Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Fred F. Parkinson fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 97, PC 94 (A.93-86))

Fred F. Parkinson Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Brett Lougheed
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
(September 12, 2003)

Finding aid encoded by Brett Lougheed (September 12, 2003)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 97, PC 94 (A.93-86) converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, 
Dafoe Library, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Fred F. Parkinson
 
Title:
Fred F. Parkinson fonds
 
Dates:
1911-1956
 
Quantity:
25 cm of textual records. -- 6 photographs
 
Identification:
MSS 97, PC 94 (A.93-86)
 
Language
English.

Return to Top


Biography of Fred F. Parkinson

Fred Freeman Parkinson was born in Roland, Manitoba in the early-1890s. Parkinson started Badger school at the age of seven before attending the Manitoba Agricultural College from 1911 to 1916. "Parkie", as he was known to his classmates, participated in track events, skating, snowshoeing, basketball, and football while attending M.A.C. He was also an avid baseball and lacrosse player while back home in Roland. Parkinson demonstrated his agricultural abilities through various competitions. While in college, Parkinson won a cup for stock judging and was awarded a cup for plowing in Roland. He spent the summer of 1915 as a chief mechanic at the Brandon Experimental Farm before graduating with his Bachelor of Science in Agriculture degree from the University of Manitoba in 1916. Following his graduation, Parkinson became an assistant in the Extension Section of the school. Parkinson later moved to Alberta where he became an agricultural engineer for the provincial Department of Agriculture while residing in Edmonton.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds consists of subject notes from 1911-1916, a list of M.A.C. graduates from 1908-1955, M.A.C. and Faculty of Agriculture publications, as well as mementos from the Agricultural Colleges' Golden Jubilee 1956, and the Diamond Jubilee of the Faculty of Agriculture in 1966. Photographs from Parkinson's time at the Manitoba Agricultural College dating 1911-1916 are included in the Photograph Collection.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into two series.

  • Education, 1911-1956
  • Photographs, 1911-1916

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on this material.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The material was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Mary M. Smith in 1993.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Education, 1911-1966
 
Box Folder  
1 1
Notebook - All Subjects, 1913-1914​
  2 Notebook - All Subjects, 1914-1915
  3 Notebook - All Subjects, 1915-1916
  4 Contents Between pp. 264-265 of 1915-1916 Notebook, 1915-1916
     
2 1
Notebook - Selected Subjects, 1911-1915​
  2 Notebook - Selected Subjects, 1912-1913
  3 Programme for 1911 Opening of M.A.C. & Receipt for Tuition, 1911
  4 List of M.A.C. Graduates, 1908-1955
  5 M.A.C. Gazette, 1916
  6 Managra, 1921
  7 The New Managra , April 1956
  8 Golden Jubilee Commemorative Booklet, 1956
  9 Newsclippings, re: 1956 M.A.C. Reunion, 1956
  10 Spotlight, 1966
  11 Correspondence, 1966
  12 Lyrics to "The New Varsity Song," 1934

Return to Top


Photograph Collection (PC 94), 1911-1916
 
Box Folder  
1 1 W.R. Leslie, 1916
  2 M.A.C. Student Body, 1911-1912
  3 Lowden Barn Plan Banquet, March 1914
  4 Manitoba Agricultural College, Class 1915-1916, December 1915
  5 Manitoba Agricultural College, 1912
  6 M.A.C. Senior Football Team - Intercollegiate Champions, 1915

 

Return to Top