Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Thomas E. Peterson fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 71 (A.91-37, A.91-46))

Thomas E. Peterson fonds

An Inventory of His Collection at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by 
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
([ca. 1991])

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (April 2003)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 71 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Thomas E. Peterson
 
Title:
Thomas E. Peterson Collection
 
Dates:
[ca. 1976-1991]
 
Quantity:
25 cm of textual records (2 boxes)
 
Identification:
MSS 71
 
Language
English.

Return to Top


Biography of Thomas E. Peterson

Thomas E. Peterson was appointed professor of political studies at the University of Manitoba in 1976.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The collection contains 30 unpublished research papers submitted to Professor Peterson by his leading students between 1976 and 1991 on the broad subject of Manitoba political studies. Topics addressed include the following: the Manitoba Development Corporation (1958-1974); business development; labour and the Provincial Government (1919-1991); pay equity legislation, its history and implementation; automobile insurance; history of the Legislative Assembly and Cabinet; low income housing and rent control; Manitoba Telephone System; Hydro; the welfare system; and farmland ownership.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 1 series

  • Political Studies Student Essays

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on this collection.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Donated by Prof. Peterson, 1991

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Political Studies Student Essays [ca. 1976-1991]

A selected collection of sixty unpublished research papers submitted to Prof. Thomas Peterson by his leading students between 1976 and 1991 on the broad subject of Manitoba Political Studies.

 
Box Folder  
1 1
Manitoba Development Corporation (1958-1974)

- 4 essays

  2
Manitoba Labour/Relationships with Government of Manitoba (1919-1991)

- 4 essays

  3 Pay Equity Legislation

- 3 essays

  4 Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation

- 3 essays

  5 Manitoba Legislative Assembly and Cabinet

- 2 essays

  6 Low Income Housing and Rent Controls

- 2 essays

  7 Other Topics (MTS; Hydro; Welfare; Farm Land; Class Voting)

- 5 essays

  8 Other Topics (Transfer Payments; Education; Family Law; Party Images; 1981 Provincial Election)

- 5 essays

  9 Provincial Elections

- 8 essays

     
2 1
Provincial Elections

- 8 essays

  2 Provincial Political Parties

- 5 essays

  3 Health Care in Manitoba

- 3 essays

  4 Provincial Electoral Districts

- 4 essays

  5 Manitoba's Native Community and Provincial Politics

- 2 essays

Return to Top