Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Don Parker fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 132 (A.95-57))

Don Parker Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Derek Persson
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(September 1998)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (October 2002)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 132 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Don Parker
 
Title:
Don Parker fonds
 
Dates:
[ca. 1980s-1989]
 
Quantity:
48 cm of textual records
 
Identification:
MSS 132
 
Language
English.

Return to Top


Biography of Don Parker

Don Parker was born in 1917 in Sanford, Manitoba, where he was raised by his parents, James and Rae Parker. After serving in the Royal Canadian Air Force from January 1940 to 1945, he became one-third partner in his father's Machine Agency and one-half owner of a farm near Sanford with his brother Douglas. He married Bernice in 1952, who had come in 1951 from the Carberry area to be assistant principal of Sanford High School. Don served on the Sanford-Ferndale History Committee and was instrumental in writing and in collecting historical information for the book Sanford-Ferndale, 1871-1987, a historical account of the area which was published in 1989. Don and Bernice had two daughters: Debra, who was born in 1957 and Heather, who was born in 1959 but who died soon after her birth.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

This fonds consists of short histories written and submitted by the families included in the aforementioned history, early drafts of various sections of the book, a publisher's draft of the book, and a binder of photostats of pictures and images to be published with the book.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 1 series

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on access to this fonds.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Users must abide by relevant copyright legislation.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Don and Bernice Parker on 29 November 1995 (A.95-57).

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

Don Parker fonds [ca. 1980s-1989]
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Submitted personal histories: Alcock - Cuddy
  2 Submitted personal histories: Dack - Hunt
  3 Submitted personal histories: Jaeger - Mauseth
  4 Submitted personal histories: McDole - Ogston
  5 Submitted personal histories: Parker - Rourke
  6 Submitted personal histories: Parker - Rourke
  7 Early drafts re: Education
     
2 1 History outline
  2
Early drafts re: Sports and Recreation
  3 Early drafts re: Sports and Recreation
  4 Early drafts re: Blythfield
  5 Early drafts re: hardships
  6 Early drafts re: Fairs
  7 Early drafts re: Agriculture
  8 Early drafts re: Farming/Agriculture
  9 Early drafts re: Farming/Agriculture
  10 Early drafts re: Churches
  11 Early drafts re: Churches
  12 Early drafts re: Churches
  13 Early drafts re: Education
  14 Early drafts re: Education
  15 Early drafts re: Ferndale Community
     
3 1
Early drafts re: Arts and Entertainment​
  2 Early drafts re: Arts and Entertainment
  3 Early drafts re: Businesses
  4 Early drafts re: Businesses
  5 Early drafts re: Businesses
  6 Early drafts re: Memories
  7 Early drafts re: Transportation
  8 Early drafts re: Transportation
  9 Early drafts re: Health Care
  10 Early drafts re: Health
  11 Early drafts re: Health
  12 Early drafts re: Municipality of MacDonald
  13 Early drafts re: War Years
  14 Early drafts re: War Years
     
4 1 Publisher’s Draft of History
  2 Publisher’s Draft of History
  3 History Book Photostats
  4 History Book Photostats
  5 History Book Photostats

 

Return to Top