Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Bernard M. Rasch fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 190 (A.04-104))

Bernard M. Rasch Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of His Files and Collected Books donated to the Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Vladimira Zvonik and Michelle Strutt
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1937-2004)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (October 2004)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - Mss 190 (A.04-104) converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
Archives & Special Collections 
University of Manitoba
 
Creator:
Bernard M. Rasch
 
Title:
Bernard M. Rasch fonds
 
Dates:
1937-2004
 
Quantity:
48 cm of textual material, 502 books
 
Language
English.
 
 
Mss 190 (A.04-104)

Return to Top


Biographical Information

Ontario architect, Bernard M. Rasch obtained his Bachelor of Architecture from the University of Manitoba's School of Architecture. Following graduation he relocated to the Toronto area and, since 1973, has been a partner in several firms and most recently retired from Area Architects Rasch Eckler Associates Ltd. His career highlights include: receiving the Canadian Architect Design Award in 1976; his first overseas work on a shopping centre in China in 1983; holding the position of the president of the Ontario Association of Architects in both 1983 and 2000; as well as publishing in many design journals, both Canadian and American. His firm, Area Architects Rasch Eckler Associates Ltd., received the City of Toronto Business Recognition Award in 1999. He has also been a long time donor to The Winnipeg Foundation. Throughout his life Mr. Rasch collected books and other materials on UFO sightings, paranormal phenomena, and occult societies and he donated this collection to the University of Manitoba in 2004.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds contains various newsletters, pamphlets and publications on UFOs, occult societies, psychics and natural healers. It also contains Rasch's scrapbook of the Monarchy; as well as Margaret Hamilton's newspaper articles about her father, well know paranormal inverstigator, Dr. T. G. Hamilton.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into four boxes.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into four boxes.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on access.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

No restrictions on use.

Return to Top


Index Terms

Subjects:

UFO's

Occult

Psychics

Hamilton, T. G.

Royal Family

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds were donated by Bernard M. Rasch to the Archives & Special Collections, the University of Manitoba in 2004.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Box 1
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Bernard M. Rasch - Curriculum Vitae,[ 2004 ]
  2 List of the books donated to the University of Manitoba by B. M. Rasch,[ 2004 ]
  3 Benjamin Hatskin - B. Rasch's uncle,[ 1988, ]

newspaper clippings

  4 Royal Family - Rasch's scrap book of the Monarchy,[ 1937, ]

includes two photographs of Queen Elizabeth's visit to Toronto, 1972

  5 Dr. T. G. Hamilton - articles by M.L. Hamilton; collected in a scrap book by Dora Dibney,[ 1958-1966, ]

newspaper clippings

  6 UFO - articles, newsletters, other information sources,[ 1964-1996 ]
  7 Psychics, Psychic Societies - articles, newsletters, other information,[ 1979-1980 ]
  8
Natural healers - articles, newsletters, other information,[ 1974-1980 ]
  9 Astrology - articles, newsletters, other information,[ n.d. ]
  10 The Mind Institute, Toronto - supporting information,

1972-1975

  11 Conferences, Festivals, Seminars on esoteric sciences and yoga - supporting information,[ 1979-1980 ]
  12 George Walter de la Warr's invention - Improvements relating to multi-frequency signal generating apparatus,[ 1967 ]
  13 UFO's - newspaper clippings,[ 1964-2003 ]
  14 Psychics - newspaper clippings,[ 1965-1985 ]

Return to Top


Box 2
 
Box Folder  
2 1 Publisher's Catalogues - notes,[ n.d. ]
  2-6 Publisher's Catalogues, pt.1-5,[ 1970-80 ]

 

Return to Top


Box 3
 
Box Folder  
3 1 Various journals, newsletters, pamphlets on UFO's, occult societies, psychics, and natural healers.

 

Return to Top


Box 4
 
Box Folder  
4 1 Inner Life: Toronto'Aquarian Age Newsletter,[ 1974, no.15 ]
  2 Inner Life: Toronto's Aquarian Age Newsletter,[ 1975, no.1-4 ]
  3 Inner Life: Toronto's Aquarian Age Newsletter,[ 1975, no.19-24 ]
  4 Inner Life: Toronto's Aquarian Age Newsletter,[ 1980, no.7 ]
  5 Flying saucers journal,[ 1961-1975 ]
  6 Forum - newsletter,[ 1966-1975 ]
  7
Negatives, photographs - Downtown Winnipeg,[ 1967 ]
Alien Autopsy- Roswell, August 28, 1995, Fox Network, Documentary,

Video

UFO's,

Video

Return to Top