Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Anna Smigel fonds: Home

Anna Smigel fonds

Anna Smigel fonds:

An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by C. Cheryrbok and V. Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2012)

Finding aid encoded by V. Zvonik (2012)
Finding aid written in English. 

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Anne Smigel

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Papers

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Biographical Information

Altrusa International, Inc.

Correspondence

Alpha Omega Alumnae, Council of Women - Correspondence

Alpha Omega Alumnae

Manitoba Schools

Ukrainian Language Training

Pc 300 - Photographs

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Creator:
Anne Smigel

Title:
Anne Smigel fonds

Dates:
1950-2005

Quantity:
1.12 m of textual records; 407 photographs; 42 negatives; 32 slides; and other material

Identification:
Mss 340, Pc 300 (A.08-35)

English

Return to Top

Biography of Anne Smigel

Anne Smigel was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba. She attended the University of Manitoba, the University of Winnipeg, and the University of Minnesota. As a teacher and educator she taught in elementary and junior high schools in Manitoba for more than 44 years. Anne Smigel was a member of Ukrainian Curriculum Committee on Ukrainian language at elementary and secondary school and the first woman of Ukrainian decent to become a Principal (Ashland School, Pinkham School, William Whyte School) in Winnipeg. She belonged to many organizations such as the Alpha Omega Alumnae, the Council of Women of Winnipeg, the Manitoba Association of Principals, the Canadian College of Teachers, and the United Nation, Winnipeg Branch. Anna Smigel was a founding member of Altrusa Club of Winnipeg and Altrusa International Club. Altrusa is an international organization of professional women (13 countries) who are serving the needs of their communities. From 1980-1982, she served as the Governor of Altrusa International, District 7. Anne Smigel was an educator and philanthropist who made great contributions to the University of Manitoba. To honour her memory a Scholarship was established in her name at the Centre of Ukrainian and Canadian Studies and the Research Endowment Fund to support research material for the University Libraries. Anne Smigel died on February 10, 2008.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds consists of biographical information, correspndence and documents from the various organizations: Altrusa Club of Winnipeg and Altrusa International, Inc.; Alpha Omega Alumnae; and the Council of Women of Winnipeg.

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into seven series and Photograph Collection

  • Biographical Information
  • Altrusa International, Inc.
  • Correspondence
  • Alpha Omega Alumnae, Council of Women - Correspondence
  • Alpha Omega Alumnae - Ukrainian Women Organization
  • Manitoba Schools
  • Ukrainian Language Training
  • PC 300 - Photographs

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

No restriction on Access

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

No restriction on Use

Return to Top

Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by the Estate of Anne Smigel in 2008.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

      Biographical Information

Box Folder  
1 1 Anne Smigel - Governor District Seven, Altrusa International, Inc., 1982
  2 Anne Smigel - St. John's Technical School - Composition Book, [1950]
  3 Notes regarding school years evaluations as teacher
  4 Anne Smigel - Retirement - Newsclippings, Cards, Notes, Letters, Regrets, 1980

Return to Top

Altrusa International, Inc.

Box Folder  
1 5 Altrusa Governorship Info - Annual Board Book and Reports, 1979
  6 Board Meetings, Correspondence, Bylaws, 1982-1983
  7 Meeting Minutes - Bylaw Amendments, Service Bulletins, 1980-1985
  8 Altrusa Winnipeg - Information, 1984-1985
  9 Altrusa - Correspondence, Programs, Contact information, 1971-2006
  10 Altrusa International - Winnipeg Club Info - Altrusa District 7 Conference, 1974-1992
  11 Altrusa - Annual Reports , Conference Proceedings, 1981-1983
  12 Altrusa - Correspondence, Notes, Minutes, 1986-2005
  13 Altrusa - Correspondence, Bylaws, 1975, 1978
Box Folder  
2 1 Altrusa Club Info: International Correspondence, 1981-1983
  2 Altrusa - Meeting Minutes, Rosters, Service Bulletins, 1981-1988
  3 Altrusa - District 3 Bulletins, Meeting Minutes, Conference Planning, Newspaper Clippings,1978-1986
  4 Altrusa - Chairmen lists, Committees, 1980-1983
  5 Altrusa International - Reports, Correspondence, 1975-1982
  6 Altrusa - Winnipeg Workshop, Seminar Notes, By-Laws, Special Meeting Minutes, 1970, 1977-1994
  7 Altrusa - Programs, Budget, Project "Second Sight", 1971-1995
  8 Houston Convention - Material from the Photo Album/Scrap Book, 1975

Return to Top


Correspondence

Box Folder  
3 1 Personal and Altrusa Correspondence, 1973-1982
  2 Altrusa Correspondence, Speech Notes, 1976-1981
  3 Altrusa Correspondence, 1980
  4 Altrusa: President (Anne Smigel) Workshop Package, 1981
  5 Altrusa Correspondence, Financial Statement, 1977-1981
  6 Altrusa Conference, 1983
  7 Altrusa - Correspondence, Conference Manual, Notes, 1975-1977
  8 Education Correspondence, Reports, Minutes, Budgets, School Publications, 1975-1976
  9 Correspondence, Clippings, Notes, 1971-1983
  10 Altrusa Correspondence, Convention, 1983
  11 Altrusa Club Activities, Correspondence, Minutes, 1982-1984, 1992-1995
  12 Altrusa Winnipeg District - Club Project Reports, Correspondence, Presentation Notes,1971, 1976
  13 Altrusa - Correspondence, Reports, 1979-1980
  14 Altrusa - Marketing Plan, "Accent", Annual Report, Financial Statements, By-Laws, Policies,1991-1993, 1995-1997
  15 Altrusa Winnipeg - Newsletters, Conference, 2000-2001
  16 Altrusa Correspondence, Membership Lists, Directories, 1979-1983
Box Folder  
4 1 Altrusa Conference Booklets/Proceedings, Conference Notes, Correspondence, 1979-1990
  2 Altrusa Information - 1984 District Officer Nominations, 1982 Conference Vote/Ballot, Correspondence, 1982-1984
  3 Altrusa Club Yearbook, Pamphlets, District 7 (1975-1976) Directory, Newsletters, Articles,1975-76, 990-1999
  4 Altrusa - District 7 Conference Evaluations, 1981
  5 Altrusa Club Info - Conference, Correspondence, 1980-1981
  6 Altrusa - Board Book, Conference Proceedings, 1980-1981
  7 Altrusa - District 7 Club Info, Minutes, Daily Notes, 1982-1983
  8 Altrusa International - Correspondence, 1972-1998
  9 Altrusa Conference - Evaluations, 1974-1977
Box Folder  
5 1 Altrusa Club of Winnipeg, Yearbooks, 1963-1980
  2 Altrusa International - Directories, 1982-1983
  3 Altrusa International - Directories, 1983-1984

Return to Top


Alpha Omega Alumnae, Council of Women - Correspondence
 

Box Folder  
6 1 Report of Symposium (1985); Celebrating Ukrainian Women; List of Contacts, 1985
  2 Alpha Omega Info; Correspondence, Membership, Executives, 1991-1992
  3 Scrapbook Material, Newspaper Clippings, 1981-1983
  4 Alpha Omega Women Programs, Correspondence, Diary, Notes, 1983-84, 1991
  5 National Association of Parliamentarians By-Laws, Conference, Notes, 1980-1985
  6 National Association of Parliamentarians - Publications, 1974-1987
  7 Women Associations - Alpha Omega, Council of Women - Correspondence, 1987-1991

Return to Top


Alpha Omega Alumnae

Box Folder  
7 1 Celebrating Ukrainian Women - Symposium - Conference Notes, 1985
  2 Winnipeg School Division no. 1 - Policy Committee for the Winnipeg Core Area Initiative (1980)

(includes Odarka S. Trosky's CV)

  3 Pinkham 60th Anniversary Tea - Guest Book Contents, 1963
  4 Correspondence, Memos - Ukrainian Culture, Education, Children Notes, Ukrainian Curriculum Committee, 1969-1978
  5 Council of Women, Ukrainian Women's League. Celebrating Ukrainian Women Conference Notes, 1983-1985

Return to Top
 

     Manitoba Schools

Box Folder  
8 1 Manitoba Teachers' Society Collective Bargaining Procedures (1975) - Correspondence, Memos, 1975-1976
  2 Manitoba Education Association - Notes, Correspondence, 1964-1984
  3 Master Teacher Pamphlets/ Info, Manitoba School Journal (1953), Our Schools (1973),1953-1989
  4 Winnipeg/Canada Council for Women - Annual Meetings, Reports, Correspondence,1995, 1998-2000
  5 Lord Nelson School - Class Lists, Students, Reading Skills Checklists, 1969-1977
  6 Winnipeg School Division no.1, 1973-1976

Return to Top


Ukrainian Language Training

Box Folder  
9 1 Teachers of Ukrainian in-service training - Field Trips, Oseredok Newsletter, Kindergarten Resources, 1976
  2 Ukrainian Community - Education Material, Manitoba Folk Dance Festival, Ukrainian School Programs, 1970-1992
  3 Class Activities and Reports, 1969, 1972
  4 Ukrainian Cultural Organizations/ Info, 1985-1991
Box Folder  
10   Artifacts

Return to Top


Pc 300 - Photographs

Box Folder  
1 1-9 Photo Album
  10 Portrait
  11 Retirement Scrapbook - Photo Album
  12 Altrusa - Photo Album
  13 Correspondence - Photo
  14 Ladis at the Lake - Conference ('85), 1981
  15 Altrusa - Photographs
  16 Birthday, Meetings
  17 Altrusa - Photographs
  18 Altrusa - Photographs
  19 Altrusa Exhibit - Photographs
  20 Slides from Ukraine 

Return to Top