The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of Their Material at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
334 Elizabeth Dafoe Library University of Manitoba Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2
(June 2009)
Finding aid encoded by Tyyne Tymchyshyn (June 2009)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Administrative History of Oblates of Western Canada
Scope and Contents of the Records
Administrative History of Oblates of Western Canada
The Oblates of Western Canada have been in existence since 1844 in response to a request from Bishop Provencher, Vicar Apostolic of the Hudson's Bay and James Bay. The Oblates are congregations within the Roman Catholic Church serving as religious communities. The congregation of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate was founded in Aix-en-Provence, France in 1815 and arrived in Canada in 1841. Since then the Oblates spread across Western Canada establishing missions in the provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta. Their primary goal was to evangelize and introduce Christianity to Aboriginal Peoples. During the settlement period of Western Canada, the work of the Oblates expanded to include the establishment of schools, colleges, hospitals, and other social institutions.
Scope and Contents of the Records
The fonds consists of photocopies of rare manuscripts, dictionaries, grammars, vocabularies, and other studies dealing with several North American Aboriginal languages, including the following: Algonquin, Cree, Chipewyan, Saulteaux, Ojibwa, Assiniboine, Dakota, Siksika, and Blackfoot. Also included in the fonds are materials on Catherine Tegakouita (1656-1680) and on the Oblates of Mary Immaculate. The eleven rare books listed in the register have been catalogued independently.
There are no restrictions on this material.
There are no restrictions on this material.
The fonds was acquired from L'Archives Oblates in Edmonton, Alberta by University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 1981.
A printed finding aid is available in the Archives reading room.
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 |
"Lexique français-cris," Joseph Angin. 1950
|
| 2 | "Résumé de grammaire crise," Etienne Bernet-Rollande. 1938 | |
| 3 | "Dictionnaire cris-français," Léo Balter (1 of 7 Volumes). n.d. | |
| 4 | "Dictionnaire cris-français," Léo Balter (2 of 7 Volumes). n.d. | |
| 5 | "Dictionnaire cris-français," Léo Balter (3 of 7 Volumes). n.d. | |
| 2 | 1 |
"Dictionnaire cris-français," Léo Balter (4 of 7 Volumes). n.d.
|
| 2 | "Dictionnaire cris-français," Léo Balter (4 of 7 Volumes). n.d | |
| 3 | "Dictionnaire cris-français," Léo Balter (5 of 7 Volumes). n.d. | |
| 4 | "Dictionnaire cris-français," Léo Balter (5 of 7 Volumes). n.d. | |
| 3 | 1 |
"Dictionnaire cris-français," Léo Balter (6 of 7 Volumes). n.d.
|
| 2 | "Dictionnaire cris-français," Léo Balter (7 of 7 Volumes). n.d. | |
| 3 | "English-Cree Dictionary," Léo Balter. 1947-1948 | |
| 4 | "English-Cree Dictionary," Léo Balter. 1947-1948 | |
| 5 | "English-Cree Dictionary," Léo Balter. 1947-1948 | |
| 4 | 1 |
"English-Cree Dictionary," Léo Balter. 1947-1948
|
| 2 | "English-Cree Dictionary," Léo Balter. 1947-1948 | |
| 3 | "English-Cree Dictionary," Léo Balter. 1947-1948 | |
| 4 | "English-Cree Dictionary," Léo Balter. 1947-1948 | |
| 5 | "Grammaire crise," Léo Balter. n.d. | |
| 6 | "Notes sur la grammaire crise pour en simplifier l'étude," Léo Balter. n.d. | |
| 5 | 1 |
"Petit travail au sujet du relatif," Léo Balter. n.d.
|
| 2 | "Vie de Kateri Tekakwita," Jules Calais. 1944 | |
| 3 | "Lexique cris - pied-noir," Léon Doucet. 1921 | |
| 4 | "Vocabulaire cris-français," Léon Doucet. 1874 | |
| 5 | "Grammaire crise." n.d. | |
| 6 | "Grammaire crise." n.d. | |
| 7 | "Methode pour apprendre la langue crise," Harry E. Hives (translated from English by Jean Lessard). n.d. | |
| 6 | 1 |
"Dictionnaire cris et pied-noir," Albert Lacombe. 1883
|
| 2 | "Dictionnaire cris et pied-noir," Albert Lacombe. 1883 | |
| 3 | "Leçons de cris," Victor Le Calvez. 1964 | |
| 4 | "Algonquin idioms," Jules Le Chavallier. n.d | |
| 5 | "Dictionnaire cris - français - pied-noir," Emile Legal. 1883 | |
| 7 | 1 |
"Dictionnaire français - pied-noir," Emile Legal et al. 1937
|
| 2 | "Dictionnaire français - pied-noir," Emile Legal et al. 1937 | |
| 3 | "Dictionnaire français - pied-noir," Emile Legal et al. 1887-1888 | |
| 8 | 1 |
"Dictionnaire montagnais-français," Laurent Le Goff. n.d.
|
| 2 | "Dictionnaire montagnais-français," Laurent Le Goff. n.d. | |
| 3 | "Dictionnaire montagnais-français," Laurent Le Goff. n.d. | |
| 4 | "Dictionnaire montagnais-français," Laurent Le Goff. n.d. | |
| 5 | "Dictionnaire montagnais-français," Laurent Le Goff. n.d. | |
| 6 | "Leçons de Sauteaux," Jean Lessard. 1955 | |
| 7 | "Methode pour apprendre la langue saulteuse," Jean Lessard. 1958 | |
| 9 | 1 |
"Grammaire montagnaise," Jean M Penard. 1938
|
| 2 | "Dictionnaire déné-dinjie, comprenant les dialects montagnais, castor, montagnard, esclave, flanc-de-chien, peau-de-lievre & loucheux," Emile Petitot. 1866-1873 | |
| 3 | "Grammaire crise," Emile Petitot. 1860 | |
| 4 | "Raçines des verbes cris." n.d. | |
| 5 | "Raçines et conjugations des verbes cris." n.d. | |
| 6 | "Grammaire crise," René Remas. 1899 | |
| 7 | "Raçines crises," Constantine Scollen. 1872 | |
| 8 | "2e Lexique cris-français," Valentin Vegreville. n.d. | |
| 10 | 1 |
"Dictionnaire français-assiniboine," Valentin Vegreville (1 of 2 Volumes). 1875-1881
|
| 2 | "Dictionnaire français-assiniboine," Valentin Vegreville (2 of 2 Volumes). 1875-1881 | |
| 3 | "Dictionnaire français-montagnais," Valentin Vegreville. 1860 | |
| 4 | "Ebauche de grammaire crise," Valentin Vegreville. 1880 | |
| 11 | 1 |
"Grammaire crise - tableaux explicatifs," Valentin Vegreville. n.d.
|
| 2 | "Grammaire assiniboine ou jesga," Valentin Vegreville. 1875-1881 | |
| 3 | "Lexique assiniboine-français," Valentin Vegreville. 1881 | |
| 4 |
"Lexique montagnais-français," Valentin Vegreville. 1880
|
|
| 5 | "Monographie des Dakotas-Jesgas (i.e. des Sioux ou Assiniboines ou Stoneys)," Valentin Vegreville. 1880 | |
| 6 | "Monographie des indiens cris de l'ouest," Valentin Vegreville. n.d. | |
| 7 | "Petit dictionnaire français-cris," Valentin Vegreville. 1856-1872 | |
| 12 | 1 |
"Précis de grammaire montagnaise ou Déné," Valentin Vegreville. n.d.
|
| 2 | "Tableaux des verbes assiniboines-Jesga," Valentin Vegreville. n.d. | |
| 3 | "Vocabulaire français-cris," Valentin Vegreville. 1856-1872 |