The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of her papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
334 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
(October 2009)
Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs (October 2009)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
MAGAZINE ARTICLES & SPEECHES 1988-2008
BOOK CHAPTERS & BOOKS 1999-2004
Frances Russell was born in Winnipeg in 1941. She graduated from the University of Manitoba with a B.A. in 1962. She is a political journalist and author. She is a regular contributor to the Winnipeg Free Press and is the author of two books, Mistehay Sakahegan - The Great Lake, a historical "biography" of Lake Winnipeg which won her the 2000 Manitoba Historical Society's Margaret McWilliams Award for popular history, and The Canadian Crucible - Manitoba's Role in Canada's Great Divide, an examination of how French-English relations in the "Keystone" province affected the course of Canadian history. It received the 2003 Manitoba Historical Society's Margaret McWilliams Award for popular history.
Her career as a journalist & columnist spans nearly 50 years. From 1981 to 1999, she wrote a tri-weekly column on national and political politics for the Winnipeg Free Press. Prior to this, she worked as a reporter and columnist with the Winnipeg Tribune, The Vancouver Sun, The Globe & Mail and United Press International in Ottawa. During this time she also provided occasional columns and commentary for CBC-TV, CBC Radio, CBC Newsworld, The Ottawa Journal, The Edmonton Journal, The Toronto Star, Canadian Forum Magazine and Time Canada Magazine.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The fonds is divided into 9 series. They include:Biographical information, newspaper articles, magazine articles & speeches, book chapters & books, correspondence, research material, oversize material, photographs & tapes
No restrictions on access.
No restrictions on use.
The fonds were donated by Frances Russell in 2009
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1A |
Diefenbaker & Pearson articles for United Press International in Ottawa 1965
|
| 2 | Cards & telegrams re: work 1965-1966 | |
| 3 | United Press International - election stories 1965 | |
| 4 | United Press International - articles 1966 | |
| 5 | United Press International - great security debate 1966 | |
| 6 | United Press International - parliament articles 1966 | |
| 7 | UPI log 1966 | |
| 8 |
Press release Prime Minister Pearson at the Atlantic Union Awards Dinner - Springfield, Illinois 1966
|
|
| 9 | Reference letter from Jack Van Dusen 1966 | |
| 10 | Winnipeg Tribune articles 1971-1972 | |
| 11 | Winnipeg Tribune - legislative session 1971 | |
| 12 | Time Canada articles 1971 | |
| 13 | Edmonton Journal articles 1971-1972 | |
| 14 | Winnipeg Tribune - legislative session 1972 | |
| 15 |
Winnipeg Free Press articles 1973
|
|
| 16 | Winnipeg Free Press - provincial election articles 1973 | |
| 17 | Winnipeg Free Press 1974 | |
| 2 | 1 |
Ottawa Journal 1975-1976
|
| 2 | Winnipeg Free Press articles from British Columbia 1975-1976 | |
| 3 | Vancouver Sun 1975-1976 | |
| 4 | Winnipeg Free Press 1975 | |
| 5 | Winnipeg Tribune 1977 | |
| 6 | Freelance articles 1977-1978 | |
| 7 | Vancouver Sun articles 1977 | |
| 8 | Winnipeg Tribune articles 1978 | |
| 3 | 1 |
Freelance articles 1979-1984
|
| 2 | Winnipeg Tribune articles 1979 | |
| 3 | Winnipeg Tribune articles 1980 | |
| 4 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1980 | |
| 4 | 1 |
Winnipeg Free Press articles 1980-1981
|
| 2 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1982 | |
| 3 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1983 | |
| 4 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1984 | |
| 5 | 1 |
Winnipeg Free Press articles 1985
|
| 2 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1986 | |
| 3 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1987 | |
| 4 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1988 | |
| 6 | 1 |
Winnipeg Free Press articles 1989
|
| 2 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1990 | |
| 3 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1991 | |
| 4 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1992 | |
| 7 | 1 |
Winnipeg Free Press articles 1993
|
| 2 | Winnipeg Free Prees articles 1994 | |
| 3 | Project Censored Canada: Researching the Nations News Agenda 1994 Yearbook Donald Gutstein ,John Hackett & Project CEnsored Canada 1994 | |
| 4 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1995 | |
| 8 | 1 |
Winnipeg Free Press articles 1996
|
| 2 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1997 | |
| 3 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1998 | |
| 4 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 1999 | |
| 5 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 2000-2001 | |
| 9 | 1 |
Winnipeg Free Press articles 2002-2003
|
| 2 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 2004-2005 | |
| 3 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 2006-2007 | |
| 4 | Winnipeg Free Press articles 2008 | |
| 5 | Russell's free trade articles 1988-1991 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 9 | 6 | Articles in Language & Society 1988-1990 |
| 7 | "The Americanization of Medicare" in Canadian Forum 1990 | |
| 8 | "Political Budgeting" in Manitoba Business 1993 | |
| 9 | "Two People in One" in Canadian Forum 1999 | |
| 10 | Historical & Political Perspective of Lake Winnipeg lecture at the Faculty of Environment, Earth & Resources at the University of Manitoba 2005 | |
| 11 | Some Personal Reflections on Manitoba Political Journalism at the Roblin Professorship Conference at St. John's College 2008 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 10 | 1 | "By Water to Winnipeg" in Crossroads of the Continent A History of the Forks of the Red & Assiniboine River 2000 |
| 2 | "John W.Dafoe: The Winnipeg Free Press & Foreign Policy" in From the Great War to the Global Village 2005 | |
| 3 | Mistehay Sakuhagen notes ca.1999 | |
| 4 | Mistehay Sakuhagen , The Great Lake: The Beauty & Treachery of Lake Winnipeg - publicity & correspondence 2000 | |
| 5 | Mistehay Sakuhagen, The Great Lake - book copies 2 editions 2000 & 2004 | |
| 6 | Brave New Words - Manitoba Writing & Publishing Awards 2001 & 2004 | |
| 7 | Thin Air - Winnipeg International Writers Festival 2003 | |
| 8 | Canadian Crucible review in the Beaver 2004 | |
| 11 | 1 | The Canadian Crucible: Manitoba's Role in Canada's Great Divide - book copy 2003 |
| 2 | The Canadian Crucible - publicity & correspondence 2004 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 11 | 4 | The Western Interior of Canada edited by John Warkentin 1964 |
| 5 | Hecla - FRED Project for MAnitoba's Interlake ca.1975 | |
| 6 | British Columbia material 1975-1977 | |
| 7 | Notes for an address by Ed Schreyer on his 20th anniversary of election to public office 1978 | |
| 8 | Research material mainly medicare & free trade 1988-1990 | |
| 9 | Lady of the Lake Ted R. Kristjanson ca.1990 | |
| 10 | Elaine Williams Stories of Whytewold in the 1940s ca.2000 | |
| 11 | Steamboats Days Revisited Captain Clifford Stevens 2000 | |
| 12 | Our Collective Responsibilty reducing Nutrient Loading to Lake Winnipeg interim report Minister of Manitoba Water Stewardship 2005 | |
| 13 | Restoring the Health of Lake Winnipeg - report by the Lake Winnipeg implementation committee 2006 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 12 | 1 | Russell Scrapbooks - 1. Winnipeg Tribune articles 1962-1963, 2. Winnipeg Tribune articles 1964-1965 3. United Press International articles 1965-1966 1962-1966 |
| 13 | 1 | Russell Scrapbooks - 4. Winnipeg Tribune articles 1966-1968 5. Toronto Globe & Mail 1968-1971 1966-1971 |
| 14 | 1 | Enlarged Russell articles: 1. "First ballet sweep gives Lewis Leadership of NDP in Ontario" Globe & Mail 1970 2." Rash Words & PC Vigor Block Sweep" Winnipeg Free Press 1973 3. " State & Fight show Schreyer in full control" Winnipeg Tribune 1971 4. " Roblin Sherman out, as Grits grab 5 seats" Winnipeg Tribune 1968 5. "When water goes up the spout" Winnipeg Free Press 1985 6. WFP advertisement for Russell's column ca. 1980 7. Poster Sea Stories from the Prairies: Shipwreck based on Russell's book the Great Lake 8. Poster for book launch of Canadian Crucible 2004. TC 157 Canadian History Maker 65 album1970-2004 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | 85 slides for The Lake ca.2000 |
| 2 | 48 photos & scans for The Lake ca.2000 | |
| 3 | 3 Manitoba Literary Awards & book launch ca.2001-2004 |