The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Jeff Long
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1995)
Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (November 2002)
Finding aid written in English.
Revision History
Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Papers
Detailed Description of the Collection
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2
Creator:
Eileen Sykes
Title:
Eileen Sykes fonds
Dates:
1907-1992
Quantity:
0.4 m of textual records
Identification:
MSS 107, TC 81
Language
English.
Eileen Sykes was raised on a farm in La Vallee, Ontario, but spent most of her adult life in Winnipeg. Her farm childhood is credited as the source of her fantasies of forest animals and the world of nature. Her imagination, when coupled with her literary abilities, led her to publish several short but fairly popular books of children's literature including The Gay Garland (1954) and Fanella and the Forest Folk (1978). She has also written short stories and poetry.
Scope and Contents of the Papers
The collection consists of literary manuscripts to her books, poems, tape recordings of her interviews, and some scattered correspondence. As a participant in Dr. T. Glendenning Hamilton's experiments on parapsychology, Syke's few notes on those studies are included here.
This collection is organized into 6 series
There are no restrictions on this collection.
Users must abide by relevant copyright legislation.
Donated by Mrs. Sykes between 1984 and 1991
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Personal résumé, volunteer award; bazaar invitation. |
| 2 | Photograph of Eileen Sykes, [19-?] |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 3 | Résumé of children's book; business card re: Eileen's books, list entitled books by Manitoba Authors, 1960, Catalogue of Library Books, 1959-60 (Dept. of Education Library). |
| 4 | Two autographed copies of The Gay Garland, 1954. | |
| 5 | "How the Book The Gay Garland was Written" | |
| 6 | "How the Book The Gay Garland was Written" | |
| 7 | How Fanella Book I and Fanella Book II became Published. Fanella and the Forest Folk, Book I (Drafts): |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 8 | Chapter I. |
| 9 | Chapter II. | |
| 10 | Chapter III. | |
| 11 | Chapter IV. | |
| 12 | Chapter V. | |
| 13 | Chapter V. | |
| 14 | Fanella and the Forest Folk, Book II, (autographed). Fanella and the Forest Folk, Book II, (autographed). |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 15 | Chapter I. |
| 16 | Chapter II. | |
| 17 | Chapter III. | |
| 18 | Chapter IV. | |
| 19 | Chapter V. | |
| 20 | Typewritten draft. | |
| 21 | Final Typewritten draft. | |
| 22 | Penultimate draft from publisher. | |
| 23 | Last draft from publisher. | |
| 24 | Galley Proof. | |
| 25 | Publisher's last shiny proof. Fanella and the Forest Folk, Book III (Drafts): |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 26 | Chapter I. |
| 27 | Chapter II. | |
| 28 | Chapter III. | |
| 29 | Chapter IV. | |
| 30 | Chapter V. |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Chapter VI. |
| 2 | Chapter VII. | |
| 3 | Chapter VIII. | |
| 4 | Chapter IX. | |
| 5 | Draft of Book III, chapters 1-7 | |
| 6 | Book III, miscellaneous. | |
| 7 | Illustrations by Andrew Valko for Fanella and the Forest Folk, #33, #36 and no #. |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 8 | "The Uninvited Christmas Guest", 5 versions, 1979 & 1992. |
| 9 | "Autumn Leaves", Vol. VI, 1979-80. | |
| 10 | "Autumn Leaves", Vol. VII, 1981-82. | |
| 11 | "Autumn Leaves", Vol. XII, 1991-1992. | |
| 12 | "Musings", by the Silver Plumes, 1984, see pp. 7, 30, 106-7 & 115 for Sykes' work. | |
| 13 | Riverview Reflector, May 1992
(see pp 6-7). |
|
| 14 | Brooklands School Poetry & Story Writers, 1990-91. | |
| 15 | "Flight To Jupiter". | |
| 16 | "Scraps" and "Reminiscing - Bits & Pieces". |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 17 | 1955-1961 |
| 18 | 1970-1979 | |
| 19 | 1980-1987, 1992 | |
| 20 | [19-?] | |
| 21 | Letters from Eileen Sykes to Lilian Hamilton, [ca. 1954] | |
| 22 | Letter to Lilian Hamilton, 1946-1948 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 23 | Invoices re: book publications, 1954-1982. |
| 24 | Sitting notes of seances with and without ouija board, 1946, 1954-56, 1958, 1962, 1982-86. | |
| 25 | Newspaper clippings, 1948-1982. | |
| 26 | Reviews and replies on various works |
|
Biographical interview conducted by Tom Ashmore. Includes some brief references to Eileen Sykes' time as a secretary to Thomas Glendenning Hamilton. 1 side blank. Interview with Dr. R. E. Bennett, Archives & Special Collections, University of Manitoba,April 6, 1984. Biographical and literary interview. References to her time as Thomas Glendenning Hamilton's secretary including comments on psychic work of the Hamilton group. Refer to side 2. Lecture/workshop re: the effects of sound upon the human healing process. Second side contains biographical interview conducted by Mike Ward of CKRC radio, "In Touch with Today", 1979. |
| The collection consists of literary works, her scrapbooks, illustrations from Fanella and the Forest Folk books and correspondence. It also contains collection of her photographs and tape recordings of her interviews. |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Family Tree, Biographical Information |
| 2 | Canadian Authors Association (announcements, membership) | |
| 3 | Manitoba Writing and Publishing Awards (announcements) | |
| 4 | Meritorious Service Award (Department of Agriculture, Province of Manitoba) | |
| 5 | Articles about Eileen Sykes | |
| 6 | Copyright registrations |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 7 | Scrapbook (articles, letters, reviews) no.1 |
| 8 | Scrapbook (articles, letters, reviews) no.2 | |
| 9 | Gay Garland B complete copy | |
| 10 | The Story of Fanella B continued (excerpts from chapter 4, 9..) | |
| 11 | Stories, poems | |
| 12 | Illustrations from Fanella books |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Correspondence 1946-2001 |
| 2 | Sitting Notes (minutes) taken for T.G. Hamilton, Lillian Hamilton's letters | |
| 3 | Letters from Shrine Hospitals, 1956-57 (re: Gay Garland) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 4 | Eileen Sykes photos (23 photographs) |
| 5 | T. Glen Hamilton, Family photos, friends etc. (23 photographs) | |
| 6 | Rev. E.G.D. Freeman (2 photographs) | |
| 7 | Eileen Sykes portrait (1 photo) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 8 | Mr. and Mrs. Stan Sykes' Trip Diary - Entries: June 28-July, 1964; June 1970. |
| 9 | T. Glen Hamilton note book (blank); mini poker cards | |
| 10 | Alberta Poetry Year Books, 1957,1967,1978,1982 (Canadian Authors Association) | |
| 11 | Miscellaneous |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | Tape 1 |
A:Hypnosis, Eileen Sykes by Al Srigley B: Eileen's first 5 min. speech for which she won the Best Speaker of Week Award. |
| 2 |
A: Self-Healing: music and colour in healing B: CKRC Radio November 1978 Interview |
|
| 3 |
A: Interview with E. Sykes by Richard Bennett, Apr. 16, 1954 B: Interview with E. Sykes by Richard Bennett, Apr. 16, 1954 |
|
| 4 |
A: Channel 13 interview (Dec. 4, ?) Gertrude Whether, Eileen Mary Higham, Marg Cantelon (15 min) B: Practice tape: Alton Oct. 30-31 and last part of Brian MacKenzie talk CKJS Nov. 30, ? |
|
| 5 | A: Eileen Sykes B People Show, January 1984 (45 Min) | |
| 6 |
A: Improving memory & concentration (Hypnosis) by Herb Tozeland B: Improving Memory & concentration (Sleep Program) |
|
| 7 |
A: Deep Relaxation (Hypnosis program) by Herb Tozeland B: Stress Management (Sleep Programmer) by Herb Tozeland |
|
| 8 |
A: Discovering Past Lives (Flying) by Herb Tozeland B: Discovering Past Lives (Gate) by Herb Tozeland (488-2055) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Ouija Board |