Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Pan American Games Society (1967) fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 28, PC 112, TC 73 (A.79-58, A.85-42))

Pan American Games Society (1967) Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Dr. Richard E. Bennett
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1983)

Finding aid encoded by Leah Morton (June 2003)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 28, PC 112, TC 73 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnpeg MB R3T 2N2
 
Title:
Pan-American Games Society Fonds
 
Dates:
1963-1970
 
Quantity:
1.2 m of textual records (9 boxes). -- 13 film reels. -- 1 reel-to-reel audio tape.
 
Identification:
MSS 28, PC 112, TC 73
 
Language
English.

Return to Top


Administrative History of the Pan-American Games Society

The Pan American Games began in 1940. Twenty-one countries from the western hemisphere were called together by the Argentine Olympic Committee to discuss the establishment of the games. It was believed that the Pan American Games would provide amateur athletes added international competition betwee Pan-American Games Society n each Olympiad. Sixteen national olympic committees sent representatives to the meeting and it was decided that the games would be held every four years beginning in 1942. The games, however, were delayed for nine years, the first being held in Buenos Aries, Brazil in 1951. The 1955 games were held in Mexico City, the 1959 games in Chicago, the 1963 games at Sao Paulo, Brazil and the 1967 games, in Winnipeg, Manitoba. In 1967, 29 countries entered athletes in a program which included baseball, basketball, boxing, cycling, judo, rowing, fencing, shooting, soccer, football, water polo, weightlifting, wrestling, yachting, gymnastics, swimming, diving, tennis, and volleyball. Synchronized swimming and canoeing were included as "exhibition sports."

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Records

The 1967 Pan American Society collection contains a remarkably complete record of the administrative working papers of the Society from 1963 to 1970. These are primarily the legal, financial, and committee papers preparatory to the actual start of the Games in July 1967. It is an excellent administrative record of the minutes, correspondence, legal agreements and contracts respecting facilities, staffing, publicity, and funding for staging the Games. A very few post-games papers reflect on the Society and its eventual dissolution in 1970.

Not included here are records of the games themselves, i.e. the day-by-day chronicle and description of athletic performances. However, the motion pictures include two detailed commentaries on film of the Collection. Furthermore there is a valuable oral tape recording about the Games by Bob Picken.

Return to Top


Organization of the Records

These records are organized into 9 series

  • I. Preliminary Papers, 1963-1967
  • II. Organization Board, 1964-1967
  • III. Committee Papers, 1964-1967
  • IV. Financial Papers1964-1970
  • V. Legal Papers, 1965-1968
  • VI. Publicity/ Promotion Files
  • VII. Post-Games Files, 1967-1969
  • VIII. Resource Files
  • IX. Miscellany

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No part of the collection has been restricted from use.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

The collection is open to anyone willing to abide by departmental rules of use. Likewise, users are responsible for abiding by those provisions and regulations outlined in the Canada Copyright Act.

Return to Top


Index Terms

Subjects:

sports, organization of amateur sporting events including legal aspects, news coverage of the Games

Return to Top


Related Records

Those intent on acquiring more information on the Games should consult the Winnipeg Tribune collection on file in the Department and various administrative papers of the President and Vice-President (Administration) of the University of Manitoba.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Records

I. Preliminary Papers 1963-1967
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Nominations-Correspondence and some minutes
  2 Nominating Luncheon - Name lists, 1963
  3 General Files, Part 1 - Notes and Correspondence, 1963
  4 General Files, Part 2 Notes and Correspondence, 1964-1967
  5 General Files, Part 3, Notes and Correspondence, 1964-1967
  6 Administration - J. Daly's appointments, 1964-1966
  7 Countdown Progress Reports, 1965-1966

Return to Top


II. Organization Board, 1964-1967
 
Box Folder  
1 8 Terms of Reference
  9 Correspondence, 1965-1967
  10 Minutes of Monthly Meetings, 1964-1967
  11 Reports, 1966-1967

Return to Top


III. Committee Papers, 1964-1968
 
Box Folder  
2 1
National Executive Council - Minutes, 1964-1967​
  2 National Executive Committee - Correspondence, 1964-1967
  3 National Executive Committee - Requests to the Department of National Defence, 1965-1966
  4 National Executive Council - Responses from the Department of National Defence, 1966
  5 Facilities Board - Minutes, 1964-1967
  6 Facilities Board - Working Papers, 1965-1967
  7 Government Co-ordinating Committee - Minutes, 1965-1966
  8 Housing and Catering Committee - Terms; Correspondence, 1965-1966
  9 International Olympic Committee - Publication, 1968
  10 Management Committee - Minutes, 1964-1968
  11 Management Committee - Correspondence, 1966-1968
  12 Medical Services Committee - Notes, 1966- 1967
     
3 1
Pan-American Sports Organization - Notes, 1964-1967​
  2 People-to-People Sports Committee - Correspondence, 1966-1967
  3 Promotion Board - Advertising and Procedures
  4 Promotion Board - Broadcasting and Publicity, 1964-1967
  5 Promotion Board - Minutes, 1964-1967
  6 Promotion Board - Working Papers, 1964-1968
  7 Security and Policing Committee - Minutes, 1966-1967
  8 Sports Board - Minutes, 1964-1967
  9 Sports Committee - Working Papers I, 1965-1967
  10 Sports Committee - Working Papers II, 1967
     
4 1 Sports Committee - Progress Reports, 1966-1967
  2 Canadian Olympic Association - Minutes, 1966-1967

Return to Top


IV. Financial Papers, 1964-1970
 
Box Folder  
4 3
Finance Board - Minutes/Correspondence, 1964-1967​
  4 Financial Correspondence, 1964-1965
  5 Financial Correspondence, May 1967
  6 Assorted Budget Estimates
     
5 1 Finance Board - General notes, budgets, statements and correspondence, 1964-1968
  2 Swimming Pool - Financing correspondence, 1965-1967
  3 Swimming Pool - Architect's Fees - correspondence, 1966-1967
  4 Financial Recapitulation - Wind-up notes and correspondence, 1967-1970

Return to Top


V. Legal Papers, 1965-1968
 
Box Folder  
5 5
By-law and Incorporation Papers​
 
  6 Application for Incorporation
     
6 1 Alexander Park - Agreement
  2 Assiniboia Downs - Agreement
  3 Associated Planners Contract
  4 Balmoral High School - Agreement
  5 Canadian Aviation Electronics - Negotiations
  6 Canadian Broadcasting Corporation - Agreement
  7 Canadian Pacific Railway Co. - Agreement
  8 Carmen - Negotiations for Baseball
  9 Carpenter's Union - Negotiations
  10 Carpenter's Union - Donation
  11 Department of National Defence - Agreement
  12 Disposal of Equipment
  13 Film Distribution - Agreement
  14 Floodway - Negotiations at Use
  15 Food and Beverage Concessions - Understandings
  16 General Files, 1966-1967
  17 Highlander Investment Ltd., - Agreement
  18 Insurance Matters - Notes, Contracts and Policies
  19 Lount Construction Co. Ltd. - Agreement
     
7 1
L & F Distributors - Agreement​
  2 Maintenance of P.A. Equipment
  3 Omega Film Equipment
  4 "Pending File"
  5 ReidCrowther and Partners Ltd. (Engineering)
  6 St. James Civic Centre - Agreement
  7 Sales and Excise Tax Matters
  8 Sargent Park - Use of Facilities
  9 School Bus Leases - Agreement
  10 School for the Deaf - Agreement
  11 Society for Metropolitan Corp. of Greater Winnipeg
  12 Swimming Pool - Architect's Fees
  13 Swimming Pool - Various Agreements
  14 Ticket Sales
  15 Town of Winnipeg Beach
  16 T.V. and Radio Rights - USA - Notes
  17 University of Manitoba - Use of Facilities and Grand Stand Seats
  18 University of Manitoba - Construction of Temporary Grand Stands
  19 Univeristy of Manitoba - Construction of Track and Field Stadium
     
8 1 Use of Symbol - Agreement
  2 Winnipeg Auditorium - Agreement
  3 Winnipeg Enterprises - Agreements
  4 Winnipeg Enterprises - Agreements re: stadium
  5 Winnipeg Enterprises - Agreements re: velodrome construction
  6 Winnipeg Canoe Club - Agreements
  7 Winnipeg International Airport - Lease Agreement
  8 Winnipeg Pistol and Rifle Club - Agreement
  9 Winnipeg School Division - Use of Property Agreements
  10 Winnipeg Trap and Skeet Club - Agreement
  11 Winnipeg Winter Club
  12 Yachting (Betel Home Foundation) - Agreement

Return to Top


VI. Publicity/ Promotion Files, 1968
 
Box Folder  
9 1 Olympic Cup - Correspondence, 1968
  2 Plaque - Correspondence, 1968
  3 Press Releases
  4 Statistics

Return to Top


VII. Post-Games Files, 1967-1971
 
Box Folder  
9 5 Dissolution Papers - Notices and Declarations, 1970-1971
  6 Distribution of Official History - Fifth Pan-Am Games, Part 1, 1968-1970
  7 Distribution of Official History - Fifth Pan-Am Games, Part 2, 69-1970
  8 Letter of Thanks, 1967
  9 Medals for Volunteers - Correspondence, 1967
  10 "Paso" Revew Meeting, 1969

Return to Top


VIII. Resource Files
 
Box Folder  
9 11 Directories - Assorted
  12 Publications - Assorted

Return to Top


Miscellany
 
Box Folder  
9 13 Congress on Sports Medicine - Program
  14 Criticisms of the Pan-Am Games

Return to Top


PC 112 Pan-Am Games - Motion Picture Film Collection
 
Box Folder  
1  
"Pan American Games"

55', 16 mm full colour and sound. 2 reels (12 1/4" reels)

Produced by Canadian Indemnity. A "Nespix" Documentary of the opening and closing events associated with the games and highlights of the most notable performances.

  3
"The Moilers"

B/W 11:14 (7" reel)

Produced by the Royal Canadian Legion. A coaches' clinic for athletes all over Canada in preparation for the 1968 Olympic Games in Mexico. Not directly related to the Pan-Am Games.

  4
Pan-Am Fashion Show

Colour 1', 23" (2 3/4" reels)

Producer unknown. A short fashion display of tartan dress featured at the Pan-Am Games. Several other copies are duplicates.

     
2 2
"Pan-American Games"

2 reels (12 1/4" reels)

Sponsored by Air Canada. A CBC documentary of the Pan-Am Games with commentator Frank Willis and narrator Lloyd Robertson.

Contents: Reel #1

- Opening Ceremonies (Prince Philip)

- swimming

- 200 metre back stroke/high jump/ladies tennis

- equestrian/100 metres (ladies)/fencing/judo

- 200 metre free style (men)/800 metre free style (ladies)/ backstroke

Contents: Reel #2

- Elaine tanner/track/diving/rifle

- backstroke/gymnastics/judo/race walking

- 800 metres (men)/equestrian/400 metres (men)

- cycling/judo/marathon -26 mile/shotput

- pole vault/long jump/high hurdles/discus/shotput

- javelin/high jump/equestrian/closing

 

Return to Top


TC 73 Pan-American Games Tape Recording, 1967
  • "Pan-Am Reflection" 1967
  • "Pan-Am Reflection" by popular Winnipeg broadcaster Sam Picken. A retrospective and evaluation of the Pan-Am Games, 1967.

Return to Top