Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Leona Radchuk fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 269, PC 228 (A.08-98))

Leona Radchuk Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of Leona Radchuk's Papers at the University of Manitoba

Inventory prepared by James Kominowski
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2008)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2008)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Leona Radchuk
 
Title:
MSS 269, PC 228 (A.08-98)
 
Dates:
1950-2000
 
Quantity:
12 cm of textual records, 82 photographs
 
Identification:
MSS 269, PC 228 (A.08-98)
 
 
English

Return to Top


Biography of Leona Radchuk

Leona Radchuk (née Kosjar) was born in Eastern Ukraine and arrived with her parents in Canada in 1948. She attended King Edward Junior High School and Isaac Newton High School. After high school, she attended the University of Manitoba, where she obtained a Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Pedagogy, Bachelor of Education and a Master’s of Education. After finishing her university studies, she taught high school for 20 years, then changed careers and became a business manager for the next 18 years.

Mrs. Radchuk was and remains active in several community associations: she was a a school trustee; Girl Guide Commissioner; St. Andrew’s College (University of Manitoba) Board member and Chairperson; Seven Oaks Hospital Foundation Board member; Ukrainian Women’s Association of Canada member; founding member of Winnipeg’s Ukrainian dance group Rozmai (formerly the SUMK dancers –Soiuz ukrains'koi molodi Kanady); and a long-time member of Alpha Omega Alumnae ( an association of Ukrainian Women Graduates of the University of Manitoba).

Mrs. Radchuk is married to attorney Dr. Serge Radchuk, and they have two daughters, Julie and Natalie.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds consists of a photo album/scapbook chronicling the activities of Serge and Leona Radchuk in the Ukrainian Canadian community, including many photos pertaining to the Ukrainian Canadian Congress, Also included as part of the collection are high school yearbooks and awards received by Leona Radchuk over the years.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into four series and photograph collection

  • 1. Biographical info
  • 2. St. Andrew's College
  • 3. Ukrainian Orthodox Church
  • 4. Miscellaneous
  • PC 228 - Photograph Collection

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

Open to all researchers.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Open to all researchers.

Return to Top


Index Terms

Subjects:

Ukrainian Canadians

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the Archives & Special Collections by Leona Radchuk in 2008.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Biographical
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Isaac Newton High School Yearbook, 1950
  2 Miles MacDonell Collegiate Yearbook, 1957-1958
  3 Miles MacDonell Collegiate Yearbook, 1958-1959
  4 Miles MacDonell Collegiate Yearbook, 1959-1960
  5 “Ukrainian Pioneers in Canada” Grade 6, Ukrainian-Bilingual Class. By Mrs. Alice Grywinski and Mrs. Anne Tymos. Springfield Heights School, Winnipeg, MB, 1990-1991
  6 Certificate of Recognition for Distinguished Service on the Board of Alpha Omega Alumnae, May 2000
  7 Certificate presented to Leona Radchuk for 26 years of membership to the Ukrainian Women’s Association of Canada, March 2000
  8 Plaque presented to Leona Radchuk as Past Member of the Board of Trustees for the Seven Oaks School Division No. 10 ca.1985

Return to Top


St. Andrew's College
 
Box Folder  
2 1 St. Andrew's annual report for 1994-1995
  2 Issue of Visti z Kolegii = News from the College, May-December 1994
  3
Banquet program for His Beatitude Metropolitan Wasyly for St. Andrew's College Foundation, 1994
  4 Board of Directors, St. Andrew's College, 1996-1997

Return to Top


Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Canada
 
Box Folder  
2 5 S.U.S. (Soiuz ukraintsiv samostiinykiv) announcements, Brochures, etc., 1993
  6 W. Burianyk's "S.U.S." - Its meaning and significance, 1967
  7 Photocopies of the bylaws of St. Andrew's College; the Ukrainian Canadian Foundation of Taras Shevchenko; and S.U.S. (Soiuz ukraintsiv samostiinykiv), 1946-1981
  8 Various brochures and publications, including, the 50th anniversary of the All-Canadian Metropolitan Cathedral, Banquet Honouring Our Ukrainian Pioneers of Manitoba,1992,1996
  9 19th Regular Sobor of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Canada, 1995
  10 St. Michael's Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Canada, 1918-2003, 2003

Return to Top


Miscellaneous
 
Box Folder  
2 11 Card, stamps, and commemorative book on the Millennium Celebration of Christianity in Ukraine, 1988
  12 Brochure of the Ukrainian Symphony concert of the 11th Ukrainian Canadian Congress,1974
  13 Postup article on the 13th Ukrainian Canadian Congress (KUK), 1980
  14 Just a Kommedia - Stage, Play, including correspondence, 1984

Return to Top


PC 228 - Photographs
 
Box Folders  
1 1
Photograph scrapbook, ca. 1960-1987

Contains 67 photographs chronicling the community activities of Serge and Leona Radcuk, including photographs from the Ukrainian Canadian Congress, the Society of Volyn; the First Ethno-cultural Council, and the Board of Carpathia Credit Union. The scrapbook also contains letters to Serge Radchuk from the Honourable John Turner, the Honourable Bryce Makasey, and provincial Chief Justice Benjamin Hewak.

  2
Photograph scrapbook, 1988

Contains 15 photographs of the 1000th Anniversary of Christianity in Ukraine. Commemorations in Ottawa, 1988

 

Return to Top