Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

T.B. Roberton fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 330, PC 294 (A.10-51))

T.B. Roberton Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Mantioba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg Manitoba
 
Creator:
T. B. Roberton
 
Title:
T. B. Roberton Fonds
 
Dates:
1910-1936; predominant 1926-1936
 
Quantity:
0.065 m of textual records – 4 printed copies of photographs
 
Identification:
Mss 330, Pc 294 (A. 10-51)
 
 
English

Return to Top


Biography of T. B. Roberton

Thomas B. Roberton was born in Glasgow in 1879, where he worked as a printer in his youth. In 1910, Roberton left Scotland for Canada, settling first in Alberta and then in British Columbia for a time. In order to support his small family, Roberton held a variety of jobs, working by turns as a farmer, market gardener, worker in lumber camps, and printer. When Roberton moved to Winnipeg in 1916, he found a job as a writer and compositor for a Labour weekly where he worked until joining the staff at the Free Press in 1918. Over the next eighteen years, Roberton not only became assistant editor-in- chief at the Free Press, but gained national acclaim for his contributions to the newspaper’s editorial page. As well as writing well-received editorial columns on a variety of subjects, Roberton published The Fighting Bishop (1925), a book about the life of John Strachan, the first Anglican Bishop of Toronto. Although nationally known for his writing, Roberton was a shy and private man, who spent his spare time going to films and listening to nautical yarns at the Cutty Shark Club. After Roberton’s sudden passing from stroke in January 1936, The MacMillan Company of Canada published a volume of his newspaper articles with the title T.B.R.: newspaper pieces. This volume, put together by Roberton’s long time colleague J.B. McGeachy, was a great success and was awarded the prize offered by Lord Tweedsmuir, Governor General of Canada, for the best prose work other than fiction published in Canada in 1936. The award was accepted in Toronto by Roberton’s son George. A second volume of Roberton’s newspaper articles was printed by MacMillan in 1937under the title A Second Helping of Newspaper Pieces.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

This fonds consists of four series: Newspaper Clippings, Correspondence, Membership Certification, and Printed Copies of Photographs. The photographic collection consists of four black and white photographs, which have beenscanned and printed onto glossy photo-paper.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on this material

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on the use of this material

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives and SpecialCollections by Kathy Long in 2010.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Newspaper Clippings, 1917-1936; predominant 1935-1936
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Clippings and typed editorials1917-1936; predominant 1935-1936

 

Return to Top


Correspondence, 1910-1936; predominant 1926-1936
 
Box Folder  
1 2 Personal Letters 1910-1936; predominant 1936
  3 Letters to the Editor 1919--1934; predominant1927-1934
  4 Letters re. Publications 1926-1931
  5 Letters re. Reviews 1926-1931
  6 Letters re. Society and Membership Activities 1929-1933

Return to Top


Membership Certification 1922-1928
 
Box Folder  
1 7 Admission Cards 1922-1928

 

Return to Top


Photographic Materials Pc294 [ca.1910]
 
Box Folder  
1 8 Farmyard Photographs taken in Alberta, Canada [ca. 1910]

 

Return to Top


Farmyard Photographs taken in Alberta, Canada[ca. 1910]

Return to Top