The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Inventory prepared by Marta Dabros
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
330 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
(May 2013)
Finding aid encoded by Marta Dabros (May 24, 2013)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
RECORDS RELATED TO THE ROYAL MUNICIPALITY OF RITCHOT 1980-2007
Michael William Tataryn was born in St. Norbert, Winnipeg, to Wasyl and Frances Tataryn. He served in the army in the Second World War. He met Sophia Capiak in Thunder Bay and they were married in Winnipeg in 1950 during the Red River flood. They had seven children: Oksana, Taras, Paul, Mary, Marta, Andrew, and Peter. Over the years, they made their home in Neepawa, Pine Falls, Prince George, and Dauphin, and settled in Howden, Manitoba. Michael became heavily involved with the [Assumption of the] Blessed Virgin Mary Ukrainian Catholic Church and the Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Catholic Community Hall in St. Norbert. He extensively documented the damage from the 1997 flood to the church and hall, and dedicated himself to raising funds towards restoration efforts. The records in this collection reflect Michael’s involvement with the Ukrainian community in St. Norbert, including his work with the church and community hall.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The accession has been divided into four series.
The first series consists of records relating to the [Assumption of the] Blessed Virgin Mary Ukrainian Catholic Church in St. Norbert, including a brief history of the church researched and written by Michael Tataryn; meeting minutes; church newsletters; financial, insurance, and tax records; cemetery records; bylaw records and records related to the incorporation of the church and its status as a charitable organization; and records related to the impact of the 1997 flood on the church and the surrounding community.
The second series consists of records related to the Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Catholic Community Hall on Lot 58, which later amalgamated with St. Joseph Social Club, was moved onto Lot 49, and was renamed Howden Community Centre. These include community hall logs and miscellaneous records kept by Michael and Sophie Tataryn, hall meeting minutes, records related to community events, and records related to the impact of the 1997 flood on the community hall and surrounding community.
The third series consists of research collected by Michael Tataryn related to the Royal Municipality of Ritchot, including its history, maps of the area, certificates of title to the land for Lot 41, lists of reeves and councilors, collectors’ rolls, minutes of the council meetings, as well as records related to the Ritchot Centennial.
The fourth and final series is the photograph collection. The photographs document the extensive damage to the Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Catholic Community Hall and the Blessed Virgin Mary Ukrainian Catholic Church in the 1997 flood, restoration efforts by members of the community and by outsiders, and various other church and community hall events and members from the years 1996 to 2001.
This collection is arranged.
There are no restrictions on access.
Users must abide by relevant copyright legislation.
Archives of the Ukrainian Canadian Experience
The records were transferred to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Oksana Douchant (daughter of Michael Tataryn) in 2012.
Detailed Description of the Collection
Records related to the history and daily functioning of the church, as well as the fallout from the 1997 flood.
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Blessed Virgin Mary Church - History [198-?] |
| 2 | Miscellaneous church records 1940-2000 | |
| 3 | Meeting minutes; church newsletters 1952-2000 | |
| 4 | Financial, insurance, tax records 1945-1998 | |
| 5 | Cemetery records 1960-2004 | |
| 6 | Incorporation records, by-laws, legal records 1953, 1997 | |
| 7 | 1997 flood 1997-1999 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Catholic Community Hall - Community Hall logs, miscellaneous records 1960-1998 |
| 2 | Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Catholic Community Hall - Meeting minutes 1980-1998 | |
| 3 | Community events 1997-1998 | |
| 4 | Flood research material 1997, 2005, 2006 | |
| 5 | 1997 flood - Fundraising and flood relief/assistance 1997-1998 | |
| 6 | 1997 flood - North Ritchot Restoration Committee 1997 | |
| 7 | Air Canada Hall renovation project 1997 | |
| 8 | 1997 Flood proofing program 1997 | |
| 9 | Manitoba Water Commission Public Hearing November 25, 1997 | |
| 10 | "Presentation to the Manitoba Water Commission on Behalf of Taras Shevchenko Hall and the Ukrainian Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church and Red River Village" December 16, 1997 | |
| 11 | "Funding Proposal on Behalf of the Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Community Hall and St. Joseph Social Club in the Royal Municipality of Ritchot" December 1997 | |
| 12 | Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Catholic Community Hall - Community centre constitution 1997 | |
| 13 | Amalgamation of Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Catholic Community Hall and St. Joseph Social Club to form Howden Community Centre 1998 | |
| 14 | 1997 flood - "Red River Recovery" newsletters 1997-1998 | |
| 15 | "Memorandum of Agreement Under The Companies Act" 1953 | |
| 16 | Red River Floodway Expansion Project 1998, 2005 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | Royal Municipality of Ritchot - History 1991 |
| 2 | Royal Municipality of Ritchot - Maps of area [1987?], [1999?], [2001?] | |
| 3 | St. Norbert - Certificates of title to Lot 41 (1974, 1985) Photocopied 1992 | |
| 4 | Royal Municipality of Ritchot - 1933 title to land Photocopied [198-?] | |
| 5 | Royal Municipality of Ritchot - List of reeves and councillors, 1890-1980 [1980?] | |
| 6 | Royal Municipality of Ritchot - Collectors' rolls for 1901-1905, 1915, 1925, 1930, 1940 Photocopied [198-?] | |
| 7 | Research on schools in Ward 4, 1894-1916 [198-?] | |
| 8 | Constitution of the St. Norbert Community Centre 1988, 1997 | |
| 9 | Minutes of Council meetings of Royal Municipality of Ritchot 1991, 1993, 1997-1999, 2003 | |
| 10 | Royal Municipality of Ritchot Centennial July 20, 1991 | |
| 11 | Community 2007 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Photographs documenting 1997 flood (and damage due to flood) at Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Catholic Community Hall in St. Norbert June, August 1997 |
| 2 | Taras Shevchenko Hall - Restoration by Air Canada volunteers after1997 flood and official opening of restored hall August 22-23, 1997 | |
| 3 | Social event at Taras Shevchenko Hall and photographs from St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church October 2, 1997 | |
| 4 | Taras Shevchenko Hall - First executive meeting following flood October 10, 1997 | |
| 5 | Taras Shevchenko Hall - Hall meeting November 11, 1997 | |
| 6 | Taras Shevchenko Hall - Committee members February 1, 1998 | |
| 7 | Photographs of Lot 49 - New location of community hall after flood November 28, 1998 | |
| 8 | Taras Shevchenko Hall - Relocation to Lot 49 December 22-23, 1998; January 4-5, 1999 | |
| 9 | Official opening of Taras Shevchenko Hall/Howden Community Centre October 23, 1999 | |
| 10 | Taras Shevchenko Hall - Social at the Hall November 8,. 1999 | |
| 11 | Photographs documenting 1997 flood (and damage due to flood) at Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church in St. Norbert 1997 | |
| 12 | Chapel meeting; chapel blessing June, August 2000 | |
| 13 | Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church - Miscellaneous photographs 1996, 1998-2001 | |
| 14 | Negatives related to photographs in collection 1997-1999 |