Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Strange, Davison, Thompson, Griffiths Family fonds: MSS 192, PC 182 (A2004-103)

Strange, Davison, Thompson, Griffiths Family:

An Inventory of Their Papers and Photographs at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Jackie Nadiger
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2005)

Finding aid encoded by Heather Beattie (2005)
Finding aid written in English.



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Edith Thomson
 
Title:
Strange, Davison, Thompson, Griffiths Family fonds
  
Dates:
1865-2003; predominant 1918-2003
 
Quantity:
1.55 m of textual records. -- 1369 photographs
 
Identification:
MSS 192, PC 182 (A.04-103)
 
Language:
English

Return to Top


Biography of Strange, Davison, Thompson and Griffiths Families

These papers were created by families of Theodore Strange, Andrew Davison, Thompson and Mary Ann Griffiths. Theodore Strange married Mary Ann Griffiths and together they had four children, Nita, Ella, Sims, and George. Strange worked in Winnipeg for a short while to earn money to buy land for a farm and relocated his family to Green Ridge in 1878. He died in October 1879 of pneumonia and complications from injuries received during the U.S. civil war. The following year Mrs. Strange married Andrew Davison of Green Ridge. They had five more children, Mary, Llewie, Lizzie, Bill and Bert. Andrew died in 1933 and Mary Ann in 1936; the farm was bequeathed to Bert and Bill Davison, neither of whom married. Upon their deaths, Theo Stancel Strange, the son of Sims Strange, inherited the farms. Lizzie married Thompson and had a daughter Edith Thompson. Edith lived on the farm most of her life.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection consists of feet of greeting cards, postcards, photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence, farm ledgers and account books, receipts, wills, legal documents, land deeds, historical municipality charts, family trees, and historical papers including official notice of John Thomas’ discharge from the U.S. military service in 1865, a letter from Buckingham palace wishing a safe return to a soldier sent overseas (presumably Pte. H. W. Davison). Included among the family photographs are Pte. Davison’s photos of the destruction in France at the end of WWI. The majority of correspondence is between Llewie Davison, Lizzie Davison, Nita Strange, Mary Davison, Bill Davison, Bert Davison, Edith Thompson, and Theo Stancel Strange.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into six series formed by Edith Thompson; arrangement by archives staff with respect for original order

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restrictions placed on access or use

Return to Top


Related Materials

The journal of Theodore Strange is held by the Provincial Archives of Manitoba. The journal contains Strange's account of his voyage from Thorold to Winnipeg. Miss Thompson has prepared and included a handwritten account of the journal.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Donated by Theo Strange and Miss Edith Thompson

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Greeting cards [ 1899-2003 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1

Christmas cards 1918-2003; predominant 1918-1933

54 cards in total; 5 "I'm doing my bit for my country" Christmas cards, 1918, from Pte. H.W. Davison, 11th Can. Res. Bttn., Seaford Sussex

  2 Christmas cards undated
  3 Christmas cards undated
  4 Wedding/Anniversary cards 1906-2003
  5 Funeral/Sympathy cards 1899-2003; predominant 1981-2003
  6 Miscellaneous cards 1976-2002

Return to Top


Correspondence 1881-2003
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 Nita Strange 1893-1909, [1919?]
  2 Mary Davison 1902-1937, 1949
  3 Llewie Davison 1902-1976; predominant 1902-1918
  4 Bill Davison 1903, 1919-1936
  5 Lizzie Davison 1903-1958
  6 Letters to Bert Davison 1909-1955; predominant 1918-1937
  7 Letters from Bert Davison 1918-1919, 1937
  8 Mr. Davison, Mrs. Davison 1918-1933, 1893-1929
  9 General correspondence 1881-1897, 1906-1920
  10 General correspondence 1921-1931, 1989, 1992
  11 Fragments undated
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 To Edith & Theo 1932-1975
  2 To Edith & Theo 1976-1977
  3 To Edith & Theo 1981-1991
  4 To Edith & Theo 1992-2003
  5 To Edith & Theo undated

Return to Top


Postcards 1908-1932
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 Canadian provinces: Ontario; Quebec 1908-1932
  2 Canadian provinces: Saskatchewan; Manitoba 1909-1918
  3 Canadian provinces: Alberta; British Columbia; Nova Scotia; Prince Edward Island 1912-1923
  4 Britain: Alnwick; Eastbourne; London; The Tower of London; Seaford 1914-1919
  5 Britain: Alnmouth; Dublin; Edinburgh 1918
  6 France: 2 booklets of French ruins
  7 Miscellaneous: Soldiers/camps; The King at the Front; Buckingham Palace and the King's state coach; people/portraits 1909-1919
  8 Miscellaneous: American states; Valentines/Christmas greetings 1911-1932
  9 Album of 76 postcards
  10 Pictoral letters

Return to Top


Photographs 1898-2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5 1 Mounted photographs of the Griffiths, Davison, Strange and Thompson family in Green Ridge; group photo of Green Ridge school, 1898; portrait of Robert Foulds
  2 Mounted photographs of the Griffiths, Davison, Strange and Thompson families
  3 Album of 33 photographs
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
6 1 165 negatives
  2 Black & White photographs: photo of Mary Ann Griffiths and her grandchildren
  3 Black & White photographs: photos of Andrew Davison's second house, built in 1901
  4 Bert's overseas photos: Photos of buildings destroyed by bombs in Annis and Lens in France just after WWI, taken by Bert Davison while stationed overseas 1918-1919
  5 Black & White photos: hospital ward, patients, nurses and doctors ca. 1930
  6 Colour photos, 1 slide 1960-2002
  7 1 album of 238 photos 1910-1932

Return to Top


Clippings 1929, 1981-2002
 
Newspaper Clippings: clippings from Sunday Star , Red River Valley Echo , Wilsonville Spokesman , Scratching River Post , Winnipeg Free Press , Carillon . Mainly farming/agricultural articles, community profiles and rural news. One article on Edith Thompson recognizing her for thirty years of weather watching (June 15, 1998). Several articles on the car accident that killed Mike, Kelly, Elizabeth and Curtis Strange (December 7, 1996). 1921, 1981-2002
 
Clippings: Birthday, wedding/anniversary announcements and obituaries. An article on natural dyes features Edith Thompson. n.d.

Return to Top


Miscellaneous 1880-1994
 
Miscellaneous: letter from Buckingham palace wishing a safe return to a soldier sent overseas (presumably Pte. H. W. Davison); 1919 map of Central Europe; 1927 Manitoba temperature report 1880-1937
 
Miscellaneous: Geological survey of Canada, 1953 Report of Reconnaissance Soil Survey of Winnipeg and Morris Map Sheet areas, 1 map 1953
 
Miscellaneous: 1968 and 1974 copies of Red River Valley Historian; 1991 Strange Family News; Edith's handwritten account of Theo Strange's trip to Winnipeg from Thorold, Ontario 1962-1994
 
Miscellaneous n.d.
 
John Thomas papers: Official letter of discharge from service in the United States civil war 1865-1879
 
Receipts from leather wallet, William Foulds 1873-1877
 
Andrew Davison, Miss. L. Davison 1873-1931
 
Theodore Strange, Theodore S. Strange 1878-1943
 
M.A. Strange/Thomas/Davison 1880-1893
 
French documents 1913
 
Andrew Davison's bank books 1921-1932
 
William Davison, Herbert Davison 1932-1948
 
Wills (unsigned)
 
Booklets: Lipton's Cup of Knowledge; United Grain Growers; The Banqueting Hall of Edinburgh Castle; Canadian Soldiers Song Book; Eaton's Bulletin of Radio Receiving Sets & Supplies 1923 ; Songs of Christmas Cheer; Beaverdams 1914 ; Gems of American Architecture 1935
 
Historical municipality charts
 
Griffiths family papers, family tree
 
Edith Thompson's notes
 
Books & Albums: Andrew Davison's farm ledger 1882 ; Mrs. Davison's poetry anthology; Presbyterian book of praise 1904 ; Bible; Royal Municipality of Franklin 1883-1983

Return to Top


Oversize
Robert Foulds' Pharmaceutical Association of the North West Territories Certificate 1911 ; Griffiths family portrait

Return to Top