Survival Research Newsletters and Periodicals Collection: Home

Survival Research Newsletters and Periodicals Collection

Inventory prepared by Jarad Buckwold and Samantha Booth
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(February 25, 2013)
(December 2015)

Finding aid encoded by Jarad Buckwold and Andrea Martin (February 25, 2013)(January 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Administrative History of the Survival Research Newsletters and Periodicals Collection

Scope and Contents of the Records

Restrictions on Access

Related Materials

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Survival Research Newsletters and Periodicals Collection 1986-2012

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Dafoe Library, University of Manitoba

Creator:
Survival Research Newsletters and Periodicals Collection

Title:
Surviavl Research Newsletters and Periodical Collection

Dates:
1986-2015

Quantity:
0.26 metres of textual records

Identification:
MSS 374 (A11-62, A15-139)

English

Return to Top

Administrative History of the Survival Research Newsletters and Periodicals Collection

The Survival Research Institute of Canada was founded in 1991. The institute aimed to pursue and promote studies in the field of survival research, which is investigation into whether some part of the human consciousness or personality, commonly referred to as spirit, survives physical death and whether that spirit is able to communicate with the living. Based in Victoria, BC, its representatives carry out the following activities: undertaking research into the history of Spiritualism and psychical research in Canada (including study of the work of Canadian psychical researcher, Dr. Thomas Glendenning Hamilton, and the relationship of Spiritualist table-tilting phenomena documented by Hamilton and others to theories about psychokinesis); taking part in experiments connected to evidence of spirit survival brought through mediumship; sponsoring public education on subjects relevant to survival research through workshops, lectures, and demonstrations of mediumship; participating in media interviews; presenting academic lectures in Canada, the United States and Europe; and directing relevant records of Canadian organizations and individuals to appropriate archival repositories. On May 24, 2000, the institute was federally incorperated and became a registered charity. The founding members were: Walter Meyer zu Erpen and Debra Barr, two noted Canadian archivists, Walter Keoki Quan, Claus Michael Thomsen, Janice Irene Stromgren, Paul Dennis Biscop, and Lolita Nevon Wilson.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Records

This collection was arranged in part by the transferring agent in accordance with specifications he provided. This collection consists of 218 newsletters, journals and other publications created by Spiritualist churches and organizations between the 1980s and 2011 which have been collected by the Survival Research Institute of Canada. The collection takes up 0.26 linear metres of shelf space and is fully textual. The items and folders were organized by the transfering agent and are divided by publication. Publications and papers bound together by staples, archival clips or other means were done so by the transfering agent and thus are treated as a single record, even those which contain what could be considered more than one document. In 2015 a second accession was added to the collection (A15-139), this consisted of 12 additional items which were interfiled with the first accession. Box 1, Folder 8; and Box 4, Folder 7 were updated with new issues, and a periodical from 1991 was added to Box 4, Folder 6.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on this material.

Return to Top

Related Materials

This collection is one of a series of fonds and collections transferred to the archives by Walter Meyer zu Erpen of the Survival Research Institute of Canada related to survival and parapsychology research. Other such fonds and collections transferred by Meyer zu Erpen are the Survival Research Institute of Canada fonds (MSS 372; A11-60), A.R.G. (George) and Iris M. Owen fonds (MSS 373, PC 328, EL 38; A11-61), Debra Barr and Walter Meyer zu Erpen Research and Publication Collection (MSS 375; A11-63), Jenny O'Hara Pincock fonds (MSS 376; A11-64), Spiritualist Hymnals and Manuals Collection (MSS 377; A11-65), Kenneth J. Batcheldor fonds (MSS 378, EL 39; A11-66), Mary Olga Park fonds (MSS 380; A11-71), Albert Batten fonds (MSS 379, PC 329, EL 40; A11-67), Howard Reed fonds (MSS 381, EL 41; A11-107). Also related, but not transferred by Meyer zu Erpen, is the Hamilton Family fonds (Mss 14, Pc 12, Tc 70; A.79-21, A.79-41, A.79-52, A.79-56, A.79-65, A.80-08, A.80-25, A.81-09, A.86-56)

Return to Top

Custodial History

The collection was donated by Walter Meyer zu Erpen in 2011 and 2015.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

      Survival Research Newsletters and Periodicals Collection [1986-2012]

Return to Top