LibGuides: North-West Line Elevators Association fonds: MSS 127, PC 136, MC 17 (A.94-55)

North-West Line Elevators Association

An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1998)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (October 2002)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

July 26, 2005 - MSS 127 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Administrative History of North-West Line Elevators

Scope and Contents of the Records

Organization of the Records

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Records

Corporate Records 1899-1972

Financial Records 1900-1985

Legal Records 1929-1969

Operational Records 1913-1977

Map Collection (MC 17) 1963-1975

Photograph Collection (PC 136) [ca. 1925]-[1969?]

Collection Summary

Repository:

University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2

Creator:

North-West Line Elevators

Title:

North-West Line Elevators fonds

Dates:

1899-1985

Quantity:

6.12 m of textual records. -- 17 maps. -- 111 photographs. -- 13 slides. -- 1 video reel.

Identification:

MSS 127, PC 136, MC 17

Language:

English.

Return to Top

Administrative History of North-West Line Elevators

This association was first organized by the Manitoba Elevator Operators on July 18, 1899, under the name the North-West Elevator Association. The first Directorship consisted of William Martin, President & Robert Muir, Vice-President. The other directors included R.D. Martin, E. O'Riley, John Love, R.C. Ennis, S.A. McGaw, J.E. Mann & T.B. Barker. The Membership included 24 companies or individuals representing 272 country elevators.

In 1904 the Association was incorporated by a special act of the Manitoba Legislature under the name of the North-West Grain Dealers Association. The membership had increased threefold to include 95 companies or individuals representing 780 elevators. John Love was the first president of newly incorporated Association.

The first ten years were marked by rapid expansion. By 1910 the Membership had risen to 164 companies or individuals with the number of elevators practically doubling to 1500. Five years later 30 more companies had come on board with the number of elevators growing to 2900. Through amalgamation of some of the smaller companies the roster declined to 101 companies in 1925 but the number of elevators increased to 3741.

In 1926 the hierarchy within the Association changed with the formation of the Owners' Committee. Henceforth Directors were appointed from the junior executive ranks or general superintendents of companies but the real power lay with the Owners' Committee. This committee lasted for ten years at which time a Public Relations Department was formed in March 1935. This group chose L.W. Brockington as its first leader with G.W.P. Heffelfinger as the first chairman.

Like all industry, the grain business was forced to navigate ten lean years during the Depression. The Membership declined to 55 companies by 1935 but still managed to represent 3345 elevators. In 1937 the Manitoba Legislature amended the Association's capital stock set up. The old Membership shares were paid out in full at $15 apiece plus a premium of $5 per share. The new capital arrangement called for 20000 authorized shares and 3393 subscribed shares selling at $1 each. A company was called upon to take $1 shares for every elevator it owned.

With the financial restructuring of the Association, came board room policy changes. After 1937 all Directors were now chosen from the principals of the companies. In 1940 the company changed its name to the North West Line Elevators Association. The Association lobbied for preferable rail rates for shipping. They attempted to block line abandonments by the C.P.R. & C.N.R. The Farm Service side of the Association performed grain research through its demonstration plots and seed testing laboratory. At its peak the Association cover elevators spanning the Prairie Provinces & Thunder Bay and represented the interests of most of the leading grain companies in Western Canada. The company still had an administrative board in 1992 but two years later it had come under control of N.M. Paterson & Sons Ltd. and is now dormant.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Records

The North-West Line Elevators Association origins can be traced back to 1899. The fonds contain the minutes of the original Board of Directors as well as detailed sampling, although not complete, of Directors' minutes & memoranda up until the early 1970s. The Collection is divided into four categories. The corporate records contain Directors' minutes, Executive Committee minutes, annual reports & the Public Relations Department records. The financial records contain auditors' reports, balance sheets, stock ledgers, tax returns, budgets, shareholders' information & Grains Claim Bureau assessments. The legal records cover demurrage action, court cases, agreements & contracts as well as Royal Commission on Box Car Distribution reports from the mid 1950s & Royal Commission on Transportation reports from the early 1960s. The operational records contain company correspondence, tariff information, Canada Grains Council reports & Canada Wheat Board reports, articles & pamphlets as well as lists of grain elevators. The fonds provide a nice cross section of the Association from its inception until the mid 1970s.

Return to Top

Organization of the Records

These records are organized into 4 series.

Corporate Records 1899-1972
Financial Records 1900-1985
Legal Records 1929-1969
Operational Records 1913-1977
Map Collection (MC 17) 1963-1975
Photograph Collection (PC 136) [ca. 1925]-[1969?]

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

Folders containing confidential material are restricted. Users must abide by relevant copyright laws.

Return to Top

Custodial History

The fonds of the North-West Line Elevators Association took a circuitous route to the Department of Archives & Special Collections. In July 1992 the Collection was offered to the Provincial Archives of Manitoba. Barry Hyman, the Associate Provincial Archivist, suggested that the holdings be moved to the University of Manitoba become a part of the Archives of the Agricultural Experience. In August 1994 the Collection was transferred to the Department of Archives & Special Collections at the behest of Andrew B. Paterson, Chief Executive Officer, of N.M. Paterson & Sons Ltd., whose company had recently acquired the North-West Line Elevators Association. The Collection was given accession number A. 94-55 and comprised 24 boxes or 30 linear feet.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Records

Corporate Records 1899-1972

This series consists of the following subseries:

Directors' Records, 1899-1977

Executive Committee Records, 1904-1972

General Reports & Memoranda, 1936-1972

Country Elevator Operations, 1937-1972

Public Relations, 1935-1944

Line Elevator Farm Service, 1939-1967

Various Committee Minutes, 1936-1966

Other Companies Information, 1918-1972

Box	Folder
1	1	Charter & By-Laws, 1937-1955.

Directors' Records, 1899-1977

Box	Folder
1	2	Board of Directors' meeting minutes, 1899-1904.
	3	Board of Directors' meeting minutes, 1905-1915.
	4	Directors' & annual meeting minutes, 1918-1923.
	5	Board of Directors' meeting minutes, 1931-1934.

Box	Folder
2	1	Directors' & annual meeting minutes, 1933-1939.
	2	Owners' Committee meeting minutes, 1933-1937.
	3	Board of Directors' meeting minutes, 1939-1944.
	4	Board of Directors' meeting minutes, 1944-1958.
	5	Board of Directors' meeting minutes, 1969-1970.
	6	Board of Directors' annual report, 1947-1959.
	7	Board of Directors' annual report, 1960-1969.

Box	Folder
3	1	Board of Directors' memoranda, 1941-1970.
	2	Board of Directors' memoranda, July - September, 1966.
	3	Board of Directors' memoranda, October - December, 1966.
	4	Board of Directors' memoranda, June - October, 1966.
	5	Board of Directors' memoranda, November - December, 1966.

Box	Folder
4	1	Board of Directors' memoranda, January - February, 1970.
	2	Board of Directors' memoranda, January - February, 1970.
	3	Board of Directors' memoranda, April 1970.
	4	Board of Directors' memoranda, May - June 1970.
	5	Board of Directors' patronage dividends correspondence, 1942-1949.

Box	Folder
5	1	Directors' annual meeting notices, 1972-1977.

Executive Committee Records, 1904-1972

Box	Folder
5	2	Executive Committee meeting minutes, 1904-1908.
	3	Executive Committee meeting minutes & memoranda, 1944-1948.
	4	Executive Committee minutes, 1949-1954.
	5	Executive Committee memoranda, 1954-1955.
	6	Executive Committee memoranda, 1955-1956.
	7	Executive Committee memoranda, 1955-1970.

Box	Folder
6	1	Executive Committee meeting minutes, re. freight rates, 1958.
	2	Executive Committee meeting minutes, 1958-1959.
	3	Executive Committee meeting minutes, 1959-1960.
	4	Executive Committee meeting minutes, 1961-1964.
	5	Executive Committee meeting minutes, 1964-1966.
	6	Executive Committee memoranda, nos. 1-39, 1964.

Box	Folder
7	1	North West Line Elevators Association memoranda, nos. 1-42, 1964-1965.
	2	North West Line Elevators Association memoranda, nos. 43-55, 1965.
	3	North West Line Elevators Association memoranda, nos. 56-65, 1964-1965.
	4	North West Line Elevators Association memoranda, nos.66-87, 1964-1965.
	5	Executive Committee memoranda, nos. 40-104, 1965.

Box	Folder
8	1	Executive Committee memoranda, nos. 1-40, 1965-1966.
	2	Executive Committee memoranda, nos. 41-80, 1965-1966.
	3	Executive Committee memoranda, nos. 1-71, 1966-1967.
	4	Executive Committee memoranda, nos. 72-101, 1966-1967.

Box	Folder
9	1	Executive Committee minutes, 1966-1969.
	2	Executive Committee memoranda, 1967-1968.
	3	North West Line Elevators Association memoranda, nos. 1-63, 1967-1968.

Box	Folder
10	1	Executive Committee minutes, July-December 1968.
	2	Executive Committee memoranda, nos. 1-48, 1968-1969.
	3	Executive Committee minutes, 1969-1972.
	4	Executive Committee memoranda, nos. 1-15, 1969.

Box	Folder
11	1	Executive Committee minutes, January-May 1969.
	2	Executive Committee minutes, June-December 1969.
	3	Executive Committee memoranda, July-October 1969.
	4	Executive Committee memoranda, November 1969.
	5	Executive Committee memoranda, December 1969.
	6	Executive Committee memoranda, nos.16-40, 1969-1970.

Box	Folder
12	1	Executive Committee memoranda, January- March 1970.
	2	Executive Committee memoranda, April-June 1970.
	3	Executive Committee minutes, January-July 1970.
	4	Executive Committee memoranda, nos. 1-40, 1970.
	5	Executive Committee memoranda, nos.41-80, 1970.
	6	Executive Committee memoranda, nos.81-110, 1970-1971.

Box	Folder
13	1	Executive Committee memoranda, nos.1-56, 1971-1972.
	2	Executive Committee memoranda, nos.58-99, 1971.
	3	Executive Committee memoranda, nos.100-128, 1971-1972.
	4	Executive Committee memoranda, nos.129-148, 1971-1972.

Box	Folder
14	1	Executive Committee memoranda, nos.149-176, 1971.
	2	Executive Committee memoranda, 1971.
	3	Executive Committee memoranda, 1971.
	4	Executive Committee memoranda, 1972.
	5	Executive Committee patronage dividends, 1950-1970.

General Reports & Memoranda, 1936-1972

Box	Folder
15	1	North West Line Elevators Association annual reports, 1936-1955.
	2	Annual report, 1949.
	3	Annual reports, 1956-1970.
	4	Annual meeting & reports, 1969.
	5	Annual reports, 1971.
	6	North West Line Elevators Association, Alberta Division general meeting minutes, 1965-1972.

Box	Folder
16	1	Memoranda, nos.1-29, 1965-1966.
	2	Memoranda, nos.30-64, 1965-1966.
	3	Memoranda, nos.1-56, 1966.
	4	Memoranda, nos.57-138, 1967.

Box	Folder
17	1	Memoranda, nos.1-42, 1968-1969.
	2	Memoranda, 1969-1970.
	3	Memoranda, 1970-1971.

Country Elevator Operations, 1937-1972

Box	Folder
17	4	Country Elevator Operations Committee meeting notices, 1937-1964.
	5	Country Elevator Operations Committee minutes, 1938-1968.
	6	Country Elevator Operations Committee memoranda, 1969.
	7	Country Operations memoranda, nos.1-19, 1969-1970.
	8	Country Operations general memoranda, nos.1-15, 1969-1970.

Box	Folder
18	1	Country Operations Committee memoranda, nos.1-59, 1970.
	2	Country Operations Committee memoranda, 1970.
	3	Country Operations Committee memoranda, 1970-1971.
	4	Country Operations Committee memoranda, nos.60-109, 1971.
	5	Country Elevator Safety Committee, 1970-1972.

Public Relations, 1935-1944

Box	Folder
18	6	Public Relations Department agreements & correspondence, 1935-1947.
	7	Public Relations Committee meeting minutes, 1935-1942.
	8	Public Relations Committee correspondence, 1942-1943.
	9	Public Relations Committee meeting minutes, 1942-1944.

Line Elevator Farm Service, 1939-1967

Box	Folder
19	1	Line Elevator Farm Service Minutes, 1939-1962.
	2	Line Elevators Farm Service reports, 1940-1947.
	3	Line Elevators Farm Service expansion program, 1947.
	4	Line Elevators Farm Service minutes, 1959-1964.
	5	Line Elevators Farm Service ceasing of operations, 1965-1967.

Various Committee Minutes, 1936-1966

Box	Folder
19	6	Site Allotment Committee, 1936-1952.
	7	Minutes from various committees, ie) gading, mill, price & finance committees, 1937-1966.
	8	Committee responsible for Wheat Board contract, 1939-1940.
	9	Transportation Committee meeting minutes, Re: railway car quotas, 1940-1958.
	10	Temporary Terminal Storage Committee minutes, 1940-1946.
	11	General meetings of member companies, 1941-1958.
	12	Mill Committee & Office Managers' Committee minutes, 1945-1965.
	13	Special Committee minutes, Re: Bracken Commission on box car allocations, 1958.

Box	Folder
20	1	Rapeseed Committee memoranda, 1957.
	2	Office Managers' Committee memoranda, 1960-1961.

Other Companies Information, 1918-1972

Box	Folder
20	3	Board of Directors' meeting minutes for Grain Claim Bureau Ltd., 1918-1931.
	4	Occidental Coal Ltd. shareholders' meeting minutes & by-laws, 1936-1945.
	5	Executive Committee of Palliser Wheat Growers Association correspondence, 1971-1972.

Return to Top

Financial Records 1900-1985

This series consists of the following subseries:

Balance Sheets, 1953-1971

Stock Ledgers, 1905-1934

Share Transfers & Applications, 1905-1984

Tax Returns, 1925-1979

Budgets, 1954-1972

Miscellaneous Financial Records, 1936-1972

Grain Claims Bureau Ltd., 1918-1976

Oversized Ledgers, 1900-1970

Box	Folder
20	6	Auditor's reports, 1904-1909.
	7	Auditor's reports, 1910-1920.
	8	Auditor's reports, 1921-1930.

Box	Folder
21	1	Auditor's reports, 1931-1940.
	2	Auditor's reports, 1941-1950.
	3	Auditor's reports, 1951-1963.
	4	Auditor's reports,. 1964-1968
	5	Financial statements, 1969-1979.
	6	Financial statements, 1980-1985.

Box	Folder
22	1	Financial statements correspondence, 1934-1970.
	2	Financial statements correspondence, 1971-1973.

Balance Sheets, 1953-1971

Box	Folder
22	3	Balance sheets, 1953-1966.
	4	Balance sheets, meeting notices & correspondence, 1965-1970.
	5	Balance sheets, 1966-1968.

Box	Folder
23	1	Balance sheets, 1968-1971.

Stock Ledgers, 1905-1934

Box	Folder
23	2	Stock ledger & Shareholders' register, 1905-1914.
	3	Stock ledger, 1905-1921.
	4	Stock certificate book, 1905-1934.

Share Transfers & Applications, 1905-1984

Box	Folder
24	1	Cancelled share certificates, 1905-1923.
	2	Cancelled & transferred share certificates, 1907-1937.
	3	Receipts for share certificates, 1922-1923.
	4	Share transfer correspondence, 1925-1935.
	5	Share applications correspondence, 1937-1970.
	6	Share applications, 1937.
	7	Cancelled share certificates, 1937-1940.
	8	Share certificate receipts, 1937-1960.
	9	Cancelled shares, 1940-1965.
	10	Transferred share certificates, 1940-1954.

Box	Folder
25	1	Applications for new shares, 1937-1940.
	2	Stock ledger, 1937-1961.
	3	Shareholders' annual meeting minutes, 1939-1958.
	4	Share certificates, 1940-1960.
	5	Re-Issue of share certificates, 1948-1956.
	6	Cancelled shares, 1960.
	7	Shareholders' financial statements, 1965-1966.
	8	Share certificates, 1966-1974.
	9	Share certificates, 1971-1984.

Tax Returns, 1925-1979

Box	Folder
26	1	Federal income tax returns & correspondence, 1925-1951.
	2	Excess profits tax, 1940-1941. (Includes financial statements from Prairie Wheat Pools dating back to 1926).
	3	Private Companies Act returns, 1929-1979.
	4	Provincial income tax returns & correspondence, 1929-1937.
	5	City of Winnipeg business tax assessment, 1935-1950.
	6	Excess profits tax act, brief & correspondence, 1940-1942.
	7	Excess profits tax, Saskatchewan correspondence, 1941-1946.

Box	Folder
27	1	Excess profit tax act correspondence, 1941-1942.
	2	Summary of assessments, 1942-1958.
	3	Memoranda on income tax & co-operative societies, 1942.
	4	Income tax agreement, 1944.
	5	Safety Committee assessments, 1945-1970.
	6	Seasonal assessments, 1959-1972.

Budgets, 1954-1972

Box	Folder
27	7	Budgets, 1954-1972.
	8	Budget, 1969-1970.

Miscellaneous Financial Records, 1936-1972

Box	Folder
28	1	Indemnity bond, 1937.
	2	Bank of Canada bond purchase correspondence, 1941-1951.
	3	Dominion Government annuities, pension vouchers, 1940-1949.
	4	Dominion Government annuities, premium vouchers, 1945-1963.
	5	Friday account quotas, crop year, 1969-1970.
	6	Thursday account quotas, crop year, 1969-1970.
	7	Daily price sheets, 1970-1971.

Box	Folder
29	1	Line Elevators Farm Service assessments, 1947-1967.
	2	Line Elevators Farm Service financial statements, 1948-1965.
	3	Elevators owned & licensed, 1936-1955.
	4	Elevators owned & licensed, 1956-1972.
	5	Operating expenses supplied by member companies, 1966-1972.
	6	Prices & income commission correspondence, 1970.

Grain Claims Bureau Ltd., 1918-1976

Box	Folder
29	7	Financial statements, 1918-1929.
	8	Financial statements, 1930-1939.
	9	Financial statements, 1940-1947.
	10	Pioneer Grain correspondence, 1951-1976.

Box	Folder
30	1	Correspondence, 1970-1977.
	2	Lakehead Terminal Elevators Association, financial statements, 1947-1973.
	3	Cash book, 1935-1936.
	4	Cash receipt book, 1965-1971
	5	Investment ledger, 1940-1970.
	6	Miscellaneous expense ledger, 1959-1967.

Oversized Ledgers, 1900-1970

Transfer journal, M.-Z., 1900-1941.

Transfer journal, A.-L., 1908-1950.

North West Grain Dealer's Association transfer journal, 1908-1920.

Stock ledger, 1909-1937.

Cash & transfer ledger, 1922-1950.

Accounts ledger, 1929-1957.

Accounts ledger, 1930-1939.

Transfer journal, 1932-1966.

Transfer ledger, 1936-1955.

Grain Claims Bureau, 1940-1955

Accounts ledger, 1941-1966.

Elevator assessment accounts, 1948-1967.

Cash journal & freight transfer, 1949-1955.

North West Line Elevator & Farm Service disbursements, 1950-1967.

Accounts ledger, 1966-1970.

Cash disbursements, 1967-1970.

Return to Top

Legal Records 1929-1969

Demurrage Action, 1954-1969

Royal Commission on Box Car Distribution, 1953-1959

Royal Commission on Transportation, 1960-1969

Court Cases, 1929-1930

Agreements & Contracts, 1933-1969

Miscellaneous Legal Records, 1938-1967

Demurrage Action, 1954-1969

Box	Folder
31	1	Demurrage action, Pacific Coast, 1954-1956.
	2	Brief for Demurrage Hearing before Canada Transport Commissioners, 1956.
	3	Executive Committee memoranda, Re: demurrage case, 1956-1957.
	4	Demurrage action, 1957-1958.
	5	Demurrage case, includes North West Line Elevators Association vs. C.P.R. in Supreme Court, 1967-1959.
	6	Memoranda Transport Commissioners meeting on demurrage. case, 1958.

Box	Folder
32	1	Demurrage action pacific coast, 1959-1966.
	2	Demurrage action against pacific coast terminals by C.P.R., 1959-1962.
	3	Demurrage action against Lakehead terminal by C.P.R., 1961-1964.
	4	Canadian Car Demurrage Bureau, rules & claims, 1966.
	5	Demurrage submission to Board of Transport Commissioners, 1966.
	6	Demurrage action, pacific coast, 1967-1969.

Royal Commission on Box Car Distribution, 1953-1959

Box	Folder
33	1	Memoranda, Re: box car distribution, 1953-1958.
	2	Bracken Commission, Box Car Distribution Inquiry, 1958.
	3	Bracken Box Car Inquiry, 1958.
	4	North West Line Elevators Association, submission to the Commission, 1958.
	5	North West Line Elevators Association, brief to the Bracken Commission, 1958.

Box	Folder
34	1	Box Car Distribution memoranda, 1959.
	2	C.N.R. precis of evidence sections II & VIII, 1959.
	3	C.N.R. precis of evidence submitted on Railway Transportation in Canada sections IV & VII, 1959.
	4	C.P.R. principals & levels of just rates, 1959.
	5	C.P.R. history on statutory & related grain rates, 1959.
	6	Submission of the C.P.R. to the Royal Commission on Railway Transportation in Canada, 1959.
	7	Submission of the C.N.R. to the Royal Commission on Railway Transportation in Canada, 1959.
	8	Joint submission of C.N.R. & C.P.R., 1959.
	9	C.N.R. & C.P.R. development of cost & cost study, 1959.
	10	C.P.R. memoranda on the necessity of rate adjustments, 1959.
	11	C.N.R. memoranda on necessity of rate adjustments, 1959.

Royal Commission on Transportation, 1960-1969

Box	Folder
35	1	Extracts on railway abandonment, 1960.
	2	C.N.R. application to abandon Rapid City subdivision, Brandon, Manitoba, 1960.
	3	C.P.R. application to abandon Lorraine subdivision, Red Deer, Alberta, 1961.
	4	North West Line Elevators Association argument, 1961.
	5	C.N.R. application to abandon Spondin subdivision, Hanna, Alberta, 1962.
	6	C.P.R. application to abandon Brooks, Alberta, 1962.
	7	C.N.R. proposal to abandon Prairie Region, Assinboine area, 1963.
	8	C.N.R. proposal to abandon Prairie Region, Saskatchewan area, 1963.

Box	Folder
36	1	C.N.R. proposal to abandon Prairie Region, Saskatchewan area, Chelan subdivision, 1963.
	2	C.N.R. proposal to abandon Prairie Region, Saskatchewan area, Central Butte subdivision, 1963.
	3	C.N.R. proposal to Mountain Region, Saskatchewan & Alberta, 1963.
	4	C.N.R. proposal to abandon , Prairie Region, Saskatchewan area, 1966.
	5	Canada Transport Commission order No. 123994 in the matter of sections 34 & 387B of Railway Act, 1968.
	6	Canada Transport Commission order No. R-6314, 1969.

Court Cases, 1929-1930

Box	Folder
36	7	Grain Claims Bureau Ltd. & Federal Grain Ltd. vs. C.P.R., 1929-1930.
	8	Grain Claims Bureau Ltd. & Federal Grain Ltd. vs. C.P.R., 1929-1930.
	9	Grain Claims Bureau Ltd. & Federal Grain Ltd. vs. C.P.R., plaintiffs productions, 1929-1930.

Agreements & Contracts, 1933-1969

Box	Folder
37	1	Brotherhood of Railway, Steamship Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express & Station Employees, briefs & correspondence, 1954-1962.
	2	Brotherhood of Railway, Steamships Clerks, agreements, 1959-1969.
	3	Brotherhood of Railway, Steamship Clerks, negotiations, 1961.
	4	Independent arbittator's contract, 1933.
	5	Temporary terminal storage facilities agreements, 1941-1946.
	6	Temporary terminal storage facilities supplemental agreements, 1941.
	7	Ogilvie Flour Mills Co. Ltd. & Royal Trust Ltd. supplemental agreements, 1941.
	8	Ogilvie Flour Mills Co. Ltd. & Royal Trust Ltd. agreement, 1941.
	9	Temporary terminal storage facilities, escrow agreements, 1941.
	10	Canadian Wheat Board agreement, 1941.
	11	Ornamental Shrubs & Trees , Copyright agreement, 1944.
	12	Canadian Wheat Board agreement negotiations report, 1956-1957.
	13	Emergency Car Committee agreements, 1956-1966.
	14	Canadian Wheat Board International Wheat agreement circulars, 1958-1959.

Miscellaneous Legal Records, 1938-1967

Box	Folder
38	1	C.P.R. vs. Manitoba Wheat Pool, court case, 1962.
	2	Manitoba Wheat Pool vs. C.P.R. in Supreme Court of Canada, 1963.
	3	Workmen's Compensation claims, 1962-1966.
	4	Workmen's Compensation correspondence, 1962.
	5	Royal Grain Commission Inquiry report, 1938.
	6	Submission to Standing Committee on Agriculture, Forestry & Rural Development, 1967.

Return to Top

Operational Records 1913-1977

This series consists of the following subseries:

Tariff Information, 1939-1969

Canada Grains Council Records, 1969-1972

Canadian Wheat Board Records, 1958-1970

Board of Grain Commissioners for Canada Records, 1949-1971

Canadian Agriculture Congress, 1969

Articles & Pamphlets, 1913-1973

Miscellaneous Operational Records, 1930-1976

List of Grain Elevators, 1931-1977

Charts Pertaining to Country & Terminal Elevator Operations, 1939-1970

Box	Folder
38	7	Annual review of operations, 1941-1942.
	8	Alberta division secretary K.B.Gray's correspondence, 1958-1969.
	9	Alberta division correspondence, 1959-1969.
	10	Alberta division correspondence, 1967-1970.
	11	General correspondence, 1965-1966.
	12	General correspondence, 1968-1969.

Box	Folder
39	1	General correspondence, 1970.
	2	List of stations in the Prairie Provinces & Their capacities, 1963-1966.

Tariff Information, 1939-1969

Box	Folder
39	3	Terminal tariff statistics, 1939-1964.
	4	Grain terminal receipts, 1954-1966.
	5	Terminal tariffs, working figures, 1957-1958.
	6	Terminal tariffs, working figures, 1958-1959.
	7	Terminal tariffs, working figures, 1959-1960.
	8	Terminal tariffs questionnaires, 1960-1961.
	9	Terminal tariffs questionnaires, 1961-1962.
	10	Terminal tariffs questionnaires, 1962-1963.
	11	Terminal tariffs questionnaires, 1963-1964.
	12	Terminal tarrifs questionnaires, 1965-1967.
	13	Questionnaire on low volume elevators, 1966.
	14	Lakehead Terminal Elevators Association questionnaire, 1966-1969.

Canada Grains Council Records, 1969-1972

Box	Folder
40	1	Executive Committee memoranda, 1969.
	2	Board of Directors' & Executive Committee correspondence, 1969, 1970.
	3	Minutes, 1969.
	4	Minutes, 1971-1972.
	5	Annual meeting report, 1970.

Box	Folder
41	1	Correspondence, 1970-1971.
	2	Minutes, 1970-1971.
	3	Board of Directors' memoranda & correspondence, 1971.
	4	Board of Directors' correspondence, 1972.
	5	Grain Handling & Transportation Committee report, 1972.
	6	Provisional minutes from third annual meeting, 1972.
	7	An Evaluation of the Domestic Feed Grain Market, 1972.

Canadian Wheat Board Records, 1958-1970

Box	Folder
42	1	Quota circulars, 1958-1959.

Box	Folder
42	2	Press releases, 1958-1959.
	3	Country operations circulars, 1958-1959.
	4	Instructions to the trade, 1958-1959.
	5	Coarse grain circulars, 1958-1959.
	6	International Wheat agreement reports, 1958-1959.
	7	Mill circulars, 1958-1959.
	8	Quota circulars, 1965-1966.
	9	Shippers & exporters circulars, 1965-1966.
	10	Instructions to the trade, 1965-1966.
	11	International Wheat agreement shipments, 1965-1966.
	12	Country operations department correspondence, 1965-1966.
	13	Coarse grain circulars, 1965-1966.
	14	Crop report, 1969-1970.

Board of Grain Commissioners for Canada Records, 1949-1971

Box	Folder
43	1	Lecture series, 1949.
	2	Grain elevators reports, 1959-1960.
	3	Grain elevators reports, 1960-1961.
	4	Grain elevators reports, 1961-1962.
	5	Grain elevators reports, 1962-1963.
	6	Grain elevators reports, 1963-1964.
	7	Grain elevators reports, 1964-1965.
	8	Grain elevators reports, 1965-1966.
	9	Grain elevators reports, 1966-1967.
	10	Grain elevators reports & statistics, 1966-1971.
	11	Public tariff meeting, Winnipeg, 1970.

Canadian Agriculture Congress, 1969

Box	Folder
43	12	Reports, 1969.
	13	Reports, 1969.

Articles & Pamphlets, 1913-1973

Box	Folder
44	1	Flax dockages tables, 1913.
	2	"Smut Disease of Cultivated Plants their Cause & Control", H.T. Glascow & I. Conners, Canadian Department of Agriculture, 1929.
	3	Freight Rates on Grain, Dawson Richardson Publications, 1935.
	4	"Photographs & Drawings of Seeds", F.H. Hillman & Helen H. Henry, United States Department of Agriculture, 1935.
	5	"Ergot Disease of Rye & other Grasses", H.T. Gussow, Canadian Department of Agriculture, 1938.
	6	"The "Black Point" of "Kernel Smudge" Disese of Cereals", J.E. MaclacekF.J. Greaney, Canadian Journal of Research , 1938.
	7	"Rules for Seed Testing", Canadian Department of Agriculture, 1938-1946.
	8	"Economic Diseases of Field Crops in Manitoba", J.H. Craigie, Province of Manitoba, 1939.
	9	"Rootrots of Cereals", Canadian Department of Agriculture, 1940.
	10	"Stem Rusts of Cereals", J.H. Craigie, Canadian Department of Agriculture, 1940.
	11	"Botany for Seed Analysts", Canadian Department of Agriculture, [ca. 1940].
	12	Contributions to the "Handbook on SSe Testing", prepared by the Association of Official Seed Analysts, 1940-1942.
	13	"Illustrated Guide to Prairie Weeds", 1941.
	14	United States Department of Agriculture offprints, 1941-1944.
	15	"An Illustrated Guide to Prairie Weeds", K.W. Neatby, Line Elevators Farm Service, 1941.
	16	"New Varieties of Spring Wheat Resistant to Stem Rust in the Canadian West and their Genetical Background", K.W. Neatby, Empire Journal of Experimental Agriculture, 1942.
	17	"Seeds of Commericial Species of Brassica", Alan Musil, United States Department of Agriculture, 1942.
	18	"An Improved Method of Determining the Smut Spore Load of Cereal Seed," W.J. Cherewick, 1944.
	19	"Researches on Drought Resistance in Spring Wheat", J.E. Birdsall & K. Neatby, Canadian Journal of Research, 1944.
	20	"Field Crop Insects in the Prairie Provinces", Line Elevators Farm Service, 1945.
	21	Handbook of Canadian Spring Wheat Varieties, Canadian Department of Agriculture, 1946.
	22	Hand Book on the Sale and Handling of Grain, Board of Grain Commissioners of Canada, 1949 & 1973.

Box	Folder
45	1	"Growing Small Fruits in the Prairie Provinces", W.R. Leslie, Line Elevators Farm Service, 1950.
	2	"Weed Seeds", Canadian Department of Agriculture, [ca. 1940].
	3	Grain Value Table, 1954.
	4	"Field Crop Insects & their Control in the Prairie Provinces," A.V. Mitchner, Line Elevators Farm Service, 1956.
	5	"Twenty-five years' in Breeding New Varieties of Wheat for Canada", R.F. Peterson, 1958.
	6	"Stored Grain Pests & their Control in the Prairie Provinces", F.L. Watters, Line Elevators Farm Service, 1959.
	7	"Illustrations of Important Weeds in Natural Colours", North West Line Elevators, [ca. 1960].
	8	Yearbook of Manitoba Agriculture, 1967.
	9	"A Standardized Phenol Method for Testing Wheat Seed for Varietal Purity", William Walls, 1965.
	10	Grain Trade Year Book, 1952-1953.
	11	Canadian Marketing Problems , University of Toronto Press, 1939.
	12	Producers Grading Guide, Copyright Registration, 1941.
	13	Producers' Grading Guides, 1967-1969.
	14	Crop report acreages, 1945-1970.
	15	Crop report, 1969.

Miscellaneous Operational Records, 1930-1976

Box	Folder
46	1	National Business Conference correspondence, 1961.
	2	Transportation papers delivered at Sixth Annual Farm & Business Forum, Winnipeg, 1965.
	3	Manitoba Winter Fair, Brandon, 1966-1972.
	4	Wheat Symposium at the University of Manitoba, papers & correspondence, 1969-1970.
	5	Golden Grain Equipment, purchase & correspondence, 1935.
	6	Golden Grain Equipment syndicate voucher, 1935.
	7	Canada Grain Act, 1930.
	8	Price Waterhouse & Co. correspondence, 1931-1969.
	9	Graph: Distribution of germination samples, 1940-1948.
	10	Rail car allotment, report & correspondence, 1944.
	11	Services rendered by Line Elevators to Agriculture, 1946-1947.
	12	Line Elevators Farm Service newsletter, 1949-1963.
	13	Office of the Chief Grain Inspector, correspondence, 1955-1961.
	14	List of committee memberships, [ca. 1960].
	15	Scale inspection at the Lakehead, 1961-1962.
	16	Wilson C. Phillips, Consulting Engineer, correspondence, 1962.

Box	Folder
47	1	Grain Insurance Brokers correspondence, 1962-1976.
	2	Scale inspections correspondence, 1963-1969.
	3	Information forms for unloads at terminal elevators, 1965-1966.
	4	Reorganization of Line Elevators Farm Service, 1965-1966.
	5	Winnipeg Grain Exchange, constitution & by-laws, 1965-1966.
	6	Dominion Bureau of Statistics questionnaires, 1965-1966.
	7C	Employee G. Dunbar life insurance claim, [Restricted] 1967-1968.
	8	Seed testing laboratory office renovations, 1967.

Box	Folder
48	1	Schedule "A" price list for oats & wheat, 1968-1969.
	2	Report of the Candian Low-Erucic Acid rapeseed mission to Japan; France; Italy; Netherlands & United Kingdom, 1971.
	3	Winnipeg Grain Exchange correspondence, 1971-1972.
	4	Protein content in wheat correspondence & reports, 1971.
	5	Canadian Grain Marketing Review Committee, 1971.
	6	Speech by Otto Lang, Minister of Justice & Attorney-General of Canada at the Minneapolis Farm Forum, 1972.

List of Grain Elevators, 1931-1977

Box	Folder
48	7	1931-1936.
	8	1938-1948.

Box	Folder
49	1	1949-1953.
	2	1953-1957.
	3	1957-1963.

Box	Folder
50	1	1963-1968.
	2	1968-1969.
	3	1969-1970.
	4	1970-1971.
	5	1971-1972.
	6	1976-1977.

Charts Pertaining to Country & Terminal Elevator Operations, 1939-1970

Box	Folder
51	1	1939-1952.
	2	1939-1953.
	3	1939-1953, includes correspondence.
	4	1939-1954.
	5	1939-1955.
	6	1939-1955.
	7	1939-1955.
	8	1939-1956.
	9	1939-1956.
	10	1939-1957.
	11	1939-1958.
	12	1939-1959.
	13	1939-1959.
	14	1939-1960.
	15	1939-1960.
	16	1939-1960.
	17	1939-1961.
	18	1939-1961.
	19	1939-1962.
	20	1939-1963.
	21	1939-1963.
	22	1939-1964.
	23	1939-1964.
	24	1939-1965.
	25	1939-1965.
	26	1939-1966.
	27	1939-1966.
	28	1939-1966.
	29	1939-1967.
	30	1939-1967.
	31	1939-1968.
	32	1939-1969.
	33	1939-1970.
	34	1939-1970.
	35	1939-1970.
	36	1939-1970.

Return to Top

Map Collection (MC 17) 1963-1975

Map Cabinet #2

#1 - Map of potentially abandoned lines, 1963
#2 - Hinterlands of Prairie grain export terminals based on freight rate minimization, 1965
#3-12 - Plan of the Prairie network guaranteed until, 1975
#14 - Northbound grain rates per 100 lbs. based on C.N.R. to Churchill, 1965
#15 - Westbound grain rates per 100 lbs. based on C.N.R. to to Vancouver, New Westminster & Prince Rupert & C.P.R. to Vancouver & New Westminster, 1965
#16 - Eastbound grain rates per 100 lbs. based on C.N.R. to Armstrong, Ft. William & Port Arthur & C.P.R. & West Ft. William & C.P.R. to Ft. William, Port Arthur & West Ft. William, 1965
#17 - Heimbecker & Parrish, Free Germination Tests, poster, [ca. 1965]

Return to Top

Photograph Collection (PC 136) [ca. 1925]-[1969?]

Box	Folder
1	1	Seed Testing Laboratory Personnel #1 - Dr. F.J. Greaney, 1946-1967 #2 - Mr. E. Robertson, [ca. 1946] #3 - Dr. K.W. Neatby, Director Seed Testing Labratory, 1940-1946 #4-6 - Dr. Neatby's retirement party, 1946 #7 - Miss E. Nichol, 1941-1946 #8 - T.B. Pickersgill, 1940-1946

Box	Folder
1	1	Fairs, Auctions, & Field Days #9-10 - Brandon Fair display, 1947 #11 - Line elevators farm service vehicle, 1957 #12-16 - Country fair, 1957 #17-19 - 4H calves auction, Crystal City, Manitoba, 1958 #20-24 - Unidentified 4H auction, [ca. 1958] #25-27 - Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Mardi Gras, 1958 #28-30 - 4H calves auction, Souris, Manitoba, 1958 #31-32 - Yorkton, Saskatchewan fair, 1958 #33-34 - Blumenhof, Saskatchewan, field day, 1963

Box	Folder
1	1	Seed Testing Laboratory Shots #44-67 - Seed testing labratory, 1960 #68-74 - Dr. Greaney in laboratory, 1951 #75-76 - Seed shots, 1960 #77-90 - Seed shots, 1962 #91-96 - Seed shots, 1959

Box	Folder
1	1	Demonstration Plots #97-100 - Pathlow, Saskatchewan, 1963 #101-105 - Wilcox, Saskatchewan, 1963 #106 - Hail damage, Zealandia, Saskatchewan, 1963 #107 - Pelly, Saskatchewan, 1958 #108 - Carrot River, Saskatchewan, 1958

Box	Folder
1	1	Grain Elevators #109 - Pioneer Grain Elevator, Olds, Alberta, 1947 #110 - Line Elevators, Davidson, Saskatchewan, 1947

Box	Folder
1	1	Grain Equipment #111 - The Golden Grain Equipment Co., Sydneycarte, [ca.1925]

Box	Folder
1	2	Slides #1 - Blumenhof Field Day, 1963 #2-6 - Wilcox demonstration plot, 1963 #7-8 - Pathlow demonstration plot, 1963 #9 - Kronau, Saskatchewan demonstration plot, 1963 #10 - Zealandia hail damage, 1963 #11-13 - Seed shots, 1962

REEL TO REEL TAPE

(Stored in PC 136)

Grade "E" Efficiency, Ken Davey Productions, [1969?]

Return to Top