Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Public Markets Ltd. fonds: MSS 126, PC 135 (A1993-033)

Public Markets Ltd.:

An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(April 1998)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (October 2002)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 126, PC 135 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Public Markets Ltd.
  
Title:
Public Markets Ltd. fonds
  
Dates:
1911-1980
  
Quantity:
7.2 m of textual records. -- 43 photographs
  
Identification:
MSS 126, PC 135
 
Language:
English.

Return to Top


Administrative History of Public Markets, Ltd.

In 1911 an act was passed by the Manitoba Government incorporating the Public Markets Ltd. The plan was to furnish Manitoba livestock producers with a market-place, in an area where there was a need for selling and handling facilities to accommodate a growing industry. The two National railways financed and developed a 137-acre site purchased by the City of Winnipeg that was referred to in the land title records as the ‘Roman Catholic Mission Property’. On August 14, 1913 the Marion Street facility with its stock yards and packing house facility was officially opened by Premier Sir Rodmond Roblin. For the next seventy-five years, the Union Stock Yards, not only provided the City of St. Boniface with its largest single source employers but became a vital cog in Manitoba's agricultural economy.

The livestock business in Manitoba owes its origins to the great cattle drives in the Southwestern United States. The Dodge City/Western Trail led up into Alberta where it hooked up with the newly completed Canadian National Railway. Cattle were loaded on to freight cars and shipped to the markets in Eastern Canada. Along the way the trains stopped off in Winnipeg to water and feed the cattle, giving rise to Manitoba's livestock industry. Winnipeg's first stock yard was located in the Weston area but space constraints and easier access to the rail lines necessitated the move to St. Boniface. The Union Stock Yards were the largest of their kind in Canada. The yard had its own private well essential in providing the endless stream of water required.

In 1925 Canada Packers opened a meat processing plant next to the yard, thirteen years later they were joined by Swifts. World War II brought unprecedented growth to the packing industry as Canada supplied meat for the troops overseas. The yards represented a large cross-section of livestock interests. Within its structure were numerous salesmen, buyers, producers and employees of the trade and yard company. The Canada Department of Agriculture also provided two essential services. Veterinarians performed health inspections and a daily market report was prepared to inform the industry on livestock values and prices. Truck and brand inspections were carried out by representatives of the provincial governments. The market had its own Livestock Exchange to supervise trading, its membership included buyers for all kinds of stock as well as bonded commission firms and dealers.

The livestock received and sold at Union Stock Yards came from all three Prairie Provinces, destined for either the local market, Eastern Canada or under favourable exchange and trading conditions the United States. The principal requirement locally was to provide slaughter cattle for the processing plants. However under good weather and feed conditions there was a significant turnover of cattle back into the Manitoba feed lots for finishing. The Eastern Canada market was constant year round with upwards of 300,000 cattle and calves shipped annually. The yard was also the largest exporter of feeder cattle in Canada with steady sales to Iowa, Minnesota and Nebraska.

Failure to keep up with technological advancements and the advent of refrigerated trucks conspired to end Union Stock Yards dominance of the industry. Trucks took over as the principal means of beef shipping with the completion of the Trans Canada Highway in 1955. The meat packing industry began to move closer to the source of its product as plants in Alberta supplanted Winnipeg processors. Manitoba hog processing still remains a viable industry but the Union Stock Yards, Canada Packers and Swifts beef processing plants had outlived their usefulness by 1990.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Records

The Public Markets Ltd. collection spans the existence of the company from 1912-1989. The collection now comprises 21 linear feet. This fonds is unique of its type in Western Canada and offers a unique reference source to the agricultural history of the prairie west. The records contain detailed information on livestock transportation & sales, collective bargaining agreements, labour grievances & arbitrations as well as environmental concerns in dealing with waste disposal.

Return to Top


Organization of the Records

These records are organized into 5 series.

  • CORPORATE RECORDS, 1912-1988
  • FINANCIAL RECORDS, 1912-1989
  • LEGAL RECORDS, 1912-1989
  • OPERATIONS RECORDS, 1913-1989
  • Photograph Collection (PC 135), 1964, [ca. 1970]

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Records

The collection has been divided into four sections. The corporate records range from by-laws to director meeting minutes. Tax returns, insurance policies & pension information are lodged in the financial section. The legal records cover lease, purchase & labour agreements. By far the greatest number of records fall into the operations section that deals with the day-to-day running of the markets. The records are arranged in chronological order throughout the fonds.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Users must adhere to relevant copyright legislation.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The Department of Archives & Special Collections of the University of Manitoba acquired the Public Markets Ltd. (Union Stock Yards) in the summer of 1992. The records comprised 23 cubic feet and were given the accession no. A.92-40. The collection was appraised by the National Archival Appraisal Board in January 1993 and declared Cultural Property. In the spring of 1993, Peter Gregory, the President of the Livestock Exchange, presented the department with a booklet, Rules, Regulations & By-laws of the Winnipeg Livestock Exchange . The booklet, A.93-33 was added to the Public Markets Ltd. collection.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Records

CORPORATE RECORDS 1912-1988
BY-LAWS & ACTS 1912-1987
Box Folder  
1 1 Company by-laws nos. 1-24, 1912-1980.
  2 Winnipeg Livestock Exchange, by-laws, rules & regulations, 1914-1932.
  3 Winnipeg Livestock Exchange, by-laws, 1915.
  4 Company by-laws correspondence, 1955-1982.
  5 Companies Act & Act of Incorporation, 1916-1987.
  6 Livestock & Livestock Products Act, dealer bonding, 1917-1964.
DIRECTORS’ RECORDS 1912-1988
Box Folder  
1 7 Directors’ correspondence & meeting notices, 1912-1960.
Box Folder  
2 1 Authorized bank signatures and appointments to Board of Directors, 1915-1956.
  2 Directors’ Fees, 1917-1935.
  3 Authorized bank signatures and appointment to Board of Directors, 1957-1988.
  4 Directors correspondence and meeting notices, 1961-1988.
  5 Monthly reports to Directors, 1963-1982.
  6 Company status reports & registration of subsidiaries, 1981-1984.
ANNUAL MEETINGS OF STOCKYARD MANAGERS 1943-1981
Box Folder  
3 1 Rules & regulations, changes in the yard, 1943-1950.
  2 Rules & regulations, changes in the yard, 1951-1952.
  3 Minutes & correspondence, 1947-1953.
  4 Minutes & correspondence, 1954-1958.
  5 Minutes & correspondence, 1954-1958.
  6 Minutes & correspondence, 1962-1965.
Box Folder  
4 1 Minutes & correspondence, 1966-1968.
  2 Minutes & correspondence, 1969-1971.
  3 Invitations & agendas, 1969-1979.
  4 Minutes & correspondence, 1972-1974.
  5 Meeting with National Livestock Association, reports, 1974.
  6 Meeting with National Livestock Association, reports, 1975.
Box Folder  
5 1 Meeting with National Livestock Association, minutes & correspondence, 1976-1977.
  2 Meeting with National Livestock Association, correspondence, 1978-1979.
  3 Meeting with National Livestock Association, financial statements, 1980-1981.
  4 Annual reports, 1969-1970.

Return to Top


FINANCIAL RECORDS 1912-1989
Box Folder  
5 5 Annual financial reports,
Box Folder  
6 1 Financial reports & statements, 1948-1975.
  2 Auditors reports & correspondence, 1912-1983.
  3 General financial records, 1915-1943.
  4 Financial dividends, 1915-1984.
  5 Redistribution of capital stock, 1925-1980.
  6 Financial balance sheets, 1930-1952.
  7 Accounts payable, 1934-1988.
Box Folder  
7 1 Accounts receivable, letters on delinquent accounts, 1944-1977.
  2 Employees guarantee bonds, 1944-1956.
  3 Accounts receivable, letters on delinquent accounts, 1978-1988.
TAXATION RECORDS 1927-1989
Box Folder  
7 4 City taxes, assessments & challenges, 1932-1948.
  5 City taxes, assessments & challenges, 1949-1973.
Box Folder  
8 1 City taxes, assessments & challenges, 1974-1986.
  2 Business tax assessments, 1927-1973.
  3 Business tax assessments, 1974-1988.
  4 Diesel fuel tax refund applications, 1961-1975.
  5 Diesel fuel tax refunds, 1975-1981.
  6 Provincial revenue sales tax, 1967-1977.
Box Folder  
9 1 Provincial revenue sales tax, 1978-1989.
  2 Audit of Public Markets, by C.P.R. & C.N., 1974-1984.
  3 C.N.R. arbitration office assessments, 1983-1989.
  4 Federal budget review, Collins Barrow C.A., 1983-1986.
INSURANCE POLICIES 1929-1989
Box Folder  
9 5 Group life insurance, 1943-1950.
  6 Group life insurance, 1951-1961.
  7 Group life insurance, 1962-1975.
Box Folder  
10 1 Fire insurance policies & correspondence, 1933-1971.
  2 Liability insurance policies & claims, 1929-1958.
  3 Liability insurance policies & claims, 1959-1989.
  4 Manitoba Hospital Commission, Manitoba hospital service plan premiums, 1958-1967.
Box Folder  
11 1 Manitoba Medical Services Insurance Corporation premiums, 1968-1969.
  2 Insurance for livestock in transit, Re. Hartford Insurance Co. Premiums, 1971-1988.
  3 Insurance for livestock in transit, 1972-1975.
  4 Livestock insurance on stock consigned to commission firms for sale, 1982.
PENSION PLAN RECORDS 1930-1987
Box Folder  
11 5 Pension plan rules & applications, 1930-1955.
  6 Pension plan notice, 1944.
  7 Pension annuities, 1946-1955.
  8 Brochures, 1966-1976.
  9 Government social security, Canada Pension plan, 1974-1981.
  10 C.P.R. & C.N. pension pamphlets, 1976-1987.
  11 Anti-inflation board reports, 1976-1977.
BANKING RECORDS 1930-1981
Box Folder  
11 12 Banking authorization & procedures, 1912-1981.
  13 Shippers trust account, 1923-1980.
Box Folder  
12 1 Bank of Montreal, account transfer, 1958-1985.
  2 Bank charges, 1958-1961.
  3 Toronto Dominion Bank proposals, 1981.
  4 Royal Bank of Canada, leases & agreements, 1974-1981.

Return to Top


LEGAL RECORDS 1912-1989
Box Folder  
12 5 Solicitor appointments, 1916-1973.
  6 Embargoes & strike notices, 1916-1966.
  7 Canadian Agriculture Movement Strike, 1978.
GOVERNMENT RECORDS 1955-1988
Box Folder  
12 8 Department of Labour boiler inspections, 1955-1988.
  9 Customs & excise regulations for livestock, 1956-1978.
  10 Labour code & provincial labour regulations, Remembrance Day Act, 1965-1985.
  11 Brand registrations, Cattle Producers Association Act, 1968-1984.
  12 Manitoba Government Information service circulars, 1972-1985.
  13 Livestock & Livestock Production Acts, federal & provincial, 1982.
Box Folder  
13 1 Saskatchewan government inspectors brand check, 1979.
  2 Labour Canada surveys of wages & working conditions, 1981-1985.
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ASSESSMENTS & INQUIRIES 1917-1986
Box Folder  
13 3 1917-1948.
  4 1949-1965.
  5 Board hearings, 1986
LEASE AGREEMENTS 1914-1987
Box Folder  
14 1 Agreements, 1914-1961.
  2 Office lease & rentals, 1929-1977.
  3 List of rentals, 1930-1986.
  4 Canada Packers Ltd. road lease, 1936-1946.
  5 Agreements, 1959-1972.
  6 Agreements, 1973-1975.
Box Folder  
15 1 Agreements, 1976-1988.
  2 Equipment rentals, 1976-1981.
  3 Lease & rental agreements, 1978-1987.
PURCHASE AGREEMENTS 1931-1988
Box Folder  
15 4 Capital expenditures & equipment purchases, 1970-1984.
  5 Coca Cola Ltd. purchase contract, 1972-1979.
  6 Water agreement with Canada Packers Ltd., 1931-1973.
  7 Manitoba Hydro & Winnipeg Electric Co. agreements, 1950-1988.
PRODUCER COMPLAINTS & INQUIRIES 1914-1985
Box Folder  
16 1 General complaints, 1914-1967.
  2 General complaints, 1967-1974.
  3 Livestock producer complaints, 1975-1985.
  4 Complaints to Livestock Exchange, 1939-1952.
  5 General inquiry, Re: livestock purchases & complaints, 1951-1956.
  6 General inquiry; Re: livestock purchases & complaints, 1957-1964.
  7 Rail grading of lambs inquiry, 1961.
  8 General inquiry, Re: livestock purchases & complaints, 1975-1982.
LIVESTOCK CLAIMS 1951-1981
Box Folder  
17 1 Claims for shortages & overages, 1956-1978.
  2 Specific livestock claims, 1974-1986.
  3 Saskatchewan Wheat Pool claim, 1980.
  4 Sundry livestock claims, 1951-1988.
PROPERTY PURCHASES & AGREEMENTS 1912-1976
Box Folder  
17 5 Government abattoir site purchase correspondence, 1912-1961.
  6 Toronto Dominion Bank Time Building office site purchase, 1919-1957.
Box Folder  
18 1 Union Stock Yard restaurant agreement & correspondence, 1920-1973.
  2 Lonely Bull Restaurant agreement & fire, 1974-1976.
  3 Fire Hall site purchase, 1953-1957.
INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT OF PUBLIC MARKETS LAND 1974-1986
Box Folder  
18 4 Cooperative Wool Growers Ltd. correspondence, 1971-1972.
  5 W.V. Barker & Co. Ltd., 1971.
  6 North Star Cold Storage, 1971-1972.
  7 Melchin Auto Transport, 1971.
  8 Arnovich & Leipsic Ltd., 1972-1980.
  9 Map of Undeveloped St. Boniface land, [ca. 1972].
  10 Parking regulations & charges, 1972-1988.
  11 Overmyer Distribution Services of Canada Ltd., 1972.
  12 Land fill, clearing & drainage, 1972-1983.
  13 G.H.S. Property Development Co., 1973
  14 Surplus land, 1974-1979.
  15 Bonar & Bemis Ltd., 1974.
  16 Bathurst Containers Ltd., 1974.
  17 Custom Profile & Pipe Extrusions Ltd., 1974.
  18 Canadian Auto Carriers Ltd. map, 1978.
Box Folder  
19 1 Proposed automobile compound, 1974-1989.
  2 ICI Properties Ltd., 1979.
  3 Deren Enterprises Ltd., 1979.
  4 Western Consolidated Refineries Ltd., 1980.
  5 Environmental Dust Control (1982) Ltd., 1982-1986.
  6 E.J.R. Lumber Transfer Yard, 1984.
  7 Paddington: Summary of Submissions, 1984.
  8 Al-Tec Sanitation Systems Ltd., 1986.
COMMISSION FIRMS, AGENTS & DEALERS 1940-1985
Box Folder  
19 9 Commission firms authorized list, 1960-1977.
  10 Commission firms & dealers open order buying licenses, 1968-1985.
  11 Minimum standards for commission firms, rules & regulations, 1970-1971.
  12 Commission agent & merchant agreements "A", 1940-1976.
  13 Commission agent & merchant agreements "B", 1940-1956.
Box Folder  
20 1 Commission agent & merchant agreements "C", 1940-1985.
  2 Agreement with Canadian Livestock Co. Ltd., 1985.
  3 Commission agent & merchant agreements, "D", 1943-1946.
  4 Herbert Edwards agreement, 1940.
  5 Commission agent & dealer agreements, "F", 1940-1946.
  6 Livestock dealer agreements, "G". 1940-1951.
  7 Livestock dealer agreements, "H", 1940-1961.
  8 Livestock dealer agreements, "I", 1947.
  9 Livestock dealer agreements, "J", 1954-1970.
  10 Livestock dealer agreements, "K", 1950-1966.
  11 Livestock dealer agreements, "L", 1949-1971.
  12 Livestock dealer agreements, "M", 1940-1975.
  13 Livestock dealer agreements, "N", 1943-1966.
  14 Livestock dealer agreements, "O", 1955-1974.
  15 Agreement with Jack Polsky, 1945.
  16 Livestock dealer agreements, "S", 1940-1974.
  17 Commission merchants, agents & dealers agreements, "T", 1940-1974.
  18 United Stockmen Ltd., 1940.
  19 Commission merchants & dealers agreements "W", 1940-1986.
COMMISSION FIRMS REGISTRATIONS 1940-1985
Box Folder  
20 20 With Winnipeg Livestock Exchange, 1952-1956.
  21 With Winnipeg Livestock Exchange, 1957-1967.
  22 With government, principals, buyers & salesmen, 1968-1985.
Box Folder  
21 1 Alsask Processors registrations, 1969-1980.
  2 Anderson Livestock Ltd. registrations, 1946-1975.
  3 Armstrong Commission registrations & report, 1940-1980.
  4 Burns Brothers Ltd. registrations, 1940-1980.
  5 G.B. Bater Agencies Ltd. registrations, 1952-1962
  6 Canadian Livestock Co-op registrations, 1940-1980.
  7 D. Christie registrations, . 1943-1956
  8 Fernand Combaz registrations, 1962-1980.
  9 J.L. Coughlin registrations, 1940-1975.
  10 D. Coughlin & Sons Ltd. registrations, 1951-1966.
  11 George H. Flanigan registrations, 1940-1968.
  12 D.H. Halparin registrations, 1940-1954.
  13 E.L. Henderson registrations, 1948-1955.
  14 N. Hershfield & Co. Ltd. registrations, 1946-1974.
  15 Hurlburt Auction Co. registrations, 1960.
  16 W.C. Johnston & Co. registrations, 1947-1971.
  17 Kare Horse Exchange registrations, 1952-1969.
  18 Kosatsky Order Buyers registrations, 1940-1973.
  19 Charles Ladin registrations, 1949-1953.
  20 Lambert Livestock Farms Ltd. registrations, 1971-1974.
  21 Manitoba Hog Marketing Committee registrations, 1965.
  22 McKennit Livestock Ltd. registrations, 1975-1982.
  23 Mould & Christie Ltd. registrations, 1940-1980.
  24 Joe Nezon & Son Ltd. registrations, 1962-1974.
  25 Oldershaw-Couch Livestock Buyers Co. Ltd. registrations, 1969-1980.
  26 O.K.Packers registrations, 1949-1978.
  27 J. Polsky registrations, 1949-1952.
  28 Stern Livestock Commission Ltd. registrations, 1940-1962.
  29 Stern Livestock Commission Ltd. registrations, 1940-1962.
  30 Joe Thompson Enterprises Ltd. registrations, 1974-1980.
  31 United Stockmen Ltd. registrations, 1941-1958.
Box Folder  
22 1 Weiller & Williams Ltd. registrations, 1940-1986.
  2 C.A. Williams registrations, 1940-1955.
  3 A.I. Woodlinger registrations, 1940-1974.
COMMISSION FIRMS BONDING & LIABILITY INSURANCE 1969-1988
Box Folder  
22 4 Bonding & liability insurance, individual firms, 1969-1977.
  5 Bonding individual firms, 1978-1983.
  6 Liability insurance for commission firms & dealers, 1981-1986.
  7 Liability insurance for commission firms & dealers, 1981-1986.
OPEN ORDERS & REPORTS 1968-1978
Box Folder  
23 1 Monthly reports of daily sales, 1972-1978.
  2 Open orders, cattle signing authority, 1968-1969.
  3 Open orders, cattle signing authority, 1970.
  4 Open orders, cattle signing authority, 1971.
  5 Open orders, cattle signing authority, 1972.
Box Folder  
24 1 Open orders, cattle signing authority, 1973-1975.
  2 Open orders, cattle signing authority, 1976-1977.
TARIFFS & AMENDMENTS 1929-1983
Box Folder  
24 3 Tariffs & amendments, 1929-1983
  4 Montreal tariffs, 1941-1973.
  5 Toronto tariffs, 1941-1970.
  6 Saskatoon tariffs, 1941-1974.
  7 Calgary tariffs, 1941-1976.
  8 Edmonton tariffs, 1941-1974.
  9 Moose Jaw tariffs, 1948-1962.
  10 Lethbridge tariffs, 1951-1971.
  11 South St. Paul tariffs, 1946.
  12 Red Deer tariffs, 1968.
  13 Saskatchewan Wheat Pool, Livestock Division tariffs, 1973-1975.
UNION AGREEMENTS & WAGE SCHEDULES 1920-1989
Box Folder  
25 1 Settlement Stockyards Union, 1920-1940.
  2 Settlement Stockyard Union, 1941-1942.
  3 Employees' wage schedule, 1942-1947.
  4 Employees' wage agreements, 1947-1954.
Box Folder  
26 1 Employees' wage agreements, 1955-1961.
  2 Employees' wage agreements, 1962-1965.
  3 Employees' wage agreements, 1967.
Box Folder  
27 1 Employees' wage agreements, 1968-1969.
  2 Employees' wage agreements, 1972-1973.
  3 Employees' wage agreements, 1974-1975.
  4 Employees' wage agreements, 1976-1977.
Box Folder  
28 1 Agreements with Brotherhood of Railway, Airline & Steamship Clerks, 1978-1984.
  2 Employees' wage agreements, 1979-1981.
  3 Employees' wage agreements, 1982-1984.
  4 Agreement with Brotherhood of Railway, Airline & Steamship Clerks, 1983.
  5 Agreements with Brotherhood of Railway, Airline & Steamship Clerks, 1985-1989.
  6 Associated non-operating union agreements, 1971.
  7 Job security agreement Railway & Associated Non-Operating Union, 1976.
Box Folder  
29 1 Wage schedules & agreements for other terminals & stockyards, 1974-1984.
  2 Switch crew pay rates, 1944-1956.
  3 Switch crew agreements, 1948-1957.
Box Folder  
30 1 Switch crew agreements, 1958-1966.
  2 Switch crew agreements & arbitration, 1967-1970.
  3 Switch crew agreements & arbitration, 1971-1974.
Box Folder  
31 1 Switch crew arbitrations, 1974-1987.
  2 Switch crew arbitrations, 1974-1987.
  3 Non-scheduled salaries for employees outside the union, 1946-1989.

Return to Top


OPERATIONS RECORDS 1913-1989
APPLICATIONS 1914-1985
Box Folder  
31 4 Applications for employment, 1914-1985.
  5 Long service pass applications, 1927-1976.
  6 Applications for secretary, 1929.
Box Folder  
32 1 Applications for leave of absence, 1977.
BULLETINS & APPOINTMENTS 1942-1989
Box Folder  
32 2 Bulletins & appointments, 1942-1958.
  3 Bulletins for Public Markets Ltd. appointments, 1952-1983.
  4 Bulletins covering joint railway appointments, 1955-1985.
  5 Bulletins & appointments, union only, 1959-1975.
  6 Railway appointments correspondence, 1973-1989.
  7 Bulletins & appointments, 1976-1986.
  8 Job descriptions non-unionized employees, 1968-1974.
Box Folder  
33 1 Seniority roster, 1979-1988.
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE 1942-1989
Box Folder  
33 2 National selective service, 1942-1953.
  3 National selective service, 1954-1989.
  4 Correspondence, 1954-1975.
  5 Unemployment insurance policy, 1981-1989.
  6 Employment statistics, 1977-1982.
Box Folder  
34 1 Employment statistics, 1983-1987.
CIRCULARS, MEMOS & NOTICES 1948-1987
Box Folder  
34 2 Circulars, trade & employee notices, 1948-1972.
  3 Circulars & memos, 1973-1974.
  4 Internal company notices, 1975-1987.
  5 C. P. Rail circulars, 1986.
  6 Vacation schedules, 1970-1987.
  7 Tuberculosis ChestX-rayss for employees, 1957-1961.
MANAGERS' CORRESPONDENCE 1954-1988
Box Folder  
34 8 WE. Watson's speeches & biographical information, 1954-1959
  9 Watson's retirement correspondence, 1959-1969.
  10 K.A. Knowles correspondence, 1960-1964.
  11 Manager's general correspondence, 1963-1986.
 
Box Folder  
35 1 Manager's Christmas card list, 1973-1983.
  2 Staff retirement correspondence, 1979-1988.
TRANSPORTATION & SHIPPING RECORDS 1914-1988
Box Folder  
35 1 Joint railway agency cost & distribution inquiry, 1914-1985.
  4 Waste disposal & cleaning of stock cars, 1914-1954.
  5 Charges advanced on railways, 1916-1970.
  6 Switch engine repairs correspondence, 1916-1950.
  7 Weighing off railway cars to determine freight rates, 1917-1977.
Box Folder  
36 1 Switch engine rentals, 1917-1953.
  2 Train schedules, delays to cars & distributions, 1918-1975.
  3 Train derailment correspondence, 1920-1955.
  4 Through billing shipments, cattle stopover for feed, water & rest, 1921-1970.
  5 Outbound shipments, 1926-1959.
  6 Switch engine accidents, 1925-1981.
  7 Truck business, 1931-1953.
  8 Truck unloading facilities, 1938-1960.
Box Folder  
37 1 Livestock car equipment, 1940-1975.
  2 Costs of cleaning & disinfecting stock cars, 1943-1965.
  3 Sanding, slotting & bedding in cars for livestock protection, 1950-1985.
  4 Service contracts, 1950-1988.
  5 Switch engine expenses, 1953-1973.
Box Folder  
38 1 Transportation pass applications, 1959-1965.
  2 Tracking of livestock, trucking manifests, 1959-1986.
  3 Costs of cleaning & disinfecting stock cars, 1965-1986.
  4 Trackage billing, 1965-1986.
  5 Transportation pass applications, 1966-1972.
  6 Diesel switcher study for Union Stock Yards, 1958.
Box Folder  
39 1 Livestock freight rates, 1967-1972.
  2 Through billed shipments, cattle stopover for feed, water & rest, 1971-1972.
  3 Through billed shipments, cattle stopover for feed, water & rest, 1972-1974.
  4 Free rail pass applications, 1973-1984.
  5 Livestock freight rates, 1973-1985.
Box Folder  
40 1 Livestock claims against the railway, 1973
  2 Railway switching, rules & regulations, 1974-1983.
  3 Railway car partitions, regulations & charges, 1974-1980.
  4 Vi Fago Trucking, license agreement for mobile trailer, 1974-1982.
  5 Train schedules, delays to cars, 1975-1977.
  6 Livestock car equipment reports, 1977-1986.
  7 Train schedules, delays to cars, 1978-1987.
  8 Livestock shipping contracts, 1980-1983.
  9 Piggyback equipment & service, 1981.
  10 Livestock handling investigative reports, 1984-1987.
  11 Livestock trucked in & railed out, 1984-1987.
  12 Railway Association of Canada circulars, rates & rental conditions, 1984-1985.
  13 Inventory of C.P.R. cars, 1984.
  14 Piggyback, Canada Freight Association, rates, rules & regulations, 1986-1987.
ANIMAL HEALTH RECORDS 1920-1987
Box Folder  
41 1 Eradication of foot & mouth disease, 1920-1954.
  2 Bruising of livestock, correspondence & minutes, 1921-1955.
  3 Disposal of crippled & dead livestock in yards, 1923-1972.
  4 Special handling instructions, 1923-1987.
  5 Shipping fever, 1924-1975.
  6 Bovine tuberculosis restricted area, 1939-1960.
  7 Bruising of cattle, 1957-1974.
  8 Testing of animals for brucellosis & T.B. injections, 1957-1973.
Box Folder  
42 1 Health inspections, 1961-1980.
  2 Cattle shrinkage reports, 1963-1971.
  3 Accident investigations, 1963-1981.
  4 Handling of crippled & dead livestock in yards, 1973-1985.
  5 Manitoba Meat Packers safety council, 1973-1986.
  6 Health inspections, 1975-1979.
Box Folder  
43 1 Brucellosis Consultative Committee meeting, 1979.
  2 Health inspections, 1979-1981.
  3 Health inspections, 1982-1987.
WASTE DISPOSAL & ENVIRONMENTAL RECORDS 1917-1988
Box Folder  
43 4 Yard cleaning & disinfecting, 1917-1987.
  5 Disposal of manure, 1919-1988.
  6 Disposal of manure correspondence, 1927-1956.
  7 Fly & pest control, 1927-1971.
  8 Sewage disposal, 1937-1988.
  9 Weed control, spraying right-of-way, 1938-1981.
Box Folder  
44 1 Manure disposal, 1959-1982.
  2 Anti Pollution Products (Calgary) Ltd., manure decomposition, 1968-1972.
  3 Pollution & Clean Environment Commission, 1970-1974.
  4 Pollution & Clean Environment Commission correspondence, 1974-1985.
  5 Anti-pollution & agricultural chemicals, 1974.
AUCTIONS 1938-1988
Box Folder  
44 6 Auction sales, 1938-1953.
  7 Auction sales, 1954-1960.
Box Folder  
45 1 Auction sales, trading, bidding, regulations, ring time, ring conduct & auctioneers, 1961-1987.
  2 Auctioning of sheep & lambs, 1968-1981.
  3 New auction facilities, 1968-1970.
  4 Rural auction sales centres & 4 H Club sales, 1972-1981.
  5 Manitoba Livestock Auction Markets Association, 1979-1984.
  6 Manitoba Livestock Auction Markets Association, 1985-1988.
FIRE PREVENTION 1913-1987
Box Folder  
46 1 Recommendations equipment & philosophy, 1913-1972.
  2 Fire warning system, electric sirens, 1926-1929.
  3 Fire losses other than livestock, 1955-1958.
  4 Fire inspectors reports, 1970-1984.
  5 Recommendations for prevention, 1973-1987.
  6 Administration building fire alarm system, 1977.
MARKETING & RESEARCH 1953-1987
Box Folder  
46 7 Saskatchewan Livestock Marketing Board proposal, 1953.
Box Folder  
47 1 Livestock marketing research, 1961-1964.
  2 Marketing boards, 1970-1983.
  3 Production & marketing of cattle & calves 1974-1981.
  4 Saskatchewan Sheep & Lamb Marketing Commission, 1975-1981.
  5 Phone line marketing information, 1976-1981.
  6 Livestock marketing systems study, 1977-1979.
  7 Marketing & sales alternatives, 1979-1980.
  8 Livestock Markets of Canada Association, 1980-1985.
Box Folder  
48 1 Terminal Markets of Canada, Calgary Public Livestock Market Ltd., 1981.
  2 Marketing & sales C.N. & C.P.R., 1982-1984.
  3 Canfax weekly summary, market analysis & outlook reports, 1984-1986.
  4 Livestock Markets Association of Canada, 1985-1987.
FEED & HANDLING CHARGES 1914-1986
Box Folder  
48 5 Feed & handling charges, Re: livestock at yard, 1914-1949
  6 Feed & yardage prices, 1915-1973.
  7 Statistics, Re: Livestock handled, 1955-1972.
  8 Horned & dehorned cattle correspondence, 1968-1973.
  9 Fat cattle or slaughter cattle sales, (Fridays), 1968-1971
Box Folder  
49 1 Statistics, Re: Livestock handled, 1973-1986.
  2 Charges for handling through loads, country purchases or sales by firms at the yard, 1974-1975.
  3 Charges for handling legitimate through loads, 1974-1979.
HOG PRODUCERS 1922-1983
Box Folder  
49 4 Hog grading, 1922-1961.
  5 Manitoba Hog Producers marketing board, 1965-1968.
  6 Manitoba Hog Producers marketing board, 1969-1973.
  7 Saskatchewan Hog Marketing Commission, 1973.
  8 Manitoba Hog Producers marketing board, 1974-1983.
YARD CORRESPONDENCE 1956-1987
Box Folder  
50 1 Yard facilities, pen & ring allocation, 1956-1987.
  2 Hydro services to yards, 1972-1985.
  3 Schedule of charges, rules & regulations of the yard, 1974-1977.
  4 Schedule of charges, rules & regulations of the yard, 1978-1988.
  5 Coffee break service for the yard, 1975-1987.
  6 Yardage correspondence, 1983-1987.
  7 Company operations at St. Boniface yards, 1984.
TRUCK WASHING FACILITY 1938-1986
Box Folder  
51 1 Truck washing correspondence, 1938-1963.
  2 Truck washing facility, 1965-1972.
  3 Truck washing facility, 1973-1977.
  4 Truck washing facility, 1976-1986.
  5 Truck clean-out contract, 1976-1982.
  6 Truck wash automation & reorganization, 1979-1984.
  7 Truck wash operations costs, 1985-1986.
LIVESTOCK STUDIES 1965-1979
Box Folder  
52 1 Meat Commission Study, 1974-1975.
  2 Meat Commission Study, 1975-1976.
  3 Meat Commission Studies Circulars, 1975-1977.
  4 Meat Commission Study, 1977-1979.
  5 Study Re: Beef cattle futures, 1965-1972.
  6 Beef Improvement & Grading Study, 1966-1972.
Box Folder  
53 1 Ross Study & Canadian Livestock Co-operative proposals, 1969-1973.
  2 Production & Marketing Beef Cattle & Calves Study, 1970-1973.
GOVERNMENT REPORTS 1919-1988
Box Folder  
53 3 Government monthly feed reports, 1919-1934.
  4 Government monthly feed reports, 1950-1972.
  5 Government monthly feed reports, 1973-1978.
Box Folder  
54 1 Government monthly feed reports, 1979-1988.
  2 Manitoba Beef Stabilization & Beef Marketing Commission report, 1982-1985.
WINNIPEG & NATIONAL LIVESTOCK EXCHANGE 1957-1988
Box Folder  
54 3 Winnipeg Livestock Exchange, submission to Select Standing Committee on Agriculture, 1957-1961.
  4 National Livestock Exchange, notices & correspondence, 1959-1964.
  5 Winnipeg Livestock Exchange, 1969-1973.
  6 Winnipeg Livestock Exchange, 1974-1988.
PUBLIC RELATIONS & ADVERTISING 1947-1989
Box Folder  
55 1 Advertising, broadcasting & publicity, 1947-1973.
  2 Public relations correspondence, 1968-1970.
  3 Public relations correspondence, 1971-1989.
  4 Advertising, broadcasting & publicity, 1974-1986.
  5 Public relations, farm press news service, 1980-1981.
  6 Publicity & articles, Re: Public Markets Ltd., 1985-1988.
COUNCILS & COMMITTEES 1941-1984
Box Folder  
55 7 Industrial Development Council of Canadian Meat Packers, brochures, 1941-1951.
  8 Meat Packers Council correspondence, 1954-1984.
  9 Special Drought Committee correspondence, 1961-1962.
WEIGH SCALE RECORDS 1924-1987
Box Folder  
56 1 Scales correspondence & plans, 1924-1954.
  2 Weigh masters approval, 1926-1987.
  3 Scale tickets, 1951-1984.
  4 Government scale inspection certificate, 1955-1987.
  5 Scale complaints, 1956-1977.
  6 Truck scale blueprints, 1957.
TENDERS, QUOTATIONS & ESTIMATES 1948-1984
Box Folder  
56 7 Tenders, quotations & estimates, 1948-1957.
  8 Tenders, quotations & estimates, 1958-1965.
Box Folder  
57 1 Tenders, quotations & estimates, 1966-1972.
  2 Quotations & supplier estimates, 1973-1984.
GENERAL PURCHASE ORDER RECORDS 1944-1973
Box Folder  
57 3 Purchase orders, 1944-1959.
  4 Purchase orders, 1960-1973.
HAY PURCHASES 1951-1988
Box Folder  
57 5 Hay purchase enquiries, 1951-1957.
  6 Hay purchases, 1958-1988.
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE RECORDS 1944-1987
Box Folder  
58 1 Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce correspondence, 1944-1959.
  2 St. Boniface Chamber of Commerce, 1958-1984.
  3 Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce minutes, 1973-1982.
  4 Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce minutes, 1983-1984.
  5 Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce correspondence, 1983-1987.
  6 Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce minutes, 1985-1987.
CHARITABLE DONATIONS RECORDS 1938-1988
Box Folder  
59 1 Charitable donations, 1937-1953.
  2 Charitable donations, 1954-1972.
  3 Charitable donations, 1973-1988.
COURSES & CLASSES 1957-1982
Box Folder  
59 4 First aid classes, 1957-1958.
  5 Diploma course in Agriculture, correspondence with University of Manitoba, 1958-1974.
Box Folder  
60 1 Diploma course in Agriculture,"Marketing Practices & Policies", 1959.
  2 Railway training courses, 1972-1981.
  3 Diploma course in Agriculture, tours & lectures, 1974-1982.
EQUIPMENT MAINTENANCE 1917-1987
Box Folder  
60 4 Well pumps parts & performance, 1917-1945.
  5 Proposed flood gate & pump, 1927.
  6 Repair & work on or near Public Markets Ltd., 1932-1983.
  7 Tractors & equipment depreciation, 1949-1984.
  8 Equipment maintenance & repairs, 1971-1987.
  9 Pumps automation at power house, 1975-1976.
YARD SECURITY 1971-1987
Box Folder  
60 10 Dominion Electric protection security system, 1973-1987.
  11 Yard security investigations, 1971-1980.
OVERSEAS EXPORTS 1912-1984
Box Folder  
60 12 Overseas shipments, 1912-1964.
  13 Livestock export overseas, 1963-1984.
RED RIVER FLOODS 1950-1979
Box Folder  
60 14 Cattle storage plan, 1950.
  15 Cattle storage plan, 1979.
SALES TO OTHER YARDS 1982-1987
Box Folder  
60 16 St. Paul Union Stock Yards, receipts & shipments of livestock, 1982-1987.
  17 Ontario Stock Yards sales, 1983-1987.
BROCHURES & PAMPHLETS 1942-1957
Box Folder  
61 1 The Practicability of Selling Cattle by Carcass Grade & Weight, 1942.
  2 Beef: What Everybody Should Know About It, 1950.
  3 Dutch Auction Systems of Marketing Fruit & Vegetables, 1950-1957.
  4 Union Stock Yard brochures, [ca.1950].
  5 Canada's Public Markets and Their Functions, [ca.1950].
  6 An Examination of some Aspects of Cattle Sales by the Dressed Carcass By-passing the Public Market, 1957.
MISCELLANEOUS RECORDS 1913-1986
Box Folder  
61 7 Bus & streetcar service to the yards, 1913-1960.
  8 Public Markets newspaper file, 1914.
  9 Stock feeder 4H Club sales, 1923-1971.
  10 Program of official visit by Winnipeg & St. Boniface Boards of Trade & Rotary Club, 1926.
  11 Public Markets newspaper file, 1954-1957.
  12 Ninth annual report on record of performance for beef cattle, 1964-1965.
  13 St. Boniface Centenary Publication, includes history of Union Stock Yards, 1967.
  14 Canadian Agriculture Congress, 1968-1970.
  15 Canadian Cattlemens Association correspondence, 1969-1981.
  16 Winnipeg Commodity Exchange, beef features, 1973-1975.
  17 Horse sales, 1973-1979.
  18 Hoof & Horn Social Club, 1974.
  19 Exhibitions & fairs, 1974-1986.
  20 Double deck unloading chutes purchase, 1976-1977.
  21 Soil stability test, 1976.
Box Folder  
62 1 Metric conversion scales, 1976.
  2 Metric conversion scales, 1977-1985.
  3 Management information systems & computer programming, 1979-1985.
  4 Parking lot construction costs, 1979.
  5 American Railway Development Association Meeting, 1979.
  6 Film production, Universal Films, 1979.

Return to Top


Photograph Collection (PC 135) 1964, [ca. 1970]
 
Photos 1-15 are from an Armstrong & Taylor Fire Prevention Report, August 1964.
135-001 Entrance to Union Stock Yards.
135-002 Administration building.
135-003 Typical scale house.
135-004 Powerhouse & automobile garage. Note sign & fire hose container on powerhouse wall.
135-005 Garage.
135-006 Looking west along front of enclosed livestock pens, Block No.1 enclosed water tank in background.
135-007 Block No.3 enclosed livestock pens.
135-008 East end of stockyards.
135-009 South end of stockyards.
135-010 South end of enclosed livestock pens.
135-011 Automobile garage, metal supports of water storage tank in foreground.
135-012 Hay storage barns.
135-013 South end of livestock pens showing truck loading chutes.
135-014 Truck washing & disinfecting building.
135-015 Typical auction ring.
Photographs 16-25 are publicity shots taken by Portigal & Ayers Photographers Ltd. [ca .1970]
135-016 Exterior view of pens.
135-017 Aerial view of yards.
135-018 Loading area.
135-019 Cattle being herded in pen.
135-020 Exterior view of commission firms enclosures.
135-021 Cattle viewing area for buyers.
135-022 Truck being loaded at Weiller & Williams pen.
135-022-023 Cattle being led of C.P. rail car.
135-025 Cattle eating hay.
135-026 Hon. J. Douglas Watt, left minister of agriculture, was the guest speaker at the closing dinner of the three-day National Livestock Exchange Convention, held at the Fort Garry Hotel. Among those taking part in the convention were Charles Ladin, centre, president of the Winnipeg Livestock Exchange, and Ken Knowles, president of the Association of Stock Yard Managers and Supervisors, and manager of the Union Stock yards in St. Boniface. [ca. 1960] photo credit: C.N.R.
135-027 Ed Miedzy Brocki, Secretary of Public Markets, officially turns over the Winnipeg Union Stockyards' records to Jim Gardner, University of Manitoba Vice-President & Provost at the Manitoba History Conference held at the university on May 13-14, 1993.
135-028 Brian McDonald of C.P.R.? [ca. 1980]
135-029-034 Tractor & trailer at Union Stock Yard garage. [ca. 1970]
135-035-038 Rail Transport car (double decker), 1974.
135-039-043 Unloading rail cars, 1975.

Return to Top