LibGuides: Arthur Phelps fonds: MSS 134 (A.97-45, A.97-75)

Arthur Leonard Phelps was born on December 1, 1887 in Columbus, Ontario. His Father Leonard was a Methodist minister, a calling that briefly attracted young Arthur. He graduated with a B.A from Victoria College, Toronto in 1913 before furthering his religious training. By 1915 he was an ordained minister and was married to the former Lila Irene Nicholls. He already possessed a literary and artistic flare publishing several poems, some illustrated and wildlife articles for the local Toronto newspaper and publications like The Christian Guardian and Canadian Courier .

A chance encounter during a speaking engagement led to Phelps being offered a teaching position with the English Department at Cornell College in Iowa in 1920. He was a popular staff member and was heavily involved with the campus English Club. The following year Phelps embarked on a twenty-five year tenure Wesley College at the University of Manitoba. He quickly rose to Department Chair developed a thriving English Club and still found time to act and direct with the local amateur theater troop the Contemporary Players.

Although a close friend of many leading literary figures like Frederick Phillip Grove, William Deacon and B.K Sandwell, Phelps published very little. He published two thin books of poetry Poems in 1921 and Bobcaygeon in 1922. In 1941 material from his C.B.C. radio broadcasts were published as This Canada and These United States . In 1951 he published the critically acclaimed Canadian Writers with McClelland and Stewart.

What Phelps lacked in a literary career, he more than made up for as one of Canada's pre-eminent broadcast journalists. In a career that spanned over forty years on the air as both a radio and television Phelps came to be regarded as the foremost cultural critic of the era . Beginning with a series of University on the Air debates produced locally in Winnipeg in the late 1920s, Phelps quickly moved over to the fledgling Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. In the early 1940's he hosted the Canadian Pattern expounding on the theory that Canada needed its own National Arts Board to stimulate the Country’s artistic community. For seven years he broadcast “Letter to Scotland” over the B.B.C. He wrote and delivered a monthly editorial comment for Trans Canada Matinee as well as serving as the host for the long running Sunday morning series the Neighborly News. This latter series played to huge listening audience in Quebec and Ontario with its tidbits of local news culled from the weekly newspapers and over ninety dedications to the elderly. Phelps was also something of a pioneer in television as well acting as a moderator on three shows during the 1960s: “It’s Debatable”, “Students Themselves” and “A Canadian Question Bee.”

In 1945 Phelps left United College, (formerly Wesley College) to become the General Supervisor of the International Service, a position he held for two years before returning to academia. From 1947-1953 Phelps was a professor of English at McGill University. It was during this time that A.S.P. Woodhouse proposed him for entry into the Royal Society as a Man of Letters. Subsequent academic postings followed well into his retirement. He was a Special Lecturer at U.B.C. in 1954-1955, a Special Lecturer at University of Toronto, 1956-1958 and taught Summer School at Queen’s in 1959.

The final series of the fond pertains to material sent to Phelps by other authors and poets for his opinion. The most prominent of which are the Grove manuscripts but there are also poems from E.J. Pratt, Watson Kirkconnell, Arthur Lower and Tom Saunders as well as lesser known individuals who sent submissions of their work along with their “Fan” letters praising Phelps radio series.

In 1965 Phelps’ wife Lila died. He re-married Margaret Duncan in 1968. Following his death in 1970, Arthur Lower a long time friend had this to say about Phelps in the Royal Society of Canada transactions: “To those who knew him personally, Arthur Phelps was a constant delight - and exasperation ! In the countless conversations of the years sparks invariably flew. Creative Sparks.”

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

The Arthur Phelps fond contains correspondence tracing the family history back to 1883 up until his death in 1970. While the vast majority of the letters pertain to his family and “fan” letters from the many C.B.C. shows that he broadcast, there are also some interesting correspondence from Canadian and international literary figures. Phelps was long a friend to and champion of the writings of Frederick Phillip Grove. There is considerable correspondence in Series one between the two men as well as several unpublished manuscripts, in Series five, sent to Phelps to read. He also has a lengthy correspondence with the poet E.J. Pratt including several poems and limited edition publications. There is in depth correspondence with Watson Kirkconnell. The fonds contains single letters from Margaret Mead, William Butler Yeats, John Masefield and letter about Phelps from Carl Sandberg.

The fonds is particularly strong in relation to Phelps’ broadcast career with scripts, series three, covering most his radio broadcasts and television series. Series three has a strong component of speeches given during his prolific career as a public speaker as well as several published and unpublished essays. There are scrapbooks containing copies of published and unpublished poetry dating back to 1905. Phelps course notes, series four, provide an interesting glimpse into what it would been like to take one of his English courses.

Series five consists of literary material sent to Phelps for opinion. The final series, consists of photocopies of newspaper articles about Phelps . Some biographical information about Ann Phelps Hamilton and her husband John David Hamilton.

The photo collection, PC 143 is not very elaborate but does include shots of Phelps during various stages of his academic career and some CBC publicity photos. The tape collection TC 91, while in need of restoration is an excellent cross section of Phelps radio and television shows.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 6 series.

1. CORRESPONDENCE 1883-1969
2. BROADCAST CAREER 1934-1969
3. LITERARY CAREER 1905-1969
4. ACADEMIC CAREER 1913-1967
5. OTHER AUTHORS’ WORKS 1921-1963
6. OVERSIZED MATERIALS 1920-1967

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions governing the fonds; however some material deemed sensitive has been marked confidential.

Return to Top

Custodial History

The Arthur Phelps fonds were purchased from Phelps’ granddaughters Meg and Kate Hamilton in 1997. Hugh Anson Cartwright, who brokered the Phelps Collection for the Hamilton sisters, donated two E.J. Pratt typescripts, A. 97-75 that had been given to Phelps by his friend Pratt. The Collection A. 97-45 arrived in 33 boxes (28.6 metres) and was in very poor condition from being stored under Phelps' home at Chaffey Locks, Ontario for twenty-five years. The boxes contained some water damage and mouse droppings. In the spring of 1998 Jeffrey Long produced a preliminary inventory of the Collection placing the material in acid free folders and attempting to cleanse some of the dirt and feces from the documents.

Return to Top

Other Finding Aids

Photograph Collection (PC 142)

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

1. CORRESPONDENCE 1883-1969

Biographical Information and Correspondence, 1883-1921

Biographical information

Box	Folder
1	1	Clippings and biographical information on Phelps’ grandparents and father, 1883-1907
	2	Letters to Phelps’ father from his family, 1900-1920
	3	Letters to Phelps’ mother, Bessie, [ca.1900]
	4	Testimonials, etc., re: Lila Nicholls (Mrs. Phelps) from employers, 1900-1913
	5	Letter from Robert Service to the National Arts Club editor in New York, 1910
	6	Correspondence, 1913-1923 (includes 4 letters from B.L. Sandwell)
	7	Correspondence, mostly pertaining to publishing, 1913-1923
	8	Letter booklet correspondence with wife, Lila, 1913
	9	Letter to Phelps from John Masefield
	10	Correspondence from William Butler Yeats, 1914
	11	Correspondence with and from wife, Lila, 1914-1915
	12	Family correspondence, 1915-1933
	13	Correspondence, 1917-1928 (includes letter from McClelland & Stewart re: Grove)
	14	E.J. Pratt correspondence and some annotated poems, 1918-1952
	15	Correspondence, etc., with W.H. Greaves, 1919-1928
	16	Personal correspondence contents of a black booklet, 1920-1922
	17	Bessie Phelps’ letter from a friend, 1921
	18	Letter about Phelps from Carl Sandburg, 1921
	19	Correspondence with Wesley College and Cornell re: employment, 1921-1923
	20	Land transfer documents re: Bobcaygeon, 1919-1950

Correspondence, 1922-1929

Box	Folder
2	1	Correspondence with Bill Deacon, 1922-1962
	2	Poetry/correspondence with Watson Kirkconnell, 1922-1969
	3	Correspondence with parents, 1922-1923
	4	Correspondence with William Lyon Phelps re: employment at Yale, 1922
	5	Correspondence, 1922 (includes letters from Skuli Johnson)
	6	Correspondence re: Grove, 1923-1925
	7	Phelps correspondence with his wife, 1923-1924
	8	Correspondence to Phelps and Mrs. Phelps for his mother, Bessie, 1923
	9	Correspondence, 1924-1927
	10	Mrs. Phelps’ letter re: daughter, 1924
	11	Correspondence, etc., with Lorne Pierce re: F.P. Grove, 1925-1928
	12	Letters from Phelps’ father, 1925-1930
	13	Correspondence, 1925
	14	Correspondence re: F.P. Grove, 1925-1969
	15	Correspondence mainly re: P.E.N. Club, 1926-1927
	16	Correspondence mainly with publishers re: college texts, 1926
	17	Correspondence, 1926-1932 (mainly academic)
	18	Correspondence with Ontario universities re: employment, 1926-1927
	19	English Conference with correspondence (includes F.P. Grove), 1927
	20	Correspondence re: insurance and rental of Winnipeg residence, 1927-1928
	21	Correspondence, 1928-30
	22	Canadian Authors’ Association Annual Meeting, 1929

Correspondence, 1930-1936

Box	Folder
3	1	Letter from Jack Pickersgill, [ca.1930]
	2	Letter and account book, 1930-1931
	3	Correspondence from England, from Mrs. Phelps and Phelps’ father, 1930-1932
	4	Phelps’ memorandum book, 1932
	5	Mrs. Phelps’ correspondence, 1932
	6	Correspondence from wife, Lila, 1932-1945
	7	Correspondence, 1932 (mostly re: sister Gwladys Phelps’ dismissal from job)
	8	Correspondence re: radio show, 1932-1934
	9	Ann Phelps’ letter to her father, 1933
	10	Correspondence re: summer cottage, 1933
	11	Correspondence re: Bobcaygeon, Ont., property, 1934-1946
	12	Correspondence from Phelps’ father, 1934
	13	Correspondence from Phelps’ father, 1935
	14	Correspondence and policy, Mutual Life Assurance Co., 1935-1936
	15	Correspondence with daughter, Ann, [ca.1935]
	16	Correspondence, sister and father, [ca. 1936]
	17	Correspondence from England, 1936
	18	Correspondence re: publishing articles, 1936-1938
	19	Correspondence, E.K. Brown, resignation from University of Manitoba, [ca. 1936]
	20	Letter to A.J.P. Woodhouse re: job at Victoria College, University of Toronto, 1935

Correspondence, 1937-1940

Box	Folder
4	1	Correspondence with BBC, 1937-1948 (includes letter from Guy Burgess)
	2	CBC correspondence, fan mail, 1937-1938
	3	Correspondence re: CBC shows, Poet and Minstrel’s Gallery, 1937-1938
	4	CBC correspondence, 1938-1939
	5	Correspondence for Phelps’ father, 1938
	6	CBC correspondence, 1938-1941
	7	Correspondence to Phelps re: Grove, 1938
	8	Phelps’ correspondence with sister, Gwladys, re: father’s death, 1938
	9	Correspondence re: father’s death, 1938
	10	Hubert Greaves’ letter re: death of wife, 1938
	11	Correspondence (mainly fan mail), 1938
	12	Notes/correspondence re: Teachers’ Convention, 1938
	13	Correspondence re: CBC’s “Canadian Types,” 1939
	14	Letter from Alberta Premier William Aberhart, 1939
	15	Correspondence (mainly CBC), 1939
	16	CBC correspondence (numbered letters), 1940
	17	CBC, father’s correspondence, 1940
	18	Undated letter and poetry from Florence Johnston, [ca. 1940]
	19	CBC’s “This Canada,” outline, etc., [ca. 1940]
	20	Correspondence with CBS and NBC re: Phelps’ trip to U.S., 1940
	21	Letter from sister, Gwladys, [ca. 1940]

Correspondence, 1941-1943

Box	Folder
5	1	Letters re: Ann Phelps in art school, 1941
	2	Correspondence from wife, 1941
	3	Correspondence re: book contract, etc., 1941
	4	Correspondence re: “This Canada,” including letters from E.K. Brown, 1941
	5	Correspondence, 1941
	6	Correspondence, United College, 1942
	7	Correspondence from Sinclair Ross, 1941
	8	Correspondence with Thomas Saunders, 1942-1943
	9	CBC correspondence, 1942
	10	CBC correspondence re: “The Canadian Pattern,” 1943
	11	CBC letters on broadcasts, “Between the Battles,” and “Canadian Pattern,” 1943
	12	Correspondence, 1943

Correspondence, 1944

Box	Folder
6	1	Correspondence from daughter and son-in-law, 1944-1945
	2	CBC International Service correspondence, 1944-1948
	3	Pocket Book of Canada correspondence and notes, 1944
	4	Correspondence with BBC, 1944-1945
	5	Correspondence, January-June 1944
	6	Correspondence, July-December 1944
	7	Phelps’ letter to his wife re: death of their dog, 1944
	8	Letter from Dorothy Livesay criticizing Phelps’ CBC programmes, 1944
	9	Letter from Merrill Dennison Re. Ann living in New York, 1944
	10	Correspondence re: life insurance, 1944

Correspondence, 1945-1951

Box	Folder
7	1	Correspondence, 1945
	2	CBC appointment letters, outgoing and incoming, 1945
	3	Correspondence with Harry Boyle, 1947
	4	Correspondence, mainly re: CBC, 1946-1947
	5	Correspondence, Queen’s and McGill Universities, 1947
	6	Correspondence from Lester Pearson, 1947
	7	Correspondence, 1948
	7A	Correspondence to CBC re: resignation, 1948
	8	Undated correspondence, Ann to husband, John Hamilton, [ca.1948]
	9	BBC Correspondence, 1949-1951
	10	Correspondence, CBC and Christmas greetings, 1949
	11	Correspondence, January-June 1950
	12	Correspondence, July-December 1950
	13	Correspondence re: publishing radio programmes, 1950, and draft of essay, Talk at the Microphone
	14	Correspondence between Phelps and Lester Pearson, 1950
	15	CBC letters re: broadcast talks, 1950-1954
	16	Correspondence re: Whitby, ON, property, 1951-1967
	17	Correspondence from daughter and son-in-law, 1951-1953
	18	Correspondence re: BBC broadcasts, 1951

Correspondence, 1951-1953

Box	Folder
8	1	Canadian Writers Series, CBC, 1951
	2	McClelland & Stewart correspondence, 1951-1952
	3	Correspondence, January-June 1951
	4	Correspondence, July-December 1951
	5	Phelps’ letters with McGill administration, 1951
	6	McGill dispute with administration, 1952
	7	Correspondence, 1952
	8	CBC correspondence, 1953
	9	Correspondence, 1953 (includes letters from Lester Pearson and Earle Birney)
	10	Correspondence, letter from Jack Ludwig, 1953

Correspondence, 1954-1958

Box	Folder
9	1	UBC appointment correspondence, etc., 1954
	2	Assorted correspondence, including letter from Lester Pearson, 1954
	3	Letters from Lester Pearson, 1955-1957
	4	Correspondence, son-in-law John Hamilton, 1955-1956
	5	Correspondence, primarily CBC, 1955
	6	Correspondence, 1956
	7	Correspondence, etc., Canada Club, 1957-1959
	8	Correspondence re: “Trans Canada Matinee,” 1957
	9	CBC correspondence, 1957-1958
	10	Correspondence, 1957
	11	Correspondence, 1958
	12	Open letter to the Honorable Sidney Smith, [ca. 1958]
	13	Correspondence, “Neighbourly News,” 1958

Correspondence, 1959-1960

Box	Folder
10	1	Correspondence with Lester Pearson and Robertson Davies, 1959
	2	Correspondence, address to Canadian Club, 1959
	3	Phelps letter to editor of New York Times, 1959
	4	Letter to editor of Ottawa Citizen re: Soviet Union, 1959
	5	Canadian Club business: correspondence, itinerary for lectures, 1959-1960
	6	Correspondence with lawyer re: Whitby residence sale, 1959
	7	Correspondence re: Chaffeys Lock Station, 1959
	8	Viewer comments on “Neighbourly News,” 1959
	9	Correspondence, January-June 1959
	10	Correspondence, July-December 1959
	11	“It’s Debatable” editorials, with correspondence and newsclippings, 1960-1961
	12	Correspondence with publishers, 1960-1961
	13	Correspondence, etc., re: Mrs. Phelps’ health, 1960
	14	Correspondence of daughter, Ann, and son-in-law, John, 1960
	15	Correspondence, January-June 1960

Correspondence, 1960-1961

Box	Folder
11	1	Correspondence, July-December 1960
	2	Copies of outgoing correspondence, 1961-1962
	3	Outgoing correspondence, 1961 (many pertain to Mrs. Phelps’ health)
	4	“Canadian Question Bee” correspondence, 1961-1964
	5	Outgoing correspondence to daughter, Ann, 1961
	6	“Canadian Club” correspondence, 1961-1967
	7	“Canadian Question Bee,” CKWS-TV, 1961
	8	Correspondence and draft re: history of Canada
	9	Correspondence re: Canadian Club speaking tours, 1961-1966

Correspondence, 1961-1962

Box	Folder
12	1	Correspondence, January-April 1961
	2	Correspondence, May-August 1961
	3	Correspondence, September-December 1961
	4	“Students Themselves”: correspondence, status sheets, agenda, 1962-1963
	5	“Students Themselves”: status sheets, newspaper clippings, questions, correspondence, 1962-1963

Correspondence , 1962

Box	Folder
13	1	Correspondence re: “Question Bee,” 1962
	2	Correspondence re: “Trans Canada Matinee,” 1962
	3	Letters from and lecture by Margaret Mead, 1962
	4	Copies of outgoing correspondence, 1962-1963
	5	“It’s Debatable”: notes, newspaper clippings, correspondence, etc., 1962
	6	Correspondence, January-April 1962
	7	Correspondence, May-August 1962
	8	Correspondence, September-December 1962
	9	Correspondence re: “Encyclopedia Americana,” 1962-1964

Correspondence, 1963-1964

Box	Folder
14	1	Nuclear arms correspondence, 1963 (includes letters from Scott Young, John Diefenbacker, Lester Pearson and Stanley Knowles)
	2	Outgoing correspondence, 1963-1964
	3	Correspondence, January-April 1963 (includes letter from Diefenbaker)
	4	Correspondence, May-August 1963
	5	Correspondence, September-December 1963
	6	“Over 90's” portion, February 1964-July 18,1965

Correspondence, 1964

Box	Folder
15	1	Correspondence re: begging a Peugeot, 1964
	2	“Aspirin Letters,” 1964
	3	“Radio Projects”: correspondence, etc., 1964
	4	Copies of outgoing correspondence, 1964-1966
	5	Correspondence, January-February 1964
	6	Correspondence, March-April 1964
	7	Correspondence, May-June 1964
	8	Correspondence, July-August 1964
	9	Correspondence, September-October 1964
	10	Correspondence, November-December 1964 (includes letters from Patrick Watson)

Correspondence, 1965

Box	Folder
16	1	Correspondence re: “Voice of Women,” 1965
	2	Correspondence from sister, Gwladys, [ca.1965-1966]
	3	Correspondence, January 1965
	4	Correspondence, February 1965
	5	Correspondence, March-April 1965
	6	Correspondence, May-June 1965
	7	Correspondence, July-August 1965
	8	Correspondence, September-October 1965
	9	Correspondence, November-December 1965

Correspondence, 1965-1966

Box	Folder
17	1	Copies of outgoing correspondence, 1965-1966
	2	Kingston “Centennial Committee”: correspondence and minutes, 1965-1967
	3	Kingston “Centennial Committee”: correspondence and minutes, 1966-1967
	4	Queen’s University Faculty Club correspondence, receipts, 1966-1967
	5	Copies of Phelps’ outgoing correspondence, 1966-1968

Correspondence, 1966-1969

Box	Folder
18	1	Correspondence, January-March 1966
	2	Correspondence, April-June 1966
	3	Correspondence, July-September 1966
	4	Correspondence, October-December 1966
	5	Correspondence from Lester Pearson, 1966
	6	CTV-CJOH Ottawa “Crossfire Series”: correspondence and notes, 1967-1968
	7	Correspondence re: United College honour roll, 1967
	8	Correspondence, January-March 1967
	9	Correspondence, April-June 1967
	10	Correspondence, July-September 1967
	11	Correspondence, October-December 1967
	12	Correspondence from Lester Pearson, 1967-1968
	13	Outgoing correspondence and personal musings, 1967
	14	CTV correspondence and notes re: “Crossfire,” 1967-1968
	15	Correspondence, 1968
	16	Correspondence and copies of reviews on Grove books by Spettigue and Sutherland, 1969
	17	Outgoing correspondence, 1969
	18	Correspondence, 1969
	19	Letter from Arthur Lower, 1969

Return to Top

2. BROADCAST CAREER 1934-1969

Broadcast Scripts, 1934-1938

Box	Folder
19	1	“Shakespeare In Our Day,” CKY, 1934
	2	Booklet for draft talks, BBC Radio, 1936-1937
	3	C.K. Chesterton’s autobiography, CJRC, 1937
	4	“Poetry and Privacy,” CBC, 1937
	5	“Literary Excursions,” CBC, 1937
	6	“Poet’s Gallery,” 1937-1938
	7	CBC radio scripts drafts, 1937-1938
	8	CBC broadcast scripts, 1937-1938
	9	“Minstrel’s Gallery,” 1938
	10	“Poet’s Gallery,” 1938
	11	“Poetry and the Public” and “Modern Poetry vs. Theology,” 1938
	12	“Americanisms,” CJRC, 1938
	13	“Some Aspects of Americanism,” CJRC, 1938
	14	The National Forum, “Is There a Canadian Type?”, CBC, 1938
	15	Phelps’ series ideas for CBC and BBC, 1938
	16	“Sixty-five Years Back : a Retrospective and a Comparison,” written by Rev. Leonard Phelps, 1938
	17	“Shakespeare and the Poetic Drama,” CBC, 1938

Broadcasts and Scripts, 1939-1940

Box	Folder
20	1	“Drama and Canada,” scripts and notes, CBC, 1939
	2	“How Should Poetry Be Read?,” CBC essay, 1939
	3	“Beauty and Poetry,” CBC, 1939
	4	CBC scripts and notes, 1939-1946
	5	“Literature and the Public,” CBC, 1939
	6	“Milton for Moderns,” CBC, 1939
	7	“Death of a Poet : Willam Butler Yeats,” CBC, 1939
	8	“Drama in Canada,” CBC, 1939
	9	“These United States,” CBC and Mutual, scripts and correspondence, 1940-1941
	10	Radio broadcasts, CKY and CBC, 1940-1941
	11	“Our Canadian Heritage,” booklet by Phelps et al., CBC, 1940
	12	“University Series,” CKY, 1940
	13	“Appraising Canadian Art,” CKY, 1940
	14	Radio script, CJRC, 1940

Broadcast Scripts , 1940-1943

Box	Folder
21	1	CBC programmes, schedules, 1940
	2	“Hardy Centenary,” CBC, 1940
	3	Phelps’ ideas for series and praise for “This Canada” series, CBC, 1940
	4	“Poetry and War,” and “Poetry and Freedom,” CBC, 1941
	5	“All Our Yesterdays,” scripts 1-5, CBC, 1941
	6	University on the Air, “Disease and Diagnosis in Literature,” CJRC, 1941
	7	“Searchlight on Canada,” CJRC, 1941-1942
	8	“Art and Us,” draft scripts, [ca. 1941]
	9	University on the Air, “Challenge to Poets,” CJRC, 1942
	10	College to Community, CJRC, 1942-1943
	11	“Canadian Pattern,” scripts 1-6, CBC, 1943
	12	“Canadian Pattern,” scripts 7-12, CBC, 1943

Broadcast Scripts, 1943

Box	Folder
22	1	“Canadian Pattern,” notes and scripts 14-20, CBC, 1943
	2	“Canadian Pattern,” notes and scripts 21-27, CBC, 1943
	3	“Canada Now” and “Behind the Battles,” CBC, 1943
	4	“Cities Series : New York,” CKY, 1943
	5	“Canadian Calendar,” CBC, 1943
	6	“Science, Ruin or Rescue,” CJRC, 1943

Broadcast Scripts, 1944-1946

Box	Folder
23	1	Background for Canada’s Conscription Issue Flare-up, BBC, 1944
	2	“Homo the Sap,” review by Phelps, 1944
	3	“Canadian Pattern” script notes, CBC, 1944
	4	“Canadian Pattern,” CBC, 1944
	5	International Service News releases, CBC, 1945-1950
	6	“Canada Now and Tomorrow,” CBC, 1945
	7	Interview with Phelps, CBC, 1945
	8	Proposed show topics, CBC, [ca. 1945]
	9	CBC schedules, article by Phelps, 1946-1947
	10	“Radio and National Consciousness,” CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1946

Broadcast Scripts, 1946-1948

Box	Folder
24	1	“Letter to Scotland,” 1946-1948
	2	Christmas greeting, CBC, 1947
	3	“Good Listening,” CBC, 1947
	4	“Scottish Newsletter,” BBC, 1947
	5	Commentary, CBKS, 1948
	6	“Canadian People,” CBC, 1948
	7	“Commonwealth Empire,” script and notes, BBC, 1948
	8	“Canada to Caribbean,” 1948
	9	“From Where I Sit” and “Talks to the Caribbean,” CBC, 1948
	10	“Books and Things,” CBC, 1948

Broadcast Scripts, 1948-1950

Box	Folder
25	1	“Shakespeare the Poet,” CBC, 1948
	2	“Letter to Scotland,” draft scripts, 1949
	3	“Christmas This Year,” CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1949
	4	“Two Books,” CBC, 1949
	5	After-News Comments, CBC, 1949
	6	“Is World Government Possible in the Near Future?” CBC address, 1949
	7	Radio talk, CBM, McGill University broadcast 1949
	8	“This is Canada,” notes and scripts, CBC, 1949
	9	“The Two Islands,” CBC, 1950
	10	“The Two Islands,” CBC, 1949-1950
	11	Phelps interviewed by John Fisher over CBC, [ca. 1950]

Broadcast Scripts, 1950-1951

Box	Folder
26	1	Various ideas for shows, [ ca. 1950]
	2	Various testimonials re: Phelps broadcasts, [1950s]
	3	“Whitman,” BBC, [ca. 1950]
	4	“Christmas Salvage,” CBC, 1950
	5	“Letters to Scotland,” BBC, 1950
	6	“Literature and Society,” essay, 1950
	7	“Why I Like the Old-Fashioned Watch,” [ca. 1950]
	8	“Christmas 1950,” CBC
	9	“New Year’s Resolutions,” CBC, 1951
	10	English 100, Canadian writers, notes/biographies, 1951
	11	English 100, Canadian writers, notes/biographies, 1951
	12	“Autumn programme,” CBC, 1951
	13	“Letter to Scotland,” BBC, 1951

Broadcast Scripts, 1951-1954

Box	Folder
27	1	“The Season’s Greetings from Canada,” CBC, 1951
	2	“Labour Day - Canada,” CBC, 1951
	3	“Letter to Scotland,” CBC/BBC, 1952
	4	Couchiching Conference, CBC, 1953
	5	“Ways of Life in Canada,” BBC, 1953
	6	“Critically Speaking,” CBC, 1953
	7	Trans-Canada Matinee, CBC, 1953-1954
	8	“Horse and Buggy Days,” CBC, 1953
	9	Ontario School Broadcasts, 1954
	10	“Books Alive” and “Alice in Wonderland,” 1954

Broadcast Scripts, 1954-1958

Box	Folder
28	1	CBC Matinee script on Canadian literature, 1954
	2	Notes for series from Vancouver, 1954
	3	“The English Teacher in University and School,” CBC, [ca. 1955]
	4	“Matinee Talks,” CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1955
	5	“Challenge to Women,” CBC, 1955
	6	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1955
	7	CBC Radio Talks, 1955-1957
	8	Notes for CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1956-1959
	9	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1956
	10	CBC Matinee, 1957-1959
	11	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1957
	12	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1957
	13	“Regarding Ned Pratt,” CBC, 1958

Broadcast Scripts, 1958-1959

Box	Folder
29	1	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1958
	2	“Neighbourly News,” 1958
	3	“Neighbourly News,” 1958-1959
	4	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1959 (Phelps reading his poetry)
	5	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1959
	6	“Small Town Christmas,” CBC, 1959
	7	“Neighbourly News” and “Salute to Cayuga,” CBC, 1959

Broadcast Scripts, 1959-1960

Box	Folder
30	1	“Neighbourly News,” 1959
	2	“Neighbourly News,” 1959
	3	“Neighbourly News,” 1960
	4	“It’s Debatable” planning notes and techniques, 1960
	5	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1960-1963

Broadcast Scripts, 1960

Box	Folder
31	1	“Neighbourly News,” CBC, 1960
	2	“Neighbourly News,” CBC, 1960
	3	“Neighbourly News” and “Over 90's,” CBC, 1960
	4	“Neighbourly News” draft scripts and correspondence, 1960-1961
	5	“Neighbourly News,” CBC, 1960
	6	“Canadian Question Bee” newsclippings, correspondence, notes and questions, 1960-1961
	7	“Canadian Question Bee,” 1960-1961
	8	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1960-1961

Broadcast Scripts, 1960-1961

Box	Folder
32	1	Miscellaneous notes re: television shows, [ca. 1960]
	2	“Critically Speaking” review of J.B. Priestley’s Literature and Western Man , CBC, 1960
	3	“Critically Speaking,” CBC, 1960
	4	“Country Fall Fairs,” script and notes, CBC, 1960
	5	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1960
	6	CKWS planning to televise Learneds, 1960
	7	“Neighbourly News,” CBC, 1961
	8	“Neighbourly News,” CBC, 1961
	9	“It’s Debatable,” CBC, 1960-1965

Broadcast Scripts, 1961-1962

Box	Folder
33	1	“It’s Debatable” notes, 1961, pt. 1
	2	“It’s Debatable” notes, 1961-1967
	3	“It’s Debatable” notes, 1962, pt. 1
	4	“It’s Debatable” notes, 1961, pt. 2
	5	“It’s Debatable” notes, 1962, pt. 2

Broadcast Scripts, 1961-1962

Box	Folder
34	1	“Canadian Question Bee,” 1961
	2	CKWS-TV submission to Board of Governors, 1961
	3	Broadcasting and suggested programmes like “Books Alive,” 1961
	4	Miscellaneous notes on education in chemistry and biology in Canada, CBC Radio, 1961
	5	Re: “Neighbourly News,” 1961-1962
	6	“Neighbourly News,” CBC, 1961
	7	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1961-1965
	8	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1962
	9	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, “This Cigarette Business,” 1962
	10	News readers test, 1962
	11	Federal election scripts, 1962

Broadcast Scripts, 1962

Box	Folder
35	1	“Canadian Question Bee,” 1962
	2	“Neighbourly News,” 1962
	3	“Neighbourly News,” 1962

Broadcast Scripts, 1963

Box	Folder
36	1	“Neighbourly News,” 1963
	2	“Neighbourly News,” 1963
	3	“Students Themselves,” 1963-1965
	4	“Students Themselves” and “Canadian Question Bee,” 1963-1965
	5	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1963
	6	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee and “Neighbourly News,” notes, etc., 1963
	7	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee: “Sir John A.,” 1963
	8	“It’s Debatable,” notes and brochure, 1963
	9	“It’s Debatable,” notes, 1963 7

Broadcast Scripts, 1964

Box	Folder
37	1	“Charming Inconsequence - Observer Talk!” 1964
	2	Miscellaneous script notes, [ca. 1964-1965]
	3	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1964-1967
	4	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, scripts and letters, 1964-1965
	5	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1964-1965
	6	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, 1964-1965

Broadcast Scripts, 1964

Box	Folder
38	1	“It’s Debatable,” 1964, pt. 1
	2	“It’s Debatable,” 1964, pt. 2
	3	“Neighbourly News,” 1964-1965
	4	“Neighbourly News,” 1964

Broadcast Scripts, 1965

Box	Folder
39	1	“It’s Debatable,” notes, 1965
	2	“Neighbourly News,” 1965
	3	“Neighbourly News,” 1965
	4	CBC-TV Summer Series notes, Wednesday Talks, 1965
	5	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee: “Christmas Down on the Farm,” 1965
	6	“Sap’s Runnin’,” C.B.C. 1965
	7	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee: “Why I Like Farm Products,” 1965

Broadcast Scripts , 1965-1966

Box	Folder
40	1	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee: “Dilution at Stratford,” [ca. 1965]
	2	“The Fowler Report,” 1965
	3	Broadcast re: “The Fowler Report,” 1965
	4	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee: “Quebec,” 1965
	5	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee: “The Uncle Sam Letter,” 1965
	6	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee, notes and scripts, 1965
	7	“Students Themselves,” charts, CKWS, 1965
	8	“Students Themselves,” status sheets, newsclippings, 1966
	9	“Students Themselves,” status sheets, newsclippings, 1966
	10	“A Valentine for `66,” 1966
	11	“I Suppose This is a Christmas Piece,” 1966

Broadcast Scripts , 1966-1967

Box	Folder
41	1	“Neighbourly News,” 1966
	2	“Neighbourly News,” 1966-1967
	3	“Neighbourly News,” 1967
	4	“Neighbourly News,” topics, 1967
	5	“Students Themselves,” 1967

Broadcast Scripts, 1967-1969

Box	Folder
42	1	“It’s Debatable,” notes, 1967
	2	“It’s Debatable,” notes and correspondence, 1967-1968
	3	“It’s Debatable” and “Students Themselves,” newsclippings, 1968-1969
	4	“Students Themselves,” newsclippings and status sheets, 1968
	5	“Reach for the Top,” CBC, 1968
	6	“It’s Debatable,” moon landing, 1969

Broadcast Scripts, 1938-1963

Box	Folder
43	1	“The Poet’s Gallery,” 1938
	2	“The Minstrel’s Gallery,” CBC, 1938
	3	“Canadian Pattern,” “Behind the Battles” and “Commentaries,” CBC, 1943-1954
	4	“Letters to Scotland,” 1946-1948
	5	“Radio and Culture,” address before Royal Canadian Institute of Science, 1946
	6	“Radio as a Phenomenon of Our Time,” address, [ca. 1947]
	7	National Film Board script, “University Education,” 1951
	8	“The Attack on Civil Liberties,” Couchiching Conference, 1953
	9	“Neighbourly News” salutes to various towns, 1953-1958
	10	Ontario school broadcasts, 1954
	11	“Neighbourly News,” 1955
	12	CBC Trans-Canada Matinee and “Neighbourly News,” 1958-1964
	13	Copies of CBC Trans-Canada Matinee scripts, 1960-1963 [legal size]

Return to Top

3. LITERARY CAREER 1905-1969

Poetry, 1905-1913

Box	Folder
44	1	Scrapbook, writings and poems, 1905-1921
	2	Published articles and poetry scrapbook, 1907-1913
	3	Published poems, 1907-1918
	4	Poetry, 1913-1914

Poetry, 1913-1916

Box	Folder
45	1	Scrapbook of poetry, 1913-1917
	2	Assorted notes and poetry, 1913-1914
	3	Assorted poetry, 1913-1922
	4	Poetry, mostly published, 1914-1934
	5	Scrapbook of assorted poetry, 1914-1915
	6	Poems, 1915-1918
	7	Poetry, 1915-1923
	8	Essay: The Conception of Jesus Christ in the Gospels, [ca. 1915]
	9	Scrapbook of poetry, 1916-1919

Poetry and Essays, 1916-1919

Box	Folder
46	1	Essay: The Service of Poetry, 1916
	2	Assorted Poetry, 1916-1919
	3	Canadian Poetry and Citizenship Address: to Training School for Christian Workers, [ca. 1917]
	4	The Rebel - Phelps poem, includes “Canadian Winds”, 1917
	5	“The Poetry of Today”, published in Transactions of the Royal Society of Canada, 1917
	6	Essay, “Rupert Brooke, Poet”, [ca. 1918]
	7	Essay, “In Berouga Berouga”, 1919
	8	The Challenge of Our Ideals, The Christian Guardian , 1919
	9	Notebook, Poetry, Pamphlets, 1919-1921

Poetry and Reviews , 1919-1922

Box	Folder
47	1	Essay: Modern Poetry, 1919
	2	Notebook: Poems Here and There, 1920-1965
	3	Poetry, 1920-1935
	4	Scrapbook listing Phelps’ published poems, 1920
	5	Scrapbook on Methodist Church National Campaign, 1920
	6	“The Worst Cure,” Canadian Bookman , 1920
	7	Review of “Moonlight and Common Day,” by Louise Morey Bowman, 1921
	8	Poems published by the English Club of Cornell, 1921
	9	Address to Wesley Graduating Class, 1922
	10	Address to Women’s University Club, 1922
	11	Poetry, [ca. 1922-1925]
	12	Essay: “The Intrusion of Standards,” 1922
	13	Address on poetry to Canadian Book Week, 1922
	14	Essay: “Contemporary Poetry,” [ca. 1922]

Poetry and Essays, 1922-1930

Box	Folder
48	1	A Bobcaygeon chapbook, 1922
	2	Poetry by Phelps, [ca. 1923]
	3	Phelps’ contract and correspondence to produce a manuscript on Robert Service, 1923-1927
	4	Scrapbook, reviews and clippings, 1923-1925
	5	Address: “Modern Poetry as Theology,” to Victoria College, 1923
	6	Drafts of poems, 1923
	7	Review of W.B. Yeats’ Reveries Over Childhood , [ca. 1922]
	8	“An Approach to Contemporary Poetry,” from the Canadian Journal of Religious Thought , [ca. 1925]
	9	“Sacraments of the Bishops,” [ca. 1925]
	10	“The Message of Literature,” address to the graduating class, 1925
	11	The Bill , vol.1, no.2 (November 1928) and vol.4, no.4 (March 1932), include articles by Phelps (two copies of each issue)
	12	Unpublished essays, 1928-1948
	13	Address: “Literature as Life,” to Keewatin Canadian Club, 1928
	14	Untitled address to Social Credit Movement at Jasper, 1929
	15	Correspondence with Lorne Pierce, draft of Hamlet thesis, 1929
	16	Address: “The State of Poetry,” to Canadian Club of Calgary, 1929
	17	Miscellaneous poetry, 1930-1950

Poetry, Essays and Play Scripts , 1930-1937

Box	Folder
49	1	Essay: “Winnipeg Peace Conference,” 1930
	2	Play: “A Woman’s Heart,” Canadian Magazine , [ca. 1930]
	3	Essay: “The Abominable Canadian,” Leonard Hungerford, [ca. 1930]
	4	Reviews: Othello, Lear and the Exhibition of the Manitoba Artists’ Society, [ca. 1930]
	5	Essay: “Building a Fireplace,” [ca. 1930]
	6	Address: “Shaw and d’Albie,” Phelps introduces Julius d’Albie’s reading from Shaw’s The Apple Cart , [ca. 1930]
	7	“Canada and Poetry,” [ca. 1930]
	8	Address to a graduating class, [ca. 1930]
	9	Assorted poetry, [ca. 1930's]
	10	Address: “The Trouble with Canadians,” [ca. 1930]
	11	Address: “Tendencies in Canadian Poetry,” [ca. 1930]
	12	“Little English Alice,” poem by Leonard Hungerford, [ca. 1930]
	13	Small diaries: address, account and bird-watching books, 1931
	14	“An Address to a Graduating Class,” 1931 and 1935 (multiple copies)
	15	“Harvest Home,” 1932
	16	Kipling and Hardy address, [ca. 1932]
	17	Essay: “The English Footpath,” [ca. 1935]
	18	Speech: “England,” 1935
	19	Address: “Canada and England,” 1935
	20	Notebook of writings, 1935-1936
	21	Short story: “Hit and Run Home,” 1935
	22	“Bodies in Spain,” submitted to Saturday Night , Christmas 1936
	23	Play: “Where Youth and Laughter Go,” [ca. 1937]
	24	Play: “Pot-pourri,” [ca. 1937]
	25	Essay: “The Poets,” (Walt Whitman and others), 1937

Poetry, Essays and Short Stories, 1937-1940

Box	Folder
50	1	Short story: “Summer Cottage,” by Leonard Hungerford, published in Saturday Night , 1937
	2	Phelps’ journal, England, 1937
	3	Play: “1960, a Funny Fantasy,” 1937
	4	Play: “Forced Landings,” written with H. McIntosh, 1938
	5	Two issues of Canadian Literature Today containing “Drama,” 1938
	6	Three copies of “Canadian Drama,” reprinted from University of Toronto Quarterly , vol. 9, no. 1, October 1939
	7	Notes, 1939
	8	“Some Notions About Poetry” and “Why Burn the Books,” notes, 1939
	9	“These United States,” article and correspondence, CBC programme schedule, 1940
	10	Poetry, 1940
	11	Notes for “Forum,” 1940
	12	CBC pamphlets for “This Canada,” 1940
	13	Poetry to Phelps from students, [ca. 1940]
	14	“Canadians and Their Books,” [ca. 1940]
	15	Play: “This Prairie,” [ca. 1940]
	16	CBC pamphlet for “The Canadian Heritage,” 1940
	17	CBC pamphlets (2) for “These United States,” 1940
	18	Essay: (incipit) “Diplomacy is the regulation...,” [ca. 1940]
	19	Debate: “Value of Literature,” English Club, [ca. 1940]
	20	Notes for address: “Literature and Society,” [ca. 1940]
	21	“On the Edge of Mystery” and “The Epistle Dedicatory,” from The Arbor , [ca. 1940]
	22	Essay: “How Stresses and Strains Arose from the Industrial Revolution,” [ca. 1941]
	23	Essay: “The Church, the Law and the Universities,” [ca. 1940]

Essays and Speeches, 1942-1950

Box	Folder
51	1	Address: “Three Issues for Moderns,” 1942
	2	Article on Canadian-American Student Conference sent to Saturday Night , 1942
	3	Address: “Ideas in Poetry,” to Poetry Society, 1943
	4	Canadian Review of Music and Art , vol.3, no. 9-10, 1944, containing, “Action for the Arts,” plus three reprinted copies of the article
	5	Assorted poetry, 1944
	6	Essay: “The Great Tradition of North American Literature,” 1944
	7	Arts brief before Turgeon Committee, 1944
	8	Junior League address, 1945
	9	Draft essay: “In Search of the Canadians,” [ca. 1945]
	10	Essay: “Community and Culture,” [ca. 1945]
	11	Comments on Phelps’ radio shows, [ca. 1946]
	12	Address to librarians, Ottawa, 1946
	13	Address to Federation of Artists, 1946
	14	Address to Public Service Radio Institute, University of Wisconsin, 1946
	15	Address: “Whose Community,” ? Adult Education Conference, 1946
	16	CBC Radio Staff Magazine , vol.3, no. 12, December 1947, containing article by Phelps
	17	“Good Listening,” a talk by Arthur Phelps, CBC, 1947
	18	Three copies of “Community and Culture : the Founder’s Day Address at the University of New Brunswick,” 1947, one appearing in “The Brunswickian,” vol. 66, no. 16, Feb. 22, 1947
	19	“Whose Community?,” Baie D’auf town meeting, 1947
	20	Address: “The Arts and Our Society,” to Canadian Arts Council, 1948
	21	Essay: “Dear Henry,” 1948
	22	Draft speeches to Historical Society, debaters, 1948
	23	Canadian Forum , vol. 30, no. 359, December 1950, containing “Christmas 1949"
	24	Address: National Home Economics Convention, 1950
	25	Essay: “Englishman,” [ca. 1950]
	26	“Canada’s Cultural Crisis,” [ca. 1950]
	27	Inaugural lecture at McGill, 1950
	28	Address: “Canadian Literature in the High School,” 1950
	29	Essay: “Literature and Society,” [ca. 1950]
	30	“The Modern Poet and the Modern Audience,” Royal Society Talk, [ca. 1950]
	31	The Educational Record of the Province of Quebec , vol. 66, no. 4, October-December 1950, containing “Christmas This Year”
	32	Northern Review of Writing and the Arts in Canada , vol. 3, no. 4, April-May 1950, containing “Canadian Literature and Canadian Society”
	33	Essay: “Conformity and the Rebel,” [ca. 1950]
	34	Essay: “The State of Canada,” [ca. 1950]
	35	“A Comment on the Arts and the Humanities in the Organization for Total War,” [ca. 1950]
	36	“The Modern Poet and the Modern Audience,” [ca. 1950]

Speeches, Book, Poems, 1950-1955

Box	Folder
52	1	Address: “The Social Theme in Canadian Literature,” Toronto, 1950
	2	Essay: “English Literature and Us,” [ca. 1950]
	3	Address: “Canadian Poetry and the Arts,” to the Women’s Club, Montreal, 1950
	4	Background for the novel in Canada, [ca. 1950]
	5	Essay: “Canadian Cultural Problems,” [ca. 1950]
	6	Essay: “Canadian Cultural Problems,” [ca. 1950]
	7	The Educational Record of the Province of Quebec , vol. 66, no. 2, April-June, 1950, containing “Literature and Society”
	8	Address: “The Engineer and His English,” 1951
	9	Two copies of book: Canadian Writers , McClelland & Stewart, 1951
	10	Address: “Imagination and Politics,” Toronto Rotary, 1951
	11	The Anglican Outlook , April 1951, containing “Christmas Salvage”
	12	Essay: “The Royal Visit,” 1951
	13	“Some Observations on the Nature of Canadian Culture,” [ca. 1951]
	14	“The Trouble with Canadians,” [ca. 1951]
	15	Essay: “Background for Novel in Canada,” [ca. 1951]
	16	Speech: “The New Morality,” to the Zonta Club, Montreal, 1951
	17	Address: “The Engineer and His English,” to the Engineering Institute of Canada, Montreal, 1951
	18	Canadian Citizenship Council Table, Ottawa, 1951
	19	Address: “Oh, Brave New World,” CBC, 1951
	20	Poems written while at McGill, [ca. 1951]
	21	Notes while Chair of Canadian Arts Council, [ca. 1952]
	22	“The Making and Use of Opinion,” Friends’ Lecture Series, Toronto, 1952
	23	“Why Men Fear Women Voters,” Chatelaine , 1953 (two copies)
	24	“A Book I Like” schedule, 1953
	25	“Our Women - Are They Human?,” Ottawa Citizen , 1953
	26	Address: “Why Do We Teach?,” to Ottawa Public Teachers’ Institute, 1953
	27	Essay: “Complaint Against Women,” 1954
	28	Ontario Educational Association - 94th Convention booklet, 1954
	29	Address: “The Wayfaring Mind,” to the University Women’s Club, Toronto, 1954
	30	Address: “Issues for Moderns,” to the Canadian Federation of Music Teachers’ Association, Vancouver, 1955

Essays and Speeches, 1955-1969

Box	Folder
53	1	Address: “Citizenship and Literature,” to Home and School Association, Ville St. Laurent, 1955
	2	Essay: “Summer School of Education,” 1955
	3	Address to Canadian Federation of Music Teachers’ Associations, 1955
	4	Play: “76 B.C.,” 1958
	5	Address: “Canadian Poetry,” Toronto Library School, 1957
	6	Address to Canadian Club, notes, 1957
	7	Address: “The Weekly Press,” to Community Weekly Newspaper Association, 1958
	8	Draft essay: “Canadian Nationalism,” 1959
	9	Canadian Club lectures, 1959
	10	Address: “Issues and Isms : Toward a New Humanism,” Queen’s Summer School Association AGM, 1959 (four copies)
	11	William Henry Drummond, Habitant Poems, McClelland & Stewart, [ca. 1926], 1959 (intro and selection by Phelps)
	12	Essay: “Statement of Faith,” [ca. 1960]
	13	Draft essays, 1960-1963
	14	Address: “Nationhood, Literature and Us,” to the Canadian Club, [ca. 1960]
	15	Simcoe Country Fair, address and correspondence, 1962
	16	Address to Mutual Fire Underwriters’ Association of Ontario, 1962
	17	“Conscience of Wisdom” comment for possible use on Project ‘62, 1962
	18	Address to Quinte’s Isle Tourist Association, 1962
	19	Christian Outlook , vol. 19, no. 2, November 1963, containing “On Being a Believer”
	20	Address at York Hall, 1964
	21	Address: “How to Use a Canadian Flag,” 1964
	22	“Globe Collegiate Talk,” 1964
	23	“Life & Literature” and “Literature and Society,” drafts and correspondence, 1965-1966
	24	Canadian Club assorted notes, 1965
	25	Canadian Club itinerary, newsclippings, 1966
	26	Talk to Sir. John A. MacDonald Collegiate, Scarborough, ON, 1966
	27	Canadian Club talk, 1967
	28	“Watson Kirkconnell : Poet, Polymath, and Public Servant,” review of Centennial Tales and Selected Poems (1965) and A Slice of Canada : Memoirs (1967)
	29	Essay: “Prayer and Pills,” [ca. 1967]
	30	Address: “Challenge From Change,” to Canadian Club, 1967
	31	“The Church, the Law and the Universities,” submitted to The United Church Observer , 1968
	32	“Up Here in Canada,” letter to the editor of Saturday Review , [ca. 1968]
	33	“Some Observations on Television,” submitted to Weekend Magazine , [ca. 1968]
	34	Essay: “I Like the CBC,” 1969

Return to Top

4. ACADEMIC CAREER 1913-1967

Course Notes, 1913-1929

Box	Folder
54	1	Seminar notes taken while student at University of Toronto, 1913-1914
	2	Notebook, with notes, 1915-1917
	3	Assorted class notes, 1922
	4	Macbeth notes, [ca. 1925]
	5	Notes on 18th century literature, [ca. 1925]
	6	Notes on Shakespeare, 1925
	7	English conference, Saskatoon, 1926
	8	Class lists, English I, Wesley College, 1926
	9	English Club, Winnipeg, 1927
	10	Notebook for teaching, 1928-1934
	11	Notebook, university English, [ca.1929]

Course Notes, Exams, 1929-1948

Box	Folder
55	1	University of Manitoba exams, 1929-1930
	2	University of British Columbia, Summer School, English, 1929
	3	Phelps’ teaching notes, 1929
	4	Notes on Nathaniel Hawthorne, [ca. 1930]
	5	Draft notes, second year review, [ca. 1930]
	6	University of Manitoba exams, bibliography, 1931-1932
	7	“Death of the West,” Wordsworth, 1935
	8	United College Dramatic Society program, 1935
	9	Notes on 20th century literature, [ca. 1935]
	10	Report: Committee of Examiners in English, 1937
	11	Lecture notes, 1938-1940
	12	United College, teaching/reading poetry, 1939-1940
	13	Re: University of Manitoba, 1939
	14	Phelps’ report on students, 1939-1940
	15	“Romantics - Wordsworth, etc.,” [ca. 1940]
	16	List of Canadian authors, [ca. 1940]
	17	Vox , vol. 14, no. 4, July 1941, and vol. 18, no. 2, April 1945, containing articles by or about Phelps
	18	University of Manitoba exams, 1942
	19	Creative writing stories by students, Evening Institute, 1943
	20	Notes on American and 20th century literature, 1944
	21	Notes on Milton, McGill, 1948-1951
	22	Notes on Swift, McGill, 1948

Course Notes, 1948-1954

Box	Folder
56	1	Course outlines, McGill, 1948-1949
	2	Lecture notes, McGill, 1948-1953
	3	English notes, 1949
	4	Course outline, English 100, 1949-1950
	5	Notebook on 19th century poetry, [ca. 1950]
	6	McGill English notes, 1950
	7	Notes, “Whitman, Eliot, Hardy, Yeats, Kipling,” 1950
	8	Address: “Question of Belief,” 1951
	9	Literature/English class notes, etc., 1951
	10	Course outlines, McGill, 1951
	11	Lecture and exam notes, University of Toronto, 1954-1958

Course Notes, 1955-1967

Box	Folder
57	1	Syllabus, summer school; syllabus, English 341, Victoria, BC, 1955
	2	Lecture notes, University of Toronto, 1956-1957
	3	Summer school, Queen’s University, 1956
	4	English course outline, 1956-1957
	5	Medical students’ essays on poetry, University of Toronto, 1957
	6	Medical students’ essays on poetry, University of Toronto, 1957
	7	Canadian literature notes, University of British Columbia, 1958
	8	C.A.U.T. report on Crowe affair, 1958-1959
	9	Summer school, Queen’s University, 1959
	10	Summer school calendars, Queen’s University, 1959-1960
	11	Phelps’ installation as College Fellow at University of Winnipeg, 1967

Notes and Reports, 1940-1960

Box	Folder
58	1	Notes on English authors of 18th and 19th centuries, [ca. 1940]
	2	Canadian poetry notes, 1943
	3	Off prints of short stories for Canadian literature course, [ca. 1950]
	4	C.A.U.T. report on Crowe case at United College, 1958
	5	Learned Societies Report, 1960

Return to Top

5. OTHER AUTHORS’ WORKS 1921-1963

Grove Correspondence and Manuscripts

Box	Folder
59	1	Frederick Philip Grove correspondence, 1923-1944
	2	Frederick Philip Grove, Weatherhead Fortunes: the story of a small town
	3	Frederick Philip Grove, Jane Atkinson , Vol. 1
	4	Frederick Philip Grove, Jane Atkinson, Vol. 2
	5	Frederick Philip Grove, Jane Atkinson, Vol. 3
	6	Frederick Philip Grove, Settlers of the Marsh
	7	Frederick Philip Grove, The Descent

Grove Manuscripts

Box	Folder
60	1	F.P.G., Our Daily Bread: scenes from the life of the prairies , pt. 1
	2	F.P.G., Our Daily Bread , pt. 2
	3	F.P.G., Our Daily Bread , pt. 3
	4	F.P.G., Our Daily Bread , pt. 4
	5	F.P.G., Pioneers
	6	F.P.G., Abe Spalding: pioneer , pt. 1
	7	F.P.G., Abe Spalding: pioneer , pt. 2
	8	F.P.G., Lost

Grove Manuscripts

Box	Folder
61	1	F.P.G., Saturday at the Crossroads
	2	F.P.G., Literary Criticism
	3	F.P.G., A Neglected Function of the C.A.A.
	4	F.P.G., Realism in Literature
	5	F.P.G., House of Many Eyes
	6	F. P. G., The Canyon: a romance and its sequel Act One. The Goddess
	7	F. P. G., The Canyon: a romance and its sequel Act Two. The Woman
	8	F. P. G., The Canyon: a romance and its sequel Act Three. The Spirit
	9	F.P.G., Adolescence: the story of the lake
	10	F.P.G., The Teacher
	11	F.P.G., The Marsh-Fire
	12	F. P. G., La Grande Passion
	13	F.P.G., Summer Showers on the Prairies

Pratt Manuscripts, Kirkconnell and Others, n.d.

Box	Folder
62	1	E. J. Pratt, Rachel: a sea story of Newfoundland
	2	E. J. Pratt Clay
	3	Watson Kirkconnell, The Adventures of Tommy (and Titus the Toad) , 1931
	4	Watson Kirkconnell, The Tale of Angus Bull , [ca. 1936]
	5	Essay: “Radio Drama: an analysis,” by Major Moore, 1941
	6	Novella: “Surprise Me Still,” by Major Moore, 1951
	7	“Out of the Cornland,” by Ora R. Mohn, Cornell College English Club, 1921
	8	“Golden Mud,” by Glenn Coleman, Cornell College English Club, 1921
	9	Tom Saunder MSS, Red River of the North and Silver Herrings
	10	Poetry by Tom Saunders
	11	Radio play: “The Count Frontenac,” by Francis Lennox, 1956
	12	Essay: “Tentative Outline of a Proposed Study of Public Service Radio in Canada,” by G. Coke Mussen, 1947
	13	Assorted poetry and scripts from students
	14	“Incident with a Factual Basis,” by Neufville Shaw, 1943
	15	Play: “Where Youth and Laughter Go,” by T.H. Flinder, [ca. 1950]
	16	Draft: “History Books,” by David J. Johnston, 1952
	17	Essay: “The Creed of Life,” by Robert Sample, [ca. 1955]
	18	Biographical information on Thomas H. Raddall sent McClelland & Stewart, 1951
	19	Poetry sent to Phelps by L. Rubie Richardson
	20	Play: “Shadow of the Tree,” by Joseph Schull, [ca. 1950]
	21	“The Patchwork Soul,” David Fuller Ash, [ca. 1950]
	22	“What Makes a Town,” David Lavine, [ca. 1950]
	23	Poetry by Wallace Havelock Robb, 1959-1963
	24	Poetry by Arthur Lower, [ca. 1960]
	25	Biographical information and writings by Ann Phelps
	26	Ann Phelps re: Lionel Groulx
	27	Biographical information re: John David Hamilton
	28	Duplicate letter booklet, 1949

Return to Top

6. OVERSIZED MATERIALS 1920-1967

Box	Folder
63	1	CKWS-TV book on Learned Societies Meeting, Kingston, 1960
	2	Oversized clippings scrapbook, 1934-1937
	3	Newspaper clippings not held in scrapbooks, 1920-1965
	4	Phelp’s Honorary Degree from University of Winnipeg, 1967
	5	Phelp’s Royal Society of Canada Award, 1949

Return to Top