Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Survival Research Institute of Canada fonds: Home

Survival Research Institute of Canada fonds

Survival Research Institute of Canada fonds

An Inventory of its recordsat the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Jarad Buckwold
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(March 18, 2013)

Finding aid encoded by Jarad Buckwold (March 18, 2013)
Finding aid written in English. 

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Administrative History of The Survival Research Institute of Canada

Scope and Contents of the Records

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Related Materials

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Survival Research Institute of Canada 1991-2006

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Dafoe Library, University of Manitoba

Creator:
Survival Research Institute of Canada

Title:
Survival Research Institute of Canada fonds

Dates:
1991-2006

Quantity:
0.39 metres of textual records

Identification:
MSS372 (A11-60)

English

Return to Top

Administrative History of The Survival Research Institute of Canada

The Survival Research Institute of Canada was founded in 1991 by a directorship of seven: Walter Meyer zu Erpen and Debra Barr, two noted Canadian archivists, Walter Keoki Quan, Claus Michael Thomsen, Janice Irene Stromgren, Paul Dennis Biscop, and Lolita Nevon Wilson. The institute aimed to pursue and promote studies in the field of survival research, which is investigation into whether some part of the human consciousness or personality, commonly referred to as spirit, survives physical death and whether that spirit is able to communicate with the living. Based in Victoria, BC, its representatives carry out the following activities: undertaking research into the history of Spiritualism and psychical research in Canada (including study of the work of Canadian psychical researcher, Dr. Thomas Glendenning Hamilton, and the relationship of Spiritualist table-tilting phenomena documented by Hamilton and others to theories about psychokinesis); taking part in experiments connected to evidence of spirit survival brought through mediumship; sponsoring public education on subjects relevant to survival research through workshops, lectures, and demonstrations of mediumship; participating in media interviews; presenting academic lectures in Canada, the United States and Europe; and directing relevant records of Canadian organizations and individuals to appropriate archival repositories. On May 24, 2000, the institute became a registered charity.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Records

The fonds was created by the donor himself. His donated material was divided into different fonds and collections in accordance with specifications he himself provided. Consisting of 643 records, primarily correspondences related to the various editions of the institute’s “Directory of Spiritualist Organizations in Canada”, this fonds takes up 0.39 linear metres of shelf space and is fully textual. The items and folders were organized by the donor and are divided based around publications in a given year. The records pertaining to each year of publication are divided into their various components, as seen by the donor, such as the final copy, questionnaires and records relating to distribution. The fonds consists of six publication years: 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 2000 and 2006. Records bound together by staples, archival clips or other means were done so by the donor and thus are treated as a single record, even those which contain what could be considered more than one document.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restriction

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

There may be restrictions on some material

Return to Top

Related Materials

This fonds is one of a series of fonds and collections donated by Walter Meyer zu Erpen related to survival and parapsychology research. Other such fonds and collections donatd by Meyer zu Erpen are the A.R.G. (George) and Irism M. Owen fonds (MSS 373, PC 328, EL 38; A11-61), Survival Research Newsletters and Periodicals Collection (MSS 374; A11-62), Debra Barr and Walter Meyer zu Erpen Research and Publication Collection (MSS 375; A11-63), Jenny O'Hara Pincock fonds (MSS 376; A11-64), Spiritualist Hymnals and Manuals Collection (MSS 377; A11-65), Kenneth J. Batcheldor fonds (MSS 378, EL 39; A11-66), Albert Batten fonds (MSS 379, PC 329, EL 40; A11-67), Olga Park fonds (MSS 380; A11-71), Howard Reed fonds (MSS 381, EL 41; A11-107). Also related, but not donated by Meyer zu Erpen, is the Hamilton Family fonds (Mss 14, Pc 12, Tc 70; A.79-21, A.79-41, A.79-52, A.79-56, A.79-65, A.80-08, A.80-25, A.81-09, A.86-56)

Return to Top

Custodial History

The fonds was donated by Walter Meyer zu Erpen, President of the Survival Research Institute of Canada in 2011

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

      Survival Research Institute of Canada [1991-2006]

Box Folder  
1 1 November 1991 - Final Published Copy 1991
  2 Archivaria Article - Distribution and Request for Information For Compilation of First Edition of Directory of Spiritualist Organizations in Canada 1990-1991
  3 November 1991 - Questionnaires and Correspondence 1991
  4 November 1991 - Distribution Correspondence 1991
  5 November 1992 - Final Published Copy 1992
  6 November 1992 - Questionnaires and Correspondence 1992
  7 November 1992 - Distribution Correspondence 1992
  8 April 1994 - Final Published Copy 1994
  9 April 1994 - Questionnaires and Correspondence 1994
  10 April 1994 - Distribution Correspondence 1994
  11 July 1996 - Final Published Copy 1996
  12 July 1996 - Questionnaires and Correspondence 1996
  13 July 1996 - Questionnaire - Spiritual Science Fellowship and Related Organizations 1996
  14 July 1996 - Distribution Correspondence 1996
  15 July 1996 - Distribution Correspondence - Advertised Bookstores 1996
Box Folder  
2 1 November 2000 - Final Published Copy 2000
  2 November 2000 - Questionnaires and Correspondence - Canadian Parent Organizations 2000
  3 November 2000 - Questionnaires and Correspondence - Provinces 2000
  4 November 2000 - Questionnaires and Correspondence - Other Canadian Organizations 2000
  5 November 2000 - Distribution Correspondence 2000
  6 November 2000 - British and American Organizations 2000
  7 July 2006 - Final Published Copy 2006
  8 July 2006 - List of Mediums 2006
  9 July 2006 - Print Run Size 2006
  10 July 2006 - Update Process 2006
  11 July 2006 - Attempts to Promote and Resulting Publicity 2006
  12 July 2006 - Updating the Website Version 2006
  13 July 2006 - Introductory Sections and General Design 2006
Box Folder  
3 1 July 2006 - Questionnaires and Correspondence - Canadian Parent Organizations 2006
  2 July 2006 -Questionnaires and Correspondence - Alberta, British Columbia and Manitoba 2006
  3 July 2006 - Questionnaires and Correspondence - Ontario and Quebec 2006
  4 July 2006 - Questionnaires and Correspondence - Other Canadian Organizations 2006
  5 July 2006 - Distribution Correspondence 2006

Return to Top