Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Eva Stubbs fonds: Home

Eva Stubbs:

An Inventory of her papers at the University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Nicole Courrier
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(October 7th, 2013)

Finding aid encoded by Nicole Courrier (October 7th, 2013)
Finding aid written in English.



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB, R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Eva Stubbs
 
Title:
Eva Stubbs Fonds
 
Dates:
1890 -2008 [1957-2008]
 
Quantity:
0.31 of textual records, 1 floppy disk, 240 photographs and 928 photo slides
 
Identification:
MSS 370, PC 325, EL 68 (A2013-75)
 
Language:
English

Return to Top


Biography of Eva Stubbs

Eva Stubbs, nee Koves and previously known as Eva Wolinsky, was born in Budapest, Hungary, in 1925. She immigrated to Canada in 1944 and received a diploma of Fine Arts from the University of Manitoba School of Art in 1957. After teaching high school in Montreal from 1959 to 1963 she returned to Winnipeg.

Stubbs works mainly in sculpture and drawing and has had exhibitions in Winnipeg, Montreal and Budapest. In addition to her sculptural practice, she has taught art at the Winnipeg Art Gallery and Lakehead University, she was a mentor in the advisory program fo Manitoba Artists for Women's Art and a founding member of SITE, a Winnipeg gallery cooperative. Stubbs was elected to the Royal Canadian Academy in 1995.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

This collection is divided into 10 series, they include: biographical material; family; teaching; correspondence; artwork, auctions, installations and exhibitions; publicity and publications; committees and councils; other artists; Electronic Records (EL 68), Photograph Collection (PC 325)

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on access.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

No restrictions on use.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Donated by Eva Stubbs in 2013.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL [ 1959-2006 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 1 Selected Curriculum Vitae 1959-2004
  2 An Essay on Eva Koves Stubbs by Carol Mills 1980
  3 Autobiography of Eva Stubbs- Rough Copies 2006

Return to Top


Family 1963-2004
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 4 Family Trips, Performances and Wedding 1963-2004
  5 Grandchildren's Modelling and Drawings 2000s

Return to Top


Teaching 1959-1960
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 6 St.John's High School Variety Concert and the National Assembly of the Canadian Society for Education through Art 1959-1960

Return to Top


Correspondence 1965-2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 7 Correspondence - Cards, Invitations, Telegrams, Letters and Emails 1965-2005

Return to Top


Artwork, Auctions, Installations and Exhibits 1957-2008
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 8 Sculpture Orders, Invoices and Sketches 1977-2002
  9 Manitoba Culture, Heritage and Citizenship Grant 1993
  10 Art Auctions 1957-2008
  11 Exhibitions- The Upstairs Gallery, Fleet Gallery and 'Mask' 1976,1982,1989
  12 Gallery 1.1.1- School of Art, University of Manitoba Exhibition 1984
  13 "Memories for the Future" Exhibition- Winnipeg Art Gallery 1987
  14 Joint Exhibitions- The 'Artist Series,' ' Small Work by Big Artists,' Vasarley Museum and University of Winnipeg 1985,1992,1993,2007 
  15 The Royal Canadian Academy of Arts- Prairie Region Exhibition Folder 1 of 3 1997-1998
  16 The Royal Canadian Academy of Arts- Prairie Region Exhibition Folder 2 of 3 1997-1998
  17 The Royal Canadian Academy of Arts- Prairie Region Exhibition Folder 3 of 3 1997-1998
  18 <SITE> Gallery Opening, 'Family' Sculpture Newspaper Article, Law Courts Series No.3 1998,2002,2006

Return to Top


Publicity and Publications 1982-2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 19 Art Magazine- 'Eva Stubbs at the Fleet Gallery' 1982
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
2 1 Art West Magazine- "Eva Stubbs at Fleet" 1982
  2 Women Artist News- 'Four Artists in Manitoba' and 'Silent Voices Sculpture 1984
  3 University of Manitoba- The Alumni Journal- Cover- 'Iphigenia' by Eva Stubbs 1984
  4 Arts Manitoba Quarterly of the Arts- ' Eva Stubbs: The Decorum of the Primordial" 1985
  5 The WAG Magazine- 'Eva Stubbs: Memories for the Future' 1987
  6 Border Crossings: A Magazine of the Arts from Manitoba- Reviews- 'Eva Stubbs: Memories for the Future' 1988
  7 Border Crossings: A Magazine of the Arts- 'Visual Art: Feat of Clay'- 'Multiples' by Eva Stubbs 1996
  8 The Light Within: Manitoba Women in Art- Selections from the Goverment of Manitoba Art Collection- 'Untitled' by Eva Stubbs 1997
  9 Winnipeg Women: A Voice for and about Manitoba Women- Cover Story 'Cast in her Own Mould" 2002
  10 Prairie Fire: A Magazine of Canadian Writing- 'Eva Stubbs' by G.N. Louise Jonasson Folder 1 of 3 1986
  11 Prairie Fire: A Magazine of Canadian Writing- 'Eva Stubbs' by G.N. Louise Jonasson Folder 2 of 3 1986
  12 Prairie Fire: A Magazine of Canadian Writing: 'Eva Stubbs' by G.N Louise Jonasson Folder 3 of 3 1986
  13 Prairie Fire: A Magazine of Canadian Writing- ' Deacon Wiebe and the Two Mrs.Wiebes' Image by Eva Stubbs 1989
  14 Prairie Fire: A Canadian Magazine of New Writing- Image for ' Paguyn and Kithulai''Folder 1 of 2 1994
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
3 1 Prairie Fire: A Canadian Magazine of New Writing- Image for 'Paguyn and Kithulai' Folder 2 of 2 1994
  2 The Cermaic Spectrum: A Simplified Approach to Glaze and Color Development- Ch.22 ' Glaze Application' 2001

Return to Top


Committees and Councils 1995-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
3 3 Manitoba Arts Council- Code of Ethics and Award of Distinction Nomination 1995,2006
  4 Royal Canadian Academy of Arts- Directory 2006

Return to Top


Other Artists 1957-1961
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
3 5 Le Maxie Glover Exhibition 1957-1961
  6 Northwest Painters [1970s-1980s]

Return to Top


ELECTRONIC RECORDS (EL 68) 2004
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
3 7 Biography- Floppy Disk 2004

Return to Top


PHOTOGRAPHIC COLLECTION (PC 325) [1890s-2000s]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 1 Early Sculptures- 6 photographs 1957-1974
  2 Chief Curator of Royal Ontario Museum- Dr. Walter Kenyon- Bust- 2 photographs [1980s]
  3 "Medieval Women"- 3 photographs 1982
  4 "Figures"- 2 photographs 1984
  5 Maquette- No.4- 2 photographs 1986
  6 Sam Freedman and Lord Denning- 2 photographs 1987
  7 "Memories for the Future"- Winnipeg Art Gallery and Vasarely Museum- 16 photographs 1987-1988, 1993
  8 "Mystic Participation" - 2 paragraphs 1990
  9 "Structures" No. 2&3- 8 photographs 1991
  10 "No Exit" - 2 photographs 1992
  11 "Suspended Figure" - 3 photographs 1991
  12 Vasarely Museum- 3 photographs 1993
  13 "Passages"- 2 photographs 1995
  14 "Multiples" Exhibition- 7 photographs 1995
  15 Commissioned Work- Izzy Aspers Gate- 11 photographs 1997-1998
  16 Eva Stubbs-2 photographs [1990s-2000s]
  17 Eva Stubbs and Sculptures- 3 photographs [2000s]
  18 "Family Revealing at One Wellington Cresent- 24 photographs 2002
  19 Family and Friends-12 photographs [1890s-1990s]
  20 Friends- 5 photographs [1990s]
  21 Eva and Harold Stubbs- 7 photographs [1990s-2000s]
  22 Children and Grandchildren- 29 photographs [1990s-2000s]
  23 Grandchildren- 62 photographs [2000s]
  24 Eva, Harold and Grandchildren- 5 photographs [2000s]
  25 Artwork and Scenary- 4 photographs [2000s]
  26 Japan- 16 photographs [2000s]
  27 Early Work- ' Young Girl,' ' Male Figure,' 'Seated Young Girl,' 'Mother and Child,' 'Maquette,' 'Reclining Male' - 4 pages including 80 slides 1956-1976
  28 Sculptures- 'Mother and Child,' 'Maternity,' Samuel Freedman,' ' Seated Figure,' ' Composition,' ' Lovers,' ' Young Girl in Furs,' ' Trio' - 4 pages including 80 slides 1975-1978
  29 Sculptures- ' Trio,' ' Girl Seated,' 'Duo,' 'Triovis,' 'Marni,' 'The Family of John Graham,' 'Elaine,' 'Standing Lady,' 'Fragmantation' - 4 pages of 80 slides 1978-1979
  30 Sculptures- ' Portrait of A,' ' Trois Visages,' ' Family No.1,' ' Family No.2,' ' Friends,' ' Mother with Child,' and Various- 3 pages of 60 slides 1979-1980
  31 Sculptures- ' Arlene,' ' Trois Visges,' 'Family No.1,' ' Children of the Ark,' ' Medieval Woman,' ' Mythical Princess,' ' Silent Voices,' ' Protective Voices, ' Fiorelli's Innovation'- 3 pages of 60 slides 1979-1982
  32 John Bullmer and John Hirsh Busts- 6 pages of 12 slides [1970s-1980s]
  33 Sculptures- 'Fiorelli's Innovation,' ' Ancient Regalia Clay,' ' 'Sage No.21,' ' Peoplescape,' ' Bearded Portrait,' ' Metamorphisis,' ' Cloud Damsel,' ' Instillation Shots,' and Various- 3 pages of 60 slides 1982
  34 Sculptures- 'Moongod,' ' Figures,' ' Duality,' ' Maguette,' ' Memories for the Future,' ' Mask' and Various- 4 pages of 62 slides 1982-1990
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
2 1 Sculptures- ' Mystic Participation,' ' Gaia,' ' Nude Series,' ' Strucutre I,' ' Maquette for Monument I and II,' ' Exit'- 4 pages of 80 slides 1990-1992
  2 Sculptures- ' Suspended Figure,' ' Monument,' ' Made in Japan,' ' Friese,' ' Mother and Child,' ' Multiples'- 8 pages of 148 slides 1992-1995
  3 Sculptures- 'Multiples,' ' Passages,' ' Asper's Wall Pieces,' ' Carol Shields,' ' Dr. Dhalla,' 'Family,' and Various Sculptures- 4 pages of 80 slides [1980s-2000s]
  4 Budapest, Japan and Misc. Negatives- 7 pages of 126 slides [1975-2000]

Return to Top