Second Visit 1982 | |
| 3 | The Stampede 1982 | |
| 4 | Toys 1982 | |
| 5 | Book of Pet Names [198-] | |
| 6 | Professor Quaker the Circus Shrinker, typewritten [198-] | |
| 7 | Dr. Quaker’s Rainbow Catastrophe, typewritten with illustrations [ 198-] | |
| 8 | Professor Quaker’s Rainbow Catastrophe, typewritten [198-] | |
| 9 | Shapes and Rhymes Good Times [198-?] | |
| 10 | The Man in the Van [198-?] | |
| 11 | The Perogy Princess [198-?] | |
| 12 | Carl [198-?] | |
| 13 | Lovers’ Walk [198-?] | |
| 14 | Loose Stories and Ideas [198-?] | |
| 15 | Moon [198-?] | |
| 16 | Separation [198-?] |
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 1 | Very Short Stories [199-?] |
| 2 | Poetry [199-?] | |
| 3 | Public Acts [199-?] | |
| 4 | The Story I Didn’t Write [199-?] | |
| 5 | A Tourist Epiphanizes [199-] | |
| 6 | Carnival [199-?] | |
| 7 | Poems [199-?] | |
| 8 | Who Cheers Up the Clown? [199-?] | |
| 9 | How a Writer Gets Ideas [199-?] | |
| 10 | The Boy with Seven Names 1991 | |
| 11 | Blowing Up the Left Side of the World 1991 | |
| 12 | Wannee, King of the Grass 1992 | |
| 13 | The Friendship Bird 1999 | |
| 14 | If You Try 2000 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 15 | Misc. 1982-2003 |
| 16 | Re: Professor Quaker 1990 | |
| 17 | Re: The Shaman’s Nephew 1991-2001; predominant 1991-1994 | |
| 18 | Re: White Stone in the Castle Wall 1993 | |
| 19 | Re: Poems 1994 | |
| 20 | Re: Moon book 2002 | |
| 21 | Re: Solomon and the Ant 2001-2003 | |
| 22 | Re: Workshop 2002 | |
| 23 | Re: Island of the Minotaur 2002-2003 | |
| 24 | Re: The Always Prayer Shawl 2003 | |
| 25 | Re: Agent Agreement 2003 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 1 | Simon Tookoome 1978-1994 |
| 2 | History – Wpg 1987 | |
| 3 | Field Trips re: Simon Tookome 1993-1994 | |
| 4 | Mailing Lists 1994-2000 | |
| 5 | Publishing and Workshop research [199-] – [2000] | |
| 6 | Publishers 1993-[200-?] |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 1 | Writing Contracts 1981-2003; predominant 1990-1995 |
| 2 | Funding [199-?]-2003 | |
| 3 | Copyright Information 2000 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 6 | Plays [198-?]-[200-] |
| 7 | Novels [198-?]-[200-] | |
| 8 | Group Exercises [198-?]-[200-?] | |
| 9 | Myth [198-?]-[200-?] |
| Box | Folder | |
| 8 | 1 | Short Stories [198-]-[200-?] |
| 2 | Drama 1980-2001 | |
| 3 | Poetry [198-?]-2003 | |
| 4 | Workshops and Public Talks [199-?] |
| Box | Folder | |
| 9 | 1 | Songs [198-?]-[200-?] |
| 2 | Video [198-?]-[200-?] | |
| 3 | General [198-?]-[200-?] | |
| 4 | General (continued) [198-?]-[200-?] | |
| 5 | Journalism 1997-2003 | |
| 6 | Upcoming 2002 |
| Box | |
| 1 | Four Tape Cassettes: Music recording of Fred Penner 1981, 1983, 1993 |
| 2 | Music Appreciation: two CDs [199-?] |
| 3 | Interviews and Reviews: five tape cassettes 1991-1998 |
| 4 | Al Simmons, tape #1 May 18, 1984 |
| 5 | Al Simmons, tape #2 May 18, 1984 |
| 6 | Al Simmons, roll #1 March 2, 1985 |
| 7 | Al Simmons, roll #2 March 2, 1985 |
| 8 | Al Simmons, roll #3 March 2, 1985 |
| 9 | Al Simmons, roll #4 March 3, 1985 |
| 10 | Al Simmons, roll #5 1985 |
| 11 | Al Simmons, Al’s horse act May 30, 1985 |
| 12 | Al Simmons, children’s festival June 1, 1985 |
| 13 | Al Simmons, roll #2 June 3, 1985 |
| 14 | Al Simmons, roll #3 1985 |
| 15 | Al Simmons, roll #4 1985 |
| 16 | ANAR V/O [198-?] |
| 17 | Ghost Town, Roll #1 October 3, 1986 |
| 18 | Ghost Town, Roll #2 October 4, 1986 |
| 19 | Ghost Town, Sound Roll #3 October 4, 1986 |
| 20 | Ghost Town, Sound Roll #4 October 4, 1986 |
| 21 | Ghost Town, Sound Roll #5 October 5, 1986 |
| 22 | Ghost Town, Sound Roll #6 October 5, 1986 |
| 23 | Ghost Town, Shoot #2, Roll #1 October 11, 1986 |
| 24 | Ghost Town, Shoot #2, Roll #2 October 11, 1986 |
| 25 | Ghost Town, Shoot #2, Roll #4 October 11, 1986 |
| 26 | Ghost Town, Shoot #2, Roll #3 October 11, 1986 |
| 27 | Ghost Town, Shoot #3, Sound Roll #1 October 18, 1986 |
| 28 | Ghost Town, Shoot #3, Sound Roll #3 October 19, 1986 |
| 29 | Ghost Town, Shoot #3, Roll #4 October 19, 1986 |
| 30 | Ghost Town, Shoot #3, Roll #5 October 19, 1986 |
| 31 | Ghost Town, Shoot #4, Sound Roll #1, Fight in Train Station November 2, 1986 |
| 32 | Ghost Town, Shoot #4, Sound Roll #2, Fight in Train Station November 2, 1986 |
| Box | |
| 1 | B.T.V. AL Rushton Video 1994-[1997] |
| CKY “Daytime” Feb 1994 | |
| Sunday Scope: Readint at Rosh Pina Spring 1995 | |
| Storytelling in Alabama 1995 | |
| Presentation 1996 | |
| Videon Cable 11 – Insight- 15 oct 1997, Writers in Winnipeg and some Ch. 11 doc. 1997 | |
| Full Tape Interview – Sheldon Oberman Original [199-?] |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | 1 black and white photograph of Oberman dressed-up; 22 colour photographs of Oberman and Tookoome at McNally Robinson[197-?], [199-] |
| 2 | Sixteen negatives of Oberman portraits [199-?] | |
| 3 | 114 colour slides of Tookoome’s art [197-]-[199-] | |
| 4 | 4 miscellaneous graphic materials [197-? -199-?] | |
| 5 | Tiny trims from “Vind Hammen” film [1989] | |
| 6 | 27 - T.V. Sal Slides n.d. |
| Box | |
| 3 | Vind Hammen, extra tracks and misc. footage (four items) [1987-1989] |
| 4 | Vind Hammen, extra footage (five items) [1987-1989] |
| 5 | Vind Hammen, extra footage (nine items) [1987-1989] |
| 6 | Vind Hammen, footage from final shoots (16 items) [1987-1989] |
| 7 | Vind Hammen, footage from final shoots (22 items) [1987-1989] |
| 8 | Vind Hammen, “wild sound” (seven items) [1987-1989] |
| 9 | Vind Hammen, “wild sound” (11 items) [1987-1989] |
| 10 | Vind Hammen, “wild sound” (six items) [1987-1989] |
| 11 | Vind Hammen, “wild sound” [(three items) 1987-1989] |
| 12 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls 11A, 12, 13 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 13 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls 11A, 12, 13 (five items) [1987-1989] |
| 14 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls 11A, 12, 13 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 15 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls 11A, 12, 13 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 16 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls 11A, 12, 13 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 17 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls 11A, 12, 13 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 18 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls 11A, 12, 13 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 19 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls 11A, 12, 13 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 20 | Vind Hammen, rough assembly 16mm picture (one item) [1897-1989] |
| 21 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls # 3,5,6,7,8,9,10,11 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 22 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls # 3,5,6,7,8,9,10,11 (three items) [1987-1989] |
| 23 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls # 3,5,6,7,8,9,10,11 (three items) [1987-1989] |
| 24 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls # 3,5,6,7,8,9,10,11 (seven items) [1987-1989] |
| 25 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls # 3,5,6,7,8,9,10,11 (six items) [1987-1989] |
| 26 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls #14,15,17,18,19,20,21,23 (three items) [1987-1989] |
| 27 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls #14,15,17,18,19,20,21,23 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 28 | Vind Hammen, sync rolls #14,15,17,18,19,20,21,23 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 29 | Vind Hammen, footage and final editing trims (7 items) [1987-1989] |
| 30 | Vind Hammen, M.O.S. (six items) [1987-1989] |
| 31 | Vind Hammen, M.O.S. (five items) [1987-1989] |
| 32 | Vind Hammen, M.O.S. (three items) [1987-1989] |
| 33 | Vind Hammen, M.O.S.(four items) [1987-1989] |
| 34 | Vind Hammen, M.O.S. [1987-1989] (two items) |
| 35 | Vind Hammen, M.O.S. (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 36 | Vind Hammen, tiny trims and other trims [1987-1989] |
| 37 | Vind Hammen, dial #1 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 38 | Vind Hammen, sync Ft-2 one item) [1987-1989] ( |
| 39 | Vind Hammen, track 3 dial (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 40 | Vind Hammen, fine cut track 2 (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 41 | Vind Hammen, WPG Film Group (one item) [1987-1989] |
| 42 | Al Simmons, comixs 1985 |
| 43 | Al Simmons, [unlabeled] 1985 |
| 44 | Al Simmons, [unlabeled] 1985 |
| 45 | Al Simmons, cuttings/copy 1985 |
| 46 | Al Simmons, slash [point?] November 1985 |
| 47 | Al Simmons, Dial 1 Head 1985 |
| 48 | Al Simmons, Dial 2 Head 1985 |
| 49 | Al Simmons, V.O. Head 1985 |
| 50 | Al Simmons, Music 1 Head 1985 |
| 51 | Al Simmons, Music 2 Head 1985 |
| 52 | Al Simmons, SRX 1 Head 1985 |
| 53 | Al Simmons, SRX 2 Head 1985 |
| 54 | Al Simmons, SRX 3 Head 1985 |
| Box | |
| 1 | Wannee Travel, Stories etc. 1991 |
| Prose [199-] | |
| Before last two drafts, This Business with Elijah, Stories June 25, 1993 | |
| Stories August 25, 1993 | |
| Office, Stories pre 1994 | |
| Business [with Elijah?] [199-] | |
| Misc. pre 1994 | |
| Studio, New Letters [199-?] | |
| Kids Plays [199-?] | |
| Studio, Newspaper [199-?] | |
| Studio, Adult Plays [199-?] | |
| Some Misc. [199-?] | |
| Studio, Stories [199-?] | |
| Office, Stories, Spare Elijah [199-] | |
| Office, website [199-?] | |
| Studio, Jewish before 2002 | |
| Jewish August 2002 |