Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Iraida Tarnawecky fonds: MSS 213, PC 189, TC 112 (A2004-126)

Dr. Iraida Tarnawecky

An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by James Kominowski
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, MB
(August 2005)

Finding aid encoded by James Kominowski (August 2005)
Finding aid written in English.



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, MB
 
Creator:
Dr. Iraida Tarnawecky
 
Title:
Dr. Iraida Tarnawecky fonds
 
Dates: ca.1660-1991
 
Quantity:
0.53 m of textual records and other material
 

Identification:

MSS 2123, PC 189, TC 112 (A2004-126)

 
Languages:
Mainly Ukrainian and English, including some correspondence in Polish and Russian.

Return to Top


Biography of Dr. Iraida Tarnaewcky

Dr. Iraida Gerus Tarnawecky was born in Pochaiv, Volyn’, Ukraine in 1924. In 1949 she obtained her B.Sc. from the Georgia Augusta University, Goettingen, Germany. After immigrating to Canada in 1950, she obtained her M.A. from the University of Manitoba (1964); and her PhD. from the Ukrainian Free University (Munich, Germany, 1965). Dr. Tarnawecky was married to the late Professor Emeritus Michael Tarnawecky, and has two daughters, Marusia and Natalka. From 1963-1968, she served as a sessional and full-time lecturer with the Department of Slavic Studies (University of Manitoba); in 1968 she was appointed assistant professor with the department; promoted to the rank of associate professor in 1975; and to the rank of full professor in 1984. Upon her retirement from the Department of German and Slavic Studies, Dr. Tarnawecky was honoured with the title of Senior Scholar.

Dr. Tarnawecky is a renowned Slavic linguist and onomastist, who has a keen interest in Slavic philology and Cyrillic paleography. Her publications include 2 books and many articles pertaining to her research field, and is published both nationally and internationally. One of her most important publications is entitled, East Slavic Cyrillica in Canadian Depositories (1981), a monograph identifying Canadian collections, both private and public, containing cyrillic manuscripts and early books. In order to compile the material for her research, Dr. Tarnawecky visited 87 institutions and private collections throughout Canada. In 1974, Dr. Tarnawecky was the first Canadian academic chosen in an agreement between the Canada Council, and the former U.S.S.R. Academy of Sciences, to carry out research on the history of Slavic languages at the Linguistic Institute in Moscow and Kyiv. She has remained active throughout her career in various associations and committees, including: vice-president, Canadian Society for the Study of Names; chairperson, Humanities Section, Ukrainian Academy of Sciences in Canada (UVAN); member of the senate for St. Andrew’s College Library; editior of the Onomastica series; and a former member of the Canada Council Selection Committee for Doctoral Scholarships in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds consists of the following series: i) Biographical ii) Correspondence (subseries:career and personal) iii) Publications by I. Tarnawecky iv) Research Material v) Photographs vi) Audio-recordings (Ukrainian pioneer recordings conducted by Ms. Dorothy Cherewick) vii) Miscellaneous.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged in 7 series.

  1. Biographical
  2. Correspondence (subseries: career and personal)
  3. Publications by I. Tarnawecky
  4. Research Material
  5. Miscellaneous
  6. Photographs
  7. Audio-recordings (Ukrainian pioneer recordings by Ms. Dorothy Cherewick)

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on Access.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

No restriction on use.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The material was donated by Dr. Iraida Tarnawecky to the Department of Archives & Special Collections in 2004, accession number A.04-126.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Iraida Tarnawecky Biographical Information
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Membership renewal to the Society of Volyn. 1974
  2 Curriculum vitae ca. 1975
  3 Promotion package for rank of full professor. 1983
  4 American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies. ca. 1983
  5 Program for the IXth International Congress of Onomastic Sciences, London, UK. See also, Correspondence - Career-University of London Invitations and Congress of Onomastics. Box 2 Fd. 6 1966
  6 Information re: Canada Council Doctoral Fellowship. See also Correspondence - Career- The Canada Council 1972-1976, Box 1, Fd. 22
  7 Report on research/ Study leave. See also, Correspondence - Career- Finlay, John - Dean of Arts - U of M, Box 1, Fd 20 1987-1988
  8 Notes and questions for PhD Thesis Defense. See also, Correspondence - Career- University of Ottawa. 1977
  9 Articles in the U of M Bulletin re: I. Tarnawecky. 1974
  10 Department of German & Slavic Studies Newsletter. 1991
  11 Conferences, etc. 1980-1985
  12 Projects ca. 1977
  13 Historical Commission of the Scientific Congress for Commemmorating the Millennium of Christianity in Ukraine-Rus' ca.1987

Return to Top


Correspondence
Personal
 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 14 Cherewick, Dorothy. See also D. Cherewick's Audiocassettes (collected for her MA thesis, entitled, "Women in Ukrainian Folklore and Reminiscences", Box 7, tapes 1-9 ) 1988
  15 Zyla, Volodymyr 1982-1983
Career
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 16 Accolaides from various colleagues re: I. Tarnawecky's publications 1982
  17 Acknowledgements for receipt of I. Tarnawecky's books 1982
  18 Altbauer, M 1983
  19 Basilian Fathers' Museum in Mundare, Alberta 1967-1974
  20 Finlay, John - Dean of Arts - U of M. See also Biography - Career Report on Research/ Studt Leave. Box 1, Fd. 7 1983-1988
  21 British Museum 1966
  22 The Canada Council , See also, Biography- Career- Information re: Canada Council Doctoral Fellowship. Box 1, Fd.22 1972-1976
  23 Cyzevskyj, Dmytro 1965
  24 Fryscar, Milan 1982
  25 Gerych, IUrii 1967-68
  26 Horbach, Oleksa 1982-1984
  27 The Humanities Research Council of Canada 1966-1983
  28 Hursky, Jacob 1982-1985
  29 Isaevych, Iaroslav -- see also Research Material - 4 articles by Ia. Isaevych 1988-1990
  30 Kharchun, Iaroslav 1982
  31 Koschmeider, Erwin 1966
  32 M.A. Thesis examination letters 1978
  33 Moran, Neil 1983
  34 National Library of Canada 1968-1969
  35 Pope, Richard 1982-1983
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 Rozumnyj, Jaroslav 1977
  2 Rudnyckyj, Jaroslav 1972-73
  3 Schaarschmidt, G. 1972
  4 Shevel'ov, George (Iurii), See also Research Material - Articles by IUrii Sherekh 1982
  5 Sibley, W.M., dean of Arts & Science (U of M) 1968
  6 University of London Invitations and Congress of Onomastics. See also Biography - Career- Program for the IXth International Congress of Onomastic Sciences. 1966
  7 University of Ottawa. See also Notes & questions for Phd. Thesis Defence, Box 1, Fd. 8 1972
  8 University of Manitoba 1970-1983
  9 Zinko, Rev. V. 1971-1990
  10 Various individuals A-M 1970-1987
  11 Various individuals N-Z 1970-1990

Return to Top

Publications
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 12 "Onomastic Designation of old manuscripts" 1978
  13 "Anthroponomy in th Pomianyk of Horodysche of 1484.", Onomastica 1974
  14 "Work on old Church Slavic Dictionary", ca.1975
  15 "The Pomianyk in a Historical Perspective", Analecta OSBM , Vol. X 1979
  16 East Slavic Cyrillica in Canadian Repositories 1981
  17 The Canadianization of the Ukrainian Language UVAN 1983
  18 "Towards a typology of lexical innovations in Canadian Ukrainian". Academy of Arts & Sciences in the U.S Vol. XV 1981-1983
  19 "Interference of Standard Literary Ukrainian in the Canadian Ukrainianlanguage." 1983
  20 "Transference and linguistic behaviour of Ukrianian Anthroponomy in Canada: Past and present tendencies." 1986
  21 "Do pytannia mandrivnykh siuzhetiv i vikovykh obraziv u tvorchosti Lesi Ukrainy" Litopys Volyni no.11-12 1972
  22 "Cyrillica Canadiana: Cyrillic Manuscripts in Canada" See also Correspondence -Career -The Humanities Research Council of Canada 1976
  23 "Priors'ke IEvanheliie - Pam'iatka XVI-ho viku" 1983
  24 "Z istorii skhid'oslovians'koho osobovoho nazovntstva" 1971
  25 Articles in Die Welt Der Slaven and Anzeiger fur Slavische Philologie 1967-1968
  26 "Pomianyk of Horodysche" in Anzeiger fur Slavische Philologie Band II , 1967, and Ukrainian Orthodox League of U.S.A. Bulletin , 1971 1967, 1971
  27 "Natalia Polons'ka" - UVAN Publication 1974
  28 "Names of Mountains in Poetry" 10th International Congress of Onomastics, Vienna 1969
  29 Various Articles by I. Tarnawecky, 1 of 2 no.11-12 1968-1972
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 Various Articles by I. Tarnawcky, 2 of 2 1978-1993
  2 Publications revised or edited by I. Tarnawecky 19767-1973
  3 Book reviews by I. Tarnawecky 1966-1982
  4 Book reviews re: I. Tarnawecky's publications. 1969-1983

Return to Top


Research Material
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 5 Grammar Table by Ivan Ohienko (Metropolitan Ilarion) 1923
  6 Stepan Smal'-Stots'kyi's "Rozvytok pohliadiv pro Semiu Slovians'kykh mov i ikh vzaimne sporidennia". Prague 1927
  7 Research notes from Oseredok, Winnipeg, MB, and Ohienko Collection 1967-1968
  8 Personal notes 1976
  9 Research 1969-1983
  10 Photocopies showing distribution of Ukrainian Language in Canada 1971
  11 Article by IUrii Sherekh (Shevel'ov). See also Correspondence- Career- Shevel'ov, IUrii, Box 2 Fd. 4 1956
  12 Publications by J.B. Rudnyckyj 1962-1967
  13 4 Articles by IA. Isaevych, See also correspondence - Career - Isaevych, Iarsolav 1987-1988
  14 Anthroponomic Designation ca. 1975
  15 Articles on Paleography (photocopies) 1968
  16 Published material by O.N. Trubachev. 1 of 2
  17 Published material by O.N. 2 of 2 1969-1983
  18 'The development of writing" - compiled by Carol Donogue 1969-1983
  19 Indo-European and Proto-Slavic Sound Systems 1969-1983
  20 Corpus Christianorum 1954-1969
  21 Various Manuscripts (Photocopies) 1 of 2
  22 Various Manuscripts (Photocopies) 2 of 2 1969-1983
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 Azbukovnik - consisting of filing cards
  2 Surname change Project - consisiting of filing cards [ 1978-1982 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5 1 Descriptions of manuscripts [ 1965 ]
  2 Waterworks [ ca.1975 ]
  3 Paper on Ukrainian Language in Canada [ ca.1980 ]
  4 "Ivan Franko i ukrains'ko-venerskie literaturnyie sviazy" , by Vera Sher, in Studia Slavica Hung. XIX [ 1973 ]
  5 Manuscript fagments 1 of 2 [ ca.1660- 1800 ]

Return to Top


Miscellaneous
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5 5 Grammar Table by Ivan Ohienko (Metropolitan Ilarion) 1923
  6 Manuscript fragments 2 of 2 [ ca.1660-1800 ]
  7 Postacards of Metropolitan Ilarion (Ivan Ohienko), and the Ukrainian Orthodox Cathedral of St. Mary the Protectress (Winnipeg) [ ca.1970 ]
  8 Various postcards 1956- ca. 1980
  9 Stamps of the Society of Volyn 1974
  10 Postcards from the British Museum (21 in total) 1966

Return to Top


Photographs
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
6 1 Ohienko Collection Pt 1 of 2 - 29 photographs and 43 negatives ca. 1974
  2 Ohienko Collection Pt 2 of 2 - 19 photographs ca. 1974
  3 The Basilian Fathers' Museum, Mundare, AB - 18 photographs ca. 1968
  4 University of Toronto Collection - 13 photographs ca. 1975
  5 Kolessa Collection - 6 photographs
  6 Ukrainian Cultural and Educational Centre - Oseredok - 2 photographs - ca. 1974 1966
  7 University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections - 2 photographs ca. 1970
  8 Other manuscripts - 4 photographs
  9 Oversized negatives from the U of T and Ohienko collections -22 negatives
  10 104 negatives (15 sheets)
  11 Slides show Slavic Pre-Christian Sculptures - 75 slides - 4 sheets
  12 5 slides with examples of manuscripts

Return to Top


Audio-recordings (Ukrainian pioneer recordings by Ms. Dorothy Cherewick)
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
7 1 Interview with with Mrs. Bohoslovets - June 11, 1977
  2 Interview with Mrs. Bohoslovets - June 11, 1977
  3 Interview with Mrs. Lahadows'ka and Mrs. Olia Urusky, Riverton, Manitoba 1977
  4 Interview with Mrs. Maria Tracz, December 13, 1976; Interview with Ms. Anne Smigel; Interview with Dr. Savelia Stechishen, Saskatoon , SK, February 12, 1977; Interview with Mrs. Bendas and Mrs. Bohoslovets 1976
  5 Interviews with Mrs. Oleksandra Popovych (Winnipeg, December 27, 1976); Mrs. Anna Polansky (Winnipeg, December 27, 1976); Mrs. Maria Hika (Arnes, MB - December 28, 1976); and Anna Wach (January 30, 1977)
  6 Interview with Mrs. Maria Tracz, December, 1976.
  7 Interview with Dobrodiika Hrebeniuk, February 13, 1977. 1977
  8 Interview with Mrs. Mary Yaholnitsky, January 30, 1976, Mikado, Saskatchewan; Interviews with Katerina Puluck and Anna Kolodnitsky 1976
  9 Interview with Ukrainian pioneer (unknown) ca. 1975

Return to Top