Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

SMR Breeders Co-op Ltd. fonds: MSS 128 (A.94-43)

SMR Breeders Co-op

SMR Breeders Co-op:

An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Carole Barnabé
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(August 1998)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (October 2002)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 128 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Administrative History of SMR Breeders Co-op Ltd.

Scope and Contents of the Records

Organization of the Records

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Records

Records

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2
Creator:
SMR Breeders Co-op Ltd.

Title:
SMR Breeders Co-op Ltd. fonds
Dates:
1952-1980
Quantity:
0.28 m of textual records.
Identification:
MSS 128
Language
English.

Return to Top

Administrative History of SMR Breeders Co-op Ltd.

Artificial insemination in cattle was first introduced in Manitoba in the early 1940's. A company concerned with cattle insemination was started up in 1952 by a group of local farmers and businessmen from the Stanley and Rhineland municipalities, from which its first official name was derived, S & R Artificial Breeders. The first annual meeting was held on May 1, 1952. The goal of the association was to help farmers enhance the quality of milk and beef. On May 16, 1952 the association had bred its first cow through artificial insemination, and after funding was received by the Department of Agriculture an insemination technician was hired. In 1960 the association was officially incorporated and named SMR Breeders Co-op Ltd., the M representing the municipality of Montcalm. The growth of the association peaked in 1962 when over 2800 cows had been artificially bred. By the late 1970's, SMR ran into financial difficulties and was hurt by lack of interest. In 1979 at its 27th annual meeting, the members decided to dissolve the association.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Records

The fonds consists of receipt and account books, minute books, financial records, insemination reports, membership information, certificates, and correspondence.

Return to Top

Organization of the Records

These records are organized into 1 series.

  • Records

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on this material.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

Users must abide by relevant copyright legislation.

Return to Top

Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 1994 by Bernie Zacharias, secretary of the association.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Records

    Records

Box Folder  
1 1 Annual Meeting Minutes, 1952-1979
  2 Board of Directors Minutes, 1960-1980
  3 Examples of Election Ballots, [19-?]
  4 Semen purchasing organization’s report, 1965-1967
  5 Western Animal Breeders News, 1965
  6 Membership Agreements, 1952
  7 Insemination Return Forms, 1957-1960
  8 Insemination Return Forms, 1961-1962
  9 Insemination Reports, 1964-1967
  10 Insemination Reports, 1968
  11 Insemination Reports, 1969
  12 Insemination Reports, 1970
  13 Insemination Reports, 1971
Box Folder  
2 1 Insemination Reports, 1972
  2 Insemination Reports, 1973
  3 Insemination Reports, 1974
  4 Insemination Reports, 1975
  5 Monthly Semen Inventory, 1969
  6 Monthly Semen Inventory, 1970
  7 Monthly Semen Inventory, 1971
  8 Monthly Semen Inventory, 1972
  9 Monthly Semen Inventory, 1973
  10 Monthly Semen Inventory, 1974
  11 Monthly Semen Inventory, 1975
  12 Artificial Insemination Licence and Correspondence, 1963-1967
  13 Loan Certificate, 1967
  14 Annual Return for Co-operative Associations, 1966
  15 Misc. Correspondence, 1965-1967
  16 Misc. Correspondence, 1968-1975
  17 Account Book, 1963-1978
  18 Balance Sheets, 1961-1978
  19 Receipt Book, 1971-1973
Account Book, 1956-1963

Return to Top