Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Post Family fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 202 (A.04-128))

Post Family Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of His Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Michelle Rydz
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, R3T 2N2
(August, 2005)

Finding aid encoded by Michelle Rydz (August, 2005)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Stephen Post
 
Title:
Post Family fonds
 
Dates:
1903-1958, 1974
 
Quantity:
0.5m of textual records
 
Identification:
MSS 202, A.04-128
 
 
English

Return to Top


Biography of Stephen Post

Stephen Elesworth Post was born on February 24, 1878 in West Bend, Iowa, U.S.A. In June 1880, he immigrated to Canada with his parents and settled at Woodmore, Manitoba. He lived and worked with his parents until 1898. He then moved to a homestead near Overstone, Manitoba where he farmed for five years. On November 3, 1903 Stephen Post bought the N.W. quarter 9-3-4 in the R.M. of Franklin (near Dominion City). He moved to the farm on this property in 1904, where he resided until his death. On March 10, 1908, Stephen Post married Orythia Myrtle Post (maiden name unknown), who was born at Greenridge, Manitoba on May 22, 1887. They had two children. C. Myrtle Post, born in 1909, and Elesworth F. Post, born on May 18, 1910. Both children worked on the farm with their parents. Stephen Post died on February 19, 1954. Orythia Post died on November 6, 1963.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

This fonds consists of records relating to the daily functions of the Post family farm. Materials include account books and receipts documenting grain and livestock production, Canadian Wheat Board permit books, as well as federal and municipal tax returns and receipts, and notices of land assessments. Financial records such as lease and mortgage papers are also included. The fonds also contains a small collection of personal correspondence. In addition, there exists correspondence between Stephen Post and both the Agricultural College at the University of Manitoba and the Department of Agriculture's Dominion Experimental Farms related to Mr. Post's participation in wheat sample experiments from 1927-1929. This fonds consists of the series: Personal Records; Farm Records.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Fonds was donated to the Archives by Bev and Dave Kirkpatrick in 2004.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Personal Records[ 1908-1951 ]
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Orythia M. Post Diary, 1908
  2 Personal Correspondence, 1907-1974
  3 Life Insurance Policy, 1918
  4 Federal Tax Returns for Stephen Post, 1918-1953 and Old Age Security Documents, 1951-1952
  5 Bank Pass Book, 1920
  6 U.F.M. Delegate Certificate, May 25, 1922
  7 Car Insurance and Driver's License Papers of Elesworth F. Post, 1951

Return to Top


Farm Records 1903-1958
 
Box Folder  
1 8
Farm Account Books, 1923-1937​
  9 Farm Account Books, 1937-1941
  10 Farm Account Books, 1942-1946
  11 Farm Account Books, 1947-1950
     
2 1
Farm Account Books, 1951-1954
  2 Canadian Wheat Board Permit Books, 1949-1953
  3 Receipts and Correspondence, 1907-1913, 1914-1916, n.d.
  4 Receipts and Correspondence, 1917-1924
  5 Receipts and Correspondence, 1925-1931
  6 Receipts and Correspondence, 1932-1939
  7 Receipts and Correspondence, 1939-1942
  8 Receipts and Correspondence, 1943
  9 Receipts and Correspondence, 1944
     
3 1
Receipts and Correspondence, 1945
  2 Receipts and Correspondence, 1946
  3 Receipts and Correspondence, 1947
  4 Receipts and Correspondence, 1948-1949
  5 Receipts and Correspondence, 1950
  6 Receipts and Correspondence, 1951
  7 Receipts and Correspondence, 1952
  8 Receipts and Correspondence, 1953
  9 Threshing Accounts and Receipts, 1908-1940
  10 Statements of Municipal Taxes for R.M. of Franklin, 1907-1954
  11 Land Assessment Notices for R.M. of Franklin, 1908-1940
  12 Land Tax Receipts for R.M. of Franklin, 1916-1947
  13 Farm Leases, 1927-1928
  14 Fire Insurance Certificate, 1920
     
4 1
Land Sale Agreement, Fire Insurance Policy, Life Insurance Policy, Ration Book, 1903-[194-]​
 
  2 Mortgage Receipts, Fire Insurance Policy, Seed Grain Receipts, Life Insurance Policy for Elesworth F. Post, 1903-1930
  3 Correspondence, Farm Lease and Documents related to the Mortlock Estate, 1926-1937
  4 Correspondence and Receipts pertaining to Farm Mortgage, 1945-1953
  5 Car and Truck Insurance Papers for Elesworth Post, 1956-1958
  6 MB. Dept. of Agriculture "Summer-Fallow Competitions in Manitoba" Pamphlet, circular no. 42, May 1917, and Newspaper clipping, 1917.
  7 Dominion Census of Agriculture, 1931, 1936, 1946
  8
Participation Ticket Notes and Receipts, 1944-1946
  9 Farm Implement and Machinery Instruction Manuals, n.d.
  10 Correspondence, Newspaper clipping and Pamphlets related to School District Consolidation in Manitoba, 1911-1919
  11 Correspondence and Share Certificate-Farmer's Packing Company Ltd., 1919-1933
  12 1 letter from Orythia M. Post to the Local Rations Board, July 23, 1943
  13 Ration Book, [194-]
  14 1 letter from George Seward to Stephen Post, February 8, 1927
  15 Correspondence, "Our Wheat Experiments", 1927-1929
  16 Correspondence-Wheat Experiments, 1928-1929
  17 Cream Receipts and ChequesMiscellaneoud Receipts and Correspondence, 1905-1955

 

Return to Top